The Captain & The Kid

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 43
  2. Negative: 6 out of 43

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MagnusL
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    WOW! This is a great album!!! The master still has it in him.
  2. judyL
    Oct 4, 2006
    9
    What people need to acknowledge is Elton isn't the same man he was 30 years ago.....he is pushing 60 next year and is STILL an amazing performer....Michelle D, since you've only been a fan for the last 13 years, it's no wonder you're "pissed off".......Elton fans who've been fans since the 70's recognize the true talent this man possesses along with Bernie. What people need to acknowledge is Elton isn't the same man he was 30 years ago.....he is pushing 60 next year and is STILL an amazing performer....Michelle D, since you've only been a fan for the last 13 years, it's no wonder you're "pissed off".......Elton fans who've been fans since the 70's recognize the true talent this man possesses along with Bernie. At first listen, I thought I wasn't going to like it and now LOVE Postcards from Richard Nixon, The House Fell Down and Captain and the Kid.........show me one other performer that's still a chart topper 30 years later........he is a legend and will remain "The Captain". Expand
  3. JeanM
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    On this record the purpose is not to get a charttopper, but to make more complex music (don't get fooled by the stripped downess of the production). He is a genius and this time around it will take some listenings to get the confirmation.
  4. JeremyD
    Oct 20, 2006
    10
    Seems like most listeners appreciate the genius of Elton - others like Joe L doesnt have a clue. Good old Elton still has it!!!
  5. JF
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    The biggest musical genius since Mozart once again proves his talent. Enough sad.
  6. LouisJ
    Oct 20, 2006
    10
    This is a masterpiece!!!! And to those finding the reviews for this page: why haven't you included ANY of the many '100' score reviews out there? If you stick to one selection of magazines it becomes very one-sited.
  7. MichelleR
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    I can't stop listening to this! I love it!
  8. paulab
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    A fantastic album
  9. KenP
    Sep 26, 2006
    9
    As far as EJ goes, with Yellow Brick Road being a 10, this one rates a 9 along with Honkey Chateau, Don't Shoot Me..., the original Captain and Made In England. As a piano player for 40 years, I would say the piano is better than any previous albums in my opinion. The vocals are good, but certainly not his best. The lyrics are outstanding and the melodies are very good. My favorites As far as EJ goes, with Yellow Brick Road being a 10, this one rates a 9 along with Honkey Chateau, Don't Shoot Me..., the original Captain and Made In England. As a piano player for 40 years, I would say the piano is better than any previous albums in my opinion. The vocals are good, but certainly not his best. The lyrics are outstanding and the melodies are very good. My favorites are: And The House Fell Down, Blues Never Fade Away and The Captain and the Kid. Expand
  10. PatrickO
    Sep 27, 2006
    9
    this one is definitely good ...I would sell 'don't shoot me...' for this one...of course I would keep rocket man =)
  11. WavetraX
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    Never warmed up to Songs from the West Coast, took a couple of sittings to get into Peachtree Junction, The Captain and the Kid is my favorite of the three. Nice to hear his voice and the piano again so uncluttered. I guess most of us longtime fans can't expect number one singles anymore, its nice to have been able to enjoy someone who keeps giving to those who care. Thanks, Elton, Never warmed up to Songs from the West Coast, took a couple of sittings to get into Peachtree Junction, The Captain and the Kid is my favorite of the three. Nice to hear his voice and the piano again so uncluttered. I guess most of us longtime fans can't expect number one singles anymore, its nice to have been able to enjoy someone who keeps giving to those who care. Thanks, Elton, life is wonderfull, while you're in the world... Expand
  12. TT
    Oct 20, 2006
    10
    This album demonstrates the real creative side of the Captain and the kid. Anyone who claims it to be forgetable or yawns, either hasn't really listened to it, had a pre-conceived opinion, or expected it to sound exactly like the original Captain Fantastic - which it does not. Although it is a follow up - this is NEW songs and music, and very excellent ones at that!!! Rock on EJ and BT.
  13. PaulM
    Sep 19, 2006
    10
    Excellent songwriting on both sides of each tune. Telling a great story that many of us saw unfold over the last 35 years. Great sounding Piano & Elton's voice sounds just fine for nearing 60.
  14. SeanO
    Sep 19, 2006
    9
    The Captain and The Kid is Elton and Bernie's third great album in five years. I am a big Elton fan and have always liked all his music. This one is Elton at his best. Ten great songs.
  15. DaveP
    Sep 25, 2006
    9
    This IS Elton's best overall effort in 30 years. It tops his best post-classic period work such Songs From the West Coast, Made in England and Two Low For Zero. Just like Noah's Ark rocks harder than any Elton tune since the mid-80's - and is simply better than post-70's "Elton by Numbers" up-tempo efforts such as "Kiss the Bride" or even Peachtree Road's "The This IS Elton's best overall effort in 30 years. It tops his best post-classic period work such Songs From the West Coast, Made in England and Two Low For Zero. Just like Noah's Ark rocks harder than any Elton tune since the mid-80's - and is simply better than post-70's "Elton by Numbers" up-tempo efforts such as "Kiss the Bride" or even Peachtree Road's "The Call Her the Cat". The title song is simply tremendous at first listen with a nod to the original CFATBDC title song with plenty of references to his early career work thrown-in the lyric mix - to a bouncy, rolling and memorable tune. The Bridge is a terrific stripped-back ballad - save and except for some astral choir vocals that add to the atmospheric quality of the song. Other tunes pay hommage to their arrival in America and its excesses, dispute between songwriter and lyracist (Tinder Box), their good fortune at escaping the ravages of drugs and AIDS, as well as a hopeful nod to the future. This a disc that can be listened to repetedly and is the ablum that many have been waiting for since the mid 70's. Expand
  16. R.L.
    Sep 25, 2006
    7
    This is EJ's best album since Blue Moves, and that covers a bunch of albums over the past 30 years. But Elton's early stuff from around '70 to '76 is on a much higher level, and he won't ascend to those heights again.
  17. CesarG
    Sep 26, 2006
    9
    Again, Elton made a great CD, fantastic songs and incredible music, Thanks Elton
  18. johnl
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    The biggest genius of music sinze Mozart sits by the piano at almost 60 years of age to prove how good he really is. Listen to this music, listen to other artists, then go back to this one, and you will realize that truly only Mozart can match this guy.
  19. MaineMike
    Oct 14, 2006
    7
    The best Elton album since the mid 70s.
  20. MattD.
    Sep 19, 2006
    10
    The sound of this album was a riisk, because it could have easily sounded like a lame re-creation. But it ends up as classic Elton John! Vibrant but without overdone or obvious hooks.
  21. MikeO
    Sep 19, 2006
    8
    I've been an E.J fan for about as long as I can remember. I'm 38 now and grew up with his music , The Elton John album arriving on the scene when I was a year and a half old. I own just about everything he's put out and have seen him live four or five times. As with the original Captain Fantastic album are some AMAZINGLY great songs on this CD. Sometimes bluesy, sometimes I've been an E.J fan for about as long as I can remember. I'm 38 now and grew up with his music , The Elton John album arriving on the scene when I was a year and a half old. I own just about everything he's put out and have seen him live four or five times. As with the original Captain Fantastic album are some AMAZINGLY great songs on this CD. Sometimes bluesy, sometimes rockin', and sometimes heartbreaking, there are a few stand outs on this CD. The strongest track is "Blues Never Fade Away." It's reminiscent a bit of some of Jackson Browne's best. Every bit as emotional as the 30 year old "Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word" sung with a more seasoned, forceful voice, this track is absolutely perfect. Another song that pulled me in was "Ol 67" with it's strong upbeat gospel influences. In addition, this CD has a true GREAT Elton ROCKER--"Just Like Noah's Ark." This could be the perfect Jerry Lee Lewis tune. A song like this was sorely missing on his last effort, "Peachtree Road." Like Captian Fantastic, however, this CD isn't perfect. The title track seems self absorbed and boring. The dedication to NYC, "I Wouldn't Have You Any Other Way (NYC)," seemed wrought out and sappy. My other criticism with this CD is it's a bit too "polished." This was also true for it's original, Captian Fantastic, in my opinion. I slightly agree with a few other writers who've said this CD has a nod toward Broadway with it's neatness. Elton's been hailed as "back to old form" for each of his past three releases, starting with "Songs From The West Coast" in 2001, and it's follow up, "Peachtree Road." I've puchased Elton John Albums on their release day since 1983's Too Low For Zero. This has been claimed with almost every album since then. Still, beginning in 2001, E.J. started a more stripped down, basic style. I believe despite it's few shortcomings, The Captain & The Kid can stand above those efforts and equal to any Elton John album out there--with the exception of "Goodbye Yellow Brick Road." That would be a nearly impossible feat though. Bravo Elton!! This is is truely a gem! Expand
  22. RogerS
    Sep 21, 2006
    7
    Good sound and mildly interesting but not too inpiring and it will sell a lot and be forgotten next year. Dated but okay. Average music from a top entertainer. Elton is going backwards and the world is going forward.
  23. jyotirmayad
    Sep 24, 2006
    8
    Another cause fo rmusical celebration -- more great, great music from Sir Elton and Bernie Taupin. Elton is tireless and I give him lots of credit for being so enthusiastic about his music after 4 decades. Bravo!!!
  24. DavidH
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    I am a huge fan of Elton John ... front row every concert. He and Bernie Taupin are legends - you won't get another pair of people like this...they don't make em like that anymore. This by far and away is one of the most brilliant albums Elton and Bernie have ever crafted. They eclipse reviews by music jornos that will be here today gone tomorrow...and I think they are beyond I am a huge fan of Elton John ... front row every concert. He and Bernie Taupin are legends - you won't get another pair of people like this...they don't make em like that anymore. This by far and away is one of the most brilliant albums Elton and Bernie have ever crafted. They eclipse reviews by music jornos that will be here today gone tomorrow...and I think they are beyond reproach anyway. Musically, the piano, drums and base are brilliant and are the very core of these two. Exceptionally brilliant. Buy one for your car, one for your house, one for your desktop and long live Elton & Bernie. Expand
  25. Apr 15, 2016
    9
    Every song is good but Wouldn't Have You Any Other Way and The Bridge are great. Production is neat, sound is creative. I think I can say that it's Elton John's one of the best albums.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Thanks to organic, piano-driven production, stellar storytelling and Sir's rededication to his vocal craft, this is a triumph.
  2. This really does pick up where John and lyricist Bernie Taupin left off.
  3. Los Angeles Times
    75
    John's nimble piano work and supple singing dominate pretty-to-rollicking numbers that flow as effortlessly as the duo's musical/lyrical give-and-take. Yet the basic, smooth pop feels too genteel, with flashes of country, roadhouse rock and funk only hinting at John's legendary versatility. [18 Sep 2006]