The Chaos - The Futureheads
The Chaos Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taking the best of post-punk, new wave, and pop as inspiration, Sunderland's Futureheads were among the best of the U.K.'s "angular" movement. Their capability of delivering their trademark pop thrills on this album sustains their position as Sunderland's sharpest export.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. With lyrical themes of global economic distress and romantic bliss, British pop-punk band the Futureheads bring a more refined sound to its fourth album.
  2. 80
    Four albums in and their metronomic nursery rhymes are still capable of delivering pop thrills. [June 2010, p. 104]
  3. An ever present Gang of Four musical demeanor, and the untiring pace of Fugazi makes 'The Chaos' quite aptly relentless.
  4. 74
    The group's fourth album, The Chaos, demonstrates that it has lost none of the infectious enthusiasm that made 2004's self-titled debut such a pleasure to hear.
  5. Though The Futureheads' established formula still sticks steadfast, there are enough wild cards peppered throughout to prove that, far from stuck in a rut, they're still moving playfully forward.
  6. As The Chaos teeters between slick professionalism and rampant expression, it still sounds like the Futureheads are having more fun here than they have in quite some time.
  7. There are many hits and many misses, but again, the pure energy of the whole thing can't be denied.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 30, 2012
    This album isn't as chaotic as the title may have you guessing, but is probably the best work of the Futureheads to date. Their first album was amazing, don't get me wrong, but this album manages even more catchy tunes to it than any of their other albums did. From Struck Dumb, to Heartbeat Song, to The Connector, it's all about high energy, upbeat tunes with one purpose: To get you on your feet. They flow through each song with mastery, never letting go of you until the album is done. Expand