The Charm - Bubba Sparxxx
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Creatively, he continues to exceed even the loftiest expectations.
  2. The Charm... is surprisingly great as conciliatory moves go.
  3. Sparxxx returns on his third album with increased commercial appeal and the solid lyricism that helped earn him praise early in his career. [26 Mar 2006]
  4. Except for Ghostface, he's probably rhyming as well as anyone around right now.
  5. There's a noticeably muted tone to his delivery and a bit of his defiant "proud to be country" attitude has faded away.
  6. There's a great amount of flash and polish, all wrapped up in a tight package.
  7. 70
    Though he abandons Deliverance's eccentricity, Bubba's lyrics still engage. [Jan 2006, p.138]
  8. Quality genre work from an artist with visionary potential.
  9. One-third amazing, one-third good, and one-third awful. [7 Apr 2006, p.59]
  10. 60
    Candyfloss choruses hamper Bubba's shots at a market-friendly take on his introspective style. [May 2006, p.122]
  11. 60
    Has too many antiseptic beats and not nearly enough Timbaland. [May 2006, p.109]
  12. 60
    Fans of Bubba's previous Southern-inspired offerings will delight in these extra helpings. [Mar 2006, p.122]
  13. If there's a problem, it's Bubba's one-track rhymes. All he ever talks about is himself. [Jun 2006, p.119]
  14. In switching his gaze from sharecroppers to strippers just to shift units, Sparxxx has lost his spark.
  15. Mostly, this is by-the-numbers stuff.
  16. 58
    Rich-guy gripes, Ying Yang booty boasts, and label-politics rundowns don't wear nearly as well as his amicable down-homey side. [Apr 2006, p.91]
  17. Sparxxx appears only able to follow for now. [6 Apr 2006, p.69]
  18. Likely to go down as one of the year’s most disappointing belly-flops.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. RobertM
    Apr 12, 2006
    10
    The album is a flux of emotional and artistic range beginning with the hardcore beginning of Represent to the smooth melodic beats of Ain't life grand and the Otherside..Finally the CD ends at Hey! , another hardcore beat with strong southern down home lyrics. Each song brings its own flavor and originality in a very unique way..Not one song is like the other and the more you listen to them you can appreciate the skill and divirsity Bubba has grown to to bring to the table..My only complaint is I wish there were more songs Full Review »
  2. n2frankiejp
    Apr 8, 2006
    9
    To me, this bar far is Bubba K.'s best! I love the beats, his lyrics are of course the best!!!!!!! He has proven that he has lasting talent,skills and will maintain. He represents some of that 'dirty south' music oh so well. I like how he does not focus on dissin' other musicians (trying to make it). He basically states in his music, "I am Bubba K! This is what I am about" I love that about him. In other words, he is real. Geniuine. And that will keep him around. I love 'The Charm', I hope this "Country Boy" get's his props. He's got my vote and support!!!!!!! Full Review »
  3. VerbalKinch
    Apr 5, 2006
    8
    Deliverance was a 10, first disc 'what was the title?' was a 6... this one sits dead in the middle. Third is indeed a Charm until Skateboard P drops. Bubba lyrically does no wrong. T.I. is a jester to Bubba's KING. Listen to the pride of LaGrange still spit like he is living at the end of a dirt road, with toothless neighbors. Ms New Booty is the best mindless ode to backsides since 'shake it fast'. If he can keep up this pace for another two records or so I would put him before M-n-M. Just don't 'lose yourself' bubba i know you can do it. Organized Noise sounds as good as ever and nobody (except HOVA on vol. 3) rides a Timbo beat like Bubba K. Word to Ned Beatty, Burt Reynolds and Brad Pitt's future baby-momma's daddy deliverence indeed. Just Blaze, Pha-real, and 9th wonder need to get with this man. Full Review »