The Coast Is Never Clear

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 2 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GaborA
    Mar 1, 2004
    2
    The Back Street Boys pick up instruments. So pop infused that the crowd at the seventh grade dance at a girls school would boo them off the stage.
  2. kateb
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    I don't really keep up on "cool" or "indie" music so much, but I did find this band after I bought the "Garden State" soundtrack and then bought the Shins cd. I went online and noticed a lot of Shins fans like Beulah and hence, I picked this one up. It's glorious. I feel as if I've been let into some secret society. They are my new favorite band and I can't wait til I don't really keep up on "cool" or "indie" music so much, but I did find this band after I bought the "Garden State" soundtrack and then bought the Shins cd. I went online and noticed a lot of Shins fans like Beulah and hence, I picked this one up. It's glorious. I feel as if I've been let into some secret society. They are my new favorite band and I can't wait til their next one. Expand
  3. waynek
    Sep 27, 2004
    10
    A brilliant record by a brilliant band. One of the best records of the new millenium.
  4. BlairM.
    Oct 16, 2001
    9
    Have yet to hear a song I didn't like by them. One word review: amazing!
  5. WodekS.
    Sep 24, 2001
    10
    I haven't been able to stop dancing since I picked this up. A triumph.
  6. JossS.
    Dec 25, 2001
    7
    beulah puts out another album. this one lacks the edge of when heart strings break making the album too sugary sweet to fully digest.
  7. morganp
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    sometimes you just gotta wonder...do some people have a personal vedetta against a band when they write a review? weird, unfair, and a bit retarted to waste one's energy. anyway, a brilliant record from start to finish. pop to the core, and similar to new pornographers, shins, neutral milk hotel and decemberists, but with more influences ie. bossanova, country, jazz, ambient noise, sometimes you just gotta wonder...do some people have a personal vedetta against a band when they write a review? weird, unfair, and a bit retarted to waste one's energy. anyway, a brilliant record from start to finish. pop to the core, and similar to new pornographers, shins, neutral milk hotel and decemberists, but with more influences ie. bossanova, country, jazz, ambient noise, and rock. simply, one of the best records of the decade by one the most underappreciated indie bands to grace our planet. Expand
  8. davidp
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    A perfect pop record.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Resonance
    90
    Perfect pop, pure and simple. [#32, p.58]
  2. Shredding Paper
    90
    One of the best independent rock records of the year. [#11]
  3. The Coast is Never Clear's shortcomings fall in Beulah's tendency to recycle the same song and name it something new.... Nonetheless, Beulah is still making some of the most infectious and smart pop songs anywhere in independent rock.