The Connection - Papa Roach
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 2 out of 17

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 10, 2014
    8
    Wow what a comeback!! After the disappointing Metamorphosis, this album hits hard. I was skeptical at first when I heard they were working with dubstep djs. I was expecting something similar to the disaster known as Korn's Path of Totality. Unlike Korn's Path of Totality, the Connection is still very guitar driven. The electronics serve as background icing. The best part is that JacobyWow what a comeback!! After the disappointing Metamorphosis, this album hits hard. I was skeptical at first when I heard they were working with dubstep djs. I was expecting something similar to the disaster known as Korn's Path of Totality. Unlike Korn's Path of Totality, the Connection is still very guitar driven. The electronics serve as background icing. The best part is that Jacoby brings back a little bit of the Infest sound. Still Swinging, Not That Beautiful, and Won't Let Up all have rapping. The Connection may not be Papa Roach's best record but it is still a solid rock album. Give it a listen. Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    Papa Roach takes their sound in a surprising new direction. With excellent lyrics and sound this album is sure to satisfy. I have to admit despite the new sound the album feels very familiar, almost to the point of being unoriginal. Thankfully The Connection never takes that route. I loved every second of this album and in the end that's all that matters.
  3. Oct 19, 2012
    8
    Papa Roach come back with their basic elements and a little experimentation. The good thing about this album is that it surprises you at least at one point where you feel like, "Woah, I've never listened to this side of Papa Roach before!" and that's kind of exciting. I don't usually mention the titles of the songs in reviews but I must mention few of them here. "Before I Die", "Leader ofPapa Roach come back with their basic elements and a little experimentation. The good thing about this album is that it surprises you at least at one point where you feel like, "Woah, I've never listened to this side of Papa Roach before!" and that's kind of exciting. I don't usually mention the titles of the songs in reviews but I must mention few of them here. "Before I Die", "Leader of the Broken Hearts", "Silence is the Enemy", "Not That Beautiful", "Wish You Never Met Me" and "Still Swingin'" are the great songs on this record. Jacoby Shaddix continues to shine like a diamond with his intense vocals. Production is handled properly, none of the songs are over/under produced. I always expect something different when it comes to music, I want the artists I like to keep evolving so that I get to hear different stuff from them and that's the reason I'm giving this record 8 marks because it does contain a few typical songs with the same pattern that I have been listening to for a long time. Overall, The Connection is a powerful record incorporating slight hip-hop elements and somewhat genius lyrical themes that might also give you chills at certain points. Collapse
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Oct 23, 2012
    60
    The Connection is a stylistic leap, that shows surprising restraint, and--whisper it--maturity. [Nov 2012, p.102]
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    80
    It's the sound of a band who know their craft inside out, but who aren't afraid to grow and try something new. [29 Sep 2012, p.53]
  3. Oct 11, 2012
    30
    Papa Roach have the tools to be a damn good rock band, but they'll never be one unless they change the bloody record.