User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 201 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 201

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    Love Lupe. Gotta start with that it's a shame that Lasers is still not out, and it won't be out for like 5 more months. This album has great hip hop and rap on it. Lupe is a great lyricist, and hopefully he doesn't leave that mentality.
  2. MiguelJ.
    Feb 10, 2008
    0
    This is dog crap.
  3. JBA
    Dec 24, 2007
    3
    Lupe is a garbage MC. He's got the same horribly awkward, stilted flow as Kanye, and like Kanye, he unnecessarily forces his lyrics to fit awkward rhyme schemes and dumb metaphors. "Forced" would be a good way to describe Lupe in general, from his cadence to his image. The production is also mediocre at best. This wasn't a great year for hip hop, but Lupe was a low point, not a Lupe is a garbage MC. He's got the same horribly awkward, stilted flow as Kanye, and like Kanye, he unnecessarily forces his lyrics to fit awkward rhyme schemes and dumb metaphors. "Forced" would be a good way to describe Lupe in general, from his cadence to his image. The production is also mediocre at best. This wasn't a great year for hip hop, but Lupe was a low point, not a high point. Stop buying into the hype. Stop perpetuating the myth that Lupe is a good MC. Expand
  4. GuyI
    Dec 31, 2007
    4
    Lupe might be a decent rapper, but just like "Food & Liquor", this album doesn't live up to expactations at all. Flawed by lackluster, at times even cheesy production, it never really kicks off and quickly starts to bore the listener.
  5. TravisB
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    A fantastic record....full of pleasant surprises. It even makes a verse from Snoop sound fresh. "Dumb It Down" manages to sum up a lot of Talib Kweli's tracks in one fell swoop, which is no small feat.
  6. BrandonB.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    The hottest and most complete album out!
  7. Jasonk.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    Perhaps my favorite album of all time. This is hip hop at its best! Thank you lupe!
  8. JasonR
    Dec 18, 2007
    9
    The only thing that stops it from being a 10 is the quick advertisement he adds on the end of Track 18...That kills the entire act and illusion of the album...And is rather unprofessional. Otherwise, it's creative, lyrically superior to others, and gets better with each listen.
  9. rileyj
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    ordered my copy yesterday, this is an amazin album...one of the top 3 of '07 for sure
  10. DanA
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    Amazing, takes hip hop away from the beat-centered rut it has found itself in, focusing on the lyrics and the winding, graphi novel-quality storyline that Lupe has managed to fit into 2 hour-long albums. Really gritty, Ghostface Killah-esque story, that only benefits from Lupe's chill, calm delivery and tracks.
  11. denemy
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    How this album gets less than 10 is astounding. Hip-hop should follow in Fiasco's footsteps, and step outside the norm.
  12. ChuckBoy
    Dec 25, 2007
    9
    Brilliant observation, Demitri. Unfortunately, you're an idiot.
  13. matta
    Dec 26, 2007
    9
    Better than Kanye or Common's album from this year, and almost as good as Jay-z's. Second best hip-hop album of the year though an a marked improvement over Food & Liquor.
  14. JoahS
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    Probably one or two tracks too many, but stuffed with powerful lyrics and moving musical composition. Soundtrakk is a genius! Lupe continues to prove himself one of the top young acts in hip-hop, let's hope he sticks around to sit atop the throne with his Chicago friend.
  15. CaitlinD
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    I Love Him! SOOO Good! ?
  16. jackW
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    This album is simply incredible... Easily the best hip hop album this year. I know all of lupe's stuff will become classic someday!
  17. ChrisH
    Jan 29, 2008
    7
    His flow is as great as ever, and there are many superb tracks here. It's just that, taken as a whole, the "concept" comes out half-baked and cloudy and the sum of the parts do not add up. Whereas Food & Liquor left me ready for more, here I just feel exhausted and somehow let down. Still, Lupe earns a seven for unparalleled skills, bucking of hip-hop trends, and some newfound versatility.
  18. Josh
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    Excellent album, not a single track that had Jaco on it that I do not enjoy. One of the best I've ever heard, a classic. When will the "respected critics" list of reviews be updated...? This album deserves higher than an 80. the rolling stone gave it a 4/5 and some reputable rap website you cited on a jay-z album gave it a 5/5... give the cool its due!
  19. MusicL
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    An amazing album! No doubt this will be a classic in a few years. It's just one of those albums that can stand the test of time.
  20. AndrewH
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    This is the best hip-hop album of the year, Lupe Fiasco is miles ahead of the game and way ahead of his time
  21. christianp
    Jan 8, 2008
    8
    i love this guy. i feel like you could break down his lyrics in a college-level literature class. there is more an more to discover with every listen...his double-time rapping on a couple songs doesn't quite work for me, but it was a gamble for him to try a new delivery. go lupe!
  22. LiveLearn
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    Delightful, introspective, and creative with original metaphors that express a simple moralism that, although, may seem hackneyed and unworthy of exploration, but are actually the product of a uniquely abstract imagination. That, accompanied by his animated and rythmic flow makes it difficult to neglect his principle aims. An important praise must also be noted, he represents a morally Delightful, introspective, and creative with original metaphors that express a simple moralism that, although, may seem hackneyed and unworthy of exploration, but are actually the product of a uniquely abstract imagination. That, accompanied by his animated and rythmic flow makes it difficult to neglect his principle aims. An important praise must also be noted, he represents a morally critical reflection of the superficiality of the pop culture rap lifestyle and ideals. Concerned with the need for change in ideals along not only racial lines but also for the universal perception of the coveted American ideal, fame and/or fortune. "I am the American Dream" his words speak to his belief in the appreciation of positive values and that others should recognize and understand that appreciation as he embodies all of those good attributes. Expand
  23. ConnorS.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Best album of the year, hands down!
  24. ryanw
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    this is a great album... with deep lyrics tackling many of our world's current problems, incredible production and catchy beats, and Lupe's flow is incredible.
  25. IsaacL.
    Feb 19, 2008
    9
    A great album, although Superstar is the clear stand-out track. Lyrically he is out of Kanye's league, and I particularly admire his morals in Little Weapon and Gold Watch. However I feel it tails off disappointingly towards the end.
  26. TomK.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    An absolute masterpiece.
  27. RashadS.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    Let me start off by giving you my taste in music. I loved jay-z's "American Gangsta" and Scarface's "Made" and this by far blows both away!
  28. Mitchelll
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    This album is simply incredible, just listen to it and you'll agree with me!
  29. ConnorS.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    Best album of the year, hands down!
  30. Black1
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    The album is very good. When I first listened to it (through samples), I thought it was weak. Then my brother bought the album, and it's an instant classic. Tracks like "Streets on Fire", "Little Weapon" & "Gotta Eat" (all in order) really make it an exciting CD to listen to. Perfect.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Even considering the over-abundance of elaboration on all fronts, it's a credit to Lupe that he has made an album that cannot be processed after one or two listens, and if you have the time, its inscrutability turns into mere complexity.
  2. It turns out randomness makes for a surprisingly unifying concept.
  3. Lupe Fiasco and his producers--mostly Soundtrakk--have clarified the lyrics and brought out the hooks. The result is a three-act allegory that’s also one of the year’s best hip-hop albums.