The Cool

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 210 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 210

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  2. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    One of the most underrated hip hop albums of our time. This album is incredibly introspective and deserves WAY better reviews from critics...When this album first came out me and my brother listened to it for MONTHS...I recommend this album to anyone who wants an incredible concept album
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    So great. This album's got a lot of depth and is surprisingly entertaining throughout its fairly long tracklist. Pretty much every track is memorable and intelligent
  4. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    The Cool was truly the highlight of Lupe's career. It's amazing how this album was followed by an awful Lasers. Even with radio hits like "Superstar." There was still meaning behind his songs. Not to mention "Dumb it Down," which is considered one of the most lyrically deep Rap songs of all time.
  5. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    this album is lupe at his best. the beats are from many producers and each one delivers. lupes flow is also incredible. he can rap very fast and still sound out every syllable perfectly. this album is outstanding, get it
  6. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    Love Lupe. Gotta start with that it's a shame that Lasers is still not out, and it won't be out for like 5 more months. This album has great hip hop and rap on it. Lupe is a great lyricist, and hopefully he doesn't leave that mentality.
  7. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    A brilliant album that can only be faulted in that it sounds too self-important. Lupe tries to save the world on nearly every track, covering broad issues like power, greed, disease, war, and poverty -- with all the passive-aggressive finger wagging of a university Cultural Studies professor. The production is catchy and tailored to a pop audience, but Lupe's intelligent rhymes andA brilliant album that can only be faulted in that it sounds too self-important. Lupe tries to save the world on nearly every track, covering broad issues like power, greed, disease, war, and poverty -- with all the passive-aggressive finger wagging of a university Cultural Studies professor. The production is catchy and tailored to a pop audience, but Lupe's intelligent rhymes and well-developed flow place this album in the area between the streets and mainstream. Expand
  8. AC
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    A great 2nd album by the best rapper on the planet. "The Cool" is every bit as good as his first album "Food & Liquor". This is truly a must buy for any true music fan.
  9. DW
    Dec 25, 2008
    10
    Perfect followup to an almost-perfect food&liquor.
  10. CodyD.
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    This is the best hip hop cd ever. Im surprised by this only 77 out of 100. We clearly more intelligent people reviewing hip hop music.
  11. UrbanoS.
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    The album is truly spectacular and full of originality. Would've been perfect if not for the negativity caused by a tragedy in the artist's life.
  12. CodruS.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    of course you don't like him... stupid monkeys. try to think beyond his muslim origins. he has more talent then all the bitches out there but you don't like him because he is too god, you don't understand what he's saying, you don't like him because he isn't singing bout how he got rich killing this, stealing that... bout hookers that all love him and stuff of course you don't like him... stupid monkeys. try to think beyond his muslim origins. he has more talent then all the bitches out there but you don't like him because he is too god, you don't understand what he's saying, you don't like him because he isn't singing bout how he got rich killing this, stealing that... bout hookers that all love him and stuff he's a decent guy with TALENT. i betcha half of you didn't even REALLY heard this album. Expand
  13. GeneralD
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Lupe is just spitting the truth. I can't see how some critics gave it under a 9.
  14. VicT.
    Apr 6, 2008
    10
    Man this is amazing.
  15. JohnnyV.
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    This album is hands down the best of 07 and probaly 08, i mean shit he has more lyrical talent then al these fake ass rappers tryin to make up dances no one can even hold a light to him, lupe brings back what real hip hop is and what it was meant to be about.
  16. ZachT.
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    Lupe Fiasco is a lyrical madman. This album is amazing.
  17. RashadS.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    Let me start off by giving you my taste in music. I loved jay-z's "American Gangsta" and Scarface's "Made" and this by far blows both away!
  18. MilanD.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    Finally!!! Someone not just talking about diamonds, girls and rims.
  19. ChrisT.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    I'm not a big fan of rap or hip hop but this is one of the best albums i have ever heard
  20. w00t
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    I'm a a rocker and I don't listen to a lot of rap but I thought this album was really good.
  21. TomK.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    An absolute masterpiece.
  22. IsaacL.
    Feb 19, 2008
    9
    A great album, although Superstar is the clear stand-out track. Lyrically he is out of Kanye's league, and I particularly admire his morals in Little Weapon and Gold Watch. However I feel it tails off disappointingly towards the end.
  23. KevinJ.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    I love every part of this album.
  24. J.JC
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    This is no soldja-boy.
  25. Jasonk.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    Perhaps my favorite album of all time. This is hip hop at its best! Thank you lupe!
  26. MiguelJ.
    Feb 10, 2008
    0
    This is dog crap.
  27. Black1
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    The album is very good. When I first listened to it (through samples), I thought it was weak. Then my brother bought the album, and it's an instant classic. Tracks like "Streets on Fire", "Little Weapon" & "Gotta Eat" (all in order) really make it an exciting CD to listen to. Perfect.
  28. ConnorS.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    Best album of the year, hands down!
  29. Mitchelll
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    This album is simply incredible, just listen to it and you'll agree with me!
  30. ProRicer
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    This album is not for Soulja Boy fans! If you like good music that has a message behind it then this album is for you.
  31. [Anonymous]
    Jan 29, 2008
    9
    This is the sickest album out right now. Its crazy and its a classic. With exception with like one or two tracks. its the "coolest" ish out
  32. TinP.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Easily the best album of 07. Every track is a new experience to behold.
  33. ChrisH
    Jan 29, 2008
    7
    His flow is as great as ever, and there are many superb tracks here. It's just that, taken as a whole, the "concept" comes out half-baked and cloudy and the sum of the parts do not add up. Whereas Food & Liquor left me ready for more, here I just feel exhausted and somehow let down. Still, Lupe earns a seven for unparalleled skills, bucking of hip-hop trends, and some newfound versatility.
  34. AshleyS
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    Lupe is a very complex rapper. His songs show how smooth he is. There is no mumbling or jibberish and his lyrics state a lot of world events. People are sleeping on his talent, but this is a hip-hop classic.
  35. BrandonB.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    The hottest and most complete album out!
  36. jackW
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    This album is simply incredible... Easily the best hip hop album this year. I know all of lupe's stuff will become classic someday!
  37. TravisB
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    A fantastic record....full of pleasant surprises. It even makes a verse from Snoop sound fresh. "Dumb It Down" manages to sum up a lot of Talib Kweli's tracks in one fell swoop, which is no small feat.
  38. GregH
    Jan 14, 2008
    9
    Great songs, Great lyrics. Superstar is a hit! Unfortunetly too smart for the radio listeners but a smash for true hip hop fans.
  39. James
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    Lupe is a meaningful lyricist and hopefully he can disprove all hip hop-haters about negative stereotypes.
  40. CaitlinD
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    I Love Him! SOOO Good! ?
  41. JoahS
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    Probably one or two tracks too many, but stuffed with powerful lyrics and moving musical composition. Soundtrakk is a genius! Lupe continues to prove himself one of the top young acts in hip-hop, let's hope he sticks around to sit atop the throne with his Chicago friend.
  42. ryanw
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    this is a great album... with deep lyrics tackling many of our world's current problems, incredible production and catchy beats, and Lupe's flow is incredible.
  43. LiveLearn
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    Delightful, introspective, and creative with original metaphors that express a simple moralism that, although, may seem hackneyed and unworthy of exploration, but are actually the product of a uniquely abstract imagination. That, accompanied by his animated and rythmic flow makes it difficult to neglect his principle aims. An important praise must also be noted, he represents a morally Delightful, introspective, and creative with original metaphors that express a simple moralism that, although, may seem hackneyed and unworthy of exploration, but are actually the product of a uniquely abstract imagination. That, accompanied by his animated and rythmic flow makes it difficult to neglect his principle aims. An important praise must also be noted, he represents a morally critical reflection of the superficiality of the pop culture rap lifestyle and ideals. Concerned with the need for change in ideals along not only racial lines but also for the universal perception of the coveted American ideal, fame and/or fortune. "I am the American Dream" his words speak to his belief in the appreciation of positive values and that others should recognize and understand that appreciation as he embodies all of those good attributes. Expand
  44. christianp
    Jan 8, 2008
    8
    i love this guy. i feel like you could break down his lyrics in a college-level literature class. there is more an more to discover with every listen...his double-time rapping on a couple songs doesn't quite work for me, but it was a gamble for him to try a new delivery. go lupe!
  45. AndrewH
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    This is the best hip-hop album of the year, Lupe Fiasco is miles ahead of the game and way ahead of his time
  46. Jameso
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Great album that completes the 2007 year. Luved it from the start.
  47. ConnorS.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Best album of the year, hands down!
  48. MusicL
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    An amazing album! No doubt this will be a classic in a few years. It's just one of those albums that can stand the test of time.
  49. Raymond
    Jan 5, 2008
    9
    A true antidote to the overriding hip hop themes of being a gangster with lots of dirty money and women and cars and bling and etc. etc. I'm sure Lupe Fiasco will go on to be a seminal artist in the history of hip hop.
  50. Josh
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    Excellent album, not a single track that had Jaco on it that I do not enjoy. One of the best I've ever heard, a classic. When will the "respected critics" list of reviews be updated...? This album deserves higher than an 80. the rolling stone gave it a 4/5 and some reputable rap website you cited on a jay-z album gave it a 5/5... give the cool its due!
  51. JasonM
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    When you compare this album to other notables this year in the same category (note: Graduation, American Gangster, Finding Forever) and in fact the last decade; it can still be argued as part of the top 10. This album contains so many elements of what people enjoy in Hip Hop music; be it education, thought provocation, explored concepts, catchy melodies, wordplay or innovative When you compare this album to other notables this year in the same category (note: Graduation, American Gangster, Finding Forever) and in fact the last decade; it can still be argued as part of the top 10. This album contains so many elements of what people enjoy in Hip Hop music; be it education, thought provocation, explored concepts, catchy melodies, wordplay or innovative instrumentals. I won't expect such quality control in an album until L.U.P.End (his next and last album). But then again, being a seasoned Lupe fan: bias is possible :P Expand
  52. KyleD
    Jan 1, 2008
    9
    Lupe Fiasco's The Cool is an excellent CD. Lupe Fiasco is truly the saviour of hip hop. When Nas (the prophet) labelled Hip Hop as being dead, he clearly was referring to Soulja Boy and Yung Jeezy. However, I guess Nas prayed feverently to pass the torch on to. Well, guys his prays payed off. Lupe Fiasco's second album is sure fire. True Hip Hop that not only entertains but also Lupe Fiasco's The Cool is an excellent CD. Lupe Fiasco is truly the saviour of hip hop. When Nas (the prophet) labelled Hip Hop as being dead, he clearly was referring to Soulja Boy and Yung Jeezy. However, I guess Nas prayed feverently to pass the torch on to. Well, guys his prays payed off. Lupe Fiasco's second album is sure fire. True Hip Hop that not only entertains but also allows the listener to venture into different real scenarios. I'm proud to say that I am a fan of Lupe Fiasco!!! Expand
  53. GuyI
    Dec 31, 2007
    4
    Lupe might be a decent rapper, but just like "Food & Liquor", this album doesn't live up to expactations at all. Flawed by lackluster, at times even cheesy production, it never really kicks off and quickly starts to bore the listener.
  54. PolytechG
    Dec 30, 2007
    8
    Not as good as Food&Liquor, but still better than 99% of the rest out there.
  55. KeithM
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing album. I bought it on release date, I have a huge respect for him because not only is he the most underrated artist in hip hop but he goes against all odds and delivers album of the year like its nothing. I don't care about critics reviews on him, because personally their never going to see him as is. People say his songs don't make sense... I'm sorry I This is an amazing album. I bought it on release date, I have a huge respect for him because not only is he the most underrated artist in hip hop but he goes against all odds and delivers album of the year like its nothing. I don't care about critics reviews on him, because personally their never going to see him as is. People say his songs don't make sense... I'm sorry I fail to believe that. Actually I think his freshest and brightest artist out now. Oh and one more thing, please support this artist and buy his album. It won't disappoint I promise! Expand
  56. RandyB.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    Good to see Lupe building off his mix-tape material to give the fans what they wanted; cool lyrics over fly beats. In short, another hip hop must have.
  57. MichaelW.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    I absolutely love this album... Lupe's flow is incredible, the lyrics are outstanding and Lupe uses picture perfect imagery and characters (The Cool, The Game, & The streets) to divulge the problems facing current rap, the streets, and the world in general. I honestly do not understand how anyone could give this album a bad review. It is just way too good!
  58. ManvirD
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    Brilliant album, intelligent lyrics, someones finally telling a story worth listening too!
  59. EddCosta
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    The best Hip-Hop album of the year, Lupe brings the Chicago flow with amazing beats and lyrics.
  60. LuisS
    Dec 27, 2007
    9
    Upon first listening I thought it was okay, then I listened to it again and found myself listening to it over and over again. Personal Favs: Superstar, Hi-Def., Hip Hop Saved My life, Intruder Alert, Streets on Fire, Little Weapon, Gotta Eat, Dumb it down, hello/goodbye, The Die. I wish Free Chilly was a full song :( Great album!!!
  61. matta
    Dec 26, 2007
    9
    Better than Kanye or Common's album from this year, and almost as good as Jay-z's. Second best hip-hop album of the year though an a marked improvement over Food & Liquor.
  62. T
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    Metacritic, please find more reviews. This deserves more than an 80. Yes, I know an 80's good, but it deserves even better. This is my fifth time listening to the album, and I'm becoming more emotionally attached with every listen. The depth in the lyrics and the lush soundscapes are seriously hypnotizing. The best hip-hop album of '07, and one of the best of the decade.
  63. ChuckBoy
    Dec 25, 2007
    9
    Brilliant observation, Demitri. Unfortunately, you're an idiot.
  64. DavidI
    Dec 24, 2007
    8
    I just finished listening to the album; I gave an 8 for a couple reasons. One, the album has become exceedingly
  65. PACMusic
    Dec 24, 2007
    7
    In a world full of bad things
  66. JBA
    Dec 24, 2007
    3
    Lupe is a garbage MC. He's got the same horribly awkward, stilted flow as Kanye, and like Kanye, he unnecessarily forces his lyrics to fit awkward rhyme schemes and dumb metaphors. "Forced" would be a good way to describe Lupe in general, from his cadence to his image. The production is also mediocre at best. This wasn't a great year for hip hop, but Lupe was a low point, not a Lupe is a garbage MC. He's got the same horribly awkward, stilted flow as Kanye, and like Kanye, he unnecessarily forces his lyrics to fit awkward rhyme schemes and dumb metaphors. "Forced" would be a good way to describe Lupe in general, from his cadence to his image. The production is also mediocre at best. This wasn't a great year for hip hop, but Lupe was a low point, not a high point. Stop buying into the hype. Stop perpetuating the myth that Lupe is a good MC. Expand
  67. denemy
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    How this album gets less than 10 is astounding. Hip-hop should follow in Fiasco's footsteps, and step outside the norm.
  68. TimothyC
    Dec 22, 2007
    9
    Best Hip hop Album of the year. I don't know about the concept but the songs all this album are great.
  69. PeterH
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    One of the best rap albums I have heard all year. May have even topped Kanye West's "Graduation" in terms of cleverness. The whole "The Game" & "The Streets" thing is kind of confusing, but the lyrics are top notch and his style is impeccable.
  70. mikea
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    lupe is a genius. going against the grain and speaking the truth. What hip hop should be about. Thiniking, motivation, and head spinning word play. FIRE
  71. Dave
    Dec 21, 2007
    9
    THIS IS A REALLY GOOD ALBUM, THIS DESERVES TO BE IN THE 90s, SORT IT OUT REVIEWERS.
  72. MycroftWooster
    Dec 21, 2007
    9
    This has made one aging rap listener keep the faith.
  73. A-Roc
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    Dopeness @ its purest...Lupe delivers a classic again. the wordplay and lyrics are crazy...keep doin ya thang
  74. DanA
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    Amazing, takes hip hop away from the beat-centered rut it has found itself in, focusing on the lyrics and the winding, graphi novel-quality storyline that Lupe has managed to fit into 2 hour-long albums. Really gritty, Ghostface Killah-esque story, that only benefits from Lupe's chill, calm delivery and tracks.
  75. Hannah
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    This album is incredible. There's pretty much no track I'm not into. The lyrics are smarter than anything I've heard this year.
  76. GHudson
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    Album of the year hands down. instant classic. very complex lyrics that with fly over a vast majority of listeners. Lupe is a genious. mos def better than food and liquor but they go hand and hand with each other because you really can't grasp the cool without truly listening to food and liquor first
  77. TORYM
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    No sophmore slump. Fantastic. From lyrics to beats.
  78. Jigga
    Dec 19, 2007
    8
    In the top 3 albums of 2007. Real hip-hop in a time of candy pop hip-hop. Refreshing to say the least.
  79. MichaelK
    Dec 19, 2007
    9
    This is one of the most best anticipated albums ever.
  80. phillip
    Dec 19, 2007
    9
    nah the only reason the 60s look bad is cuz they're yellow
  81. D.A.H
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Hands down one of the best albums of the year."The Cool" is a good look for Hip-Hop. Listening to it right now. Can't get enough of it. Real Hip-Hop. Can't wait for 'L-U-P-END' to drop
  82. DK4L
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Its so nasty. i believe best album this year. The cool equals our modern day illmatic and other classics
  83. SeanS
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Album of the year... other rappers should go in the studio and try to top that.
  84. TonyJ
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Best album i've heard all year... Lupe is a frickin genuis
  85. MikeV
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Awesome record, that you can listen to again and again. Lots of great songs like Go Go Gadget Flow, Superstar, Streets of Fire and Little Weapon. An album that's not only for Hip Hop fans.
  86. rileyj
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    ordered my copy yesterday, this is an amazin album...one of the top 3 of '07 for sure
  87. Someone
    Dec 19, 2007
    9
    Who cares what Blender thinks, they made Fergie the Woman of the fucking Year!
  88. AmirE
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Compared to everything else comming out it's 15 stars damn it....c'mon too magazine reviews claiming that it's too complex maybe you've just been listening to too much mediocre rap..aka all the Dj Khaled features...
  89. brettm
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    best hip hop cd of the year, the best lyricist to come in the game since nas!
  90. NelsonP
    Dec 18, 2007
    9
    Went through a lot of music in '07, and Lupe has def. one of the year's best Hip Hop albums. One of the most satisfying and refreshing albums to come out in a while. Favs are Go Go Gadget, Superstar, and Street Fire. But there are alot others... Dumb It Down is lyrically good too.
  91. johns
    Dec 18, 2007
    9
    Have to admit I've had this album for a week or so (although I will go out and buy it now that's it out) and was somewhat dissapointed, I mean I'm still giving it a 9 but I expected a 11, or at least a 10.5. Still a great album that consistently delivers good tracks, if only a few great tracks, that hopefully will soar way above the ludicrous 81 that Jay-Z recieved. It Have to admit I've had this album for a week or so (although I will go out and buy it now that's it out) and was somewhat dissapointed, I mean I'm still giving it a 9 but I expected a 11, or at least a 10.5. Still a great album that consistently delivers good tracks, if only a few great tracks, that hopefully will soar way above the ludicrous 81 that Jay-Z recieved. It really makes me doubt the competence of critics who review hip-hop if this scores under the very tiresome, and frankly boring American Gangster. Lupe's flow is great (Gadget Flow), the hooks are addictive (with the exception of Superstar, pretty unforunate that track made the album, but on the plus side its sure to play at a couple of highschool graduations) the beats are strong and addictive and Dumb it Down is funny enough to be a Dave Chapelle skit! Expand
  92. JasonR
    Dec 18, 2007
    9
    The only thing that stops it from being a 10 is the quick advertisement he adds on the end of Track 18...That kills the entire act and illusion of the album...And is rather unprofessional. Otherwise, it's creative, lyrically superior to others, and gets better with each listen.
  93. JeovanyC
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    What real hip-jop/rap should be
  94. JabroniK
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    I hate rap. period. But Lupe is my favorite artist....by far. I love his good messages, and sweet flow and ryhmes. He is truly the savior of hip-hop, and this is one hell of an album
  95. NajehD.
    Dec 18, 2007
    7
    Lupe is a GREAT rapper. If the beats and guest spots sounded like hip hop instead of alternative rock this album would be a classic. Unfortunately instead of the Kanyes and Ne-Yos of the world he gets... Matthew Santos? Sarah Green? Who the F are these people.
  96. ErikS
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing. From Go Go to Go Baby...this album does just that, goes. Highlights in my opinion are "Little Weapon" and "Superstar"
  97. ShamS.
    Dec 18, 2007
    9
    one of the year's best hip-hop album...Lupe Roooles.
  98. TonyB
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Heat. Easily one of the best of the year.
  99. Akerss
    Dec 18, 2007
    9
    I don't quite know if it's better than Food & Liquor, but it's still great. Favorites include Superstar, Go Go Gadget Flow, and Dumb It Down. Intelligent lyrics, great production, and the best flow around currently.
  100. JJE.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Original, positive and refreshing music. Loved it.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Even considering the over-abundance of elaboration on all fronts, it's a credit to Lupe that he has made an album that cannot be processed after one or two listens, and if you have the time, its inscrutability turns into mere complexity.
  2. It turns out randomness makes for a surprisingly unifying concept.
  3. Lupe Fiasco and his producers--mostly Soundtrakk--have clarified the lyrics and brought out the hooks. The result is a three-act allegory that’s also one of the year’s best hip-hop albums.