The Cosmic Game

  • Record Label: ESL
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2005
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrianP
    Feb 23, 2005
    9
    These guys are way under-rated. I think Q magazine said something like "your soundtrack for 2005 is here" in reference to this release. Very much a stylish and contemporary global sound.
  2. Ryan
    Mar 2, 2005
    9
    Probably the best produced Thievery album to date...As usual it combines a wide arrange of musical styles. I personally think things get slowed down a little with all the "world music" in the middle of the album but its Thievery , so it's not like they are total rubbish. Entertainment Weekly is very wrong about this disc, so pay no mind to them either. The guest spots work well, Probably the best produced Thievery album to date...As usual it combines a wide arrange of musical styles. I personally think things get slowed down a little with all the "world music" in the middle of the album but its Thievery , so it's not like they are total rubbish. Entertainment Weekly is very wrong about this disc, so pay no mind to them either. The guest spots work well, especially perry Farrell...contrary to what most people think, I actually like the opener with the Flamming Lips. The Corporation always continue to grow and evolve their distinct sound....looking forward to hearing these songs live. Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Mar 10, 2005
    9
    Unfortunately for all of us, Pam Bricker (the vocalist on Lebanese Blonde, among others) died in February. While this did not preclude her from being on this disc, she will not be on future releases. On to the review of the disc. Good, but not as strong, thematically, as Mirror Conspiracy. It's an excellent release. I love the opening tracks and the closing tracks. There is some Unfortunately for all of us, Pam Bricker (the vocalist on Lebanese Blonde, among others) died in February. While this did not preclude her from being on this disc, she will not be on future releases. On to the review of the disc. Good, but not as strong, thematically, as Mirror Conspiracy. It's an excellent release. I love the opening tracks and the closing tracks. There is some fodder in the middle, but the last 5 songs are amazing. Expand
  4. JenniferS
    Mar 18, 2005
    9
    totally enjoyable
  5. tess
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    wicked album, one of the best from the ' thievery' to this date
  6. Mikey-San
    Feb 23, 2005
    8
    The only reason I can't give this record a higher score is the weak opening track (and I say weak in comparison to the opening of The Richest Man in Babylon's "Heaven's Gonna Burn Your Eyes") and the could-have-been-left-out "Wires and Watchtowers" later in the record. Also influencing the eight-not-nine vote was the lack of Ms Pam Bricker, whom I was truly anticipating, The only reason I can't give this record a higher score is the weak opening track (and I say weak in comparison to the opening of The Richest Man in Babylon's "Heaven's Gonna Burn Your Eyes") and the could-have-been-left-out "Wires and Watchtowers" later in the record. Also influencing the eight-not-nine vote was the lack of Ms Pam Bricker, whom I was truly anticipating, yet was disappointed to see absent from this outing. Perhaps in 2008, guys? Don't listen to Entertainment Weekly unless you're looking for Oakenfold. "Amerimacka" is Notch at his normal goodness, and "Satyam Shivam Sundaram" just might be the most beautiful Thievery track yet. Perry Farrell's vocals manage to work despite his best efforts, and David Byrne is near-perfect. Must for Thievery Fans, and non-fans should at least listen through once in a quiet room. Expand
  7. jay
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    awesome chillout CD.
  8. EdwardJ
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    I think it's ill. I feel like they turned the volume down a little and then put the speakers up against the window.
  9. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    9
    My favorite album from a band who puts on one of the best live shows you'll ever see.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    50
    Hampered by lazy beats and an overabundance of world-music window dressing. [25 Feb 2005, p.102]
  2. The Cosmic Game displays much of what we've come to expect from Thievery: lush, down-tempo beats laced with authentic Jamaican and Latin flair.
  3. Uncut
    60
    More than another coaster on the coffee-table circuit. [Mar 2005, p.108]