• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Aug 31, 2004
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. LL does DEFinition with a superstar panache that never gets into that dangerously cheesy Will Smith territory and keeps it streetwise without putting on a front.
  2. Light on filler, "The DEFinition" proves that, after 21 years in the industry, LL is as relevant as many of his contemporaries.
  3. LL offers up "you rap for the thugs/I rap for the ladies" on the album, but there's some tough, near-"Mama Said Knock You Out"'s here, and from any hardcore thug's point of view, he's getting better at splitting the difference.
  4. Rolling Stone
    70
    LL Cool J has as much swaggering presence as ever. [30 Sep 2004, p.188]
  5. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    The party jams and lovemaking odes are merely competent genre exercises that bury his still-sharp voice. [10 Sep 2004, p.164]
  6. There’s a distinct lack of personality, meaning that LL Cool J’s eleventh long player is merely good, and his reputation (and bank balance) will be neither tarnished nor expanded.
  7. Q Magazine
    60
    There's nothing wrong with this record... Yet it's only on Feel The Beat, in which he lets his ego off the leash, that LL gets into gear. [Oct 2004, p.128]
  8. Mostly the music is sufficiently inventive... Lyrically, though, this is mostly hip-hop by numbers.
  9. Blender
    40
    Mostly, he's outmuscled by the production. [Oct 2004, p.122]
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. mashpac
    Mar 21, 2005
    7
    ll cool j has proved his mettle again
  2. raymondv
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    excellent album all of it and especially "Headsprung and Hush"
  3. BrandonM
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    Hey LL cool J,Bro this album is the bomb.Your are still my favorite singer.The songs i like the best is headsrung,and hush,im trying to get Hey LL cool J,Bro this album is the bomb.Your are still my favorite singer.The songs i like the best is headsrung,and hush,im trying to get all your cds but i cant find them any where.ometimes i rap too Full Review »