Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. A quantum leap above not only Brand New's prior work... but beyond anything that any band in this scene are currently creating. [Jan 2007, p.129]
  2. The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me is the completion of their pop-punk molting process and one of the best surprises -- that isn't really a surprise at all -- to come out of 2006.
  3. Their third effort finds the four-piece twisting confessional post-punk into something startling, brash, and exhilarating.
  4. 80
    Brand New took a huge step forward in 2003 with Deja Entendu, tossing away everything predictable about emo. But the leap on their third studio album is even bigger, and gutsier too: using rock’s earthly forces to amplify the heart’s greatest loves and fears, and in the process summoning the kind of grandeur that blows minds in bedrooms and raises fists in stadiums.
  5. They sound like a completely new band.
  6. A compelling record that bears more resemblance to the indie of Bright Eyes or Modest Mouse than anything found on 2003's 'Deja Entendu'. [18 Nov 2006, p.33]
  7. This is a superb album, and each time you listen to it you’ll find something new to like.
  8. With any band, ambition seems inextricably tied to bloat, but The Devil's better moments make a little pomposity endurable.
  9. "The Devil and God" plays its hurt with polish and panache, however, as Brand New's textured dynamics marry mood and an aggressive ebb-and-flow on nearly every track. [25 Nov 2006]
  10. But though the intelligent rock is good enough to give you goosebumps, it's the angel in these fiery rockers who wins the tumultuous war of wills.
  11. The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me builds on its predecessor's articulate wordplay, with lush tones that evidently evolved over the band's extended break.
  12. 70
    The mall-ready hooks and occasional stabs at acoustic pop on Deja Entendu have been replaced by the sort of Radiohead-indebted bombast that begs to be played at lease-breaking volumes. [Dec 2006, p.99]
  13. While not as great a leap in style or maturity, The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me showcases more of what's great about the grown-up Brand New. [Feb 2007, p.60]
  14. Gone is the self-reflective wit of 2003's Deja Entendu, replaced with beefed-up guitars and overwrought references to God. [1 Dec 2006, p.87]
  15. Too much of The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me is just kind of heavy, and very so-so.
  16. This record is far more cohesive and creative musically, but it's less inspiring lyrically.
  17. Jesse Lacey... still conjures up arresting images but they rarely add up to coherent songs—and nothing consistently cuts to the bone like Deja Entendu’s highlights.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 58
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 58
  3. Negative: 3 out of 58
  1. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    sprawling, emotional, more rings than a redwood. deep brilliant opus from a band that are not scared to evolve. sheer perfection in trackssprawling, emotional, more rings than a redwood. deep brilliant opus from a band that are not scared to evolve. sheer perfection in tracks like sowing season, not the sun, luca and deguasser. Full Review »
  2. May 20, 2014
    10
    this is one of my favourite albums of all time and easily my favourite brand new album words can not describe how much i love it and 10/10............
  3. JohnL
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    I'm just voting to counter G A's vote. G A obviously either likes MCR or didn't listen to the album.