The Devil And God Are Raging Inside Me

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Alternative Press
    100
    A quantum leap above not only Brand New's prior work... but beyond anything that any band in this scene are currently creating. [Jan 2007, p.129]
  2. The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me is the completion of their pop-punk molting process and one of the best surprises -- that isn't really a surprise at all -- to come out of 2006.
  3. Their third effort finds the four-piece twisting confessional post-punk into something startling, brash, and exhilarating.
  4. 80
    Brand New took a huge step forward in 2003 with Deja Entendu, tossing away everything predictable about emo. But the leap on their third studio album is even bigger, and gutsier too: using rock’s earthly forces to amplify the heart’s greatest loves and fears, and in the process summoning the kind of grandeur that blows minds in bedrooms and raises fists in stadiums.
  5. They sound like a completely new band.
  6. New Musical Express (NME)
    80
    A compelling record that bears more resemblance to the indie of Bright Eyes or Modest Mouse than anything found on 2003's 'Deja Entendu'. [18 Nov 2006, p.33]
  7. This is a superb album, and each time you listen to it you’ll find something new to like.
  8. With any band, ambition seems inextricably tied to bloat, but The Devil's better moments make a little pomposity endurable.
  9. Billboard
    70
    "The Devil and God" plays its hurt with polish and panache, however, as Brand New's textured dynamics marry mood and an aggressive ebb-and-flow on nearly every track. [25 Nov 2006]
  10. But though the intelligent rock is good enough to give you goosebumps, it's the angel in these fiery rockers who wins the tumultuous war of wills.
  11. The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me builds on its predecessor's articulate wordplay, with lush tones that evidently evolved over the band's extended break.
  12. Spin
    70
    The mall-ready hooks and occasional stabs at acoustic pop on Deja Entendu have been replaced by the sort of Radiohead-indebted bombast that begs to be played at lease-breaking volumes. [Dec 2006, p.99]
  13. Paste Magazine
    70
    While not as great a leap in style or maturity, The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me showcases more of what's great about the grown-up Brand New. [Feb 2007, p.60]
  14. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Gone is the self-reflective wit of 2003's Deja Entendu, replaced with beefed-up guitars and overwrought references to God. [1 Dec 2006, p.87]
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
  1. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    sprawling, emotional, more rings than a redwood. deep brilliant opus from a band that are not scared to evolve. sheer perfection in trackssprawling, emotional, more rings than a redwood. deep brilliant opus from a band that are not scared to evolve. sheer perfection in tracks like sowing season, not the sun, luca and deguasser. Full Review »
  2. May 24, 2015
    10
    This is THE greatest album ever written in my opinion. Forgot Abbey Road, OK Computer, or Pet Sounds, this is THE best album ever written.This is THE greatest album ever written in my opinion. Forgot Abbey Road, OK Computer, or Pet Sounds, this is THE best album ever written. Sure it may not be here without those influences, but the musicianship and true meaning behind this album is unforgettable. It is a true underrated classic. Critics may rethink their scores in the coming years. Many classics weren't well-received to begin with. Full Review »
  3. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    This record is my favorite album of all time. When I listen to it, I feel as though Jesse Lacey has sliced open my mind and spilled into it aThis record is my favorite album of all time. When I listen to it, I feel as though Jesse Lacey has sliced open my mind and spilled into it a pitcher filled with raw emotions of his own that I've never experienced before and that no one could fully comprehend unless they had heard it for themselves. When I heard this album live, the feelings of simultaneous depression and euphoria were unmatched and nearly indescribable. It may not be a happy record but it is genuine perfection. 10/10 recommend to all. Full Review »