The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: May 28, 2013
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    60
    Though new vocalist William DuVall doesn't have his predecessor's talent for shaping Seattle sludge into molten-dread anthems, founder Jerry Cantrell's expressively torpid guitar steps up to become its own kind of lead voice.
  2. Q Magazine
    Jun 17, 2013
    60
    The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here falls from the same mould [as 1992's Dirt]. [Jul 2013, p.99]
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    60
    Nothing sounds new, and yet it has no parallel in the old Alice catalog, because they were just so much weirder than we remember.
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    60
    After a while, the lushness of the vocals becomes a little wearing if you’re looking for the cracked, dark heart of yore; a futile task in any case, as that heart stopped beating a long time ago.
  5. Spread over a 67-minute album, their second with new voice William DuVall, that grinding insistence first impresses, then just grinds.
  6. May 28, 2013
    60
    Alice in Chains are now firmly entrenched in their middle age and settling into what they do best: retaining their signature without pandering and, tellingly, without succumbing to the darkness that otherwise defines them.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    59
    Dinosaurs is a testament to how 90s alt-rock angst can translate meaningfully to middle age.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. May 29, 2013
    10
    This album is absolutely amazing. It had the dark tone of AIC that we so love and yet a new dimension to their sound. Layne is gone now, butThis album is absolutely amazing. It had the dark tone of AIC that we so love and yet a new dimension to their sound. Layne is gone now, but they're keeping his legacy alive very well. Full Review »
  2. May 28, 2013
    10
    Wow, im just blown away by this album. I was a big fan of "Black Gives Way To Blues" when it came out. Now I'm forced with the task ofWow, im just blown away by this album. I was a big fan of "Black Gives Way To Blues" when it came out. Now I'm forced with the task of deciding which one is better, because "The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here" is undoubtedly some of their best. Full Review »
  3. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    Certainly nothing groundbreaking here but if you're familiar with AIC's past work, this won't come as a surprise. Their philosophy seems toCertainly nothing groundbreaking here but if you're familiar with AIC's past work, this won't come as a surprise. Their philosophy seems to be: if it ain't broke, why fix it?

    If you're not a fan of this band's earlier music then you almost certainly won't like this album. If you are a fan of their past work then you almost certainly will like this album. I love it...
    Full Review »