User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 28, 2013
    10
    Wow, im just blown away by this album. I was a big fan of "Black Gives Way To Blues" when it came out. Now I'm forced with the task of deciding which one is better, because "The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here" is undoubtedly some of their best.
  2. May 29, 2013
    10
    This album is absolutely amazing. It had the dark tone of AIC that we so love and yet a new dimension to their sound. Layne is gone now, but they're keeping his legacy alive very well.
  3. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    Certainly nothing groundbreaking here but if you're familiar with AIC's past work, this won't come as a surprise. Their philosophy seems to be: if it ain't broke, why fix it?

    If you're not a fan of this band's earlier music then you almost certainly won't like this album. If you are a fan of their past work then you almost certainly will like this album. I love it...
  4. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    A great follow up album after the return of Alice in Chains. Fans of the band will not see anything unusual on this album. The iconic minor key tonality and dark lyrics return once again in this album. The first tracks on this album crank. Loud and in your face, and rock fan will appreciate these songs. Accompanied with a couple of more acoustic songs that could be off of Jerry's soloA great follow up album after the return of Alice in Chains. Fans of the band will not see anything unusual on this album. The iconic minor key tonality and dark lyrics return once again in this album. The first tracks on this album crank. Loud and in your face, and rock fan will appreciate these songs. Accompanied with a couple of more acoustic songs that could be off of Jerry's solo albums, there is more depth to the album than its predecessor Black Gives Way to Blue. The middle of the album is however the album's low point. These few songs are rather forgettable and seem to not go anywhere. They pale in comparison to the rest of the songs on the album. That's not to say that these songs are bad, one thing I personally see with Alice in Chains is that their songs grow on you. Perhaps with time these songs will as well. These songs are really the only reason this album does not get a ten. The rest of the album is fantastic and should not be missed by any rock fan. Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    Alice in Chains have returned with their fifth studio album, and their second with singer/guitarist William DuVall. The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here is a dark, heavy, bone-crushing monster of an album, one that's on par with their previous release, Black Gives Way to Blue. Much of the album is reminiscent of Dirt the title tracks of both albums even sound similar musically. Jerry Cantrell'sAlice in Chains have returned with their fifth studio album, and their second with singer/guitarist William DuVall. The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here is a dark, heavy, bone-crushing monster of an album, one that's on par with their previous release, Black Gives Way to Blue. Much of the album is reminiscent of Dirt the title tracks of both albums even sound similar musically. Jerry Cantrell's sludgy riffs propel each song, assisted by Mike Inez's ominous basslines and Sean Kinney's solid drumming. As with BGWTB, the vocals are mainly harmonies between Cantrell and DuVall, though DuVall takes the lead on parts of "Lab Monkey" and "Phantom Limb." The twelve songs that constitute the 67-minute album are each amazing, from the gloomy grunge of "Hollow," to the menacing riffs and tempo changes of "Stone" and "Phantom Limb," to the country-flavored "Voices," to the upbeat, acoustic-driven "Scalpel" and "Choke."

    There are two minor problems with this album. One, the songs are generally mid-tempo; don't expect a "Them Bones" here. Two, it would be nice if DuVall had more lead vocals the song "Last of My Kind" on BGWTB proved he could hold his own vocally.

    In the end, Alice in Chains have crafted another excellent record, one that stands beside the timeless albums they made with Layne Staley many years ago.
    Expand
  6. May 31, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing. Better than Black Gives Way to Blue it features their dark trademark sound with the creative freedom of not having to handle with critics after Layne Staley passed away. It is a big evolution, as DuVall has a bigger part and a better voice. This album is being underrated, as it deserves at least a 80 score from critics.
  7. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    Great album. I think I like the instrumentation here more than I did on Black Gives Way to Blue. I wish Duvall had more songs to shine on than what he was given, but Jerry sang some beautiful melodies on songs like 'Low Ceiling' and 'Choke'. For me, 'Choke' is up there with 'Over Now'. The title track's instrumentation is like a mix of Love, Hate, Love, Take Her Out, and Frogs. I can'tGreat album. I think I like the instrumentation here more than I did on Black Gives Way to Blue. I wish Duvall had more songs to shine on than what he was given, but Jerry sang some beautiful melodies on songs like 'Low Ceiling' and 'Choke'. For me, 'Choke' is up there with 'Over Now'. The title track's instrumentation is like a mix of Love, Hate, Love, Take Her Out, and Frogs. I can't wait to hear all of these songs live. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 70
    They may never recapture their ‘Dirt’-era majesty, but AiC’s second act is turning out very nicely indeed.
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    60
    Though new vocalist William DuVall doesn't have his predecessor's talent for shaping Seattle sludge into molten-dread anthems, founder Jerry Cantrell's expressively torpid guitar steps up to become its own kind of lead voice.
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    60
    The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here falls from the same mould [as 1992's Dirt]. [Jul 2013, p.99]