User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 80
  2. Negative: 4 out of 80

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LydiaR
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    Absolutely brilliant album, its good to hear actual instruments in the background as so many artists don't do this. Everyone can listen to this album despite age..my whole fam loves this album:)
  2. KlitosT
    Dec 10, 2003
    7
    I would prefer to buy this cd as a live performance with just her voice and a piano. Nobody doubts that Alicia Keys is super talented and very promising as an artist. This album though was rather disappointing with no songs that really stand out from commercial soul standards. I feel that she has a lot more to offer and she should try to incorporate more of her classical training in her I would prefer to buy this cd as a live performance with just her voice and a piano. Nobody doubts that Alicia Keys is super talented and very promising as an artist. This album though was rather disappointing with no songs that really stand out from commercial soul standards. I feel that she has a lot more to offer and she should try to incorporate more of her classical training in her songwriting. Collapse
  3. slobodan
    Apr 1, 2005
    9
    Very good.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Jan 9, 2004
    9
    Awesome CD!!
  5. AllyG
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    i love ALICIA KEYS....she is the best...i dun noe how she's gonna top this one and i cant wait till she puts out her next cd
  6. ajat
    Dec 1, 2003
    10
    this album is off the hook she is someone i can really relate to we go through alot of the same things her album is like therapy to me
  7. KarlaL
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    I love every song on the album. Although she can work on the "Like a desert needs water/ I need you alot", the cd is HOT!!
  8. NseE
    Jan 25, 2004
    10
    A masterpiece, superior to it?s predecessor which, don?t get me wrong, was very good. There is a relaxed, breezy feel to the whole cd, and the songs catch you instantly. The lead off single ?You don?t know my name? is a brilliant song, reminiscent of classic 70s soul. On ?If I aint got you?, ?If I was your woman? (an excellent remake by the way) and ?Dragon days?, she has a raspy growl A masterpiece, superior to it?s predecessor which, don?t get me wrong, was very good. There is a relaxed, breezy feel to the whole cd, and the songs catch you instantly. The lead off single ?You don?t know my name? is a brilliant song, reminiscent of classic 70s soul. On ?If I aint got you?, ?If I was your woman? (an excellent remake by the way) and ?Dragon days?, she has a raspy growl seeping with passion, akin to Mary J bilge. There?s the retro funk of ?Heartburn?, and ?So simple? is simply fab. There were few soul cds released in 2003 which can dream of coming close to this soon-to-be-classic. Awesome!!! Expand
  9. jgxgfjfj
    Mar 16, 2004
    10
    this album is better the the 1st one
  10. YeseniaE
    Mar 4, 2004
    10
    I loved this album! I mean I think her first album is still good, but for this one, alicia really killed it this time!
  11. tias
    Jul 8, 2004
    10
    I think Alicia Keys is a very brilliant singer, and inspires me to want to sing. But unfortunatly I don't have a voice as good as hers!
  12. JasonR
    Sep 17, 2004
    10
    Alicia Keys at her best! Her lyrics only get better and more intense. I'm feeling her ability to express herself to the world through song. She has a style of her own, and deserves more respect from everyone, because after all, how many artists do you know that write their own lyrics, compose their own music, play their own music, and sing it. Big ups to my girl Alicia Keys.---Holla Alicia Keys at her best! Her lyrics only get better and more intense. I'm feeling her ability to express herself to the world through song. She has a style of her own, and deserves more respect from everyone, because after all, how many artists do you know that write their own lyrics, compose their own music, play their own music, and sing it. Big ups to my girl Alicia Keys.---Holla Back from Brooklyn girl!--Jason Expand
  13. JamesH
    Jun 25, 2005
    10
    Alicia Keys is the new Aretha Franklin. While no one thought it would be possible for her to out do her debut album she has. This, in my opinion is miles better with the best song of her career so far, 'If I Ain't Got You'. This album shows you why she has so many fans around the world with that incredibly voice and musical background. No one comes close to the wirting Alicia Keys is the new Aretha Franklin. While no one thought it would be possible for her to out do her debut album she has. This, in my opinion is miles better with the best song of her career so far, 'If I Ain't Got You'. This album shows you why she has so many fans around the world with that incredibly voice and musical background. No one comes close to the wirting ability of Keys at the moment. The songs will live forever. A timeless classic masterpiece. Expand
  14. JD
    Sep 2, 2005
    8
    Very good album, however, I feel this will be the last and the only album she will ever make as good as this. I can listen to every amazing song up until Dragon Days. After Dragon Days is over I put the CD back on the shelf because the rest isn't good at all. Definetly talented, but she isn't the next Mariah Carey
  15. karmac
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    all i can say is WOW
  16. SherrellM
    Dec 5, 2003
    9
    Keys proves that there is no sophomore slump for her. This almost is refreshing during a period of hip-hop commercialism where music is only talking about bling-bling, pimps, hoes, selling drugs and glorifying the "hood" lifestyle. Keys introduces musical concepts and ideas previously unheard of since the soul singers of the 60 s and 70s. She is a throwback to an age when music had Keys proves that there is no sophomore slump for her. This almost is refreshing during a period of hip-hop commercialism where music is only talking about bling-bling, pimps, hoes, selling drugs and glorifying the "hood" lifestyle. Keys introduces musical concepts and ideas previously unheard of since the soul singers of the 60 s and 70s. She is a throwback to an age when music had purpose and message. From the soulful first-single "U don't know my name" to the gospel-like ballad "If I ain't got you" to the hard beats and urban grooves of "So Simple" "Diary" has everything that music has been missing. Real music. Expand
  17. JaniceG
    Dec 5, 2003
    10
    Just when you think Alicia Keys is amazing...she comes out w/ an album like the Diary of Alicia Keys. It is a fabulous piece of art. Her voice and piano skills are amazing and the work on this cd is priceless.
  18. janedoe
    Dec 8, 2003
    9
    It's a great album, with beautiful songs. Just like the first album.
  19. chrisschis
    Feb 13, 2004
    10
    I love this album! her voice, the songs its just all good
  20. alex
    Mar 9, 2004
    9
    i really like this cd especially track #7 Diary.alicia keys is my fav artist and my idol.(im even gonna start taking piano lessons)
  21. Nake-yaB
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    If your looking for REAL talent, and great singing and song writing. You get it all with the incomperable,talented,gorgeous Alicia Keys. She is one my favorites and I don't have that many
  22. JoycelynC
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    This is a great album. I rate it really over 10. Ms. Keys please keep the good work. I cant not put this CD down. Loving IT.
  23. HattieW
    Dec 25, 2003
    10
    The best album I know of. Great,great, great job. If anyone rates her less than 10, something is wrong. A classic, real soulful music for all ages. I am 49 and my loves her, she is 7.
  24. DylanL
    Jan 13, 2004
    10
    I like the song after you don't know my name and that will be my wedding song when I get married
  25. CameronD.
    Feb 15, 2004
    10
    If this isnt good music to you, you don't know music.
  26. chelseap
    Feb 24, 2004
    9
    i love this album she is the best . i wish i can meet her. she is my best singer for r&b.
  27. NickV
    Jun 15, 2005
    8
    A very good R&B CD. Plenty of soulful tracks.
  28. VandeshaL
    Dec 23, 2003
    8
    Don't get me wrong Alicia Keys is on a popping but this album was pumped up just a bit too much. I rally enjoyed track 5 You Dont Know My Name, track 6 If I Aint Got You, and track 7 Diary. Other than that the other songs are not my style maybe cool for some just not me.
  29. michellef
    Dec 27, 2003
    10
    you don't know my name is a brilliant track of the album an d hopefully will be a no 1 very soon.
  30. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    é o que se pode chamar de obra perfeita. as músicas tem letras muito bem escritas, o vocal é bem destacado , os arranjos são muito bons. Enfim, é um diamante.
  31. Mar 18, 2015
    8
    Track by track review:
    1. Harlem's Nocturne 9.5/10
    2. Karma 10/10 3. Heartburn 10/10 4. If I Was Your Woman/Walk on By 9/10 5. You Don't Know My Name 8.5/10 6. If I Ain't Got You 7/10 7. Diary 10/10 8. Dragon Days 10/10 9. Wake Up 10/10 10. So Simple 10/10 11. When You Really Love Someone 9/10 12. Feeling U, Feeling Me (Interlude) 6/10 13. Slow Down 8/10 14. Samsonite Man
    Track by track review:
    1. Harlem's Nocturne 9.5/10
    2. Karma 10/10
    3. Heartburn 10/10
    4. If I Was Your Woman/Walk on By 9/10
    5. You Don't Know My Name 8.5/10
    6. If I Ain't Got You 7/10
    7. Diary 10/10
    8. Dragon Days 10/10
    9. Wake Up 10/10
    10. So Simple 10/10
    11. When You Really Love Someone 9/10
    12. Feeling U, Feeling Me (Interlude) 6/10
    13. Slow Down 8/10
    14. Samsonite Man 9/10
    15. Nobody Not Really 8.5/10

    Highlights: Karma, Diary, So Simple, Heartburn, Wake Up
    Potential singles: You Don't Know My Name, If I Ain't Got You, Heartburn, Karma
    Expand
  32. Aug 16, 2017
    10
    Es para mí, el mejor álbum de Alicia K. Muestra la verdadera Alicia y la que queríamos conocer desde adentro, es sin duda un obra maestra y maravillosamente mágica.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Vibe
    90
    Brimming with updated old-school joints, original balladry, and classic-sounding R&B, Diary finds Keys more relaxed, confident, and committed to the tunes of the '70s than ever before. [Feb 2004, p.127]
  2. The project is clearly laboring to be relevant to the current marketplace and thus suffers from a serious lack of cohesion.
  3. Keys plays it far too safe here: There's nothing that will offend, and the content is patently generic enough that almost anyone, lovelorn or heartbroken, can build a personal soundtrack of romantic woe from its raw materials.