The Diary Of Alicia Keys Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The neo-soul singer returns two years after the success of 'Songs In A Minor' with this sophomore disc.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 90
    Brimming with updated old-school joints, original balladry, and classic-sounding R&B, Diary finds Keys more relaxed, confident, and committed to the tunes of the '70s than ever before. [Feb 2004, p.127]
  2. With one album, Alicia Keys jumps up from the most overrated R&B artist since Michael Jackson to the best young talent R&B has seen in a very long time.
  3. 70
    An hour of heartful, artful singing enhanced by dense, yet fuss-free arrangements. [Jan 2004, p.106]
  4. The project is clearly laboring to be relevant to the current marketplace and thus suffers from a serious lack of cohesion.
  5. There's "Karma" and "I Don't Know Your Name." You and your iPod know what to do.
  6. 40
    If she's going to make us read her diary entries, she's going to need something more compelling than this litany of cliche and hackneyed need-a-man Bridget Jones-wailing. [Feb 2004, p.72]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. LydiaR
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    Absolutely brilliant album, its good to hear actual instruments in the background as so many artists don't do this. Everyone can listen Absolutely brilliant album, its good to hear actual instruments in the background as so many artists don't do this. Everyone can listen to this album despite age..my whole fam loves this album:) Expand
  2. YeseniaE
    Mar 4, 2004
    10
    I loved this album! I mean I think her first album is still good, but for this one, alicia really killed it this time!
  3. JaniceG
    Dec 5, 2003
    10
    Just when you think Alicia Keys is amazing...she comes out w/ an album like the Diary of Alicia Keys. It is a fabulous piece of art. Her Just when you think Alicia Keys is amazing...she comes out w/ an album like the Diary of Alicia Keys. It is a fabulous piece of art. Her voice and piano skills are amazing and the work on this cd is priceless. Expand
  4. Nake-yaB
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    If your looking for REAL talent, and great singing and song writing. You get it all with the incomperable,talented,gorgeous Alicia Keys. She If your looking for REAL talent, and great singing and song writing. You get it all with the incomperable,talented,gorgeous Alicia Keys. She is one my favorites and I don't have that many Expand
  5. chelseap
    Feb 24, 2004
    9
    i love this album she is the best . i wish i can meet her. she is my best singer for r&b.
  6. Mar 18, 2015
    8
    Track by track review:
    1. Harlem's Nocturne 9.5/10
    2. Karma 10/10 3. Heartburn 10/10 4. If I Was Your Woman/Walk on By 9/10 5. You Don't
    Track by track review:
    1. Harlem's Nocturne 9.5/10
    2. Karma 10/10
    3. Heartburn 10/10
    4. If I Was Your Woman/Walk on By 9/10
    5. You Don't Know My Name 8.5/10
    6. If I Ain't Got You 7/10
    7. Diary 10/10
    8. Dragon Days 10/10
    9. Wake Up 10/10
    10. So Simple 10/10
    11. When You Really Love Someone 9/10
    12. Feeling U, Feeling Me (Interlude) 6/10
    13. Slow Down 8/10
    14. Samsonite Man 9/10
    15. Nobody Not Really 8.5/10

    Highlights: Karma, Diary, So Simple, Heartburn, Wake Up
    Potential singles: You Don't Know My Name, If I Ain't Got You, Heartburn, Karma
    Expand
  7. R.H.
    Dec 15, 2003
    1
    Hopelessly boring, another piece of bland aural bugglegum totally devoid of originality or purpose. Will sell millions and play in the Hopelessly boring, another piece of bland aural bugglegum totally devoid of originality or purpose. Will sell millions and play in the background at many poers dinner parties this year. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews