The Diving Board

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Sep 24, 2013
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. 60
    This 31st studio album won’t be anyone’s favorite Elton John record, or even necessarily a must-listen.... But, John’s vocals and technical playing raise nearly any song at least one rung up the ladder.
  2. 60
    He's no Marcel Proust, but full credit for producing what's an unusually thoughtful album in contemporary pop music terms. Even if it is a bit morbid.
  3. Sep 20, 2013
    60
    There is much that is admirable about The Diving Board--the feel is spacious and haunting, the ambition is commendable--but the emphasis on tone over song means it leaves only wistful wisps of melancholia behind with the actual songs seeming like faded, distant memories.
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    60
    There is much melancholy here, but he sounds comfortable singing songs that carry the weight of experience. [Oct 2013, p.87]
  5. Jan 27, 2014
    40
    The Diving Board is less engaging, widescreen lyrics paired with waddling blues and maudlin balladry. [Oct 2013, p.104]
  6. Nov 21, 2013
    40
    [Elton John] eschews formulaic pop for the stripped barroom noir of "Oscar Wilde Gets Out" and church hymn "A Town Named Jubilee." All too soon, though, "My Quicksand," which would be a perfect Rufus Wainwright vehicle, sinks overwrought while drawing the disc's Maginot Line. Only the Eighties-esque "Can't Stay Alone Tonight" rallies after that.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Feb 1, 2014
    2
    I'm sorry, but this is very boring. It pains me to say such a thing about Elton John's work, but it is. The whole album just feels like oneI'm sorry, but this is very boring. It pains me to say such a thing about Elton John's work, but it is. The whole album just feels like one long snooze. Even the 3 'Dream' tracks, which are the only redeeming aspect, are pretty short to make a difference. Full Review »
  2. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    I was never a big fan of Elton's hit's. I found solitude in his songs that were tucked away on his albums that unless you are an advert fan ofI was never a big fan of Elton's hit's. I found solitude in his songs that were tucked away on his albums that unless you are an advert fan of Elton you might never hear. Songs like Cry to heaven. or One more arrow to name a few. I am thrilled to have this Elton album in my collection. I have listened to it several times and will continue to do so until I know every lyric. I love Elton John when he is being Elton John and not so much the performer.... Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Elton John at his best, even better when it comes to pure classical piano. Every song is so heartfelt and the way the piano is masterfullyElton John at his best, even better when it comes to pure classical piano. Every song is so heartfelt and the way the piano is masterfully highlighted in most songs makes this album entirely captivating in my view. Full Review »