The Documentary

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 105
  2. Negative: 5 out of 105

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    This is a classic album. hip-hop needs people like The Game To revive hip-hop and the westcoast. The Game is on a mission to bring back West Coast back to fame and he's going to do it if he creates classics like The Documentary & L.A.X.
  2. GaborA
    Mar 18, 2005
    2
    Except for one line about Mariah's forehead this cd is beyond terrible. These new rappers need to realize that its not enough to be street smart. You have to smart in general. Another portrait by a dumb thug.
  3. HynekH
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Westcoast classic
  4. JohnM
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    This CD is a hip-hop classic. Many of the "critics" that dis this album do so because they are too busy being "critical" and less occupied with ACTUALLY LISTENING TO THE MUSIC! The production is spotless (Timbo's track is my favorite) and the Game's lyrics are suprisingly strong (I first listened to the album skeptically b/c I hadn't really heard Game rap on his own -w/o This CD is a hip-hop classic. Many of the "critics" that dis this album do so because they are too busy being "critical" and less occupied with ACTUALLY LISTENING TO THE MUSIC! The production is spotless (Timbo's track is my favorite) and the Game's lyrics are suprisingly strong (I first listened to the album skeptically b/c I hadn't really heard Game rap on his own -w/o collabos-). From track 1 to track 18 there are NO SKIPS and the mighty Kanye West can't even make that claim on the critically acclaimed "College Dropout" (I think I skip three tracks on that disk). Haters...get a life! The game's CD is very good. Definitely a hip-hop classic. I bought the CD 2 weeks ago and it hasn't left my car's CD player yet!!!! Expand
  5. Daniel
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    Great album! Should be the 'Get Rich...' of 2005. Bold, provoking, introspective and even a little conscious: "Thinkin how they spent 30 million dollars on airplanes when there's kids starvin 'Pac is gone and Brenda still throwin babies in the garbage I wanna know "What's Goin' On" like I hear Marvin No schoolbooks, they used that wood to build coffins". Great album! Should be the 'Get Rich...' of 2005. Bold, provoking, introspective and even a little conscious: "Thinkin how they spent 30 million dollars on airplanes when there's kids starvin 'Pac is gone and Brenda still throwin babies in the garbage I wanna know "What's Goin' On" like I hear Marvin No schoolbooks, they used that wood to build coffins". Better believe the hype!! Expand
  6. ReggieH
    Feb 10, 2005
    7
    Its an average CD that had lots of marketing so it blew up. He talks too much about other rappers, just get your own foo. L Block Northern Cali.
  7. BrianW
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    Every beat is sick and the lyrics are interesting all the way thru.
  8. AdamJ
    Feb 9, 2005
    1
    This guy has only been rapping for three years and it shows. HIs flow is so lame that unless his name was associated with Eminem, Dre, and 50 cent, this album wouldn't have gone Brick. These days, Dre and Eminem can take anybody with a couple of bullet holes in them and turn them into the hottest name in the rap game. Where did Game come from? What work did he do before he came a This guy has only been rapping for three years and it shows. HIs flow is so lame that unless his name was associated with Eminem, Dre, and 50 cent, this album wouldn't have gone Brick. These days, Dre and Eminem can take anybody with a couple of bullet holes in them and turn them into the hottest name in the rap game. Where did Game come from? What work did he do before he came a so-called gangsta rapper? Well, his appearance on a dating show, complete with pink hair and lip ring, show us a little bit about Game. Here's a guy who is trying to get famous. Here's a guy who basically knows nothing about the rap game or business, never did anything before this, and is now up on charges of having stolen what might be the only decent line of the whole album (The guy posted the MP3 to prove it was stolen). If Dre and Eminem keep pushing artists like this, the facade is going to come to an end. 50 cent was hyped but he wasn't a poor rapper. The Game is hyped and he is without a doubt killed on every single song on this album by every guest who was slapped on here to pad the album's poor lyrics, themes, and personality. The Game has nothing new to say in Hip-hop. He's very simply riding on the names of the producers cashing in on the 14 year olds out there who think this is real hip-hop cause Game is real hot. I hope someday soon this stuff ends. Real rappers like Nas and even Jay-z are getting outsold by rappers no one has even heard of, who haven't paid dues, who haven't earned respect, who don't have anything original or interesting to say except to name drop (Sound familiar, Em?). The fact is, Eminem made the same album four times, Dre hasn't come out with an original album in four years, and this game is getting very, very old. TIme's about up. Expand
  9. figz
    Mar 16, 2005
    8
    Awesome rapper and writer aswell. Every song has a meaning of its own. Much better then 50's(sell out) massacre
  10. kl
    Mar 23, 2005
    6
    pros: Hate it or love it is awesome!!! cons: how we do is toooo generic overview: just a dime from being being good, this album, though not excellent, will satisfy 50 cent fans.
  11. antoineantoine
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    i agree this cd definitely had lots of marketing so it blew up but Game's cd is sooo sick and it also hasnt left my car's cd player and i've had it for about 3 weeks and i dont think its leaving anytime soon
  12. MajaS
    Apr 7, 2005
    7
    Game is good but he has to stop thinking that he is going to change hip-hop so quickly. He needs to stop acting like a child and get serious. He's name-dropping too much and there's nothing classic about that. He wouldn't be so succesful without a lot of help from 50. However, the production is great. Best song - Dreams.
  13. NahannK
    Aug 20, 2005
    10
    Thsi album was well put together, t contains the amazing songs Hate IT Or LOve It, igher, How We Do, Start From Scratch, and Put You On The Game, and is packed with high-quality raps like Westside Strory and The Documentary. Who produced it isn't as noticable as who's talking, and that's obvious when you listen to the songs above.
  14. BrannonM
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    i swear, people break down rap music like it's some science experiment, people go in forums and act like it's there job. Great album. He is not nas lyrically, and does not have biggies flow, the name dropping is tiring but the beats keep me interested.
  15. RileyF
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    An absolutely brilliant album. A lot better than anything G-Unit put out this year. The production is excellent and the only bad song is Don't Worry featuring Mary J. Blige.
  16. AndyL
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    This is fuckin amazin. One of my all-time favourite albums, just under the awesome Dr Dre.
  17. CelinaS
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    Even though The Game hasn't been in the "game" for long, he's shown everyone he has the skills to make this badass cd he's put together and ofcourse I give it a 10 because I just love The Game and I think his cd is the best.
  18. AlexG
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    Stellar CD.
  19. derryckb
    Feb 11, 2005
    9
    To start off in reviewing this album, The Game describes his album as as bringing back the West Coast even though he insists it hasnt gone anywhere. Truer words have never been spoken. While those already familiar with west coast veterans ranging from Ice Cube, Snoop and Xzibit and many in the so called 'Gangsta" genre are much established (10 plus years in th game) and may as I may To start off in reviewing this album, The Game describes his album as as bringing back the West Coast even though he insists it hasnt gone anywhere. Truer words have never been spoken. While those already familiar with west coast veterans ranging from Ice Cube, Snoop and Xzibit and many in the so called 'Gangsta" genre are much established (10 plus years in th game) and may as I may have also belived before listenibg to this album are that this genre of all the diifernt topics covered in Hip Hop are pobobably the most cluttered. Meaning, with the success of various rapeprs ranging from Ice T to Kool G rap, This median of hip hop is mabye the most overexposed and commerially popular, it is also the most viable and easiest way for an up and coming star to succeed quickly. Introducing: The Game. While on the surface he may seem like a faceless member in an already saturated area, he does seperate himd=self in his ability to speak to the streets while using clever flows to express his opinions. He is also most certainly backed by some of not only Hip Hop but musics most talented musicians. Dr. Dre, Timbaland, Kanye West, Mary J Blige, Floetry, Hi-Tek, 50 Cent, and Eminem. The game certainly bring a new twist on a old subject of gang-banging. The way the production matched the vocals are very well orchestracted. The Album's second track "Westside Story" starts off the album's tone for the listener. Simple but addictive keys from Dre and a monotone hook from 50 lend instant credibiity to this new star. The true standout track's on this album are too numerous to include and in trying to do so, many listeners may short change themselves. Veterans of West Coast rap as well as Casual or Non listeners will have no issues letting this album foat into thier CD rotaion. Reccomendation: Listen to this CD without hitting the skip button...you wont be sorry. A must for ANY Hip-Hop fan. Expand
  20. xxplayboi
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    this album is fresh lik uh impala uhhh chrome hydraulics but this album is nuts especially start from scrach shitt man that was fuckenn crazii to the wow g-unit is runnin this bitch
  21. stephenw
    Feb 16, 2005
    8
    simply heavy weight, and linked to Dr Dre Em and G unit the game seems like a winner.
  22. HectorG
    Mar 19, 2005
    10
    solid album
  23. cb
    Mar 21, 2005
    9
    good album
  24. [Anonymous]
    Mar 21, 2005
    10
    Great rapper, great producer = great album. Despite the fact he doesn't want to talk shit about some rappers 50 hates.
  25. stevenk
    Mar 9, 2005
    9
    i thought it was a good rap album it could have had better beats to bounce to he shouldn't of had kayne west do a song that just shot tha shit out of it he made to pop and gospel
  26. VinceH.
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    Easily the best mainstream hip hop album since Kanye West. The new 50 or Em cd's don't even come close, and unless Dre hurries up in the studio and releases "Detox" before years end, it will remain to be the best (at least until the new J5 or Dilated). Great production and lyrics, just get the damn thing!.
  27. AnthonyM
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    Three Words: Just Fucking Awsome
  28. TylerH
    Jan 22, 2006
    5
    It was an ok album. I think The Onion got it right; hes to big on naming classic rap albums. he looks up to NWA and the west coast to much. the production of the album was great but the lyrical value of it was weak.
  29. almag
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    the game is the best rapper he is so freaken fine!!!!!!!!!!
  30. FrankR
    Jan 24, 2005
    9
    Best rap album I've heard in a long time.
  31. VerbalK
    Jan 25, 2005
    8
    This was a welcome surprise so early 2005. I am not a fan of POST-mixtape gem 50cent or GUnit, but this disc and the current disco inferno single by 50 show that maybe GUnit is worthy of the top click crown in hip hop right now. Game pays homage all throughout, making him humble yet justified with the few quips he does make at establishes artists. Maybe next time he will step up the This was a welcome surprise so early 2005. I am not a fan of POST-mixtape gem 50cent or GUnit, but this disc and the current disco inferno single by 50 show that maybe GUnit is worthy of the top click crown in hip hop right now. Game pays homage all throughout, making him humble yet justified with the few quips he does make at establishes artists. Maybe next time he will step up the content and flow. I still say Rass Kass with this same Dre production would be twice as good. Hate it Or Love it by Cool and Dre even outshines the good doctor. 50 murders his protege' on the few guest spots. Why aren't Buck and Banks on the cd? Yayo needs to step his game up. And if you don't feel my review... I guess I'm Guerilla Black ! Expand
  32. AlexK
    Jan 25, 2005
    9
    Very good cd i highly recommend it except the tracks called Special and Don't Worry. Everything else is great.
  33. MariahL
    Jan 31, 2005
    9
    I think you should have an edited version of your elbums but I like most of your songs
  34. AntoineA
    Feb 19, 2005
    8
    A handlful of hot, hot tracks. A couple medium bangers. And 1 or 2 duds.
  35. RickM
    Apr 24, 2005
    10
    amzing cd i love it!!!
  36. MASTERMINDE
    Oct 11, 2006
    7
    Once again another Aftermath production (well The Game was a part of Aftermath when this CD was released). Impressively and rather surprisingly, I found The Documentary to be superior in almost every regard (beats, lyrics, etc.) to The Game's former fellow cohorts recent releases. That includes: 50 Cents The Massacre and the rest G-Unit's solo outings. While the lyrics, not as Once again another Aftermath production (well The Game was a part of Aftermath when this CD was released). Impressively and rather surprisingly, I found The Documentary to be superior in almost every regard (beats, lyrics, etc.) to The Game's former fellow cohorts recent releases. That includes: 50 Cents The Massacre and the rest G-Unit's solo outings. While the lyrics, not as shallow and weak as 50 Cent's still cater to the low IQ, however the production is quite slick with pro-producers lending there hand to all the tracks (including: Timbaland, Dr.Dre, Just Blaze, Kanye West). If anything, the CD just screams to be heard in car with twins subs pounding (my dual MTXs love it). Songs like: Put You on the Game, The Documentary, and Westside Story just thrive when provided with adequate bass. The Game has voice with a rough edge that really accents the slick beats he's been provided with. I can't help but think that without the A-List production this CD would have been quite bad, but nonetheless its filled with great dance and car tracks and can be good iPod listen once in awhile as long you don't expect 2Pac-esque lyricism. Expand
  37. thekidthekid
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    this album is bangin the best ever g-unot game is better then the hole g-unit so gggggggggggggggggggggggggg-unot
  38. MusicLover
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    As far as hip-hop, this album was one of the best of 2005 (along with Be). It's got that West Coast feel to it, but the beat's aren't all similar. One thing I love about Game is the amount of detail & wordplay he feeds into the mic. It's a great album.
  39. kingm.
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    Absolutely nucking futs amazing production though he does have short comings as an mc most prevelant on hate it or love it but that is not pertinent to the overall feeling the album exhudes.
  40. Mar 30, 2013
    8
    the beats are very good, the game also does a very good job on this album, easily his best album ever. mostly thanks to 50 cent and dr dre working on this album
  41. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    8.0/10................................................................................................................................................
  42. Apr 22, 2015
    10
    Instant classic album, it is extremely well crafted thanks to a spectacular production by 50 cent and Dre and aggressive, sharp and gangster rhymes from the Compton native Game. West Coast rap was brought back to life with this album.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. The most remarkable aspect of the Game is how he can be such a blatant product of gangsta rap (okay, let's say fanboy) and leave a mark so fast.
  2. It doesn't even matter much that he's a B minus rhyme spitter, or that he spends way too much studio time name dropping.
  3. Amazingly solid.