The Documentary

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 105
  2. Negative: 5 out of 105

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    This is a classic album. hip-hop needs people like The Game To revive hip-hop and the westcoast. The Game is on a mission to bring back West Coast back to fame and he's going to do it if he creates classics like The Documentary & L.A.X.
  2. HynekH
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Westcoast classic
  3. JohnM
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    This CD is a hip-hop classic. Many of the "critics" that dis this album do so because they are too busy being "critical" and less occupied with ACTUALLY LISTENING TO THE MUSIC! The production is spotless (Timbo's track is my favorite) and the Game's lyrics are suprisingly strong (I first listened to the album skeptically b/c I hadn't really heard Game rap on his own -w/o This CD is a hip-hop classic. Many of the "critics" that dis this album do so because they are too busy being "critical" and less occupied with ACTUALLY LISTENING TO THE MUSIC! The production is spotless (Timbo's track is my favorite) and the Game's lyrics are suprisingly strong (I first listened to the album skeptically b/c I hadn't really heard Game rap on his own -w/o collabos-). From track 1 to track 18 there are NO SKIPS and the mighty Kanye West can't even make that claim on the critically acclaimed "College Dropout" (I think I skip three tracks on that disk). Haters...get a life! The game's CD is very good. Definitely a hip-hop classic. I bought the CD 2 weeks ago and it hasn't left my car's CD player yet!!!! Expand
  4. Daniel
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    Great album! Should be the 'Get Rich...' of 2005. Bold, provoking, introspective and even a little conscious: "Thinkin how they spent 30 million dollars on airplanes when there's kids starvin 'Pac is gone and Brenda still throwin babies in the garbage I wanna know "What's Goin' On" like I hear Marvin No schoolbooks, they used that wood to build coffins". Great album! Should be the 'Get Rich...' of 2005. Bold, provoking, introspective and even a little conscious: "Thinkin how they spent 30 million dollars on airplanes when there's kids starvin 'Pac is gone and Brenda still throwin babies in the garbage I wanna know "What's Goin' On" like I hear Marvin No schoolbooks, they used that wood to build coffins". Better believe the hype!! Expand
  5. ReggieH
    Feb 10, 2005
    7
    Its an average CD that had lots of marketing so it blew up. He talks too much about other rappers, just get your own foo. L Block Northern Cali.
  6. BrianW
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    Every beat is sick and the lyrics are interesting all the way thru.
  7. figz
    Mar 16, 2005
    8
    Awesome rapper and writer aswell. Every song has a meaning of its own. Much better then 50's(sell out) massacre
  8. antoineantoine
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    i agree this cd definitely had lots of marketing so it blew up but Game's cd is sooo sick and it also hasnt left my car's cd player and i've had it for about 3 weeks and i dont think its leaving anytime soon
  9. MajaS
    Apr 7, 2005
    7
    Game is good but he has to stop thinking that he is going to change hip-hop so quickly. He needs to stop acting like a child and get serious. He's name-dropping too much and there's nothing classic about that. He wouldn't be so succesful without a lot of help from 50. However, the production is great. Best song - Dreams.
  10. NahannK
    Aug 20, 2005
    10
    Thsi album was well put together, t contains the amazing songs Hate IT Or LOve It, igher, How We Do, Start From Scratch, and Put You On The Game, and is packed with high-quality raps like Westside Strory and The Documentary. Who produced it isn't as noticable as who's talking, and that's obvious when you listen to the songs above.
  11. BrannonM
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    i swear, people break down rap music like it's some science experiment, people go in forums and act like it's there job. Great album. He is not nas lyrically, and does not have biggies flow, the name dropping is tiring but the beats keep me interested.
  12. RileyF
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    An absolutely brilliant album. A lot better than anything G-Unit put out this year. The production is excellent and the only bad song is Don't Worry featuring Mary J. Blige.
  13. AndyL
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    This is fuckin amazin. One of my all-time favourite albums, just under the awesome Dr Dre.
  14. CelinaS
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    Even though The Game hasn't been in the "game" for long, he's shown everyone he has the skills to make this badass cd he's put together and ofcourse I give it a 10 because I just love The Game and I think his cd is the best.
  15. AlexG
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    Stellar CD.
  16. derryckb
    Feb 11, 2005
    9
    To start off in reviewing this album, The Game describes his album as as bringing back the West Coast even though he insists it hasnt gone anywhere. Truer words have never been spoken. While those already familiar with west coast veterans ranging from Ice Cube, Snoop and Xzibit and many in the so called 'Gangsta" genre are much established (10 plus years in th game) and may as I may To start off in reviewing this album, The Game describes his album as as bringing back the West Coast even though he insists it hasnt gone anywhere. Truer words have never been spoken. While those already familiar with west coast veterans ranging from Ice Cube, Snoop and Xzibit and many in the so called 'Gangsta" genre are much established (10 plus years in th game) and may as I may have also belived before listenibg to this album are that this genre of all the diifernt topics covered in Hip Hop are pobobably the most cluttered. Meaning, with the success of various rapeprs ranging from Ice T to Kool G rap, This median of hip hop is mabye the most overexposed and commerially popular, it is also the most viable and easiest way for an up and coming star to succeed quickly. Introducing: The Game. While on the surface he may seem like a faceless member in an already saturated area, he does seperate himd=self in his ability to speak to the streets while using clever flows to express his opinions. He is also most certainly backed by some of not only Hip Hop but musics most talented musicians. Dr. Dre, Timbaland, Kanye West, Mary J Blige, Floetry, Hi-Tek, 50 Cent, and Eminem. The game certainly bring a new twist on a old subject of gang-banging. The way the production matched the vocals are very well orchestracted. The Album's second track "Westside Story" starts off the album's tone for the listener. Simple but addictive keys from Dre and a monotone hook from 50 lend instant credibiity to this new star. The true standout track's on this album are too numerous to include and in trying to do so, many listeners may short change themselves. Veterans of West Coast rap as well as Casual or Non listeners will have no issues letting this album foat into thier CD rotaion. Reccomendation: Listen to this CD without hitting the skip button...you wont be sorry. A must for ANY Hip-Hop fan. Expand
  17. xxplayboi
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    this album is fresh lik uh impala uhhh chrome hydraulics but this album is nuts especially start from scrach shitt man that was fuckenn crazii to the wow g-unit is runnin this bitch
  18. stephenw
    Feb 16, 2005
    8
    simply heavy weight, and linked to Dr Dre Em and G unit the game seems like a winner.
  19. HectorG
    Mar 19, 2005
    10
    solid album
  20. cb
    Mar 21, 2005
    9
    good album
  21. [Anonymous]
    Mar 21, 2005
    10
    Great rapper, great producer = great album. Despite the fact he doesn't want to talk shit about some rappers 50 hates.
  22. stevenk
    Mar 9, 2005
    9
    i thought it was a good rap album it could have had better beats to bounce to he shouldn't of had kayne west do a song that just shot tha shit out of it he made to pop and gospel
  23. VinceH.
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    Easily the best mainstream hip hop album since Kanye West. The new 50 or Em cd's don't even come close, and unless Dre hurries up in the studio and releases "Detox" before years end, it will remain to be the best (at least until the new J5 or Dilated). Great production and lyrics, just get the damn thing!.
  24. AnthonyM
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    Three Words: Just Fucking Awsome
  25. almag
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    the game is the best rapper he is so freaken fine!!!!!!!!!!
  26. FrankR
    Jan 24, 2005
    9
    Best rap album I've heard in a long time.
  27. VerbalK
    Jan 25, 2005
    8
    This was a welcome surprise so early 2005. I am not a fan of POST-mixtape gem 50cent or GUnit, but this disc and the current disco inferno single by 50 show that maybe GUnit is worthy of the top click crown in hip hop right now. Game pays homage all throughout, making him humble yet justified with the few quips he does make at establishes artists. Maybe next time he will step up the This was a welcome surprise so early 2005. I am not a fan of POST-mixtape gem 50cent or GUnit, but this disc and the current disco inferno single by 50 show that maybe GUnit is worthy of the top click crown in hip hop right now. Game pays homage all throughout, making him humble yet justified with the few quips he does make at establishes artists. Maybe next time he will step up the content and flow. I still say Rass Kass with this same Dre production would be twice as good. Hate it Or Love it by Cool and Dre even outshines the good doctor. 50 murders his protege' on the few guest spots. Why aren't Buck and Banks on the cd? Yayo needs to step his game up. And if you don't feel my review... I guess I'm Guerilla Black ! Expand
  28. AlexK
    Jan 25, 2005
    9
    Very good cd i highly recommend it except the tracks called Special and Don't Worry. Everything else is great.
  29. MariahL
    Jan 31, 2005
    9
    I think you should have an edited version of your elbums but I like most of your songs
  30. AntoineA
    Feb 19, 2005
    8
    A handlful of hot, hot tracks. A couple medium bangers. And 1 or 2 duds.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. The most remarkable aspect of the Game is how he can be such a blatant product of gangsta rap (okay, let's say fanboy) and leave a mark so fast.
  2. It doesn't even matter much that he's a B minus rhyme spitter, or that he spends way too much studio time name dropping.
  3. Amazingly solid.