The Dreamer/The Believer

Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
Buy On
  1. It's a shame the God-bothering pomp of John Legend collaboration "The Believer" spoils it all at the end.
  2. The Wire
    Feb 17, 2012
    60
    The lyrical intricacy and rhythmic playfulness of old are still there, but an arthritic creakiness creeps in, especially when he indulges in hackneyed poetism and dodgy wordplay. [Feb 2012, p.71]
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    60
    I spend most of this album confused, disoriented and annoyed, yet as it comes to an end I'm curiously eager to give it one more spin.
  4. Dec 20, 2011
    60
    Common can be too, well, common: a nice guy, whose boasts and bromides are too predictable to really inspire.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    60
    Compared to his earlier work, it's just decent.
  6. Dec 20, 2011
    50
    It's a passable album of mostly neutral jams and bare-minimum production.
  7. Dec 20, 2011
    50
    Common's latest shows him with his head in the clouds and addressing the same tired crowd with the same speech he's been writing for years.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    5
    I like Common, and I have for a long time, that's why this cd was just "ok" for me. I like his flow, the beats are fine, but there's somethingI like Common, and I have for a long time, that's why this cd was just "ok" for me. I like his flow, the beats are fine, but there's something missing for me. I think my expectations for his are so high, a conventional album just won't cut it from him anymore. It's very similar to Finding Forever for me. I did not like Universal Mind Control, but liked the idea of stepping outside of his box and trying something new. Full Review »
  2. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Fantastic flow, and tight lyrics... but that is what you expect with Common. The only downside one could say about this album is that itFantastic flow, and tight lyrics... but that is what you expect with Common. The only downside one could say about this album is that it sounds somewhat like his old albums... he treads familiar waters you could say... but i sure as hell don't mind that at all. Its not revolutionary or a career best or classic. Its just good wholesome rap... and sadly we don't see a lot of that these days. Full Review »
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    It's a solid album that is significantly better than his experimental effort with UMC. Definitely strengthens his overall catalog, especiallyIt's a solid album that is significantly better than his experimental effort with UMC. Definitely strengthens his overall catalog, especially with songs like "The Dreamer", "Ghetto Dreams", "Blue Sky", "Sweet", "Raw", "Love I Lost" & "Cloth" all being on one disc. Solid 12 track LP, definitely worth of being in the 70's meta-score. Full Review »