Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    That he manages to express such ethical and religious principles without coming across like a sanctimonious buzz-killer is quite remarkable.
  2. 91
    Common attacks his ninth album with much intensity. [6 Jan 2012, p.73]
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    Together the two vets have created a work that's worthy of some serious recognition.
  4. Dec 19, 2011
    Every song on The Dreamer/The Believer succeeds off the strength of Common and No I.D.'s seasoned chemistry.
  5. Feb 2, 2012
    This isn't an album of 1990's styles brought to 2012 - these are contemporary beats and rhymes that can hang with anything else coming out on the scene
  6. Dec 21, 2011
    The Dreamer, The Believer reestablishes Common's place in the upper echelon of hip hop.
  7. Dec 20, 2011
    Common stands out from the best hip-hop albums of 2011 by doing what he has always done best since the '90s and standing firm in his style.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    I like Common, and I have for a long time, that's why this cd was just "ok" for me. I like his flow, the beats are fine, but there's something missing for me. I think my expectations for his are so high, a conventional album just won't cut it from him anymore. It's very similar to Finding Forever for me. I did not like Universal Mind Control, but liked the idea of stepping outside of his box and trying something new. Full Review »
  2. Dec 21, 2011
    Fantastic flow, and tight lyrics... but that is what you expect with Common. The only downside one could say about this album is that it sounds somewhat like his old albums... he treads familiar waters you could say... but i sure as hell don't mind that at all. Its not revolutionary or a career best or classic. Its just good wholesome rap... and sadly we don't see a lot of that these days. Full Review »
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    It's a solid album that is significantly better than his experimental effort with UMC. Definitely strengthens his overall catalog, especially with songs like "The Dreamer", "Ghetto Dreams", "Blue Sky", "Sweet", "Raw", "Love I Lost" & "Cloth" all being on one disc. Solid 12 track LP, definitely worth of being in the 70's meta-score. Full Review »