The Drift

  • Record Label: 4AD
  • Release Date: May 23, 2006
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 117 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 117
  2. Negative: 19 out of 117

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MT
    Jun 11, 2006
    3
    Before fans of this album decide to attack me or assume that I listen to "poppy" albums, I'd like to clarify: I don't. I generally adore progressive albums, especially those that stray from the mainstream, but this, I simply found boring and mostly unlistenable. For being a supposedly lush and rellentless, I found the album to be frustratingly slow paced. Although many parts of Before fans of this album decide to attack me or assume that I listen to "poppy" albums, I'd like to clarify: I don't. I generally adore progressive albums, especially those that stray from the mainstream, but this, I simply found boring and mostly unlistenable. For being a supposedly lush and rellentless, I found the album to be frustratingly slow paced. Although many parts of the album are catharticly frightenting (which is a good thing), most of the album failed to provide me with any sort of frightening adreline rush, and Walker's vocals, which are as whinny and incomprehensible as the worst emo bands out there, did not help the album at all. If people want exapansive, frightening music, there are much better choices out there than Scott Walker's attempt. Expand
  2. AlexF
    Sep 20, 2006
    2
    As a comedy album, I give this an 8. Unfortunately, I don't think it is. This sounds like the product of some gloomy teenagers with no musical training, but lots of notions of what they deem "artsy" or "avant garde".
  3. AnonymousMC
    Jun 17, 2006
    2
    un-listen-able
  4. RobertG
    Jun 5, 2006
    1
    Just because it sounds different doesn't mean it is good. This is atrocious. Consider me shallow but I think listening to music to be an enjoyable experience. "Challenging" is a red flag. This is supposed to be terrifying but I find it monotonous and unmoving. This is a case of the emperor's new clothes, because it is different people feel they are missing out on it. I'm Just because it sounds different doesn't mean it is good. This is atrocious. Consider me shallow but I think listening to music to be an enjoyable experience. "Challenging" is a red flag. This is supposed to be terrifying but I find it monotonous and unmoving. This is a case of the emperor's new clothes, because it is different people feel they are missing out on it. I'm not afraid to say it has been my least favorite album of 2006. If someone sees hating an album as some kind of accomplishment, well mission accomplished. Expand
  5. jesse
    Jun 9, 2006
    1
    Worst vocals I've heard since.... uh... can't think of any yet... ok worst vocals ever.
  6. paulh
    Jun 12, 2006
    1
    This is quiet possibly one of the worst things ever recorded - a sign of the times we live in that something like this can be elevated to artistic status, vocals are appaling, lyrics at times meaningless at others pretentiously self-aware.Boys this is not avant-garde music.But we live in an age where anything that deviates from the tried and tested norms will be lauded and laureled.He is This is quiet possibly one of the worst things ever recorded - a sign of the times we live in that something like this can be elevated to artistic status, vocals are appaling, lyrics at times meaningless at others pretentiously self-aware.Boys this is not avant-garde music.But we live in an age where anything that deviates from the tried and tested norms will be lauded and laureled.He is over-reaching from the very begining.just coz something is "difficult" doesnt mean its profound...music is elongated, contorted, absolute torture. Gave a musician friend this album to listen to and he burst out laughing after about 10 seconds..This album could tip anyone slightly suicidal over the edge Expand
  7. Ken
    Jun 14, 2006
    1
    I listen to a LOT of music. This is hardly music. It may will be raw & emotional but it's hardly quality music. Its inexplicable critical acclaim convinces me all the more that (most) critics are jaded incompetent fools.
  8. MattD.
    Jun 14, 2006
    1
    Makes me cry, and as The Wreckers say, "it's not the good kind."
  9. DrewD
    Jul 7, 2006
    0
    This is bad. I've listened to it 11 times trying to get it. I still can't, and this is coming from somebody who likes Tilt. I refuse to believe anybody actually enjoys this crap. Everybody must either be lying to be hip or decieving themselves into thinking it's good.
  10. DaveE
    Jun 13, 2006
    0
    I find it very amusing that this album is considered, based on its artistic merit, an "excellent" album. When I try to decipher what exactly is artistic about it, I end up latching onto its incessent weirdness and unrelenting collage of ugly sounds. Is it art to sit at a keyboard, fiddle around a bit, and pound out "blocks of sound" which could have easily been produced by anyone with I find it very amusing that this album is considered, based on its artistic merit, an "excellent" album. When I try to decipher what exactly is artistic about it, I end up latching onto its incessent weirdness and unrelenting collage of ugly sounds. Is it art to sit at a keyboard, fiddle around a bit, and pound out "blocks of sound" which could have easily been produced by anyone with determination, time, and a haughty enough attitude to consider endless sonic ramblings as something genuinely musical? Or perhaps its artistic to pair it with an absurdly terrible voice which, unlike other unconventional voices, fails to embody an interesting personality. I've searched this album for talent, but I hear only a delusional fool tinkering on his keyboard, communicating "poetry" which is straight from a 10th grade pothead's diary. About the only thing of artistic merit in this album is the pop culture phenomenon its generated. Expand
  11. kd
    Jul 7, 2006
    0
    I find it terribly self-indulgent and ultimately a horrible listen. It's bad+silly+horrid... why it's a triple axle of tripe.
  12. DarrylD
    Sep 6, 2006
    0
    Spent enough time with this, even after a bad first impression. The songs (sic) are essentially unlistenable. Those who champion this as substantial are drugged or happy to be part of the "out" group. All this rant about edgy and power is just a bootkissing demonstration. It's the emperor's new clothes by the critics and some of the public is afraid to say what's so Spent enough time with this, even after a bad first impression. The songs (sic) are essentially unlistenable. Those who champion this as substantial are drugged or happy to be part of the "out" group. All this rant about edgy and power is just a bootkissing demonstration. It's the emperor's new clothes by the critics and some of the public is afraid to say what's so painfully clear. This album is terrible. Expand
  13. emilyc.
    Jun 29, 2007
    0
    How about if I just moan while shoving a crooked stick in my pussy and record it. It would be far more interesting than this shit, and would probably sound about the same.
  14. TonyS
    Dec 21, 2006
    0
    This is unlistenable crap. I don't know if he was trying to be Nick Cave or something, but it didn't work. I don't usually dump on so-called "critics' darlings," but how the hell can you like this record?
  15. stuartr
    Jun 23, 2006
    0
    challenging is one word for it just as its a challenge crawl through a 3ft pool of excrement with your hands tied behind your back .
  16. Kas
    Jul 26, 2006
    0
    Umm.. WTF was that I just listened to? Rolling Stone calls him a cult artist, Im not sure I disagree, I wished I had joined Heaven
  17. KyleH
    Nov 16, 2006
    0
    Calling this "music" would be an insult to the first neandarthal to hit a rock with a stick.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Even at its most dissonant and abstract, this record is human to the core, and if you're ready to face a few demons, it's as inspiring as music gets.
  2. His effort to make the most tense, uncomfortable record in the world has resulted in something that actually feels pretty straightforward, uncomplicated, and digestible.
  3. The Drift--in all its nightmarish, bloody glory--is as bold and profound a comment on our times as has emerged so far this century.