The Electric Lady

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The  Electric Lady Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 179 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the Atlanta R&B singer continues the story of her alter-ego Cindi Mayweather with guest appearances from Erykah Badu, Big Boi, Cee Lo Green, Solange Knowles, Miguel, Prince, and Esperanza Spalding.
Buy On

Top Track

Primetime
Tick-tock, I'm watching the clock I can't wait til we get to rock I wanna scream and dream and throw a love parade Is that okay? Tonight is me and... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Sep 9, 2013
    100
    Existing in layers, The Electric Lady revels in its polarity. The overriding statement, however, is that Janelle Monae has arrived.
  2. 90
    All in all, it is one of the most exceptionally realised albums to enter the world since her last release, and confirms that both as an artist and a role-model Monáe really ought to be celebrated as Electric Lady number one.
  3. 90
    Stellar and superb, The Electric Lady is a fantastic journey filled with impeccable works of modern flair and skill, power up indeed.
  4. Expect more straightforward, big-vocal, soul-funk numbers, and fewer immediate hits. But compared with most R&B records, Monae is still lightyears ahead.
  5. Sep 11, 2013
    80
    This isn’t her masterpiece (that’s to come in the sixth and seventh suites), but it’s only a sliver away.
  6. Sep 9, 2013
    80
    There’s no glorifying of childish trends or negative influences, instead Monae favors creating music that could be embraced by varying demographics and is molded to withstand the test of time.
  7. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    Though long and featuring a bounty of ideas, The Electric Lady is surprisingly slight.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Without a doubt the best album of the year. Janelle is one of the greats and time will continue to prove that. Consulting greats like Badu,Without a doubt the best album of the year. Janelle is one of the greats and time will continue to prove that. Consulting greats like Badu, Prince, and Stevie she is continually proving that she belongs in their company. She is a genius. Her maturity, fire and the cohesiveness of this record far exceeds that of her first full length LP 2010's The ArchAndroid, not to mention that impeccable quality. Janelle has truly arrived and she knows it. Just make sure you take notice. Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    This is the best album of the year, by far. When I first heard ArchAndroid, I thought that I was listening to the music of the future and itThis is the best album of the year, by far. When I first heard ArchAndroid, I thought that I was listening to the music of the future and it couldn't get much better. Electric Lady manages to be even better, her growth is evident. She fuses music in a manner that reminds me of Lauryn Hill....and the transition between Q.U.E.E.N. & Electric Lady is awesome... Expand
  3. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    I kept reading this sentence in many reviews for this album: Janelle Monáe has arrived. I believe this sums up my impression of the albumI kept reading this sentence in many reviews for this album: Janelle Monáe has arrived. I believe this sums up my impression of the album quite accurately. It does feel like a statement, and it should. It is so much better than her debut album, which was a great achievement and still is, and it is by far the best album of the year. It incorporates many genres into a single work of stellar quality. Highly recommended. Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    I KNEW I could rely on Janelle Monae to make another amazing album! Her artistic direction is so inspiring and a pleasure to witness. SheI KNEW I could rely on Janelle Monae to make another amazing album! Her artistic direction is so inspiring and a pleasure to witness. She really improved on her skits relating to concept the inclusion of the radio show was perfect. Favourite track off the album is definitely the title track featuring Solange catchy, fun and exciting. Actually, all the features in this album from Solange, Miguel and Erykah Badu were solid. Cannot wait to hear what Janelle has up her sleeve next. Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    Janelle is fresh, exciting and has single handedly re-defined the pop, R&B, electronic and hip hop fusion in a way that hasn't been seenJanelle is fresh, exciting and has single handedly re-defined the pop, R&B, electronic and hip hop fusion in a way that hasn't been seen since Lauryn Hill made her debut in the 90s. This is incredibly well put together, irresistible, and surprisingly does not collapse on itself like 'The Archandroid' did. If she could streamline her inspiration I feel it would yield stronger results. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2016
    8
    David Letterman called Janelle Monae, 'The hardest working woman in the music industry' and I think he might be right. Even if the music isn'tDavid Letterman called Janelle Monae, 'The hardest working woman in the music industry' and I think he might be right. Even if the music isn't quite as fresh or memorable as her previous album The Archandroid it's hard not to marvel at the scope of it all. The concepts, the classical suite format of it all, the funky vibes, it's not hard to admire all of the effort put into it. Expand
  7. Sep 15, 2013
    4
    'Meh' is about all I could muster after a first listen. I suppose it could grow on me but with regards to first impressions it falls'Meh' is about all I could muster after a first listen. I suppose it could grow on me but with regards to first impressions it falls laughably, pathetically short of her previous work on The ArchAndroid. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews