User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 67
  2. Negative: 9 out of 67

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 11, 2010
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As an album The Element Of Freedom it's not great but has some perfect musics. In my opinion LOVE IS BLIND, TRY SLEEPING WITH A BROKEN HEART and UN-THINKABLE (I'M READY) are perfect songs, that can balance some duds like Love is my disease, Like the sea and This bed. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2010
    For already fans of her, there is a lot to enjoy here. But for those looking smooth polished tracks like Try Sleeping with a Broken Heart will be disappointed. However, her voice and unique style shines all the way through the album as well as she always done. Tracks like Doesn't Mean Anything, Wait Till You See My Smile, and Put It in a Love Song are definitely also highlights of Alicia's great vocals and compositions. Put in a Love Song as a collaboration with Beyonce, is quite disappointing due to the poor lyrics and overall sound that could have been bigger considering how amazing these girls are. But that aside, is still a nice track and an overall really nice album to relax and have a great time. Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2011
    This album sounds different from everything she's done so far and it seems to be the reason why people either love or hate it. I love it. It's more pop and electronic than the usual stuff but it's still Alicia Keys. She's trying out something else, let the girl bloom!
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. OMG. Just can't believe. This is so emotional. I love this album, i think this is her best album... Freedom, no one can sing like her whit all her passion and hope! i love her. Expand
  5. May 28, 2013
    A masterpiece, what a outstanding album, the songs are sung amazing, alicia is very talented, my favorite songs are put in a love song, doesn't mean anything, try sleeping with a broken heart and empire state of mind part 2 broken down.

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Jan 14, 2011
    In most of these dozen tracks (not including a ponderous intro regarding the necessity of risk and a slow-jam sequel to Jay-Z's "Empire State of Mind") Keys seems uninterested in breaking new ground, snooze-controlling her way through a series of familiar piano-soul platitude.
  2. It's far from a shock but definitely a disappointment to watch Ms. Trained Pianist survey her branding options and choose the bland card over the brains card.
  3. After so many highlights, the duds feel inconsequential, easily bypassed. Only when Keys panders to Top 40 radio does the album truly stumble, sounding like a hodgepodge of transparent ideas.