The Element Of Freedom

  • Record Label: J
  • Release Date: Dec 15, 2009
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 69
  2. Negative: 9 out of 69

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 28, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece, what a outstanding album, the songs are sung amazing, alicia is very talented, my favorite songs are put in a love song, doesn't mean anything, try sleeping with a broken heart and empire state of mind part 2 broken down.
  2. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers. OMG. Just can't believe. This is so emotional. I love this album, i think this is her best album... Freedom, no one can sing like her whit all her passion and hope! i love her. Collapse
  3. Mar 18, 2011
    8
    This album sounds different from everything she's done so far and it seems to be the reason why people either love or hate it. I love it. It's more pop and electronic than the usual stuff but it's still Alicia Keys. She's trying out something else, let the girl bloom!
  4. Sep 28, 2010
    7
    For already fans of her, there is a lot to enjoy here. But for those looking smooth polished tracks like Try Sleeping with a Broken Heart will be disappointed. However, her voice and unique style shines all the way through the album as well as she always done. Tracks like Doesn't Mean Anything, Wait Till You See My Smile, and Put It in a Love Song are definitely also highlights ofFor already fans of her, there is a lot to enjoy here. But for those looking smooth polished tracks like Try Sleeping with a Broken Heart will be disappointed. However, her voice and unique style shines all the way through the album as well as she always done. Tracks like Doesn't Mean Anything, Wait Till You See My Smile, and Put It in a Love Song are definitely also highlights of Alicia's great vocals and compositions. Put in a Love Song as a collaboration with Beyonce, is quite disappointing due to the poor lyrics and overall sound that could have been bigger considering how amazing these girls are. But that aside, is still a nice track and an overall really nice album to relax and have a great time. Expand
  5. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As an album The Element Of Freedom it's not great but has some perfect musics. In my opinion LOVE IS BLIND, TRY SLEEPING WITH A BROKEN HEART and UN-THINKABLE (I'M READY) are perfect songs, that can balance some duds like Love is my disease, Like the sea and This bed. Expand
  6. Vanessa
    Jan 8, 2010
    5
    As I Am was GREAT, even The Diary of Alicia Keys. The Element of Freedom...not so much. I only like two songs on this album. I'm kind of disappointed.
  7. Ulla
    Dec 28, 2009
    0
    I really don't like this cd, the tempo is good, but almost all songs sound the same as her previous, that's not very creative i think. If you want a cd that thinks outside the box, and a cd from a woman around the same age as miss Keys, you should pic up Shakira's She Wolf, that's innovative!
  8. Nicky
    Dec 28, 2009
    1
    This is by far Keys' worst album, it's not very coherent, and the line-up is totally ruined by one song - Put It In A Love Song, an up-tempo Beyonce-ish song, featuring, no joke, Beyonce. Alicia shouldn't have collaborated with Beyonce, not that she isn't good, but they are so different musically and artistically, that you know, for sure, they just did it for This is by far Keys' worst album, it's not very coherent, and the line-up is totally ruined by one song - Put It In A Love Song, an up-tempo Beyonce-ish song, featuring, no joke, Beyonce. Alicia shouldn't have collaborated with Beyonce, not that she isn't good, but they are so different musically and artistically, that you know, for sure, they just did it for publicity. Miss Keys' is not a publicity woman, she is far more, so shame Alicia, shame! Expand
  9. SmittyC
    Dec 23, 2009
    5
    Her debut album on non-evolving sentiments of love. Every idea has indeed been sung before, and every song keeps you waiting for a heavy dose of her beautiful talent; but fails. A good listen for the high-school teen who "thinks" he or she knows love.
  10. ChrisL.
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    An excellent offering from Ms Keys. She never fails to impress. Adore every song with exception of "Put It In A Love Song".
  11. Love
    Dec 17, 2009
    6
    It's not bad, but it's not good either. Mediocre at best. Alicia did some good things in the past, but The Element Of Freedom gets boring after listening to it twice. Love Is Blind, Try Sleeping With A Broken Heart and Unthinkable are the best tracks. ¿The worst one? Put It In A Love Song (feat Beyonce).
  12. JerrodL.
    Dec 17, 2009
    8
    So happy Alicia's introduced more pop elements into her music! The Element of Freedom is her first album I've enjoyed in its entirety. Yes, she may stay in a similar mood for the entire album, but it doesn't reach high highs and low lows like her earlier albums. I was never bored on this album--something I don't think could be said about her other works. Definitely So happy Alicia's introduced more pop elements into her music! The Element of Freedom is her first album I've enjoyed in its entirety. Yes, she may stay in a similar mood for the entire album, but it doesn't reach high highs and low lows like her earlier albums. I was never bored on this album--something I don't think could be said about her other works. Definitely worth a listen, especially for fans of mainstream R&B and pop. Expand
  13. aSmash
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Perfect album. In the realm of Illmatic, The Blueprint, and Aquemini.
  14. FilipeF.
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    The sound and feeling of the album are just perfect. Probably her better CD, but I´m sure Alicia Keys can do better.
  15. MaxS.
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    great, different, beautiful. that is all i can say.
  16. TristanL.
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Perfect. Amazing album. Love her!
  17. JosephA
    Dec 16, 2009
    8
    Cool and consistent. The songs are sweet and simple, sung beautifully and the arrangements are airy and driving. A welcome change of pace that retains some of the elements of As I Am.
  18. Darlene
    Dec 16, 2009
    2
    Alicia is just not showing any musical growth, and the flaws in her voice are so apparent on this album.
  19. TelmoC.
    Dec 15, 2009
    9
    New sound. This is a very good album.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Jan 14, 2011
    50
    In most of these dozen tracks (not including a ponderous intro regarding the necessity of risk and a slow-jam sequel to Jay-Z's "Empire State of Mind") Keys seems uninterested in breaking new ground, snooze-controlling her way through a series of familiar piano-soul platitude.
  2. It's far from a shock but definitely a disappointment to watch Ms. Trained Pianist survey her branding options and choose the bland card over the brains card.
  3. After so many highlights, the duds feel inconsequential, easily bypassed. Only when Keys panders to Top 40 radio does the album truly stumble, sounding like a hodgepodge of transparent ideas.