• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Apr 12, 2005
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 279 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 279

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. cd
    Apr 19, 2005
    2
    In the Emancipation of Mimi, Mariah voice alternates between boring and overbearing...either come hither whispers, out right screaming, or eardrum shattering high notes. Mariah never has been a true soul singer and this album confirms it. She goes through the motions but never connects with the emotions. The songwriting is derivative and unimaginative....copying either current trends or In the Emancipation of Mimi, Mariah voice alternates between boring and overbearing...either come hither whispers, out right screaming, or eardrum shattering high notes. Mariah never has been a true soul singer and this album confirms it. She goes through the motions but never connects with the emotions. The songwriting is derivative and unimaginative....copying either current trends or old standards. The last song, cringe-worthy. Collapse
  2. TBoneM
    Jul 2, 2005
    0
    I hate Mariah Carrey. I will always hate Mariah Carey. I will continue to hate Mariah Carey. I'm sure she'll be up for a grammy cause of those old asshats are friggin idjuts. Mariah should hook up with Rob Thomas. Their children would be the musical equivalent of a roach infestation.
  3. SaadH
    Sep 1, 2005
    0
    This album sucks
  4. JoeA
    Jan 5, 2006
    0
    Calling it trash would be an insult to trash.
  5. MarkM
    Nov 14, 2005
    2
    boring! not the come back she was promising!
  6. JasonS
    Apr 13, 2005
    0
    Mariah needs to change her tune, very boring.
  7. PersnicketyRogers
    Apr 18, 2005
    3
    Usually, drugs are the creative catalyst for a musician who when sober can't write shit. But, in Mariah's case, she can't write shit either chemically enhanced or clean as a whistle. Just say no to Mariah kids. Thank you.
  8. CosmoJPrelog
    Jun 4, 2005
    2
    This is tremendous weight lifting music
  9. jimmyjimoneb
    Jun 9, 2005
    4
    yeah... mariah is back in form with all the hot producers of the moment... but that's not enough for mimi to be a good album! boring and conventional...
  10. danc
    Aug 27, 2005
    4
    first two tracks great rest boring boring boring all sounds the same some really weak tracks
  11. MrBojangles
    Dec 31, 2005
    1
    This really really sucks. Once again, the music industry(100% corrupt), the retards of the American public(85%) and the grammies (100% old and irrelevant) conspire to give me indigestion and diarhea.
  12. HeanB
    Apr 15, 2005
    0
    urgh.. this album is really really bad
  13. BrianH
    Apr 15, 2005
    0
    Unbearable. Granted I'm not a fan of any of her other "music", but this is just a big-name star "singing" over some generic MIDI beats. Complete waste of talent.
  14. robbied
    Apr 18, 2005
    0
    dont u find it pathetic. Mariah use to sign slow sweet amy grant type songs. i remember cuz my mom listened to her back in the days, Know rap music is so popular (Destroying the U,S, youth) so mariah desperitaly trys to go in that direction. She is fake she just changed with the style of music. Just like Gweyne Stefani, quit being possers.
  15. AlexJ
    Jun 18, 2005
    0
    And the skank is back! How did she manage to get Snoop Dogg on her record? No, wait, I know *cough*. Having to stomach this crap is punishment enough but then i had to sit in a car full of people who thought it was the best thing since Led Zeppelin. Ech. I would only have to see Carey to ask, "Why are you still living? Shouldn't you be on Sunset Blvd by now?"
  16. StephenFunk
    Jul 18, 2005
    0
    Awful. Mariah Carey is a self-obsessed diva, and proof that Americans are getting stupider.
  17. allenw
    Feb 11, 2006
    1
    sucks
  18. drewB
    Mar 8, 2006
    0
    just when i thought music couldn't get any worse, she proves me wrong
  19. Balb
    Aug 14, 2006
    4
    4 votes for the number of nice songs on it, meaning only 4 songs worth listening
  20. martinJ
    Feb 16, 2007
    0
    pathetic music. Mairah can't sing. never release an album again
  21. AK.
    Dec 11, 2005
    4
    Listen to "Illinois" by Sufjan Stevens. He got NO Grammy nominations, yet he has the highest rated CD OF THE YEAR, not only by critics, but listeners as well. The reason Mariah Carey is even being nominated for Grammies for this record is because she's MARIAH CAREY. ooooooo. And even with the benefit she gets from previous success, this cd still only got a 61% on average. This CD Listen to "Illinois" by Sufjan Stevens. He got NO Grammy nominations, yet he has the highest rated CD OF THE YEAR, not only by critics, but listeners as well. The reason Mariah Carey is even being nominated for Grammies for this record is because she's MARIAH CAREY. ooooooo. And even with the benefit she gets from previous success, this cd still only got a 61% on average. This CD showed no evolution musically from her other records. Maybe the lyrics had a little more meaning behind them, but without anything catchy or interesting, what's the point of listening? She doesn't deserve Grammy nominations for something as subpar as this. Expand
  22. ADSpain
    Apr 15, 2005
    2
    Buen arranque.... para irse estrellando hasta el aburrimiento... lástima, seguiré esperando su "renacimiento"
  23. JacoP
    Apr 21, 2005
    0
    This needless to say sucks. What amazes me is that most of the users are praising it like its a gift from God. It's not! And you people seriously need a lesson in what makes good music.
  24. RoofusB
    Jul 23, 2006
    0
    Terrible...this "album" is in a tie with Mary J. Blige's "album" for the absolute worst human creation of all time....Terribly put together....horribly cliche...and is it just me or does every song pretain to the same idea...?...I for one would be happy if Ms. Carey and Ms. Blige would just retire and stop wasting valuable resources and materials on their "life-changing" Terrible...this "album" is in a tie with Mary J. Blige's "album" for the absolute worst human creation of all time....Terribly put together....horribly cliche...and is it just me or does every song pretain to the same idea...?...I for one would be happy if Ms. Carey and Ms. Blige would just retire and stop wasting valuable resources and materials on their "life-changing" cd's...Mariah Carey does not care about you..Mariah Carey doesn't even know you...this production was made for the sole purpose of making money and making money alone...not to for you... Expand
  25. KaiwenS
    Jul 25, 2007
    0
    Really really bad album!!!
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Heavy on ballads and midtempo love songs, it always keeps at least one foot (more often both feet) planted firmly in comforting old-school diva soul. [15 Apr 2005, p.76]
  2. There aren't any great songs among Mimi's club tunes and pop-chart-conscious tracks, and Carey is still suffering from a serious crisis of confidence.
  3. Despite its grim title with its visions of messy self-absorption, The Emancipation of Mimi is - mostly - cool, focused and urban.