The Emancipation Of Mimi

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Apr 12, 2005
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 316 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 316

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    5
    I have never really been impressed by Carey, but her songs are indeed enjoyable to listen to. I believe her success has more to do with lack of competition rather than pure talent. And this albums proves it. It's good, but not as special as anyone would've expected from the so-called diva. If some random female singer records this whole album instead of her, it wouldn't have achievedI have never really been impressed by Carey, but her songs are indeed enjoyable to listen to. I believe her success has more to do with lack of competition rather than pure talent. And this albums proves it. It's good, but not as special as anyone would've expected from the so-called diva. If some random female singer records this whole album instead of her, it wouldn't have achieved success as she did because people are so easily influenced by what Billboard and other magazines and popular critics are saying. In short, this album is a complete mediocre. Expand
  2. May 15, 2015
    5
    An big musical and vocal improvement over "Charmbracelet" (2003). The album has great bops like "It's Like That", "We Belong Together", "Shake It Off", "Joy Ride", and "Don't Forget About Us". Overall,''Mimi" is not her best album or a bad album.
  3. jimmyjimoneb
    Jun 9, 2005
    4
    yeah... mariah is back in form with all the hot producers of the moment... but that's not enough for mimi to be a good album! boring and conventional...
  4. danc
    Aug 27, 2005
    4
    first two tracks great rest boring boring boring all sounds the same some really weak tracks
  5. VidyaB
    Dec 8, 2005
    5
    Topping the billboard charts again for the forth time this week with her brand new album the Emancipation of Mimi. Mariah Carey is back and now better than ever. It was once believed that she had left the music business because of the lengthy gap between her last albums. However, with her exceptional voice and soothing high pitches brought her back and allowed her to create "We Belong Topping the billboard charts again for the forth time this week with her brand new album the Emancipation of Mimi. Mariah Carey is back and now better than ever. It was once believed that she had left the music business because of the lengthy gap between her last albums. However, with her exceptional voice and soothing high pitches brought her back and allowed her to create "We Belong Together" and "Shake It Off", both of which have hit number one on the charts. I rate it five stars. Expand
  6. alexA
    Apr 14, 2005
    5
    man alive, i wish one of these truly gifted artists (and she is gifted, obviously...she has an amazing voice and has always been involved in the writing) would take some chances w/their sound and explore some new territory. the title made me look forward to her breaking new ground...she hasn't. try something wild next time Mariah. you have the talent to back it.
  7. Matt
    Jun 9, 2005
    5
    Better than Charmbracelet, and her vocals sound good, but a bit too safe hip/hop and R&B. I prefer the pop perfection of "Hero" and "Vision Of Love."
  8. Balb
    Aug 14, 2006
    4
    4 votes for the number of nice songs on it, meaning only 4 songs worth listening
  9. JamesL
    Mar 11, 2007
    5
    Im giving this album a 5 in the hope that Mariah Carey's next album brings something different to the table. I thought this album had some nice, solid songs on it such as We Belong Together, Fly Like A Bird, and Don't Forget About Us... but the album as a whole failed to blow me away. Buy her debut, Emotions, Music Box, Daydream, or Butterfly, No.1's instead, they are her Im giving this album a 5 in the hope that Mariah Carey's next album brings something different to the table. I thought this album had some nice, solid songs on it such as We Belong Together, Fly Like A Bird, and Don't Forget About Us... but the album as a whole failed to blow me away. Buy her debut, Emotions, Music Box, Daydream, or Butterfly, No.1's instead, they are her only artistically creative albums. Expand
  10. AK.
    Dec 11, 2005
    4
    Listen to "Illinois" by Sufjan Stevens. He got NO Grammy nominations, yet he has the highest rated CD OF THE YEAR, not only by critics, but listeners as well. The reason Mariah Carey is even being nominated for Grammies for this record is because she's MARIAH CAREY. ooooooo. And even with the benefit she gets from previous success, this cd still only got a 61% on average. This CD Listen to "Illinois" by Sufjan Stevens. He got NO Grammy nominations, yet he has the highest rated CD OF THE YEAR, not only by critics, but listeners as well. The reason Mariah Carey is even being nominated for Grammies for this record is because she's MARIAH CAREY. ooooooo. And even with the benefit she gets from previous success, this cd still only got a 61% on average. This CD showed no evolution musically from her other records. Maybe the lyrics had a little more meaning behind them, but without anything catchy or interesting, what's the point of listening? She doesn't deserve Grammy nominations for something as subpar as this. Expand
  11. TalimicusN
    Apr 13, 2005
    6
    The album in my opinion is "sub-standard" Mariah gets the points for trying, but haven't we heard this before!
  12. DwightV
    Apr 17, 2005
    5
    This is better than her last few albums "Rainbow", "Charmbracelet" and "Glitter" but Mariah can still do better ("Butterfly"). This album is a bit more urban. It's predictable and bland. She's not separating herself from the other r&b 'n' hip-hop girls.
  13. Jul 16, 2016
    6
    Mariah Carey showcases stronger vocals in "The Emancipation of Mimi." Highlights are "We Belong Together," "It's Like That," "Shake It Off," "Mine Again," and "Circle," though I didn't really enjoy the rest of the album.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Heavy on ballads and midtempo love songs, it always keeps at least one foot (more often both feet) planted firmly in comforting old-school diva soul. [15 Apr 2005, p.76]
  2. There aren't any great songs among Mimi's club tunes and pop-chart-conscious tracks, and Carey is still suffering from a serious crisis of confidence.
  3. Despite its grim title with its visions of messy self-absorption, The Emancipation of Mimi is - mostly - cool, focused and urban.