The Emancipation Of Mimi

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Apr 12, 2005
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 305 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 305

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    An amazing R&B retro 70s through back album!!! Every single song is literally perfect. Her vocals are very through especially on Mine Again which she really show case it.
  2. May 19, 2012
    9
    The album starts with the lead single "It's Like That", produced by Jermaine Dupri, with the line 'I came to have a party'. Unbeknownst to her, Mariah would definitely party-it-up with her comeback album, returning to her golden pedestal of the nineties. The singles are at the beginning (the aforementioned, "We Belong Together" and "Shake It Off") and they are definitely great songs.The album starts with the lead single "It's Like That", produced by Jermaine Dupri, with the line 'I came to have a party'. Unbeknownst to her, Mariah would definitely party-it-up with her comeback album, returning to her golden pedestal of the nineties. The singles are at the beginning (the aforementioned, "We Belong Together" and "Shake It Off") and they are definitely great songs. After that, Mariah lets "the voice" loose. On songs "Mine Again" and the Kanye-produced "Stay The Night", Mariah roars, proving detractors wrong; "the voice" is still there and very much present. She keeps her belting in check; she demonstrates exactly why she's placed in the upper echelon of vocalists, but doesn't over-do it (high-range whistles, melismatic thirty second pieces, etc..). After "Stay The Night", we get the light, poppy "Get Your Number". It's very reminiscent of her earlier nineties singles, based on a sample, but the theme is more mature. Mariah isn't singing about a dream lover taking her away or a guy that's making her feel a variety of emotions. Regardless, it's a very fun song. The next few tracks are all great with the exception of the other Neptunes-produced track, "To The Floor (Feat. Nelly)". We go from the beautifully written "Circles" ('but inside I kept repeating/'don't you let him see you cry'/and I casually turned my head/as the tears rolled down my eyes'), to the light, jovial "Your Girl". Tracks "I Wish You Knew" and "Joy Ride" are also pleasant to listen too.
    The gem of this album is the last track, the powerful "Fly Like A Bird". Words cannot describe the climax of the song, so it's best if you check it out yourself. 9. The two tracks by The Neptunes prevent this album from getting the perfect score, but they're not enough to give this album less than a nine.
    Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    This album is brilliant! Filled with potential singles, it cemented her comeback and showed that she wasn't just coming back with one song. Of course, We Belong Together is a standout, but It's Like That, Fly Like A Bird, Circles, Your Girl, Say Somethin', One And Only, I Wish You Knew, Joyride, heck I could name all the songs .... these are the standouts. A real strong album that threwThis album is brilliant! Filled with potential singles, it cemented her comeback and showed that she wasn't just coming back with one song. Of course, We Belong Together is a standout, but It's Like That, Fly Like A Bird, Circles, Your Girl, Say Somethin', One And Only, I Wish You Knew, Joyride, heck I could name all the songs .... these are the standouts. A real strong album that threw her back into the limelight deservedly. Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    The best album I've ever heard. The best comeback by one of the greatest vocalists of all time. You can never count talent out. Everyone thought Mariah was done, & she proved them wrong. That's a living legend.
  5. May 5, 2014
    9
    This album is amazing. Truly Mariah's best. The success of We Belong Together just makes it so much of a sweeter experience knowing that great music was that successful.
  6. May 29, 2014
    10
    Mariah uses the retro sounds of the 70, easily making majority of the ballads instant classics. With her power house vocals, she blows the listeners away.
  7. Mar 14, 2015
    9
    The album's title is taken off the lead single lyrics 'It's a special occasion, Mimi's emancipation, A cause for celebration I am not going to let nobody's drama bother me' I love Mimi's formula and with this album she came back to the throne after such 2 bad albums, the mix of club tunes + R&B classics is - mostly - cool, focused and direct. The return of the singer with strong vocals,The album's title is taken off the lead single lyrics 'It's a special occasion, Mimi's emancipation, A cause for celebration I am not going to let nobody's drama bother me' I love Mimi's formula and with this album she came back to the throne after such 2 bad albums, the mix of club tunes + R&B classics is - mostly - cool, focused and direct. The return of the singer with strong vocals, brilliant gospel shot, 0 fillers, the limelight went back straight to Mariah after releasing such powerful singles with potential. 1 of her best albums and the highlight of the 05's. The album starts with the lead single "It's Like That", produced by Jermaine Dupri (the production is the right key to the albums success along with Mimi's voice), with the line 'I came to have a party'. Mariah would definitely party-it-up with her comeback album, returning to her golden pedestal of the nineties. The bridge, which victorious claims 'Cuz it's my night No stress, no fights I'm leavin it all behind No tears, no time to cry Just makin the most of life' refers to the previous albums that ruined Mariah's non-stop success. Continues with the 2nd single (the highlight of the album and Mariah's 2nd most successful single) the 3rd song was meant to be Mariah's 17th number #1 but was actually blocked by the previous single and peaked at #2 the chorus claims 'I got to shake it off - because the loving is not the same, And you keep on playing games like you know I'm here to stay' but fortunately the last song of the album and most lowkey no - single potential Expand
  8. GSF
    Mar 4, 2015
    10
    Possibly MiMi's most cohesive record; a true return to form for the second highest selling female artist of all time. Each track melts into the next with Mariah's mid-range crooning (her vocals aren't are strong as they once were, esp in 2015, but the production conceals this setback near seamlessly)
  9. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    The return of a great singer the mainstream! Highlight for'' We Belong Together'' and beautiful gospel song ''Fly Like A Bird.''
  10. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    Mariah Carey´s best album in the 00s decade. It is full of short, brilliant and to the point R&B and hip hop tracks, with a little bit of pop and also gospel. It was another important change of direction in Carey´s career. Her voice sounds almost inhuman. The woman sings in a way nobody else could replicate. She has the unique style many others have tried to copy. So different from herMariah Carey´s best album in the 00s decade. It is full of short, brilliant and to the point R&B and hip hop tracks, with a little bit of pop and also gospel. It was another important change of direction in Carey´s career. Her voice sounds almost inhuman. The woman sings in a way nobody else could replicate. She has the unique style many others have tried to copy. So different from her 90´s voice, now it is more divalicious and extremely sexy, but equally outstanding. Almost perfect album. Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    certainly is the masterpiece of 00s the best album of this epoch as well as innovative sold millions and loved by the general public only Thursday magazines like Rolling Stone and company that always give low marks to her suspect it.
  12. keriw
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    mariah is back
  13. JasonR
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    TEOM is one of the best rnb album this year. Go Mariah!
  14. MattR
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    I love every track on this CD. I like the classic/retro feel, and still being current. It's like R&B in the 70s, 80s and 90s, but not Mariah Carey in the 90s, which is good. Lots of smooth jams and some good songs to dance to too. Love "Get Your Number"
  15. nancyn
    May 4, 2005
    10
    This Album really gets to you. It's really good!!
  16. JessicaW
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    I am very proud of Mariah's triumphant comeback. "We Belong Together" is one of her best songs. Her voice is superb and her lyrics are heartfelt. She has evolved beautifully.
  17. JohnnyC
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    "The Emancipation of Mimi" was really THE BEST album of 2005. Hands down!. Every single track on the album is worth a listen...
  18. AshM
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    this is the best album of 2005, although none of the songs can top heartbreaker or vision of love, the songs on this album are fantastic, i'd neva heard of mariah carey b4 this album, but now im a massive fan! she got such a talent, and her voice is incredible, long may she make music
  19. Angush
    Apr 29, 2007
    10
    well done mariah~
  20. SteveR
    Dec 22, 2005
    9
    Mimi is on fire. this album is amazing. 8 months and it's still top 10. Grammy nominations are DEFINATELY deserved. Mariah has been a grammy snub for the past 15 years.... she will HOPEFULLY get the recognition she much deserves!!!
  21. michaelk
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    Pros: awesome vocals, some really reaxing songs, stay the night has an an awesome beat cons: some "been there, done that" songs overview: though a few songs suffer generic issues, mariah has proved yet again that her comeback was never too far away
  22. MarkA
    Apr 13, 2005
    8
    Very good comeback for Mariah. The only bad things are that she yells and screams too much.
  23. RemiA
    Apr 13, 2005
    8
    More soulful than she's sounded since "Vision of Love," Carey kills on most of the tracks, but especially "We Belong Together" "Circles" "Fly Like A Bird" "Stay The Night" "I Wish You Knew"
  24. [Anonymous]
    Apr 14, 2005
    8
    Songs 1-4 and 6 are the best!
  25. Cha7
    Apr 14, 2005
    8
    Her best album since Butterfly, basically. And in some weird way, I even enjoy it a little bit more. The album oozes with the sound of great production, no thanks to the Neptunes and Kanye West. There is no denying that Mariah has lost her megawatt voice that she once had during her early career (i.e. Emotions, Daydream, Merry Christmas, Music Box, and her self title album). However, she Her best album since Butterfly, basically. And in some weird way, I even enjoy it a little bit more. The album oozes with the sound of great production, no thanks to the Neptunes and Kanye West. There is no denying that Mariah has lost her megawatt voice that she once had during her early career (i.e. Emotions, Daydream, Merry Christmas, Music Box, and her self title album). However, she still shows that she has a certain craft for the lyric and the ability to still have fun with her music, whch is why she still continues to be one of my all-time favorite artist. On this album, if "Say Somethin'" doesn't become the #1 radio hit this summer (or never makes the airwaves), then I don't know what will. Already leaked on the net for the longest, this Neptunes production is definately hot (almost Drop it like its Hot catchy). I am also enoying "Your Girl" and "Joy Ride" as B-side hits along with "Fly Like a Bird". I love "Stay the Night" mostly for it Kanye West beat, but I wish that Mariah Carey could have toned herself down a little on that track. Overall an 8 and a must buy for any Mariah Carey fan. Expand
  26. JohnB
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    One Word for This Album "Cooool"
  27. markyj
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    Definitely her best since Butterfly. This will be consider a Mariah classic. She is back and better than ever
  28. BrendonB
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    Great Record! Modern R&B dipped in pld school soul
  29. AugustH
    Apr 25, 2005
    9
    I have been a fan of Mariah since she arrived on the scene. She is by far the best R&B, Pop vocalist ever period. The clarity of her voice is astounding as displayed on "Mimi' and not heard since a young Michael Jackson ie: Got to Be There, any critic who cannot hear that clarity, control and power is simply ignorant to what a true singer is. Mariah possesses God given talent and she I have been a fan of Mariah since she arrived on the scene. She is by far the best R&B, Pop vocalist ever period. The clarity of her voice is astounding as displayed on "Mimi' and not heard since a young Michael Jackson ie: Got to Be There, any critic who cannot hear that clarity, control and power is simply ignorant to what a true singer is. Mariah possesses God given talent and she deserves every praise and accolade heaped upon her, Mariah you're on fire! Keep writing and singing you are music's savior! Collapse
  30. OraneCarty
    May 20, 2005
    9
    The Album is Mariah's best in years. Though i agree that she has lost a bit of range and power over the years (and thats natural due to aging,), the album showcases that she still can sing, belt and hit notes secluded in the 6th and 7th octave and protect her title as the #1 female pop vocalist in history. Standout tracks include 'We Belong together', 'Circles', The Album is Mariah's best in years. Though i agree that she has lost a bit of range and power over the years (and thats natural due to aging,), the album showcases that she still can sing, belt and hit notes secluded in the 6th and 7th octave and protect her title as the #1 female pop vocalist in history. Standout tracks include 'We Belong together', 'Circles', 'I wish you know' and 'Fly like a Bird'. Way to got Mariah. Please, people, dont hate, just congratulate. She is the only diva thats still in the spotlight today. Guys lets support her. Lamb 4 life. Expand
  31. DeeW
    May 6, 2005
    8
    I think Myriah's whimsical career has definitely taken a toll on her vocal ability. I think she still has it, but she needs to dig deeper to rekindle that untoucheable sound quality to wowed us all with in her tender years. I think her vocal ability has not deterorated, but more or less needs to be rejuvenated. I like the usage of other artists, but that's not what made Myriah I think Myriah's whimsical career has definitely taken a toll on her vocal ability. I think she still has it, but she needs to dig deeper to rekindle that untoucheable sound quality to wowed us all with in her tender years. I think her vocal ability has not deterorated, but more or less needs to be rejuvenated. I like the usage of other artists, but that's not what made Myriah what she is. She needs to stick to her genuiness of her voice and not cloud it with other talents that detract from her very essence. Expand
  32. JMRodriguez
    May 7, 2005
    10
    Powerful! The album is so far the best for Mariah Carey when it comes to pop/rnb mixes.
  33. KyleM
    May 7, 2005
    10
    "The Emancipation of Mimi" has the same theme throughout the entire album,and that is differant for Mariah. This album is all R n' B, unlike previous albums. Previous albums are mostly Pop, with R n' B songs here and there. The way "Mimi" was produced and organized really works. The flow is amazing, and the songs are high quality. I can listen to every song without skipping a "The Emancipation of Mimi" has the same theme throughout the entire album,and that is differant for Mariah. This album is all R n' B, unlike previous albums. Previous albums are mostly Pop, with R n' B songs here and there. The way "Mimi" was produced and organized really works. The flow is amazing, and the songs are high quality. I can listen to every song without skipping a track. "Stay the Night", "Your Girl", and "Joyride" are great. Every track on this cd is completely differant then the one you heard before it. Mariah delivers big time. This cd has been #1, and the single are at the top of the charts for a reason, it is pure fun, emotion, realness, and quaity! Get it now! Expand
  34. bjorkgud
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    she is back!!! thank you Mariah for pulling out such a great album
  35. michaelwilliams
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    Good solid album!
  36. kimberlyh
    Jun 7, 2005
    7
    kinda fun but thoroughly unmemorable
  37. Liliak
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    it's the best. i can't stop listening to it. Whoever hates it needs their ears checked.
  38. margo
    Jul 19, 2005
    8
    i think this album is sooooooooo much better than "charmbracelet"! shes grown in her music ability ans has alot more confidence now, it shows in her records! ii think this is the best album since butterfly!!!!!!!!!!!!
  39. ChristopherB
    Jul 9, 2005
    8
    This is a great, fun record. It's danceable, funky and just good pop. I still think Mariah will always be a tacky chick from Jersey but it's about the music. Stop slamming her for being 35, over and saying that her voice is pooched. The CD is great and actually got me to purchase a Mariah record for the first time in over 8 years - all from only hearing "it's Like That"
  40. JayB
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    Mariah Carey's The Emancipation Of Mimi showcases Mariah's ever increasing high octave voice, while effortlessly delivering fine tracks throughout the entire album. With tracks such as 'We Belong Together' and 'Stay The Night' (Produced by Kanye West) to the club happy 'Get Your Number', 'To The Floor' and Shake It Off. Featuring Hip Hops Mariah Carey's The Emancipation Of Mimi showcases Mariah's ever increasing high octave voice, while effortlessly delivering fine tracks throughout the entire album. With tracks such as 'We Belong Together' and 'Stay The Night' (Produced by Kanye West) to the club happy 'Get Your Number', 'To The Floor' and Shake It Off. Featuring Hip Hops biggest stars, The Emancipation Of Mimi is a thorough return to the top for Mariah Carey, which will do any fan justice. Expand
  41. HairamY
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Anyone who suks obviously doesnt know good music. yes, maybe she like flopped her last 2 songs, and she may have already has her pinnacle of her career, but this album proves mariah still has what we all want. her song 'we belong together' shows us she still ahs what it takes to go to #1, 'shake it off' tells us why the only song stopping it from reaching #1 was Anyone who suks obviously doesnt know good music. yes, maybe she like flopped her last 2 songs, and she may have already has her pinnacle of her career, but this album proves mariah still has what we all want. her song 'we belong together' shows us she still ahs what it takes to go to #1, 'shake it off' tells us why the only song stopping it from reaching #1 was 'we belong together', and it has all the range from songs when ur heart is broken to when u want to get up and dance. also on the release dont forget about us, this slow ballad is more proof y mariah has reached #1 two times in 2005, more than any artist that year. also she is assured to win at least 4 of her 8 grammies. Mariah I know you'll get more than 20 #1's and beat every other artist!!!! Expand
  42. raphaelp
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    this album is the best work mariah has ever done!
  43. Chambers
    Jan 16, 2006
    9
    The control Mariah has on her now mature voice is breathtaking. I just wish she had fewer "guests" diluting it! I bought the CD to hear Mariah, not a bunch of thug Rappers
  44. MerryG
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    The re-release is a perfect 10. Get Your Number & So Lonely are fun songs and We Belong Together & Don't Forget Us add up to one cd you don't want missing in your collection. Her next cd should take up where Shake If Off left off.
  45. BrandonC
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    this is such an awesome album, i mean mariah put her heart and soul into this album and it shows with we belong together and dont forget about us.. i woulnt call this a comeback album because I always knew mariah had staying power, in fact all she did was take time to herself and wanted to write an album for herself that her true fans would be able to relate too.. and she def did that.. this is such an awesome album, i mean mariah put her heart and soul into this album and it shows with we belong together and dont forget about us.. i woulnt call this a comeback album because I always knew mariah had staying power, in fact all she did was take time to herself and wanted to write an album for herself that her true fans would be able to relate too.. and she def did that.. this is an awesome friggen album and Mariah u truly are # 1.. wish u all the best in the future We L:ove U... Expand
  46. jessicaJ
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    this album is incred it's soulful and has club jams she has a soultry voice and all the people who gave it a low score didnt listen to it she been on top for 16 years she has 17#1's and she was the only artist of the 90's to have a #1 in every year 1990- 1999 in her first 4 years of her career she sold 45 million record and had 4 # 1's on her first album and that sold this album is incred it's soulful and has club jams she has a soultry voice and all the people who gave it a low score didnt listen to it she been on top for 16 years she has 17#1's and she was the only artist of the 90's to have a #1 in every year 1990- 1999 in her first 4 years of her career she sold 45 million record and had 4 # 1's on her first album and that sold over 11 Million she's DIVA in respect she sold 150 million record throught her career and she won award BEYONCE and Mary never heard of, The album is a classic it sold 7 million in 1 year top album of 05 it has the rytmnic song one and only she has some flow and the soulful mine again dance floor banger it's like that and the top song of 05 we belong together. the uptempo get your number and the old school flavor of circles she doing the damn thing congrats Expand
  47. maria
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    album rocks!!!!
  48. AlexanderT
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    The album is great. it is one of those albums that you are able to listen to right through a number of times. special tracks include - your girl, we belong together, joyride and i wish you knew
  49. AliA.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    This album should have been called 'The Return Of Mimi'. its a brilliant album that has all the classic Mariah we have come to love. its got ballads with power house vocals ('Mine again', 'fly like a bird'), dance ('It's Like That') and more! this is really a return to form! and for the haters who say that she can't sing? ummm...she IS the This album should have been called 'The Return Of Mimi'. its a brilliant album that has all the classic Mariah we have come to love. its got ballads with power house vocals ('Mine again', 'fly like a bird'), dance ('It's Like That') and more! this is really a return to form! and for the haters who say that she can't sing? ummm...she IS the HIGHEST SELLING FEMALE ARTIST OF ALL TIME!!!!! and the world has recognized her for her voice and other talents (songwriting and producing)! Mariah rocks! Expand
  50. stevel
    Oct 17, 2005
    9
    Mariah Carey lets her fans get closer to her by debuting her childhood nickname in the title of her 2nd Island Dej Jam release. The "Emancipation Of Mimi" is a return to form from her 80's "Glitter" soundtrack and the whispery "Charmbracelet. Carey sound better than she has in years on this finely tuned R&B offering. The album opens with the Jermaine Dupri produced "It's Like Mariah Carey lets her fans get closer to her by debuting her childhood nickname in the title of her 2nd Island Dej Jam release. The "Emancipation Of Mimi" is a return to form from her 80's "Glitter" soundtrack and the whispery "Charmbracelet. Carey sound better than she has in years on this finely tuned R&B offering. The album opens with the Jermaine Dupri produced "It's Like That." While the lyrics are a bit elementary the track moves enchantingly past while easily getting it's up-beat point across. This is a stellar opening and a new beginning for Carey. She takes a 180 with the Dupri produced "We Belong Together," the album's best cut. The track smoothly flows by beginning with a piano medly and some warblings. Then Carey lets loose spilling lyrics like Beyonce or R.Kelly. This is definitely the song of the year. The album continues to shine with the catchy "Shake It Off." Other tracks worth a mention are "Circles." The James Wright produced cut is the best ballad Carey has done in years, and it is no contender for karaoke or American Idol. The Kanye West produced "Stay The Night," shines with it's upbeat jazzy flow as Carey debates whether or not to "stay" with an ex-lover. On "One And Only," one of the better upbeat tracks Carey mixes it up with Twista spilling lyrics out as fast as Twista himself. A delightful treat for any hip-hop fan. The album does have it's mushy moments. On "Joy Ride", and "I Wish You Knew" Carey slows things down a bit too much. While her mature and undeniable vocal talent make them a worthwhile listen you really want more of the "We Belong Together" formula that truly makes this records worth the buy. Coming up on November 15th Carey re-releases "Emancipation" with a bonus tracks and a DVD. Among the new tracks is the infectious "Don't Forget About Us." Another groove ballad with Dupri that the first version of "Mimi" was missing. So go check it out! Expand
  51. DavidB
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    Mimi´s album is one of best albums of this year. Her crystal voice with r´n´b style is amazing. Singles It´s Like Taht, We Belong Together and Shake It Off are hits num.1!!!
  52. irenep
    Dec 8, 2005
    9
    After Mariah Carey's new album release of "The Emancipation of Mimi" in 2005. This album impacted her life by helping her reach the top. Personally I love this album, I love her voice, her words and most importantly I love the lyrics. My reason for loving this album is very simple; it's mainly because I can personally relate to this album. Songs such as "shake it off", "we After Mariah Carey's new album release of "The Emancipation of Mimi" in 2005. This album impacted her life by helping her reach the top. Personally I love this album, I love her voice, her words and most importantly I love the lyrics. My reason for loving this album is very simple; it's mainly because I can personally relate to this album. Songs such as "shake it off", "we belong together", "mine again", "one and only", "I wish you knew" and many others. This already makes 5 songs out of the whole entire album. Therefore, this album did make it to my top of the list for the year of 2005. Expand
  53. ThomasM
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    This is mariah's best since daydream and butterfly. this album is just filled with amazing dance tracks and beautiful ballads. A+ album and a definite must have!
  54. TyceJ
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    This is an amazing return to form for Mariah, after a few mis-steps. She's singing with the vocal stylings that made her famous to begin with. Best tracks "We Belong Together" (classic Mariah), "I Wish You Knew" and the hot single "It's Like That". This has something for everyone.
  55. KarstenD
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    The beat is HOT!!!. And I think I can really ENJOY with Mariah's lyric (of those 14 tracks in the MIMI album), this sounds like a VERY BIG improvement for the artist.
  56. BJJB
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    Mariah's definitive comeback. Extremely strong effort which doesn't attempt to be groundbreaking, but instead successfully creates an RnB sound other female artists in the genrecould only dream of accomplishing. Perfect in every conceivable way.
  57. charlesg
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    While this may not compare to Mariah's all time highlights of "Always Be My Baby" or "Fantasy", Mimi sounds like the singer had a hell of a time working with the Neptunes, West, and everyone involved.
  58. EnriqueH
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    Sublime aproach to a darker side that becomes mariah so well... It's one of he most coherent albums. She is already a Legend
  59. dannyg
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Mariah carey is amazingly talented and no matter what anyone says she keeps going and this album shows the voice is back and its here to stay
  60. chriss
    Apr 14, 2005
    7
    not all bad, but could be better. her voice is beautiful but to me it seems that she just tries to be a little to hard.
  61. MagdaM.
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best albums Mariah has released. It has something for all listeners, songs vary from powerful ballads like Mine Again, We Belong Together, and Circles to name a few favorites, to more hip-hop influenced tracks like the great collaboration with Twista, One and Only, and a fan favorite Shake it Off. I highly recommend this album to everyone.
  62. FelixM
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Off the hook. I love it. It is the album we were waiting for because noone can sing like Mariah Carey. This is a hard working woman that writes, and produces all of her songs. And she has written over 150 songs.
  63. lguerra
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    I'm glad she's back!
  64. dedricc
    Apr 15, 2005
    9
    The voice is stonger in it's textures and layers of delivery...Those belting notes are GREAT!! The songs are all really-really good. Each one leads you to the next one and each song drawn you in to listen to more and more... best one yet!!
  65. MarceloC
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    The albums is very gooooood ! Congratulations Mariah Carey ! Amazing !
  66. GeorgeF
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    Welcome back Mimi! An excellent album and definately a return of the voice!
  67. NickM
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    The production is amazing and the uptempo tracks are very enjoyable. There is quite a bit of variety on this album and it is listenable from start to finish.
  68. lovecareyh
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    it's greatest album this year!!! and I like it!!!
  69. AngusC
    Apr 17, 2005
    9
    This could be a best a excellent r&b/hip hop dance album if there're no earlier classic type of songs such as Mine Again, I Wish You Knew. But I cannot deny Joy Ride does touch me a lot - a very unique soulful masterpiece with incredible vocal performance! As for the dance tracks, you just know they are HOT!
  70. JoeyC
    Apr 22, 2005
    10
    this album is great..every song is packed with her amazing voice and great production...stand outs include its like that, we belong together, shake it off, stay the night, fly like a bird, get your number, and one and oly
  71. JBlaze
    Apr 22, 2005
    9
    It's a good album, the more I listen to it the more I like most of the tunes. But it's not her best. I like it anyway. And I believe she redeemed herself after the debacle that was Glitter and Charmbracelet.
  72. hboogie
    Apr 22, 2005
    8
    Just when I thought Mariah was out of the race, comes "Emancipation". I am not clearly sure what she is emanicipating herself from, but that's another story. Although Mariah continues to display her insecurities and complexities which led to her "breakdown" after "Glitter", this album surprisingly displays Mariah's amazing vocal range and talent. If one listens to "Mimi" at face Just when I thought Mariah was out of the race, comes "Emancipation". I am not clearly sure what she is emanicipating herself from, but that's another story. Although Mariah continues to display her insecurities and complexities which led to her "breakdown" after "Glitter", this album surprisingly displays Mariah's amazing vocal range and talent. If one listens to "Mimi" at face value, not taking into account Ms. Carey's illustrious career, I would consider it a pretty good album. Definitely back on the saddle, it appears as if the worst in Mariah's unfortunate and tumultous times are passing. Just in time too because one more flop would have meant another record label, another campaign ad to attract her now distant audience... Expand
  73. RobertM
    Apr 22, 2005
    9
    I was pleasantly surprised the 1st time I listened, with the first couple of songs off the album really catching my attention. "We Belong Together" is great. Really, a solid, urban.pop mix, and a fantastic "comback" album.
  74. Emanc1patePaNdeM0niuM
    Apr 22, 2005
    10
    Very impressive album! The last 5years have been very turbulent for Mariah. Flop albums from Glitter and Charmbracelet did not help her image or reputation. More importantly, they left a scar on her flawless track-record in the decade of the 90s. What I aboslutely love about this album, is that Mariah has amazingly been able to channel all the negativity and write an album that is amongst Very impressive album! The last 5years have been very turbulent for Mariah. Flop albums from Glitter and Charmbracelet did not help her image or reputation. More importantly, they left a scar on her flawless track-record in the decade of the 90s. What I aboslutely love about this album, is that Mariah has amazingly been able to channel all the negativity and write an album that is amongst her best work of all time. Marketed as the 'return of the voice,' this album definitely proves this statement. Evident in songs like Mine Again, Stay The Night and Circles & Fly Like A Bird, Mariah proves why she earned the title of 'greatest vocalist of all time' in a recent MTV poll. Another feature of this album is the absence of whisper crap and rapper domination that plagued and to an extent caused the flops of Glitter and Charmbracelet. The Highlights of this album include the 1st and 2nd singles: It's Like That and We Belong Together. This is Mariah at her best. Showcasing her diversity as an artist, these 2 songs bring together Mariah's strengths and capabilities of an artist. Great songwriting, catchy melodies, strong production and most importantly breath-taking vocals. Other impressive tracks and potential singles include: Stay The Night, Say Something. For an artist that has been constantly knocked down in the past 5 years. You have to give credit to Mariah for getting 'back up on the horse' to deliver such a strong album that rivals her Masterpieces of Butterfly and Daydream. If Butterfly was a MONA LISA and Daydream was a SISTINE CHAPEL The Emancipation of Mimi is a Picasso !! All masterpieces in their own right. If recent sales in the USA are anything to go by (in which she debuted at #1 with a massive 407,000 sold in the first week), it seems the general public agree! :) Congratulations Mariah on a remarkable comeback. This album will confirm your title as the 'biggest selling female artist of all time.' Expand
  75. NickF
    Apr 23, 2005
    9
    AWSOME! Her range is... wow! Oh, yeah and she HOTT
  76. Patk
    Apr 26, 2005
    7
    i have been a huge mariah fan since the beginning, i don't know, i have mixed feelings about this album. when i first went through the songs on the cd i was a little disappointed, but after a few listens some of the songs started growing on me. The best songs on the album imo is "we belong together" and "stay the night" - she does use more of her vocals but it definitely isn't i have been a huge mariah fan since the beginning, i don't know, i have mixed feelings about this album. when i first went through the songs on the cd i was a little disappointed, but after a few listens some of the songs started growing on me. The best songs on the album imo is "we belong together" and "stay the night" - she does use more of her vocals but it definitely isn't up to par. The album does have a retro feel to it. overall, i guess i'm a bit disappointed.... Expand
  77. ThiagoB
    Apr 28, 2005
    9
    The best highlights are: 01. 9,6 - We Belong Together We Belong Together is definetely the most important and beautiful song of the album, important because early reports shows that this is gonna be one of the hugest sucess in Mariah's carrer, and beautiful because the R&b-slow-jam rhythm brings you a sentimentalism while Mariah cries a river for her lost lover. 02. 9,2 - Fly Like a The best highlights are: 01. 9,6 - We Belong Together We Belong Together is definetely the most important and beautiful song of the album, important because early reports shows that this is gonna be one of the hugest sucess in Mariah's carrer, and beautiful because the R&b-slow-jam rhythm brings you a sentimentalism while Mariah cries a river for her lost lover. 02. 9,2 - Fly Like a Bird Mariah Carey brings up in this song the art of her smooth voice in the beggining with the power of her belting voice in the end... Fly Like a Bird a gospel-inspirational song and its different from anything Mariah has ever done, With a Jazz/Soul vibe the song brings you such an excitement at the end that it makes you feel a complete euphory 03. 8,9 - It's Like That Its Like That is different from anything you have ever listened from Mariah. With a Club-R&b Hit Vibe, The song brings the message: "This is my night, no stress, no fights, I'm making the most of life". Chosen to be the first single the song matched perfectly to what radios are asking for these days... 04. 8,8 - Joy Ride Joy Ride is the type of song that makes you feel above the clouds.. With its pop down-rhythmed energy, the song is quite simple but catches your attention with the hooks that are all over the song, such as "way up high, a joy ride" and its outstanding bridge resounding full-love sentences such as "We found paradise, forever you and I..." 05. 8,5 - One And Only Mariah gets together with Twista on One And Only to bring the "men are from mars and women are from venus" message. A typical R&B song with a differential, It's impossible to listen this song and don't get it stucked in your head from the very first time. While it happens Twista gets the chance to enhance the song with a nasty rap "To kiss your lips with desire, Twista and Mariah"... 06. 8,5 - Stay The Night Take this note, Stay The Night is different from anything you have ever heard. Its Old-Vibe-R&B-Rhythm sends you back to what would be a very modern song in the 70`s... The Chorus burns as fire while Mariah screams perfectly words such as "night" "light" and "drive" 07. 8,3 - I Wish You Knew People would say that I Wish You Knew is just one more of Mariah's ballads. THough It's not ! The song sends you back for 90's where it could possible be a ballad compared to Mariah's "Daydream" Era. With some Mariah discurses between the song, and an audience (even being fake) the song brings you all the jazz/pop vibe you would like to listen on a rainy Sunday. 08. 8,0 - Shake It Off Shake It Off would match perfectly on a R.Kelly or even an Usher's album... It has a very strong R&B Rhythm with some contemporary street-urban vibe Expand
  78. MarieEliseP
    May 12, 2005
    10
    This is certainly Mariah's best work in years... To me this is the more logical progression from her 1990s CD Butterfly... 1gazillion times better than Rainbow, Glitter and Charmbracelet combined. I honestly don't know why there are still so many people who want to put her down... this album is even better than her earlier works such as the Emotions CD, which simply showcases This is certainly Mariah's best work in years... To me this is the more logical progression from her 1990s CD Butterfly... 1gazillion times better than Rainbow, Glitter and Charmbracelet combined. I honestly don't know why there are still so many people who want to put her down... this album is even better than her earlier works such as the Emotions CD, which simply showcases her voice but has can muster little depth and true emotion. Her voice might have deteriorated a bit... but I think her voice had been at it's worst during the Rainbow days where her voice is gritty and raspy throughout and occassionally would even break when she belts. I honestly was one of the people who initially thought her voice was already gone, but listening to this album and listening to her perform in the VH1 Save the Music tells me clearly that the voice indeed is stil there. Even at its current state, her voice is still superior to that of contemporary Whitney and newbies Christina, Beyonce, and especially Alicia Keys (who as early as her second album is already showing signs of vocal deterioration. Cut her some slack, vocal change is a natural phenomenon of agiag. Vocal quality and timbre do change as you mature. No one made an issue of how Aretha Franklin's voice changed through the years! I think it's just a matter of how a performer uses her voice. She might have struggled with this vocal change in the last few years and might have even misused it in her last three cd efforts Rainbow, Glitter, and Charmbracelet, but she certainly is learning how to harness her still glorious and powerful voice now. With a little less overnight partying, and probably a little less "purple" she could still regain her superbly glorious voice. Expand
  79. beckyk
    May 12, 2005
    10
    this is an amazing album ! keep it up mariah it couldnt have been any better
  80. EdS
    May 14, 2005
    8
    I don't blame Rolling Stone or New Musical Express for playing safe with their low ratings to protect their "credibility". They favor alternative and rock anyway. I myself stayed away from everything she did after Butterfly. But, after sampling the clips at Amazon (and eventually buying it), I believe she's recaptured her charm from her early albums, like Emotions or Music Box. I don't blame Rolling Stone or New Musical Express for playing safe with their low ratings to protect their "credibility". They favor alternative and rock anyway. I myself stayed away from everything she did after Butterfly. But, after sampling the clips at Amazon (and eventually buying it), I believe she's recaptured her charm from her early albums, like Emotions or Music Box. It almost sounds like she's a new artist trying to prove us again with these vocal chops. Good job Mariah! You won me over again. She still packs more talent than any of the American Idols. My favorite is the unusual pairing with Snoop Dogg on "Say Something" - kind of echoes "Someday" with the humor of Snoop. Bottom line - I'm entertained and been playing it again and again. Would be nice to have this in DVD-audio. Expand
  81. LinardA
    May 15, 2005
    9
    Mariah Carey might have lost some of her power belting over the years...But...Mariah is Mariah! Sell or not...asked a small kid who is she & you'll get a replied back "oh the diva who can sing as high as a dolphin".Now, see what I mean! One & Only!~
  82. mattr
    May 20, 2005
    10
    Good Work. Welcome back
  83. ChadH
    May 22, 2005
    9
    i think this is one of the best cd's since Beyonce's Dangerously In Love(which was one of the best cd's ever).
  84. hugec
    May 6, 2005
    10
    definitely a 10! "we belong together", no doubt, is the best song in the album, and the best song that mariah has delivered in many years. with this album, mariah has proven her tenacity and, once again, her superior artistry!
  85. OmarB
    May 6, 2005
    8
    Good album. One or two songs I could have done without but otherwise the album is pretty solid.
  86. BridgetG
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    I love this whole cd. I couldn't believe how good all the songs were. I play it overand over and over...
  87. eddiel
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    way better than the last 2 albums
  88. triciam
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    I really love Mariahs' new album, track 2 is the bomb!
  89. AnnieB
    Jul 12, 2005
    9
    Wherever her voice now vs. during her debut, Mariah is now very comfortable with her voice, for all its strengths and weaknesses- a mark of a legendary singer. This album is meant to be feel-good, so don't expect any deep introspections about "being emancipated." As a feel-good album, Mimi definitely delivers, particularly when she puts in her old-school soul influences (samples, Wherever her voice now vs. during her debut, Mariah is now very comfortable with her voice, for all its strengths and weaknesses- a mark of a legendary singer. This album is meant to be feel-good, so don't expect any deep introspections about "being emancipated." As a feel-good album, Mimi definitely delivers, particularly when she puts in her old-school soul influences (samples, production, background vocals, instruments) in It's Like That, Mine Again, Stay The Night, Get YOur Number, Circles, Your Girl, I Wish You Knew. Look for these old-soul elements, they're very smartly done. Weakest part of the album is Nelly's participation, one review was right, he sounded like he just phoned in his parts. Good thing the Neptunes' idea of good drums saves the day for halfbaked uptempo numbers Say Somethin' and To The Floor. Expand
  90. SarahT
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    Is a fantastic album. Wish people wud stop dissing people who can actually sing, many of us can't, couldn't and wudn't!
  91. AlanaO
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    This is a terrific album....a breath of fresh air. Most people who aren't classically trained don't realize that what is being mistaken for vocal weakness, is her ability to control the volume and tone of each note that she sings, with ease.....but hey...we're talking about people who like pop, which translates: Popular Culture...anything that is in style right now. Mariah This is a terrific album....a breath of fresh air. Most people who aren't classically trained don't realize that what is being mistaken for vocal weakness, is her ability to control the volume and tone of each note that she sings, with ease.....but hey...we're talking about people who like pop, which translates: Popular Culture...anything that is in style right now. Mariah has been able to keep up with the trend (somewhat) and grow vocally and showcase her talent year after year. Too bad you can't appreciate it...HATERS. To those real Mariah and quality MUSIC fans, we 've got a good cd to listen to. Expand
  92. rnbmast3r
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    This is a great album with the super hits 'We Belong Together' , 'Shake It Off', 'Say Somethin', and 'One and Only'. And the album features Snoop Dogg, JD, Twista and other great Hip-Hop/R&B stars. must have for about anyone
  93. RaVANY
    Aug 8, 2005
    9
    This is by far one of Mariah's best efforts. Her voice has gotten a lot weaker, but she can still blow the likes of Lindsey, Britney, Jessica, Ashley, and Hilary out of the water. However Beyonce and Christna are another matter. Both Beyonce and Christina love Mariah's music and grew up emulating her and with good reason. For the better part of the 90s she was infact the queen This is by far one of Mariah's best efforts. Her voice has gotten a lot weaker, but she can still blow the likes of Lindsey, Britney, Jessica, Ashley, and Hilary out of the water. However Beyonce and Christna are another matter. Both Beyonce and Christina love Mariah's music and grew up emulating her and with good reason. For the better part of the 90s she was infact the queen bee. Alas all good things must come to an end. Keep in mind that Mariah's vocal pinnacle has come and gone, but she's still amazing. Anyone who has a concert on DVD or downloaded for the mid 90s knows what Ms. Carey was really capable of and few savor Patti, Celine, or Whitney can touch that. Mariah is an icon and I'm overjoyed to see her kicking ass on the charts again. All the best MARIAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  94. JD
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    I cannot believe how envious some of you are of Mariah's success. This is obviously an incredible album, so deal with it. You wish your favorite singer can sing as good as this, but they cannot, it is humanly impossible. Oh, and by the way, how is Mariah a "poser"? She started the Hip-Hop and Pop collaboration with 'Fantasy (Remix)', tell me an artist previous to her who I cannot believe how envious some of you are of Mariah's success. This is obviously an incredible album, so deal with it. You wish your favorite singer can sing as good as this, but they cannot, it is humanly impossible. Oh, and by the way, how is Mariah a "poser"? She started the Hip-Hop and Pop collaboration with 'Fantasy (Remix)', tell me an artist previous to her who has done this. Haters. Anyway, this album is incredibly good, not as good lyrically than her last album, Chambracelet, but definetly is incredibly better than Charmbracelet musically and vocally. The highlight of this album is obviously 'We Belong Together', I mean, the song has been #1 for 14 weeks, 15 if you count the week Carrie Underwood stole the top spot from her. Obviously she is doing something incredibly right. Other highlight ballad's include 'Joyride', 'Mine Again', 'Circles', 'Stay The Night', 'I Wish You Knew', and 'Fly Like A Bird' 7 of the 14 tracks are R&B Ballads, so stop saying she is a "poser", it's not all Hip-Hop, and apparently you guys didn't even bother giving the 2nd half of the album, the ballad side, a chance. The other 7 are technically hip-hop cuts, but they really work. Anyway, this album is worthy of any music fan's CD collection. If you like Urban AC, listen to 'Fly Like A Bird', if you love pop give 'Shake It Off' a try. If you are an Urban junkie, definetly listen to 'Your Girl'. Even if you are a fan of country, lyrically, 'We Belong Together' will do it for you! The only genre this CD possibly couldn't fit into is Rock. Anyway, this album is incredible, and anybody who doesn't realize this is either deaf, a mariah hater, or doesn't appreciate good music. Give the 'Glitter' thing a rest, Mariah is definetly back, whether you like it or not. Expand
  95. MaxZ
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Mariah Carey has proved herself over her 15 years. Although Glitter was a major flop and Charmbracelet destroyed her vocals, this album is Mariah picking herself back up. With 17 #1's she's tied with Elvis Presley and maybe she'll beat Beatles. This album has songs that are a reminder why she has broken so many records. Although I think this album is her pinnacle in this Mariah Carey has proved herself over her 15 years. Although Glitter was a major flop and Charmbracelet destroyed her vocals, this album is Mariah picking herself back up. With 17 #1's she's tied with Elvis Presley and maybe she'll beat Beatles. This album has songs that are a reminder why she has broken so many records. Although I think this album is her pinnacle in this millennium, Mariah always proves us wrong over and over again. Also I'd like to forgive all those people who are too narrow-minded to realize Mariah's success. Expand
  96. steveb
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    A great album. I love every track, especially Mine Again, Fly Like a Bird and Making It Last All Nite. Mariah's debut album remains one of the favorites in my collection.
  97. LouiseC
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    Mariah rose out of the grave that her harshest critics and haters had so quickly dug up for her in 2001. They eulogized her too quickly but she never looked down. She looked up and asked for strength -- something she had all along. That strength was her talent and skill to tear the competition apart. 8 Grammy noms, and numerous World Music Awards, Vibe Awards and Radio Music Awards later, Mariah rose out of the grave that her harshest critics and haters had so quickly dug up for her in 2001. They eulogized her too quickly but she never looked down. She looked up and asked for strength -- something she had all along. That strength was her talent and skill to tear the competition apart. 8 Grammy noms, and numerous World Music Awards, Vibe Awards and Radio Music Awards later, she's still rippin' it. Hail the *real* Queen, haters! Expand
  98. RyanC
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    hot tamales
  99. giano
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    It's definitely the best album of 2005!!! No question about it!!! Mariah's the best ever!!!
  100. Nene27Leo
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    Mariah is often imitated,but never duplicated. Come on haters lets be realistic. Mariah is not only extremely talented, she is also original. Many newcomers inspire to be like Mariah. Just pust her outfits aside and acknowledge true creative talent.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Heavy on ballads and midtempo love songs, it always keeps at least one foot (more often both feet) planted firmly in comforting old-school diva soul. [15 Apr 2005, p.76]
  2. There aren't any great songs among Mimi's club tunes and pop-chart-conscious tracks, and Carey is still suffering from a serious crisis of confidence.
  3. Despite its grim title with its visions of messy self-absorption, The Emancipation of Mimi is - mostly - cool, focused and urban.