The Emancipation Of Mimi

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Apr 12, 2005
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 326 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 326

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    An amazing R&B retro 70s through back album!!! Every single song is literally perfect. Her vocals are very through especially on Mine Again which she really show case it.
  2. May 19, 2012
    9
    The album starts with the lead single "It's Like That", produced by Jermaine Dupri, with the line 'I came to have a party'. Unbeknownst to her, Mariah would definitely party-it-up with her comeback album, returning to her golden pedestal of the nineties. The singles are at the beginning (the aforementioned, "We Belong Together" and "Shake It Off") and they are definitely great songs.The album starts with the lead single "It's Like That", produced by Jermaine Dupri, with the line 'I came to have a party'. Unbeknownst to her, Mariah would definitely party-it-up with her comeback album, returning to her golden pedestal of the nineties. The singles are at the beginning (the aforementioned, "We Belong Together" and "Shake It Off") and they are definitely great songs. After that, Mariah lets "the voice" loose. On songs "Mine Again" and the Kanye-produced "Stay The Night", Mariah roars, proving detractors wrong; "the voice" is still there and very much present. She keeps her belting in check; she demonstrates exactly why she's placed in the upper echelon of vocalists, but doesn't over-do it (high-range whistles, melismatic thirty second pieces, etc..). After "Stay The Night", we get the light, poppy "Get Your Number". It's very reminiscent of her earlier nineties singles, based on a sample, but the theme is more mature. Mariah isn't singing about a dream lover taking her away or a guy that's making her feel a variety of emotions. Regardless, it's a very fun song. The next few tracks are all great with the exception of the other Neptunes-produced track, "To The Floor (Feat. Nelly)". We go from the beautifully written "Circles" ('but inside I kept repeating/'don't you let him see you cry'/and I casually turned my head/as the tears rolled down my eyes'), to the light, jovial "Your Girl". Tracks "I Wish You Knew" and "Joy Ride" are also pleasant to listen too.
    The gem of this album is the last track, the powerful "Fly Like A Bird". Words cannot describe the climax of the song, so it's best if you check it out yourself. 9. The two tracks by The Neptunes prevent this album from getting the perfect score, but they're not enough to give this album less than a nine.
    Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    This album is brilliant! Filled with potential singles, it cemented her comeback and showed that she wasn't just coming back with one song. Of course, We Belong Together is a standout, but It's Like That, Fly Like A Bird, Circles, Your Girl, Say Somethin', One And Only, I Wish You Knew, Joyride, heck I could name all the songs .... these are the standouts. A real strong album that threwThis album is brilliant! Filled with potential singles, it cemented her comeback and showed that she wasn't just coming back with one song. Of course, We Belong Together is a standout, but It's Like That, Fly Like A Bird, Circles, Your Girl, Say Somethin', One And Only, I Wish You Knew, Joyride, heck I could name all the songs .... these are the standouts. A real strong album that threw her back into the limelight deservedly. Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    The best album I've ever heard. The best comeback by one of the greatest vocalists of all time. You can never count talent out. Everyone thought Mariah was done, & she proved them wrong. That's a living legend.
  5. May 5, 2014
    9
    This album is amazing. Truly Mariah's best. The success of We Belong Together just makes it so much of a sweeter experience knowing that great music was that successful.
  6. May 29, 2014
    10
    Mariah uses the retro sounds of the 70, easily making majority of the ballads instant classics. With her power house vocals, she blows the listeners away.
  7. Mar 14, 2015
    9
    The album's title is taken off the lead single lyrics 'It's a special occasion, Mimi's emancipation, A cause for celebration I am not going to let nobody's drama bother me' I love Mimi's formula and with this album she came back to the throne after such 2 bad albums, the mix of club tunes + R&B classics is - mostly - cool, focused and direct. The return of the singer with strong vocals,The album's title is taken off the lead single lyrics 'It's a special occasion, Mimi's emancipation, A cause for celebration I am not going to let nobody's drama bother me' I love Mimi's formula and with this album she came back to the throne after such 2 bad albums, the mix of club tunes + R&B classics is - mostly - cool, focused and direct. The return of the singer with strong vocals, brilliant gospel shot, 0 fillers, the limelight went back straight to Mariah after releasing such powerful singles with potential. 1 of her best albums and the highlight of the 05's. The album starts with the lead single "It's Like That", produced by Jermaine Dupri (the production is the right key to the albums success along with Mimi's voice), with the line 'I came to have a party'. Mariah would definitely party-it-up with her comeback album, returning to her golden pedestal of the nineties. The bridge, which victorious claims 'Cuz it's my night No stress, no fights I'm leavin it all behind No tears, no time to cry Just makin the most of life' refers to the previous albums that ruined Mariah's non-stop success. Continues with the 2nd single (the highlight of the album and Mariah's 2nd most successful single) the 3rd song was meant to be Mariah's 17th number #1 but was actually blocked by the previous single and peaked at #2 the chorus claims 'I got to shake it off - because the loving is not the same, And you keep on playing games like you know I'm here to stay' but fortunately the last song of the album and most lowkey no - single potential Expand
  8. GSF
    Mar 4, 2015
    10
    Possibly MiMi's most cohesive record; a true return to form for the second highest selling female artist of all time. Each track melts into the next with Mariah's mid-range crooning (her vocals aren't are strong as they once were, esp in 2015, but the production conceals this setback near seamlessly)
  9. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    The return of a great singer the mainstream! Highlight for'' We Belong Together'' and beautiful gospel song ''Fly Like A Bird.''
  10. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    Mariah Carey´s best album in the 00s decade. It is full of short, brilliant and to the point R&B and hip hop tracks, with a little bit of pop and also gospel. It was another important change of direction in Carey´s career. Her voice sounds almost inhuman. The woman sings in a way nobody else could replicate. She has the unique style many others have tried to copy. So different from herMariah Carey´s best album in the 00s decade. It is full of short, brilliant and to the point R&B and hip hop tracks, with a little bit of pop and also gospel. It was another important change of direction in Carey´s career. Her voice sounds almost inhuman. The woman sings in a way nobody else could replicate. She has the unique style many others have tried to copy. So different from her 90´s voice, now it is more divalicious and extremely sexy, but equally outstanding. Almost perfect album. Expand
  11. cd
    Apr 19, 2005
    2
    In the Emancipation of Mimi, Mariah voice alternates between boring and overbearing...either come hither whispers, out right screaming, or eardrum shattering high notes. Mariah never has been a true soul singer and this album confirms it. She goes through the motions but never connects with the emotions. The songwriting is derivative and unimaginative....copying either current trends or In the Emancipation of Mimi, Mariah voice alternates between boring and overbearing...either come hither whispers, out right screaming, or eardrum shattering high notes. Mariah never has been a true soul singer and this album confirms it. She goes through the motions but never connects with the emotions. The songwriting is derivative and unimaginative....copying either current trends or old standards. The last song, cringe-worthy. Expand
  12. TBoneM
    Jul 2, 2005
    0
    I hate Mariah Carrey. I will always hate Mariah Carey. I will continue to hate Mariah Carey. I'm sure she'll be up for a grammy cause of those old asshats are friggin idjuts. Mariah should hook up with Rob Thomas. Their children would be the musical equivalent of a roach infestation.
  13. SaadH
    Sep 1, 2005
    0
    This album sucks
  14. JoeA
    Jan 5, 2006
    0
    Calling it trash would be an insult to trash.
  15. MarkM
    Nov 14, 2005
    2
    boring! not the come back she was promising!
  16. JasonS
    Apr 13, 2005
    0
    Mariah needs to change her tune, very boring.
  17. PersnicketyRogers
    Apr 18, 2005
    3
    Usually, drugs are the creative catalyst for a musician who when sober can't write shit. But, in Mariah's case, she can't write shit either chemically enhanced or clean as a whistle. Just say no to Mariah kids. Thank you.
  18. Nov 17, 2013
    5
    I have never really been impressed by Carey, but her songs are indeed enjoyable to listen to. I believe her success has more to do with lack of competition rather than pure talent. And this albums proves it. It's good, but not as special as anyone would've expected from the so-called diva. If some random female singer records this whole album instead of her, it wouldn't have achievedI have never really been impressed by Carey, but her songs are indeed enjoyable to listen to. I believe her success has more to do with lack of competition rather than pure talent. And this albums proves it. It's good, but not as special as anyone would've expected from the so-called diva. If some random female singer records this whole album instead of her, it wouldn't have achieved success as she did because people are so easily influenced by what Billboard and other magazines and popular critics are saying. In short, this album is a complete mediocre. Expand
  19. May 15, 2015
    5
    An big musical and vocal improvement over "Charmbracelet" (2003). The album has great bops like "It's Like That", "We Belong Together", "Shake It Off", "Joy Ride", and "Don't Forget About Us". Overall,''Mimi" is not her best album or a bad album.
  20. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    certainly is the masterpiece of 00s the best album of this epoch as well as innovative sold millions and loved by the general public only Thursday magazines like Rolling Stone and company that always give low marks to her suspect it.
  21. keriw
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    mariah is back
  22. JasonR
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    TEOM is one of the best rnb album this year. Go Mariah!
  23. CosmoJPrelog
    Jun 4, 2005
    2
    This is tremendous weight lifting music
  24. MattR
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    I love every track on this CD. I like the classic/retro feel, and still being current. It's like R&B in the 70s, 80s and 90s, but not Mariah Carey in the 90s, which is good. Lots of smooth jams and some good songs to dance to too. Love "Get Your Number"
  25. nancyn
    May 4, 2005
    10
    This Album really gets to you. It's really good!!
  26. jimmyjimoneb
    Jun 9, 2005
    4
    yeah... mariah is back in form with all the hot producers of the moment... but that's not enough for mimi to be a good album! boring and conventional...
  27. danc
    Aug 27, 2005
    4
    first two tracks great rest boring boring boring all sounds the same some really weak tracks
  28. JessicaW
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    I am very proud of Mariah's triumphant comeback. "We Belong Together" is one of her best songs. Her voice is superb and her lyrics are heartfelt. She has evolved beautifully.
  29. JohnnyC
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    "The Emancipation of Mimi" was really THE BEST album of 2005. Hands down!. Every single track on the album is worth a listen...
  30. AshM
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    this is the best album of 2005, although none of the songs can top heartbreaker or vision of love, the songs on this album are fantastic, i'd neva heard of mariah carey b4 this album, but now im a massive fan! she got such a talent, and her voice is incredible, long may she make music
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Heavy on ballads and midtempo love songs, it always keeps at least one foot (more often both feet) planted firmly in comforting old-school diva soul. [15 Apr 2005, p.76]
  2. There aren't any great songs among Mimi's club tunes and pop-chart-conscious tracks, and Carey is still suffering from a serious crisis of confidence.
  3. Despite its grim title with its visions of messy self-absorption, The Emancipation of Mimi is - mostly - cool, focused and urban.