• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Emancipation Of Mimi Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 338 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer wrote many of the songs appearing on 'Mimi,' and even produced one cut, with the remainder of the production duties falling to Jermaine Dupri, the Neptunes and Kanye West. Also appearing are Nelly, Twista and Snoop Dogg.

Top Track

We Belong Together
I didn't mean it when I said I didn't love you so I should have held on tight I never should have let you go I didn't know nothing I was stupid, I... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Emancipation works the kind of pure-pop magic that sets us all free.
  2. Vibe
    80
    Mariah gets back to her winning formula with Mimi. [May 2005, p.139]
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Heavy on ballads and midtempo love songs, it always keeps at least one foot (more often both feet) planted firmly in comforting old-school diva soul. [15 Apr 2005, p.76]
  4. Carey does not completely hearken back to her old days, but The Emancipation of Mimi does prove her staying power.
  5. It might not be as hip as it thinks it is, nor is it as catchy as it should be, but it's smooth and listenable.
  6. Los Angeles Times
    50
    Her sadly depleted voice is again propped up by multi-tracking, and the occasional dog-deafening shriek hardly proves she's recaptured her early acrobatic power. [10 Apr 2005]
  7. New Musical Express (NME)
    20
    'Mimi' manages the unique trick of being self-indulgent without actually ever sounding much like Mariah. [16 Apr 2005, p.51]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 182
  1. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    An amazing R&B retro 70s through back album!!! Every single song is literally perfect. Her vocals are very through especially on Mine AgainAn amazing R&B retro 70s through back album!!! Every single song is literally perfect. Her vocals are very through especially on Mine Again which she really show case it. Expand
  2. LoriU
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    First of all, we are experiencing history as we know it every day. Mariah is a true artist who geniunely knows how to write great ballads but First of all, we are experiencing history as we know it every day. Mariah is a true artist who geniunely knows how to write great ballads but not only that hip hop, r&b, whatever. Mariah said it herself that she's always wanted to do hip hop because she grew up with it and loves it. You know what, this album totally proves that she can raise the bar for so many artists out there. You people who diss her, why??? Do you realize how many artists want to be her or want to copy her formula? She's already a legend and will continue to rise like a phoneix year after year. Expand
  3. TyceJ
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    This is an amazing return to form for Mariah, after a few mis-steps. She's singing with the vocal stylings that made her famous to begin This is an amazing return to form for Mariah, after a few mis-steps. She's singing with the vocal stylings that made her famous to begin with. Best tracks "We Belong Together" (classic Mariah), "I Wish You Knew" and the hot single "It's Like That". This has something for everyone. Expand
  4. AshM
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    this is the best album of 2005, although none of the songs can top heartbreaker or vision of love, the songs on this album are fantastic, this is the best album of 2005, although none of the songs can top heartbreaker or vision of love, the songs on this album are fantastic, i'd neva heard of mariah carey b4 this album, but now im a massive fan! she got such a talent, and her voice is incredible, long may she make music Expand
  5. stevel
    Oct 17, 2005
    9
    Mariah Carey lets her fans get closer to her by debuting her childhood nickname in the title of her 2nd Island Dej Jam release. The Mariah Carey lets her fans get closer to her by debuting her childhood nickname in the title of her 2nd Island Dej Jam release. The "Emancipation Of Mimi" is a return to form from her 80's "Glitter" soundtrack and the whispery "Charmbracelet. Carey sound better than she has in years on this finely tuned R&B offering. The album opens with the Jermaine Dupri produced "It's Like That." While the lyrics are a bit elementary the track moves enchantingly past while easily getting it's up-beat point across. This is a stellar opening and a new beginning for Carey. She takes a 180 with the Dupri produced "We Belong Together," the album's best cut. The track smoothly flows by beginning with a piano medly and some warblings. Then Carey lets loose spilling lyrics like Beyonce or R.Kelly. This is definitely the song of the year. The album continues to shine with the catchy "Shake It Off." Other tracks worth a mention are "Circles." The James Wright produced cut is the best ballad Carey has done in years, and it is no contender for karaoke or American Idol. The Kanye West produced "Stay The Night," shines with it's upbeat jazzy flow as Carey debates whether or not to "stay" with an ex-lover. On "One And Only," one of the better upbeat tracks Carey mixes it up with Twista spilling lyrics out as fast as Twista himself. A delightful treat for any hip-hop fan. The album does have it's mushy moments. On "Joy Ride", and "I Wish You Knew" Carey slows things down a bit too much. While her mature and undeniable vocal talent make them a worthwhile listen you really want more of the "We Belong Together" formula that truly makes this records worth the buy. Coming up on November 15th Carey re-releases "Emancipation" with a bonus tracks and a DVD. Among the new tracks is the infectious "Don't Forget About Us." Another groove ballad with Dupri that the first version of "Mimi" was missing. So go check it out! Expand
  6. DeeW
    May 6, 2005
    8
    I think Myriah's whimsical career has definitely taken a toll on her vocal ability. I think she still has it, but she needs to dig I think Myriah's whimsical career has definitely taken a toll on her vocal ability. I think she still has it, but she needs to dig deeper to rekindle that untoucheable sound quality to wowed us all with in her tender years. I think her vocal ability has not deterorated, but more or less needs to be rejuvenated. I like the usage of other artists, but that's not what made Myriah what she is. She needs to stick to her genuiness of her voice and not cloud it with other talents that detract from her very essence. Expand
  7. JasonS
    Apr 13, 2005
    0
    Mariah needs to change her tune, very boring.

See all 182 User Reviews