The Emancipation Of Mimi

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Emancipation Of Mimi Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 327 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer wrote many of the songs appearing on 'Mimi,' and even produced one cut, with the remainder of the production duties falling to Jermaine Dupri, the Neptunes and Kanye West. Also appearing are Nelly, Twista and Snoop Dogg.

Top Track

We Belong Together
(Ooh, ooh, sweet love, yeah) I didn't mean it When I said I didn't love you, so I should have held on tight I never shoulda let you go I didn't know... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Emancipation works the kind of pure-pop magic that sets us all free.
  2. Vibe
    80
    Mariah gets back to her winning formula with Mimi. [May 2005, p.139]
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Heavy on ballads and midtempo love songs, it always keeps at least one foot (more often both feet) planted firmly in comforting old-school diva soul. [15 Apr 2005, p.76]
  4. Carey does not completely hearken back to her old days, but The Emancipation of Mimi does prove her staying power.
  5. It might not be as hip as it thinks it is, nor is it as catchy as it should be, but it's smooth and listenable.
  6. Los Angeles Times
    50
    Her sadly depleted voice is again propped up by multi-tracking, and the occasional dog-deafening shriek hardly proves she's recaptured her early acrobatic power. [10 Apr 2005]
  7. New Musical Express (NME)
    20
    'Mimi' manages the unique trick of being self-indulgent without actually ever sounding much like Mariah. [16 Apr 2005, p.51]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 181
  1. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    An amazing R&B retro 70s through back album!!! Every single song is literally perfect. Her vocals are very through especially on Mine AgainAn amazing R&B retro 70s through back album!!! Every single song is literally perfect. Her vocals are very through especially on Mine Again which she really show case it. Expand
  2. LoriU
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    First of all, we are experiencing history as we know it every day. Mariah is a true artist who geniunely knows how to write great ballads but First of all, we are experiencing history as we know it every day. Mariah is a true artist who geniunely knows how to write great ballads but not only that hip hop, r&b, whatever. Mariah said it herself that she's always wanted to do hip hop because she grew up with it and loves it. You know what, this album totally proves that she can raise the bar for so many artists out there. You people who diss her, why??? Do you realize how many artists want to be her or want to copy her formula? She's already a legend and will continue to rise like a phoneix year after year. Expand
  3. KarstenD
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    The beat is HOT!!!. And I think I can really ENJOY with Mariah's lyric (of those 14 tracks in the MIMI album), this sounds like a VERY The beat is HOT!!!. And I think I can really ENJOY with Mariah's lyric (of those 14 tracks in the MIMI album), this sounds like a VERY BIG improvement for the artist. Expand
  4. AshM
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    this is the best album of 2005, although none of the songs can top heartbreaker or vision of love, the songs on this album are fantastic, this is the best album of 2005, although none of the songs can top heartbreaker or vision of love, the songs on this album are fantastic, i'd neva heard of mariah carey b4 this album, but now im a massive fan! she got such a talent, and her voice is incredible, long may she make music Expand
  5. DavidB
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    Mimi´s album is one of best albums of this year. Her crystal voice with r´n´b style is amazing. Singles It´s Like Mimi´s album is one of best albums of this year. Her crystal voice with r´n´b style is amazing. Singles It´s Like Taht, We Belong Together and Shake It Off are hits num.1!!! Expand
  6. OmarB
    May 6, 2005
    8
    Good album. One or two songs I could have done without but otherwise the album is pretty solid.
  7. JasonS
    Apr 13, 2005
    0
    Mariah needs to change her tune, very boring.

See all 181 User Reviews