• Record Label: Epitaph
  • Release Date: Jun 8, 2004
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 2 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. joshw
    Aug 29, 2004
    3
    Their music is awsome but they seem very anti-american in all that they sing. One of the best punk rock bands around but they are way too liberal and very anti all religion in general. They all really have nothing to live for if what they say is true.
  2. SteveH
    Feb 3, 2010
    6
    This is a solid album that does exactly what Bad Religion are supposed to do. It's melodic, it's angry, it gets to the point. Fans won't be disappointed.
  3. Loki
    Jun 28, 2004
    9
    This album has taken over my stereo. Aside from showing crap-filled "bands" like good charlote, new found glory, and all those other poseurs what punk is all about, this album is perfect for times like these. While the album stumbles a bit on tracks without a message, like "LA is Burning", when they get fired up, this is some of the finest punk you'll ever hear. Favorite tracks: "Let This album has taken over my stereo. Aside from showing crap-filled "bands" like good charlote, new found glory, and all those other poseurs what punk is all about, this album is perfect for times like these. While the album stumbles a bit on tracks without a message, like "LA is Burning", when they get fired up, this is some of the finest punk you'll ever hear. Favorite tracks: "Let Them Eat War", "The Empire Strikes First", "Atheist Peace" Expand
  4. BadReligionFan
    Jul 3, 2004
    10
    Okay this is a great cd..The beat of the song just flows along perfectly its a great CD if you like punk rock..Check Bad Religon's Empire Strikes First ;)
  5. Member27
    Jun 21, 2004
    2
    Same crap as their other albums. Left wing politics translated into psuedo-insightful obtuse lyrics put to the tunes of some awesome punk music. The lyrics totally ruin the experience of Bad Religion and no matter how good the music is, and it is good, I will never be able to like them because of it. Not that I am a right-winger or anything, I just find their lyrics to be awfully Same crap as their other albums. Left wing politics translated into psuedo-insightful obtuse lyrics put to the tunes of some awesome punk music. The lyrics totally ruin the experience of Bad Religion and no matter how good the music is, and it is good, I will never be able to like them because of it. Not that I am a right-winger or anything, I just find their lyrics to be awfully patronising and instead of constructing a lyrical arguement they are reasonless blind protests against very tired targets. Expand
  6. ketnb
    Jan 31, 2005
    9
    som very good songs... br is back on track.
  7. Anders
    May 8, 2006
    9
    A solid, if unspecacular album. There are a bunch of good songs on here, and it's a good listen.
  8. JoshW
    Jul 15, 2004
    7
    Not the best Bad Religion but still good tunes. I always enjoy what they have to bring to the table.
  9. Matt
    Jul 2, 2004
    9
    Great lyrics - great sound - great everything!
  10. KenS
    Aug 30, 2004
    9
    About half of this album is absolutely brilliant; the other half is absolutely terrible. I will never get tired of such songs as "Los Angeles Is Burning", "God's Love", "The Empire Strikes First", "Let Them Eat War", and "All There Is". These songs, as well as two or three others that slip my mind at the moment, are amng the best I've heard this year. Bad Religion has put About half of this album is absolutely brilliant; the other half is absolutely terrible. I will never get tired of such songs as "Los Angeles Is Burning", "God's Love", "The Empire Strikes First", "Let Them Eat War", and "All There Is". These songs, as well as two or three others that slip my mind at the moment, are amng the best I've heard this year. Bad Religion has put together more than a handful of wnderful songs with powerful political messages. The other half of the album (basically songs 1-4 and I think number 9) are just bad. I really wanted to like every song, but I've never been able to sit through those songs. Regardless, it's a very strong album, and I encourage all to get it. Expand
  11. BadLuCkbRam
    Aug 31, 2004
    10
    i'm an indonesian n my respond 4 this album: i think this album is perfect.in this album show the real character of Bad Religion music.Brave,Wise n Grow Up puNkRoCk that i called. Bad Religion was mediator to telling the Truth about side of life!!!
  12. SallyS
    Sep 13, 2004
    10
    i am really frightened that they call it gods love.
  13. BobBananas
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    Wonderful!
  14. [Anonymous]
    Jul 11, 2005
    8
    Bad Religion is one of the few "older" bands that has managed to retain its sound, message, and dignity. Empire is no exception to this statement, though this is by no means their best album.
  15. Dan
    Mar 22, 2007
    9
    I think i have listened to this cd a dozen times in the past 24 hours and each time i find myself singing along, fist in the air. Let them Eat War is my new favorite Bad religion song.
  16. Steve
    Jul 18, 2004
    9
    The Empire Strikes First is easily one of my favorite CD's from Bad Religion. For me it ties with 'The Process of Belief' and only trails ' Stranger Than Fiction' as far as what i consider their best. The political theme and heavy Orwell influence with the lyrics is easy to see and it helps and is well appreciated in these times. I am not a left-winger, however The Empire Strikes First is easily one of my favorite CD's from Bad Religion. For me it ties with 'The Process of Belief' and only trails ' Stranger Than Fiction' as far as what i consider their best. The political theme and heavy Orwell influence with the lyrics is easy to see and it helps and is well appreciated in these times. I am not a left-winger, however the theme and mood of the album is something that even us who are in the center can appreciate without being bashed as Bush haters. As far as albums this year go, only 'Rock Against Bush' is probably more obvious in its political leanings this year. Well, so far. Collapse
  17. BrianD
    Dec 28, 2005
    8
    Great album but not compared to process of belief, it is a slight let down. Also, I needed more songs like gods love.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. 80
    As potent and timely as anything it released during the Reagan era. [#64, p.83]
  2. The songs have the urgency and vitriol we've come to expect from the band, but there's one major problem: the spit shine production. [Jul 2004, p.128]
  3. The Empire Strikes First isn't a return to Bad Religion at its most vitriolic and unstoppable -- whether that could ever really happen is unclear, and probably unnecessary.