• Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: Jul 11, 2006
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 193

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 5, 2010
    5
    The album harkens back to some of the mediocre songs on Radiohead's "Hail to the Thief", like "The Gloaming". What this album does is take melodies and lyrics that are quite beautiful and buries them underneath layers of digital synthesizers, which don't serve the songs well. I heard songs like "The Eraser", "Black Swan", and especially "Atoms for Peace" live, and they were absolutelyThe album harkens back to some of the mediocre songs on Radiohead's "Hail to the Thief", like "The Gloaming". What this album does is take melodies and lyrics that are quite beautiful and buries them underneath layers of digital synthesizers, which don't serve the songs well. I heard songs like "The Eraser", "Black Swan", and especially "Atoms for Peace" live, and they were absolutely gorgeous. They also sounded nothing like the album versions (being driven more acoustically). Harrowdown Hill stands out as a song that mostly made it through the digital obfuscation, but this would have been a much better album if the songs had been left alone, without adding all the extra loops. I loved Kid A, but Yorke has distanced the music so far from its heart on this album that everything is too abstract for me to love. Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2010
    6
    One word, Black Swan. This one song is a gleaming triumph in a field of techno experimental electronic beats. I am a huge Radiohead fan but Thom Yorke's latest effort only produces one great song, but its so good it brings the whole album up to a six where it would have been a five without it. In fact, don't buy the album, just go on YouTube and listen to Black Swan, but unless you are aOne word, Black Swan. This one song is a gleaming triumph in a field of techno experimental electronic beats. I am a huge Radiohead fan but Thom Yorke's latest effort only produces one great song, but its so good it brings the whole album up to a six where it would have been a five without it. In fact, don't buy the album, just go on YouTube and listen to Black Swan, but unless you are a fan of techno, steer clear of this album. Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    Thom Yorke, a beautiful lyricist, the beating heart of Radiohead now with a solo album. At first I was worried, it felt a little too cold, slightly hard to approach, however when you look into it deeper, feel the music, you feel the emotion behind every song and every word sounds so beautiful. Lyrics like poetry, with the buzz of synths to guide you through. But i find comfort within theThom Yorke, a beautiful lyricist, the beating heart of Radiohead now with a solo album. At first I was worried, it felt a little too cold, slightly hard to approach, however when you look into it deeper, feel the music, you feel the emotion behind every song and every word sounds so beautiful. Lyrics like poetry, with the buzz of synths to guide you through. But i find comfort within the cold dark electronic beauty of The Eraser. My only wish would be that it was longer. Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    Maybe it isnt a masterpiece but it is a real deep and unique electronica album and its not another useless frontman single album. there are somethings that he couldnt release with radiohead...lyrics are more private and based on his own personal experiments....and if can say to some tracks like analyse and Black Swan i think you are just acting defensive about the album. Thom YorkesMaybe it isnt a masterpiece but it is a real deep and unique electronica album and its not another useless frontman single album. there are somethings that he couldnt release with radiohead...lyrics are more private and based on his own personal experiments....and if can say to some tracks like analyse and Black Swan i think you are just acting defensive about the album. Thom Yorkes single album is just like his voice,vocal style , personality & lyrics......it is orginal ,deep and dark. Expand
  5. j30
    Mar 22, 2012
    8
    The Eraser sounds much better than an afterthought, as reported prior to Thom Yorke's solo release. Although the album does come across cold and distant, there's a art behind the mysteriousness about it that makes you want more.
  6. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    An interesting debut solo outing for the Radiohead frontman. Because of the voice, you will automatically think of Radiohead when you hear this record but overall it's a departure from Hail to the Thief and In Rainbows, the albums between which the Eraser lives. The opening title track,Black Swan and Analyse are the only tracks that you would expect to find on a Radiohead album. While IAn interesting debut solo outing for the Radiohead frontman. Because of the voice, you will automatically think of Radiohead when you hear this record but overall it's a departure from Hail to the Thief and In Rainbows, the albums between which the Eraser lives. The opening title track,Black Swan and Analyse are the only tracks that you would expect to find on a Radiohead album. While I feel the first half of the record is outstanding, the second half drops a bit. Overall it's a very good album with several very strong songs, lots of good ideas and a couple of idea's that don't quite work out as well as you would have hoped. Doesn't match his parent bands output but the Erasers high points make this well worth having. Expand
  7. May 25, 2013
    10
    I can't stop listening to it ....maybe it's because after listening to its live version played by The Atoms for peace I started to appreciate every single song! Worth give it a chance!
  8. Mar 2, 2013
    8
    Thom Yorke comes at us with a surprise solo album but the sound is not surprising. The Eraser sounds like a less abstract Kid-A with just as many beeps and bloops combined with clear song structure. Every song on here is enjoyable except for Skip Divided which is a total dud. Lyrically, Thom Yorke is usually undecipherable and cryptic which is the case here too. He is excellentThom Yorke comes at us with a surprise solo album but the sound is not surprising. The Eraser sounds like a less abstract Kid-A with just as many beeps and bloops combined with clear song structure. Every song on here is enjoyable except for Skip Divided which is a total dud. Lyrically, Thom Yorke is usually undecipherable and cryptic which is the case here too. He is excellent at painting visuals however and the Eraser fits the bill as strongly as any Radiohead effort. His voice is the forefront for probably the first time and its a great artistic choice as his angelic voice simultaneously contradicts and combines with his dark lyrics. This album is as good as Radiohead's 3rd or 4th best album which is an achievement. Grade Time in order
    "A" Songs- Analyze, The Eraser, Black Swan, Harrowdown Hill
    "B" Songs- Atoms for Peace
    "C" Songs- And it Rained All Night, The Clock, Cymbal Rush
    "F" Songs- Skip Divided

    Overall Album Score: 84 out of 100
    Expand
  9. Dec 21, 2014
    9
    Chilling. I listened to this album as a naïve first year uni student and it certainly opened my eyes to the ways of the world. This album, while ambient and soft, is by no means for the faint hearted. ‘Analyse’ is a truly beautiful and delicately crafted piece, although I wish Yorke had included a live piano version of the song as well.
    At times the album, particularly some of the riffs,
    Chilling. I listened to this album as a naïve first year uni student and it certainly opened my eyes to the ways of the world. This album, while ambient and soft, is by no means for the faint hearted. ‘Analyse’ is a truly beautiful and delicately crafted piece, although I wish Yorke had included a live piano version of the song as well.
    At times the album, particularly some of the riffs, melodies and drum beats feel a tad overproduced. The Eraser might well suffice with an acoustic guitar, analyse with a piano and Harrowdown Hill without so much guitar amplification. Despite this, I truly believe that this is Thom Yorke’s best work outside of Radiohead; ‘Ingenue’ in Atoms for Peace is up there, but in terms of commentary music and dark variety, this takes the cake.
    An essential listen for Radiohead and/or alternative rock fans.
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. What makes it breathe, what allows it to flourish above its glitchy techno, its processed wizardry... what untangles it from a mess of circuitry and power strips and anti-virus pop-up warnings, is Yorke's incredible, distinctive voice.
  2. The Eraser is a triumph.
  3. Nigel's production and arrangements leave very little room for the songs to breathe... However, the emphasis on Thom's lyrics illuminates The Eraser's strongest asset: its content.