The Eraser

  • Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: Jul 11, 2006
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 206 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 206

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PH
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    The album is amazing, the texture manages to be both lush and sparse at the same time, leading to a unique aural experience. A complete triumph.
  2. jonl
    Sep 4, 2006
    9
    I came to this one not expecting too much, having heard the style was similiar to Radiohead songs like "The Gloaming" (i.e. rubbish). Was very pleasantly suprised - yes the music is fairly bare electronica - but the songs have hooks and choruses (suprise, suprise), the lyrics are some of the best Yorke's written and there's a great feel to it throughout. At 9 songs it's I came to this one not expecting too much, having heard the style was similiar to Radiohead songs like "The Gloaming" (i.e. rubbish). Was very pleasantly suprised - yes the music is fairly bare electronica - but the songs have hooks and choruses (suprise, suprise), the lyrics are some of the best Yorke's written and there's a great feel to it throughout. At 9 songs it's just the right length - he doesn't overdo it. The album probably won't get the kudos it deserves but its great stuff nonetheless. Expand
  3. KarelJ
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    it´s Thom Yorke, what else can I say... (maybe fantastic)
  4. mykles
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    thom had two choices: make a distilled radiohead album, complete with hundreds of "wow" moments, or make a solid, out-of-left field solo album. he chose the second option. the eraser stands alone brilliantly, i just wish he had put a bit more frenzied emotion into it. listen a few times before judging -- it's a creeper!
  5. KA
    Jul 11, 2006
    7
    Diehard Radiohead fans will love this CD but for casual fans, these tracks will sound even more cold and icy remote than radiohead's most recent full-length CD. To call it a masterpiece is really praising it too highly.
  6. st-arno
    Aug 13, 2006
    8
    This album has the perfect title. Take radiohead, erase the apport of other members, keep the bleeps and the magnificient claustrophobic voice of one of the moste intelligent singer of the rock and roll scene! Defenitly one of the most original album of the year!
  7. StevenG
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    Already being a huge fan of Radiohead, and knowing that Thom Yorke had wanted to release a solo album for quite some time, I was concerned that these songs would feel like they had been sitting around for years collecting dust. However, I am very pleased to say that The Eraser finds Thom Yorke very much in the moment, creating a hypnotic, cohesive album that has made me fall in love with Already being a huge fan of Radiohead, and knowing that Thom Yorke had wanted to release a solo album for quite some time, I was concerned that these songs would feel like they had been sitting around for years collecting dust. However, I am very pleased to say that The Eraser finds Thom Yorke very much in the moment, creating a hypnotic, cohesive album that has made me fall in love with his songwriting style all over again. This is one of the very best albums of the year. Expand
  8. RoyR
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Thom's unique talent has always been to draw you into his head. He sings from the soul ..... to the soul. On first hearing this album, my anticipation turned to niggling disappointment. It sounded so thin and there was even a black Judas moment when I thought this should have been called Thom's Rambling Musings in his Room with a Mic and Sound-making Thing. Then, the penny Thom's unique talent has always been to draw you into his head. He sings from the soul ..... to the soul. On first hearing this album, my anticipation turned to niggling disappointment. It sounded so thin and there was even a black Judas moment when I thought this should have been called Thom's Rambling Musings in his Room with a Mic and Sound-making Thing. Then, the penny dropped - as it does with so many of those albums you love forever after the 4th listen. And with Thom and his ilk, it usually drops with a resounding clang. Minimalist, yet enigmatically complex, structure that makes you focus on the melody - and, to all you detractors, Thom is beautific as a songwriter. This is what Thom hears while he walks down the road, hangs out at home, alone or in a crowd, sitting on the bog, basking in the afterglow, agonising when it occasionally goes wrong. In the absence of adequate superlatives, I will simply restate what so many have said before me - the man is a genius. Expand
  9. jenb
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    I love this album... in fact I think I'm addicted to it. Best album of the year for me so far.
  10. DartVayder
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    Best in 2006
  11. StefanP.
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    I can't believe this masterpiece isn't rated higher. For me its so far one of the best albums of 2006. Dark, emotional songs, perfectly crafted. Just 40 minutes of goose-bumps. As a whole i like it more than every Radiohead album. Definetly needs listening to on headphones and a few times to really get into it. My favourites so far: "And it rained all night" and "Analyse"
  12. RH
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    This is the album that fanatics of Kid A, like myself, have been waiting for. Your nervous system will instantly connect with these "pitter patter" electronic tracks, and there's no nonsense like the last two Radiohead albums. Definitely a nice surprise, and one of my favorites of 2006.
  13. DanielH
    Jul 12, 2006
    8
    Good work here. The only problem I have with the album is that a lot of the stuff starts to get repetitive. But none the less, good work.
  14. mick
    Jul 12, 2006
    9
    I must admit that I'm a bit of a Radiohead 'fanboy' and think that everything they do is top draw, but as a 'fanboy' I can recognise this album isn't for everyone. However, outstanding tunes include; The Eraser, Black Swan & Harrowdown Hill.
  15. SukjinH
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    Please, if you've been paying attention to what's been going on, it is painfully obvious that this record is not supposed to be cheery or full of energy. Thom is not trying to show off or prove that he can make music without his bandmates. This is something that he could have easily thrown away in the trash on his laptop, which would have been a huge disappointment. I'm Please, if you've been paying attention to what's been going on, it is painfully obvious that this record is not supposed to be cheery or full of energy. Thom is not trying to show off or prove that he can make music without his bandmates. This is something that he could have easily thrown away in the trash on his laptop, which would have been a huge disappointment. I'm glad to hear what he's been playing around with... Btw, the new songs Radiohead played in the recent tour were fantastic. Looking forward to next year's LP release.. Expand
  16. MMcK
    Jul 12, 2006
    7
    Strong, haunting record that grows on you. It feels like a something he needed to make before Radiohead could move on in an new direction.
  17. BenJ
    Jul 13, 2006
    7
    A good enough record. Perhaps the most encouraging thing about it though is that without the rest of the band, Thom Yorke fails to match much from the Radiohead cannon. Clearly Radiohead are a band, not just "Thom Yokre + Hired Hands".
  18. danm
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    I don't understand the lukewarm and negative reviews of this CD; are the critics comparing it to all other music that's out there now, or are they comparing it to OK Computer? Thom Yorke, in my opinion, has more talent than any other alt musician out there now...this is the man mainly responsible for The Bends, OK Computer, Kid A, Amnesiac, and Hail to the Thief. Who else has I don't understand the lukewarm and negative reviews of this CD; are the critics comparing it to all other music that's out there now, or are they comparing it to OK Computer? Thom Yorke, in my opinion, has more talent than any other alt musician out there now...this is the man mainly responsible for The Bends, OK Computer, Kid A, Amnesiac, and Hail to the Thief. Who else has such bona fides? This is a very personal CD, and not a "radio friendly unit shifter." His use of his voice as an instrument is amazing. Once critic said that this is just Thom Yorke clearing his throat...well Thom Yorke clearing his throat is better that 99% of the crap that's being produced right now... Expand
  19. JD
    Jul 14, 2006
    9
    Quite good. Only one really dissapointing song (Cymbal) Better that I had expected.
  20. MeirK
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    I just love this CD, Thom Is the Best
  21. aLck
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    Brilliant!!!
  22. jeff
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    best album of the year so far.
  23. JaneP
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Haunting and beautiful - like finding a message in a bottle.
  24. MelissaW
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Haunting.
  25. Kyle
    Jul 19, 2006
    9
    First, a followup to dan's comment of "being interesting doesn't mean being emotionless." The chorus of the title track and yorke's delivery of "we think the same things at the same time" (harrowdown hill) are the epitome of sadness on record--- a feeling. sure, it's not the rock and roll sing a long hour, but there are certainly emotions on display, albeit ones a First, a followup to dan's comment of "being interesting doesn't mean being emotionless." The chorus of the title track and yorke's delivery of "we think the same things at the same time" (harrowdown hill) are the epitome of sadness on record--- a feeling. sure, it's not the rock and roll sing a long hour, but there are certainly emotions on display, albeit ones a majority of us don't want to blast with the top down on a sunny day. This album's a creeper, best heard as just a record. if this was not thom yorke, lead singer of radiohead, everyone would think this was the best shit of the year, no questions asked. addictive. Expand
  26. RobC
    Jul 24, 2006
    8
    Easy to listen to, beautiful melodies. Haunting rather than depressing. Loved it.
  27. NickH
    Jul 20, 2006
    9
    This is not a Radiohead album. If you go in expecting the bombast and instrumentation of the full band, you will be disappointed. If however, you are a fan of the stripped down Radiohead style (if you like the song "Worry Wort," for example), then what you will discover is a chill album with complex yet quiet arrangements that gets better on every play. Yorke creates a sonic universe that This is not a Radiohead album. If you go in expecting the bombast and instrumentation of the full band, you will be disappointed. If however, you are a fan of the stripped down Radiohead style (if you like the song "Worry Wort," for example), then what you will discover is a chill album with complex yet quiet arrangements that gets better on every play. Yorke creates a sonic universe that is unique to other Radiohead work, yet strongly evokes that legacy. A truly great tangent to the Radiohead oeuvre. Expand
  28. Jake
    Jul 29, 2006
    8
    Good listen. If you're waiting for the next Radiohead album, you're gonna have to wait a alittle longer though. Plays like a Kid A-lite. But still, Kid A-lite is better than almost everything else coming out at the moment. Download if you can, buy if you must.
  29. DavidG
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    Such a refreshing album to listen to, its not trying to prove anything to anybody, if you like this album it really does send you to a nice place...
  30. PaulO.
    Jul 6, 2006
    8
    This album reminds me of Backdrifts and The Gloaming off of Radiohead's Hail To The Theif. It's got that electronic-sounding beat mixed with great vocals by Thom. It's not all blips and bleeps, there is a little guitar and piano. but if you love Radiohead, you'll love this album. However, it's not a masterpiece. (My favorite tracks are Atoms for Peace and Skip Divided)
  31. DanL
    Aug 17, 2006
    8
    the first review i heard of this album was "i thought my headphones were fucked up when i listened to this." i believe i am a much more "in touch" listener and truly dig this album. it has obvious Radiohead tendencies, from odd meters to similar chord progressions, and i assume that Thom is the heavy contributor to Radiohead's songwriting. However, I find this dull compared to the first review i heard of this album was "i thought my headphones were fucked up when i listened to this." i believe i am a much more "in touch" listener and truly dig this album. it has obvious Radiohead tendencies, from odd meters to similar chord progressions, and i assume that Thom is the heavy contributor to Radiohead's songwriting. However, I find this dull compared to Radiohead albums and can't wait for their album to come out in 2007!!! Expand
  32. PoppyH
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    Even as a huge Radiohead fan I was surprised how good this is :D
  33. NicholasT
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    I'd go so far as to say that Mr. Yorke has bred a new genre: ... lounge electonica. This album sets the perfect mood, albeit an eerie, contempuous mood, but very few albums are able to do just that as effectively as this one. Every bleep and sonic undertone breathes life into this album which would have been perfect if it was solely Thom blaring his voice to begin with. I'm I'd go so far as to say that Mr. Yorke has bred a new genre: ... lounge electonica. This album sets the perfect mood, albeit an eerie, contempuous mood, but very few albums are able to do just that as effectively as this one. Every bleep and sonic undertone breathes life into this album which would have been perfect if it was solely Thom blaring his voice to begin with. I'm convinced that Mr. Yorke and crew will never release anything remotely subpar, and The Eraser, which takes the Radiohead foundation and strips it of everything but it's vocalist is a definite testament to that. Expand
  34. Jjt
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    'Skip Divided' sums up the creative possibilities Thom can tease out of and squeeze into the straits, skips and divisions of electronica.
  35. RyanK
    Sep 4, 2006
    7
    This is pretty good and interesting - but that only takes you so far. One is left with the impression that he is capable of so much more.
  36. OsianL.
    Mar 6, 2009
    7
    Mesmerising, interesting, but sometimes weak, this album shows that Radiohead isn't all Thom Yorke's imput. An intruiging album, and one of the better solo projects I've listened to.
  37. Dan
    Nov 30, 2006
    7
    Quite nice album to listen, but not a great piece. How can there be so many people giving it a 10? Don't let yourself go blind for Radiohead's shadow. This is not Radiohead, this is Thom Yorke putting out some devils. There are 3 or 4 great tracks -I specially love Cymbal Rush- but they are not enough to hold the hold album too high. As I said: Very nice to listen, but it Quite nice album to listen, but not a great piece. How can there be so many people giving it a 10? Don't let yourself go blind for Radiohead's shadow. This is not Radiohead, this is Thom Yorke putting out some devils. There are 3 or 4 great tracks -I specially love Cymbal Rush- but they are not enough to hold the hold album too high. As I said: Very nice to listen, but it won't change your life and we won't be thinking of it in 10 (5?) years. Expand
  38. ColbyS
    Oct 23, 2006
    9
    Simply put, and thinkingly independently of Radiohead, this is an amazing album. Thom Yorke's haunting musical genius shines through the ever-present gloom of his manic mind. Of course this isn't Radiohead, and as such shouldn't be compared to it. Don't take the piss out of him for marching to his own beat for nine tracks, especially with them being the gems that they Simply put, and thinkingly independently of Radiohead, this is an amazing album. Thom Yorke's haunting musical genius shines through the ever-present gloom of his manic mind. Of course this isn't Radiohead, and as such shouldn't be compared to it. Don't take the piss out of him for marching to his own beat for nine tracks, especially with them being the gems that they are. Obvious standouts include "Black Swan", "Harrowdown Hill", "Atoms For Peace", "The Clock", and the underrated "Skip Divided." I couldn't find a song I didn't particularly like, and was especially impressed by those aforementioned, due mainly to his incredibly haunting, soaring vocals. Simply put: it sparkles with ingenuity. Go buy it. Now. Expand
  39. KG
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    This is a masterful album filled with uniqueness and creativity beyond almost anything else I've heard before. Beautifully constructed music with many layers that blend well together. But as with Radiohead's music, Thom's voice is that final bit of glue that pulls it all together. Definitely best heard with good headphones (not iPod ear buds!)
  40. Bryan
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Brilliant. Gets better with each listen.
  41. KellyW.
    Jul 11, 2006
    9
    In trying to remain objective rather then sensationalized, I think it is a very strong album. period. I'm a bit confused by the marginalizing reviews from the critical mass. If this singer was only someone who sounded like Thom Yorke critics would pining for the perfect adjective. This has style, substance and is slender by means---it has beauty but remains true to its' time. tic toc.
  42. mikes.
    Jul 11, 2006
    8
    At first listen it sounds as if the electronic production sounds somewhat dated, and that yorke has taken a step backwards into kid a territory once again. But with repeated listenings you realize the songwriting itself is solid, and the album is more focused and consistent than kid a. I'd have to say this is the best yorke has sounded since ok computer. Great album with tons of depth.
  43. KrisS
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    When has Yorke and Radiohead not come out with an Album that was panned by critics when it hit the stores and then months later the same album is considered "Genius Before it's time"? The Eraser, like the Radiohead CD's before, has breathed new life into the genre of alternative rock. Obviously, if you are not a fan of Radiohead, this album is not for you. Those who enjoyed When has Yorke and Radiohead not come out with an Album that was panned by critics when it hit the stores and then months later the same album is considered "Genius Before it's time"? The Eraser, like the Radiohead CD's before, has breathed new life into the genre of alternative rock. Obviously, if you are not a fan of Radiohead, this album is not for you. Those who enjoyed listen to the pained rifts on OK Computer, the soothing melodies of infiinte space in Amnesiac or the magical drawn out rythmic beats of Kid A, will no doubtly love to throw the head phones on and get swept away to Thom Yorke's vision of the future. When it comes to the direction of Alternative Rock, Radiohead are not followers, they are pioneers. Once again the professor/inventor, Thom Yorke, molds our musical inept minds and expands our horizons of what we think good music should sound like. Expand
  44. ryanp
    Jul 12, 2006
    7
    I really enjoy this cd. its something you can pick up and listen to the whole way through ONCE every month. thoms lyrics are good. the music is greta its just really really repetitive. the electronic beats just repeat over and over only to break away once or twice a song. the album packaging is pretty cool. i heard the cd a month before it came out and told myself i was going to buy it I really enjoy this cd. its something you can pick up and listen to the whole way through ONCE every month. thoms lyrics are good. the music is greta its just really really repetitive. the electronic beats just repeat over and over only to break away once or twice a song. the album packaging is pretty cool. i heard the cd a month before it came out and told myself i was going to buy it when it came out. $10 is what i paid and was totally worth the purchase.i think most radiohead fans will dig this album. 7/10 Expand
  45. BrandonM
    Jul 12, 2006
    8
    Yeah, this sounds like a Radiohead album, but you can hardly fault him for that. Yes, we would have liked to have heard something a bit different here. Did we? No. Is it a good album? Yes. It has a very mellow sound. The lyrics really drive the album.
  46. MA
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Best of 2006 so far. Striking vocals especially.
  47. Andy
    Jul 13, 2006
    7
    Its pretty good... More or less... I wouldn't call it groudbreaking because there isn't anything new here, but for once I can actually understand most of the lyrics without a sheet. It works, if you like the sounds. Check out a single or two before buying... Just don't expect Radiohead
  48. ThomYorke(jk)
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    At first, I didn't think this album was that great, but I can't get these songs out of my head. I just keep coming back to it. I like how Thom's voice is not distorted in any way, like Radiohead likes to do. What you hear is Thom's real voice and I love it!
  49. RyanM
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    It's so refreshing to hear Thoms voice on new tracks. more low key than most radiohead albums, but once again proves that radiohead or anyone asociated with is unable to make a bad song.
  50. DaveG
    Jul 14, 2006
    8
    It's exactly what I expected from Thom's solo release. I happen to think that it sounds distinctly different from Radiohead's own efforts... It's not an easy listen, nor is it a fun one, but it certainly is interesting and beautiful in its own haunting way. Could've been better.
  51. peacev
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    this is an incredible album full of emotions, creativity and breathing rooms.. it's like meditation.. and it's not like Kid A, Amnesiac or another Radiohead album.. Thom's voice is amazing. Thanks to Thom that there are still creative musicians in this music industry.
  52. willmill
    Jul 14, 2006
    8
    this album is quality and relatively easy to get through. its singular mood and pace, with moments of catchiness, make for relaxing and enjoyable listen. when i bought this album i knew it wasn't going to be classic radiohead and that he would most likely indulge himself with the things he couldn't do with the band. this album exceeds all my expectations. i highly reccomend it, this album is quality and relatively easy to get through. its singular mood and pace, with moments of catchiness, make for relaxing and enjoyable listen. when i bought this album i knew it wasn't going to be classic radiohead and that he would most likely indulge himself with the things he couldn't do with the band. this album exceeds all my expectations. i highly reccomend it, don't listen to the haters. Expand
  53. DaDefJam
    Jul 17, 2006
    9
    Mr. Radiohead does it again. Please plugin your headphones and enjoy a rough but lovely ride. One of the best of this year, if not the best.
  54. dickman
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    dig it son
  55. db
    Jul 17, 2006
    9
    I disagree with Dave G, the material is kind of dark, but the songs are beautiful and catchy. It is both easy and fun to listen to. Obviously this is a highly subjective statement, so you can make up your own mind.
  56. KurtE
    Jul 19, 2006
    9
    Really fantastic. A grower.
  57. MikeM
    Jul 21, 2006
    7
    Thom Yorke's voice has never sounded so beautiful, his sense of melody has peaked, and the music is colder than anything Radiohead put out. I miss the band on this CD--they would make a good album amazing--but what Thom does here with his voice alone has me already anticipating the next Radiohead release.
  58. TimM.
    Jul 22, 2006
    7
    its good. its not great. it has its moments. it also has its non-moments. there's a couple tracks i just skip cuz they're not good. there's a couple tracks i don't skip cuz they're good. all of it sounds better the second time. i would give it a 6 but then half the cd's that come out would get a 0 on my system so i just adjust the curve. its like an upside its good. its not great. it has its moments. it also has its non-moments. there's a couple tracks i just skip cuz they're not good. there's a couple tracks i don't skip cuz they're good. all of it sounds better the second time. i would give it a 6 but then half the cd's that come out would get a 0 on my system so i just adjust the curve. its like an upside down curve so that 80% of current music doesn't fail, even though it does. yet still 10000 times better than most shit out, this and the raconteurs are the best cds this year so far. emo sucks. peace Expand
  59. toddw
    Jul 20, 2006
    8
    Great album! Perfect for those observer moods. It's the type of music I could listen to while watching people shopping at Target, selecting the perfect spatula, out of dozens of choices, to match their "kitchen colors". It's been on repeat for some time now. Lyrics are tasty little treats: "buy a ticket and get on the train" "no more talk about the old days, it's time for Great album! Perfect for those observer moods. It's the type of music I could listen to while watching people shopping at Target, selecting the perfect spatula, out of dozens of choices, to match their "kitchen colors". It's been on repeat for some time now. Lyrics are tasty little treats: "buy a ticket and get on the train" "no more talk about the old days, it's time for something great" "you will be disposed with, when you become inconvenient" "It's all boiling over" I often get the sense this is pre-World War 3 music at its best. My only problem with The Eraser is that I want it to go on and on. Just when Cymbal Rush gets going nicely, it ends. Oh well, it was sweet while it lasted. Expand
  60. GuyH
    Jul 28, 2006
    7
    No alarms and (unfortunately) no surprises. There are some good songs (Analyse, Atoms, And it rained...) but this album is crying out for some shifts in mood and tempo. Idioteque (from Kid A) sounded fresh and unique - you don't get that feeling from anything here. A bit of a missed oppurtunity for Thom (but not a disaster)
  61. BernhardG
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    I've never been a fan of Radiohead, so I wouldn't be able to compare them with Yorke's solo effort. But this album has been a revelation, the dark, dancy mood - as if Malcolm Middleton should combine efforts with Morrissey - makes this a personal favorite this summer. The slight Sigur Ros-like touch to several of the songs just makes the melancholy even more intimate and I've never been a fan of Radiohead, so I wouldn't be able to compare them with Yorke's solo effort. But this album has been a revelation, the dark, dancy mood - as if Malcolm Middleton should combine efforts with Morrissey - makes this a personal favorite this summer. The slight Sigur Ros-like touch to several of the songs just makes the melancholy even more intimate and real. I usually agree a 100% with the Pitchfork reviewer, but this time they've either put the wrong guy on the case or given him a different album to review. This is a classic. Mark my words, people will still refer to this album a decade from now. Expand
  62. MickH
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    Eventually all have to accept we finally have a new Mozart here! Composer Yorke will last for centuries!
  63. AlexF
    Sep 20, 2006
    9
    I've never been a particularly big Radiohead fan, which makes me a pariah amongst many of my music-loving friends. However, I developed more of a soft spot for them with the one-two punch of Kid A and Amnesiac. I liked the direction they appeared to be going in with those albums, and this solo effort seems to be the culmation of the foray into glitchy electronica. As a result, I find I've never been a particularly big Radiohead fan, which makes me a pariah amongst many of my music-loving friends. However, I developed more of a soft spot for them with the one-two punch of Kid A and Amnesiac. I liked the direction they appeared to be going in with those albums, and this solo effort seems to be the culmation of the foray into glitchy electronica. As a result, I find this to be superior to anything in Radiohead's catalogue. Great outing. I look forward to hearing more Thom Yorke solo material. Expand
  64. ToddW
    Sep 21, 2006
    8
    First, let's get one thing straight. Bim B. should change his or her name to Bimbo. A zero? He or she is obviously commenting on his or her musical acumen. Just because it's not "Kid A" or "O.K. Computer" people are unfairly denigrating Yorke. (Go for your dictionary Bimbo.) If anyone else put this album out it would be hailed as a masterpiece. Let's not forget that he First, let's get one thing straight. Bim B. should change his or her name to Bimbo. A zero? He or she is obviously commenting on his or her musical acumen. Just because it's not "Kid A" or "O.K. Computer" people are unfairly denigrating Yorke. (Go for your dictionary Bimbo.) If anyone else put this album out it would be hailed as a masterpiece. Let's not forget that he purposely avoided any hype by announcing this album's existence a month before its release and by signing to an independent label. I'd like to see anyone else in the so-called mainstream (sewerstream?) emerge from his house with something possessing even a fraction of the complexity of this album. Expand
  65. GasparL
    Sep 23, 2006
    8
    Thom's always been at the forefront of good music, but this record does two things for me. One, it makes me understand Thom's part of the Radiohead whole, and two, it really makes me appreciate Colin, Johnny, Ed, and Phil, and how they all complete one another. (You're going to hear almost no reviews without "Radiohead" in there somewhere, so get over it.) If you want to Thom's always been at the forefront of good music, but this record does two things for me. One, it makes me understand Thom's part of the Radiohead whole, and two, it really makes me appreciate Colin, Johnny, Ed, and Phil, and how they all complete one another. (You're going to hear almost no reviews without "Radiohead" in there somewhere, so get over it.) If you want to get inside Thom's taste and style, isolated from the rest The-R-Word's underpinnings, look no further. "And It Rained All Night", "Harrowdown Hill" and "Black Swan", and "The Clock" are all absolutely amazing, "Skip Divided" warrants a balk, and the rest are from passable to just regular good. And that's the album to me: good. Half amazing, half good, and one failed experiment. Honestly, I think this is well more of a 7.5, but I'd rather be more lavish in scoring than stingy. Worth the money? That's debatable, with only 9 songs at under 40 minutes; consider "Atoms for Peace" and your reaction as a litmus test. Worth a listen? Not a doubt in my mind. Expand
  66. jackiez
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Inspiring...
  67. RezaM.
    Oct 21, 2007
    9
    It's music from another planet. No one can sing or write songs like this in the earth.
  68. MikeR
    Feb 8, 2007
    8
    I think this album is a success. I think most of the songs are a creative accomplishment. I've been a radiohead fan for years and hearing The Eraser makes me feel like I'm getting a little more into the mind of Mr. Yorke. I think "Atoms for Peace" is absolutely gorgeous and Thom's voice has never sounded better. I do have a few problems. "Skip Divided" is a song that I I think this album is a success. I think most of the songs are a creative accomplishment. I've been a radiohead fan for years and hearing The Eraser makes me feel like I'm getting a little more into the mind of Mr. Yorke. I think "Atoms for Peace" is absolutely gorgeous and Thom's voice has never sounded better. I do have a few problems. "Skip Divided" is a song that I could do without completely. Also, it seems like a few of these songs want to crescendo into something amazing but then just fall flat and it can be disappointing at times. Despite this, I enjoy the tracks thoroughly. I wanted to comment on a previous post. "Dan" mentioned that Amnesiac and Kid A were Thom's "Solo" albums. This is incorrect. Those were both efforts by Radiohead collectively. Expand
  69. MaxM.
    Jun 21, 2007
    9
    Thom Yorke just keeps getting better and better. Some of the sound effects in songs like Harrowdown Hill and Black Swan sound really cheap like they came straight off of GarageBand or something, but otherwise, it is Thom Yorke at his best. I can't wait to see how demented the 2007 Radiohead album is gonna be.
  70. MIke
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    Didnt like it the first time I played it. But the more i listened to it, the more I noticed how brilliant it is! and now its one of my favorite vinyls!! Excellent!
  71. HiramWalker
    Jul 11, 2006
    9
    One thing...this is not a perfect record, nor a masterpiece. The critics have a point when they say "this record came too late to be trully groundbreaking..." & "you miss the 'wow' moments Radiohead would've brought to the mix", BUT, all that aside, this record stands on it's own because of it's slightness...it sounds like two guys, who've worked together for One thing...this is not a perfect record, nor a masterpiece. The critics have a point when they say "this record came too late to be trully groundbreaking..." & "you miss the 'wow' moments Radiohead would've brought to the mix", BUT, all that aside, this record stands on it's own because of it's slightness...it sounds like two guys, who've worked together for years now, getting down to brass tacks and putting all the ideas they've had over coffee and pints the last few years onto tape. When those two guys are Thom Yorke and Nigel Godrich, ya'll better listen... Expand
  72. royr
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Pitchfork, you rs! You are as bent as Seria A. From the outside looking in by the way, it is clear you do not actually have what it takes to articulate the lackings of this great record (not to the score you have given it anyway). Granted, critique is based upon opinion, but if this is seriously what you monkeys get paid for, aside from advertising space, take your arrogant fingers out of Pitchfork, you rs! You are as bent as Seria A. From the outside looking in by the way, it is clear you do not actually have what it takes to articulate the lackings of this great record (not to the score you have given it anyway). Granted, critique is based upon opinion, but if this is seriously what you monkeys get paid for, aside from advertising space, take your arrogant fingers out of you ears. Expand
  73. GeoffB
    Jul 11, 2006
    8
    I, like everyone else, wish this was the new radiohead. As soon as you get past this and realize the record for what is is Thom Yorke. The electronics almost never annoyed (something I can't say for Hail to the Theif) and often hook you into the music.Tthe lyrics are wonderfully delivered and soulful, Thom's voice has a haunting quality that no other singing can duplicate. A I, like everyone else, wish this was the new radiohead. As soon as you get past this and realize the record for what is is Thom Yorke. The electronics almost never annoyed (something I can't say for Hail to the Theif) and often hook you into the music.Tthe lyrics are wonderfully delivered and soulful, Thom's voice has a haunting quality that no other singing can duplicate. A wonderful album, not worse than The Bends and Ok computer, but not better either, a wholely different experience. Expand
  74. JohnW
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    ya fuckers all are deaf or something...there is nothing wrong with this cd at all! it's genious..pitchfork reviews are shit mostly...Rolling Stone gave it 4 stars and that pretty much means more than any other reviewer. it may not be as good as "A RADIOHEAD" album but it fits in perfectly of what a solo album should be. Thom Yorke is the shit..no one can deny that!
  75. RobD
    Jul 12, 2006
    7
    Probably being a bit generous with a 7 but this album is sorta average when compared to most of the other crap out there. I found this album to be the embodyment of the things that I don't like about Radiohead's more recent work. I am referring to tracks that are repetitive and dull. Seems like Thom needs the rest of the band to keep the music good. Maybe the so-so review will Probably being a bit generous with a 7 but this album is sorta average when compared to most of the other crap out there. I found this album to be the embodyment of the things that I don't like about Radiohead's more recent work. I am referring to tracks that are repetitive and dull. Seems like Thom needs the rest of the band to keep the music good. Maybe the so-so review will open his eyes a bitand push him in a new direction. Expand
  76. TJ
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    Please give it a chance, ok 'skip divided' might not be your cup of tea, but you have to get over your aversion to somthing different. If you didnt like KidA or Amnesiac then go away - youll find no surprises here. But if you were be ready for the buety of songs like The Eraser and Black Swan, the brillaince of Harrowdown Hill, yorke unlike many is prepared to ask questions and Please give it a chance, ok 'skip divided' might not be your cup of tea, but you have to get over your aversion to somthing different. If you didnt like KidA or Amnesiac then go away - youll find no surprises here. But if you were be ready for the buety of songs like The Eraser and Black Swan, the brillaince of Harrowdown Hill, yorke unlike many is prepared to ask questions and to try somthing different; personally id love to hear another ok comp but its not gonna happen they did that and it was great and now there (well thom at least) moving on, please try to do so as well. N.B everyone should check out Jonnys Bodysong - just as good. Expand
  77. GauravK
    Jul 12, 2006
    9
    Ask me for my rating of this album a month ago and I'd say a 7. Maybe last week it was an 8. But when I got my hands on it yesterday and played it through three times tonight with the lights off I give this a 9. To me, the minimalist style can be as effective as a guitar 'n bass setup. When Sparklehorse covered Wish You Were Here (with Thom on vocals through a telephone) on a Ask me for my rating of this album a month ago and I'd say a 7. Maybe last week it was an 8. But when I got my hands on it yesterday and played it through three times tonight with the lights off I give this a 9. To me, the minimalist style can be as effective as a guitar 'n bass setup. When Sparklehorse covered Wish You Were Here (with Thom on vocals through a telephone) on a slow piano, it can still send chills down my spine. Though you may originally believe that electronica lacks warmth, even humanity, Thom's voice and his courage to be honest (particularly on Atoms for Peace and Harrowdown Hill) will go straight to your heart. Besides, the album in context makes perfect sense. This is a man who a decade earlier ran from his fake plastic love, who descended into paranoia, wanted to disappear completely. And now here he is exorcising the insecurity, depression, and cold. Expect guitars and warm goodness on Radiohead's LP7 but for now, try for a little intimacy with the patron saint of conscience, Thomas Edward Yorke. Expand
  78. TonyF
    Jul 13, 2006
    7
    Heard it at a buddies and was suprised. it's pretty good and enjoyable, and i'm not even a huge radiohead fan.
  79. BiggestDavid
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    If you didn't like Kid A you have no soul. If you don't like Kid A, you wouldn't like The Eraser. If you don't like the Eraser you have no soul? Why does everyone keep comparing them? I think its kinda like Ace of Base, they are electronic. I personally think that the album is kinda scary, in a lonely kind of way. Which album is scary? The ace of Base one. Wait, Kid A.
  80. RandyB
    Jul 14, 2006
    9
    Thom Yorke's solo debut THE ERASER doesn't have anything in the way of sound that you haven't already heard on a Bjork, Garbage, Nine Inch Nails, or (yes) Radiohead album. But in spite of that, or maybe even because of it, the album shines as a pretty soundtrack to feeling insane. Thom's vocals are haunting as ever, with a quivering intensity that sounds a bit on the Thom Yorke's solo debut THE ERASER doesn't have anything in the way of sound that you haven't already heard on a Bjork, Garbage, Nine Inch Nails, or (yes) Radiohead album. But in spite of that, or maybe even because of it, the album shines as a pretty soundtrack to feeling insane. Thom's vocals are haunting as ever, with a quivering intensity that sounds a bit on the off side, complimenting all the familiar blips and bleeps by playing the role of your crazed inner voice; it's as if the parts put together are the fragile, reigned-in chaos of the mind, and it works. His lyrics are stunning, but go almost unnoticed the first go around because you're too busy being enveloped by the atmospherics he's created. If you don't like electronica, then you should probably stay away from THE ERASER, but I just loved it. Expand
  81. caro
    Jul 18, 2006
    8
    This is a very haunting album from the genius behind Radiohead. Don't forget that Thom isn't backed by the other guys (i.e. Johnny Greenwood & co.) so this is just from Thom's mind. I was very pleasantly surprised by this album. Just give it a few listens, it really isn't like anything else out there.
  82. ColmO
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    I'm a little tired of hearing the words "purists" associated with anyone who thinks The Bends is pure Radiohead. Where have you been for the last 12 years? Thank you Mr. Yorke for providing the rest of us non-purists with a beautiful, wrenching, cathartic journey. Can't wait for 2007!
  83. RG
    Jul 24, 2006
    9
    another triumph i thought it would loose because of the rest of the band. atoms of peace is a revelation dancy, dark - a weird combination but it works more listens make it better and yorkes voice becomes the central focus cymbal rush comes out of nowhere to end the album
  84. MichaelS
    Jul 31, 2006
    9
    I love this album.
  85. KristopherL
    Aug 21, 2006
    9
    Words and notes that have been ment to go together through out all of time have finally matched up and beautifully sung.
  86. AmyM
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    My opinion: This album is innovative, fresh and ingenious. Thom Yorke, Nigel Goodrich and Jonny Greenwood are briliant forces within the genre. All critics who oppose the marvel graces of this remarkable production are ignorant and should face internal scrutiny.
  87. DavidH
    Sep 14, 2006
    9
    The music press have used terms such as "desolate dreamscape" and "alien landscapes" to describe the soundscapes on this album. I think they make a good call. In my opinion, this is an incredible album, with incredible sounds, and quite frankly what I call
  88. GregN.
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    Easily the best album of 2006.
  89. dyzc_
    Feb 28, 2007
    9
    The Eraser is a one of a kind album. Its a very concentrated and focused sound. I believe this album fits the year 2006 and 2007, 2008, 2009.... For me, OK Computer is the best Radiohead album because the album 'in total', i think, is better. But the Eraser is a different sound. I hope Radiohead will continue this road...and then in this sound the best is yet to come....
  90. SimonO
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    Stronger, and more consistent, than recent Radiohead records. Though there are points of comparison, the constant tag of KidA 2 does not do justice to The Eraser's scope.
  91. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    Thom Yorke, a beautiful lyricist, the beating heart of Radiohead now with a solo album. At first I was worried, it felt a little too cold, slightly hard to approach, however when you look into it deeper, feel the music, you feel the emotion behind every song and every word sounds so beautiful. Lyrics like poetry, with the buzz of synths to guide you through. But i find comfort within theThom Yorke, a beautiful lyricist, the beating heart of Radiohead now with a solo album. At first I was worried, it felt a little too cold, slightly hard to approach, however when you look into it deeper, feel the music, you feel the emotion behind every song and every word sounds so beautiful. Lyrics like poetry, with the buzz of synths to guide you through. But i find comfort within the cold dark electronic beauty of The Eraser. My only wish would be that it was longer. Expand
  92. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    Maybe it isnt a masterpiece but it is a real deep and unique electronica album and its not another useless frontman single album. there are somethings that he couldnt release with radiohead...lyrics are more private and based on his own personal experiments....and if can say to some tracks like analyse and Black Swan i think you are just acting defensive about the album. Thom YorkesMaybe it isnt a masterpiece but it is a real deep and unique electronica album and its not another useless frontman single album. there are somethings that he couldnt release with radiohead...lyrics are more private and based on his own personal experiments....and if can say to some tracks like analyse and Black Swan i think you are just acting defensive about the album. Thom Yorkes single album is just like his voice,vocal style , personality & lyrics......it is orginal ,deep and dark. Expand
  93. j30
    Mar 22, 2012
    8
    The Eraser sounds much better than an afterthought, as reported prior to Thom Yorke's solo release. Although the album does come across cold and distant, there's a art behind the mysteriousness about it that makes you want more.
  94. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    An interesting debut solo outing for the Radiohead frontman. Because of the voice, you will automatically think of Radiohead when you hear this record but overall it's a departure from Hail to the Thief and In Rainbows, the albums between which the Eraser lives. The opening title track,Black Swan and Analyse are the only tracks that you would expect to find on a Radiohead album. While IAn interesting debut solo outing for the Radiohead frontman. Because of the voice, you will automatically think of Radiohead when you hear this record but overall it's a departure from Hail to the Thief and In Rainbows, the albums between which the Eraser lives. The opening title track,Black Swan and Analyse are the only tracks that you would expect to find on a Radiohead album. While I feel the first half of the record is outstanding, the second half drops a bit. Overall it's a very good album with several very strong songs, lots of good ideas and a couple of idea's that don't quite work out as well as you would have hoped. Doesn't match his parent bands output but the Erasers high points make this well worth having. Expand
  95. May 25, 2013
    10
    I can't stop listening to it ....maybe it's because after listening to its live version played by The Atoms for peace I started to appreciate every single song! Worth give it a chance!
  96. Mar 2, 2013
    8
    Thom Yorke comes at us with a surprise solo album but the sound is not surprising. The Eraser sounds like a less abstract Kid-A with just as many beeps and bloops combined with clear song structure. Every song on here is enjoyable except for Skip Divided which is a total dud. Lyrically, Thom Yorke is usually undecipherable and cryptic which is the case here too. He is excellentThom Yorke comes at us with a surprise solo album but the sound is not surprising. The Eraser sounds like a less abstract Kid-A with just as many beeps and bloops combined with clear song structure. Every song on here is enjoyable except for Skip Divided which is a total dud. Lyrically, Thom Yorke is usually undecipherable and cryptic which is the case here too. He is excellent at painting visuals however and the Eraser fits the bill as strongly as any Radiohead effort. His voice is the forefront for probably the first time and its a great artistic choice as his angelic voice simultaneously contradicts and combines with his dark lyrics. This album is as good as Radiohead's 3rd or 4th best album which is an achievement. Grade Time in order
    "A" Songs- Analyze, The Eraser, Black Swan, Harrowdown Hill
    "B" Songs- Atoms for Peace
    "C" Songs- And it Rained All Night, The Clock, Cymbal Rush
    "F" Songs- Skip Divided

    Overall Album Score: 84 out of 100
    Expand
  97. Dec 21, 2014
    9
    Chilling. I listened to this album as a naïve first year uni student and it certainly opened my eyes to the ways of the world. This album, while ambient and soft, is by no means for the faint hearted. ‘Analyse’ is a truly beautiful and delicately crafted piece, although I wish Yorke had included a live piano version of the song as well.
    At times the album, particularly some of the riffs,
    Chilling. I listened to this album as a naïve first year uni student and it certainly opened my eyes to the ways of the world. This album, while ambient and soft, is by no means for the faint hearted. ‘Analyse’ is a truly beautiful and delicately crafted piece, although I wish Yorke had included a live piano version of the song as well.
    At times the album, particularly some of the riffs, melodies and drum beats feel a tad overproduced. The Eraser might well suffice with an acoustic guitar, analyse with a piano and Harrowdown Hill without so much guitar amplification. Despite this, I truly believe that this is Thom Yorke’s best work outside of Radiohead; ‘Ingenue’ in Atoms for Peace is up there, but in terms of commentary music and dark variety, this takes the cake.
    An essential listen for Radiohead and/or alternative rock fans.
    Expand
  98. May 29, 2016
    10
    I love Radiohead, but this album is totally different from what you're used to. It's brilliant, it's haunting, addicting, it sticks with you for weeks. Every single song creates a different atmosphere with its beats, lyrics, synths. It's pure perfection, Thom is a genius.
  99. Feb 28, 2017
    8
    The first full length Thom Yorke effort is just as weird and glitchy as someone could expect from him. The programmed beats are crisp and sweet as Nigel Godrich contributes the programming. A few underwhelming moments however. The title track, which features a piano contributing from fellow Radiohead member Jonny Greenwood, doesn't stand up sonically to the others on the record. Atoms forThe first full length Thom Yorke effort is just as weird and glitchy as someone could expect from him. The programmed beats are crisp and sweet as Nigel Godrich contributes the programming. A few underwhelming moments however. The title track, which features a piano contributing from fellow Radiohead member Jonny Greenwood, doesn't stand up sonically to the others on the record. Atoms for Peace seems to lack direction. At the end of the day, this is a thoroughly enjoyable record especially for fans of glitch IDM looking for a fresh take on that 90's Warp style. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. What makes it breathe, what allows it to flourish above its glitchy techno, its processed wizardry... what untangles it from a mess of circuitry and power strips and anti-virus pop-up warnings, is Yorke's incredible, distinctive voice.
  2. The Eraser is a triumph.
  3. Nigel's production and arrangements leave very little room for the songs to breathe... However, the emphasis on Thom's lyrics illuminates The Eraser's strongest asset: its content.