User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 786 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 786

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FabioL
    Jan 22, 2010
    9
    I used to LOATHE Lady Gaga and was BAFFLED at why everyone enjoyed her so much. I even made a playlist of my favorite music which included: C,S,N and Young, James Brown, The Police, Jefferson Airplane, The Doors, Aretha... just to name a few, and I called this playlist "Lady Gaga is Going to Die"... I did this because I felt like society was really F***ed up to think that this girl had I used to LOATHE Lady Gaga and was BAFFLED at why everyone enjoyed her so much. I even made a playlist of my favorite music which included: C,S,N and Young, James Brown, The Police, Jefferson Airplane, The Doors, Aretha... just to name a few, and I called this playlist "Lady Gaga is Going to Die"... I did this because I felt like society was really F***ed up to think that this girl had talent. With this album, however, she completely changed my mind. I may not be a "Gagamaniac", but I certainly respect her at least. Just enjoy it for it's musicality. Not what she says, but how she says it, and how the music enhances these feelings she is trying to make into this... music. It's certainly beautiful and breathtaking at times. With this being leaps and bounds better than her first album, I wait for what she will come up with in the future. Expand
  2. TarekM.
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    A beautiful album by Lady Gaga, it's even better than the first one.
  3. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Amazing melodies, amazing lyrics, amazing vocals... Simply, one of the greatest pop albums of the 21st century.
  4. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Magic. Pure perfection. This album is flawless. Every single song is a whole different world. Each record has been developed precisely. The music and the lyrics couldn't be more flawless. RedOne + Gaga mix shines more than ever with the songs they have created together. AMAZING. I have no words to describe.
  5. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    I always want hear a record like that. All the songs are catchy and strongers, with could reach the #1 for seasons . Powerful voice and though Gaga thought that BTW would be her best album I think it's the best ( not too far )
  6. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    One of the most beautiful and wonderful album i've ever heard... I love lady gaga. This album is absolutely perfect, and poethic. Dance in the dark, Bad romance, Alejandro, So happy i could die, Teeth, Monster every song of this album is a powerful mix of great things!
  7. May 13, 2011
    10
    This album is amazing, each track flows into each other and they are crafted with perfection. All the songs on the album are flat out amazing. Best tracks are "Bad Romance" "Telephone" "Alejandro" "Dance in the Dark" and "Monster and "So Happy I Could Die"
    100% A+
  8. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    This, in my most honest opinion is 'Pop-Gold'. Lady Gaga has done a fantastic job in translating the monster that is fame (in her eyes) into pure genuine Pop music. From the lyrical content, her amazing vocals and the great production, 'The Fame Monster' is a Pop masterpiece.

    Must Downloads: All of them!
  9. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    All these songs in this album have the strong for been singles, i can say wih more confidence than ever that this album is a bible of pop music my darling's
  10. Dec 16, 2014
    9
    An EP that deserved to be an album in full, with great songs to sing, dance, only listen or do what you want, that's what that year was in need and Gaga did a great job on it.
    Highlights: Telephone and Bad Romance
    Lows: So Happy I Could Die and Alejandro
  11. May 23, 2011
    10
    The Fame Monster is the bridge to Lady Gagaâ
  12. May 27, 2011
    10
    Though there is no denying that The Fame is a much better album, The Fame Monster stays more consistant than The Fame with its dark, mysterious tone, something that The Fame didn't pull off.
  13. May 27, 2011
    10
    Let me just say I love Lady Gaga,and I think anyone who reads this should know that.I think this is an incredible album.The darker tone is immediately apparent,especially in "Alejandro".All the songs are fantastic,so if you're a Lady Gaga fan,I highly recommend it,but you've probably already bought it.My only nitpick with the album is that it is censored,which is irritating.DespiteLet me just say I love Lady Gaga,and I think anyone who reads this should know that.I think this is an incredible album.The darker tone is immediately apparent,especially in "Alejandro".All the songs are fantastic,so if you're a Lady Gaga fan,I highly recommend it,but you've probably already bought it.My only nitpick with the album is that it is censored,which is irritating.Despite that,The Fame Monster is incredible,and can be bought in the standard 1 disc version,or the 2 Disc Deluxe Edition,which has The Fame Monster,plus The Fame CD with 3 new songs.The song "Again Again" was removed however,but not a huge loss.In the end,I highly recommend Lady Gaga's The Fame Monster. Expand
  14. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    I think that the sounds present in the songs of 'The Fame Monster' is quite original and I really appreciate the work of Lady Gaga, and I really like all the songs in the album and I think that the best tracks are Bad Romance and Speechless. Although the lyrics can often be no deep meanings or worthy of note I really love the simplicity of the melodies and choruses, which in any case doesI think that the sounds present in the songs of 'The Fame Monster' is quite original and I really appreciate the work of Lady Gaga, and I really like all the songs in the album and I think that the best tracks are Bad Romance and Speechless. Although the lyrics can often be no deep meanings or worthy of note I really love the simplicity of the melodies and choruses, which in any case does not diminish the skill and talent of the artist Expand
  15. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    One of - if not the - best album of the decade. Lady Gaga continues the revolution in pop that made â
  16. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    Every track is absolutely amazing!! And every track has its own poweful meaning. The album is very well put together, and the production keeps you waving and dancing all day long. Highlights : every song x3 but Bad Romance for the best!
  17. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Um dos melhores álbuns de 'dance music' que já foi feito. Com apenas 8 músicas, Lady Gaga consegue uma sonoridade incrível. Os hits são viciantes demais, cada um com suas peculiaridades. Foi com este álbum que ela mostrou que veio para ficar.
    Melhores Faixas: Bad Romance / Telephone / Dance in the Dark
  18. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    The Fame Monster was a perfect pop era and can most likely never be re-done. What better way to start off a new EP/CD than to bleed to death on the MTV VMA's? GaGas. ideas and presentation of fame has been quite remarkable. While presenting us with loads of artistic visions and clothes from fashion designers with ideas no ones ever seen she manages to give us radio friendly modernThe Fame Monster was a perfect pop era and can most likely never be re-done. What better way to start off a new EP/CD than to bleed to death on the MTV VMA's? GaGas. ideas and presentation of fame has been quite remarkable. While presenting us with loads of artistic visions and clothes from fashion designers with ideas no ones ever seen she manages to give us radio friendly modern dance-pop masterpieces. Songs like Telephone and Bad Romance have cemented their way onto pop culture history and while her songs are portrayed to have more meaning than they probably do, it just adds more spark and life to her act. After all Lady GaGa goes beyond an album and singles. She's managed to make it on the top grossing tours EVER. Her act is remarkable and this 8 song classic will be a staple for any pop fan for decades to come. Standouts: Alejandro and Dance in the Dark Expand
  19. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    In some critics say that in The Fame Monster, Gaga It really brought us something unique, bringing surprising lyrics, melodies and different rhythms. INNOVATIVE
  20. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    This Album is fill with dancing songs and great hook. Like Bad Romance and Telephone. Other songs like Dance in the Dark and Alejandro are great songs! This album was also a big break for Lady GaGa, Bad Romance and Telephone help her make money. She is a great Artist and this Album kicked her off w/ a great year. Overall it's a 10 and it's a great Album.
  21. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Her masterpiece ,creative and original album, much better than Born This Way and The Fame, I like every song but the best song is Bad Romance in my opinion.
  22. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Absolutely perfect message, the fame isn't that paradise we think, every music treat about different mistakes and causes, well produced and a great sequence for the previous album.
  23. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    One Of The Greatest Pop Albums Of All Time! The Lyrics Her Voice.. Magic
  24. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    Bad Romance to Teeth - all of them are just pure masterpieces, no flaws detected in any of the 8 golden tracks on this fantastic album. Loving this album very much.
  25. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    This, in my most honest opinion is 'Pop-Gold'. Lady Gaga has done a fantastic job in translating the monster that is fame (in her eyes) into pure genuine Pop music. From the lyrical content, her amazing vocals and the great production, 'The Fame Monster' is a Pop masterpiece.
  26. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    This EP is considered her best piece of music by many, and there are a lot of reasons to this. 8 fabulous tracks, not only on their productions but also on Gaga's fantastic vocals on all of them. Congratulations to the queen!
  27. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    Anyone who likes pop and isn't deaf would like it. It contains one of the best pop songs of the decade ("Bad Romance") and that, alone, says an awful lot about it.
  28. GlM
    Sep 24, 2014
    10
    Lady Gaga comes back with an ever better album than her debut, 'The Fame'. She powers through the charts with standout tracks 'Bad Romance' and 'Telephone', and yet, still shines on less recognised tracks such as 'Monster' and the moving ballad 'Speechless'. The album that solidified who she was as an artist, Lady Gaga is far from over.
  29. Oct 4, 2014
    10
    philosophorse
    Aug 5, 2014
    10
    A monument in pop music. It revolutionizes pop and will forever mark its print. The reason why Gaga is so good is that she is the chameleon of music: switching from Abba to Christina from song to another. She is simply deserving for the nomination of Album of the Year, just Arcade Fire is bette
  30. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    This is the best pop album of the 21st century. With the icy electropop instrumentals and the catchy hooks of songs that are all single-worthy, Gaga makes it hard to top herself. "Dance in the Dark", "Monster", and "Bad Romance" are essential must-listens on the album. I promise that you won't regret giving this album a listen.
  31. Jan 6, 2015
    10
    Tão bom quanto ao The fame.

    Monster 10
    Speechless 10
    Dance in the Dark 9.5
    So Happy I Could Die 9.5

    Essas são as músicas que ouço até hoje depois de 4 anos do lançamento.
  32. Jan 21, 2015
    10
    Catchy hooks, dance tunes, that wake up the party animal inside. The successful EP follow up to the massive, gigantic hit "The Fame" certainly did not leave fans disappointed. One of the most, if not the most excellent pop releases in the 2000s.
  33. Apr 9, 2011
    9
    All of the songs are amazingly catchy and nice, and Gaga proves that she has the vocals to sing as well.
    She's an all rounded singer, and can dance, sing and is particularly good LIVE, compared to other modern-day singers.
  34. May 23, 2011
    9
    This Is Good Not As Good As Her 1st CD But Still Good :) Go GAGA!
  35. May 19, 2011
    10
    Pop music has a bad reputation: repetition, laziness, the lack of anything by the singer. Thankfuly, artists like GaGa do exist. Producing a -highly- solid (and not all radio friendly) albums with masterful songs causing 'Born This Way' to nearly burst at the seems, it stands tribute that Pop music is a genre like any other, though highly infused with rock and electronic also. Most standPop music has a bad reputation: repetition, laziness, the lack of anything by the singer. Thankfuly, artists like GaGa do exist. Producing a -highly- solid (and not all radio friendly) albums with masterful songs causing 'Born This Way' to nearly burst at the seems, it stands tribute that Pop music is a genre like any other, though highly infused with rock and electronic also. Most stand out tracks for me are 'Bloody Mary', 'Heavy Metal Lovers' and 'Government Hooker'. A must buy. Expand
  36. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    So Happy I Could, Speechless, Alejandro, Dance In The Dark and Monster are amazing tracks. The only reason it's not 100 is because there is Telephone.
  37. May 26, 2011
    9
    By far the best pop album of 2009. Way better than The Fame, 8 amazing tracks, no fillers. The vocals are great as well. Standouts - Bad Romance, Dance In The Dark.
  38. May 25, 2011
    9
    The album is perfect in its own way and every song in the album is definitely enjoyable to listen. It showed Lady Gaga in a different side as compared to her previous album.
  39. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    I remember the first time I heard 'Bad Romance,' having barely recovered from Lady Gaga's explosion onto the music scene with her debut album, The Fame; I couldn't believe the song I was hearing was Gaga. It sounded nothing like 'Poker Face,' and at first, my heart skipped a beat.

    But therein lies the strength of The Fame Monster; as a whole, the CD is nothing like its predecessor. While
    I remember the first time I heard 'Bad Romance,' having barely recovered from Lady Gaga's explosion onto the music scene with her debut album, The Fame; I couldn't believe the song I was hearing was Gaga. It sounded nothing like 'Poker Face,' and at first, my heart skipped a beat.

    But therein lies the strength of The Fame Monster; as a whole, the CD is nothing like its predecessor. While The Fame succeeds in being an in-your-face, shameless pop/dance tour de force about the rise to and struggle for fame, The Fame Monster takes a step back and analyzes the consequences of said actions. The result is a staggeringly good piece of pop, showing Gaga's darker (and stronger) musical side. Songs like 'Dance in the Dark' and 'Bad Romance' push the boundaries of pop music and challenge other artists to follow Gaga in creating pop that isn't (gasp) mindless, while others like 'Telephone' play to the strengths that allowed her to become this famous in the first place. The Fame Monster blows The Fame out of the water and nearly makes the original 14 track album seem of such low quality (which it definitely is not) that you'd wish she'd debuted with this one instead.
    Expand
  40. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    This masterpice is Lady Gaga's best album. I really love it. I can listen this album 24/7. 'Bad Romance' - 10/10, 'Alejandro' - 10/10, 'Monster' - 10/10, 'Speechless' - 10/10, 'Dance in The Dark' - 10/10, 'Telephone' - 10/10, 'So Happy I Could Die' - 10/10, 'Teeth' - 10/10. Perfect album.
  41. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    The Fame Monster is perfect from start to finish (although the ending track 'Teeth' is a bit of a bad spot, but still listen-able), the album is a perfect juxtaposition of the glamorization of 'The Fame' that the first album highlighted, taking on a darker view on the fame. I can't choose a top track, because they are all personal favourites for different reasons, although 'Dance In TheThe Fame Monster is perfect from start to finish (although the ending track 'Teeth' is a bit of a bad spot, but still listen-able), the album is a perfect juxtaposition of the glamorization of 'The Fame' that the first album highlighted, taking on a darker view on the fame. I can't choose a top track, because they are all personal favourites for different reasons, although 'Dance In The Dark' probably has the edge; but only just. 'Speechless', a piano-ballad which Gaga wrote after her father told her about a heart condition he was not planning on getting sorted, is solely written by Gaga herself, and really shows off her lyrical capabilities. To round up, the album can be easy listening AND yet provide room for thought if you listen close enough, it's a basis of what pop records should be. Expand
  42. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Good things comes in small packages and this is it. This eight tracks EP is one of Lady Gaga's best work. It's not too long or too short. You must definitely check it out. My favourite tracks from the album would be Bad Romance, Dance In The Dark and Alejandro.
  43. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Realy great album.Great songs,great music videos!
  44. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    If only Gaga stopped here, she would have spared herself a tonne of hate. The Fame Monster is exceptionally good - 8 perfect tracks. I can't not give this a solid 10 rating, since there is not much to not love on this one (except maybe the not-so-original Alejandro video, but the song is great anyway). If you're new to Gaga, this is the one I'd go for (the only one in fact). Avoid anythingIf only Gaga stopped here, she would have spared herself a tonne of hate. The Fame Monster is exceptionally good - 8 perfect tracks. I can't not give this a solid 10 rating, since there is not much to not love on this one (except maybe the not-so-original Alejandro video, but the song is great anyway). If you're new to Gaga, this is the one I'd go for (the only one in fact). Avoid anything that came after this. Personal favourites: Bad Romance, Dance in the Dark, So Happy I Could Die, Teeth (which is also the best Gaga song to date in my opinion) Expand
  45. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    Brilliant. The best release of 2009, which certainly gave the best singles and videos of 2010. Album highlights: Bad Romance, Teeth. Simply Pop-perfection.
  46. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    This was her best album yet! Bad Romance made her world famous and now she is reaping the rewards. This album is also mentioned as the best of 2000's decade by The Rolling Stones and TIME 100 :)
  47. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Este álbum é realmente bom. Mostra uma verdadeira evolução em relação ao álbum The Fame, uma GaGa mais evoluída, má, esse álbum é formado por grandes músicas, Bad Romance, que mostra o verdadeiro pop, uma música onde não existe ninguém que pelo menos sabe uma parte dela. Telephone, uma música bem agitada, uma música nem boa, nem ruim. Alejandro, outra música que caiu na boca do povo na parte Alealejandro Alealejandro, Speechless, que foge do rítimo do álbum com uma música bela e romântica, pena não virar single. Dance In The Dark, a melhor do álbum, Lady Gaga decidiu-la jogar fora. Teeth, uma música que realmente lembra um exército, missões, boa música e ambém a animada So Happy I Cold Die, viciante também. Esse álbum merece um 9.5, mas como não existe 9.5, fica para 10 :) Expand
  48. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    PERFECT Album, Dance in The Dark, Alejandro, Bad Romance, Telephone, Teeth..... Perfect musics, dark album pop is perfect, Lady GaGa is the new queen of pop, no more questions, **** please.
  49. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    I loved this album she has such an amazing talent no other singer has and has such an odd choice in wardrobe!!!! As gaga forever said "GAGA WILL NEVER BE TOPPED"
  50. May 28, 2012
    10
    This Is One Of The Only Albums I Loved Every Single Song On It!
    Amazing Perfect Gaga
  51. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    A great product of the Lady herself, Gaga has managed to create an album that is near faultless. From the opening Euro-sleazy Bad Romance to the showful, almost narcissistic sounding Teeth, the album doesn't fall flat or dry. Highlights include the lead single, the bustling sounds of Telephone, the 80's touch of Dance In the Dark and the crusty rock-esque vocals on the ballad Speechless.A great product of the Lady herself, Gaga has managed to create an album that is near faultless. From the opening Euro-sleazy Bad Romance to the showful, almost narcissistic sounding Teeth, the album doesn't fall flat or dry. Highlights include the lead single, the bustling sounds of Telephone, the 80's touch of Dance In the Dark and the crusty rock-esque vocals on the ballad Speechless. Without doubt one of Lady Gaga's finest and most cohesive piece of music to date and a treat for the fans or pop culture everywhere. Expand
  52. Jul 10, 2012
    9
    This album is better than The Fame & Born This Way. The best songs are So Happy I Could Die and Monster. The concept of the album is interesting. I want to have her new record!
  53. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This album is going to be seen as a milestone in Gaga's career. I'm pretty sure. This album not only gives you 8 hit tracks to listen to, it also follows a concept and has a deeper meaning which is getting expressed on every single track. It's simply flawless and a stands head and shoulders above its competitors.
    Highlights are Bad Romance, Alejandro and Dance in The Dark.
  54. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    A jaw-dropping album. I honestly think every song on here could've been a single except for Speechless, and that one's only because the subject matter is too personal and emotional for top 40 radio. At a trim 34 minutes long, it's clear Gaga went out of her way to only use the best she had to offer. Alejandro and Teeth are the weakest songs on here, but both are still worth listening to.A jaw-dropping album. I honestly think every song on here could've been a single except for Speechless, and that one's only because the subject matter is too personal and emotional for top 40 radio. At a trim 34 minutes long, it's clear Gaga went out of her way to only use the best she had to offer. Alejandro and Teeth are the weakest songs on here, but both are still worth listening to. Telephone sounds out of place from the rest of the album, but it works just fine on its own. But Monster, Dance in the Dark, and Bad Romance are the tracks that'll keep you coming back again and again. Expand
  55. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Es un gran album. Lady Gaga inicia una nueva de musica pop con Bad romance, beats de los beats, después toca más palos como en Teeth, en teeth o baladas como speechless. Uno de los mejor discos POP de la historia.
  56. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    The second album of Gaga prove her fascinating talent, she is unique, there aren't anyone like her, she is a "brand", her lyrics are amazing and she has re-created pop music, nothing is the same since she is there.
  57. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This album was Gaga's peak for a reason. It is a simply sublime work of pop art. I shake my head over the pop music being made today and this album is one of the few beacons of hope for the genre. Now, I have a very unpopular opinion that Telephone was not all that. I believe it's one of her most basic recordings and too generic, and is the only "meh" moment on this otherwise perfectThis album was Gaga's peak for a reason. It is a simply sublime work of pop art. I shake my head over the pop music being made today and this album is one of the few beacons of hope for the genre. Now, I have a very unpopular opinion that Telephone was not all that. I believe it's one of her most basic recordings and too generic, and is the only "meh" moment on this otherwise perfect album. The Fame Monster's diversity is really astonishing. From the industrial sound of Bad Romance, the Latin pop elements of Alejandro, the 80's pop of Monster, the Elton John-esque Speechless, the ravetastic Dance In The Dark, the heavenly So Happy I Could Die and the sexy, kooky, Teeth, this album is a stunner from start to finish. There have been many debates even among fans as to whether this constitutes an album or an EP. Well, outwith it having 8 tracks that altogether last over 34 minutes, longer than some 10 track albums, I have never seen an EP gain this much sales, fame, get nominated for album of the year at the Grammys and generate a second world tour grossing $227 million. So I believe it is an album. And speaking of the Grammys, it was an absolute travesty that this masterpiece did not win Album of the Year. But its sales and legenadary status mean the public has spoken. A classic is born. Expand
  58. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    "The Fame Monster" made me a Monster actually, and more particularly with "So Happy I Could Die" and "Dance In The Dark". Gaga proved that she wasamazing with "The Fame", which more aimed at dancing and enjoying ourselves. Each of 8 songs of "The Fame Monster" stands for a fear and Gaga made awesome songs out of them. We already knew that it would be a great album because of "Bad Romance"."The Fame Monster" made me a Monster actually, and more particularly with "So Happy I Could Die" and "Dance In The Dark". Gaga proved that she wasamazing with "The Fame", which more aimed at dancing and enjoying ourselves. Each of 8 songs of "The Fame Monster" stands for a fear and Gaga made awesome songs out of them. We already knew that it would be a great album because of "Bad Romance". I personally think that "Alejandro" and "Telephone" are the greatest songs and hits. This is so POP and the world must listen to this breathtaking album. Expand
  59. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Pretty much every song on this album is stuffed with symbolism, and it's quite beautiful. A lot of the songs are really dark and show a lot of her struggles. It's one of the best albums I've heard in a while.
  60. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    One of the best if not at times the most highly overrated EP released in recent years. It is an incredible piece of pop music, that will certainly leave many, dare I say it, speechless.
  61. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    The album is so amazing...

    My favorite single: Bad Romance and Alejandro
    My favorites tracks: So Happy I Could Die, Dance In The Dark and Monster.
  62. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    Not as good as "Born This Way", but better than "The Fame". Even though it is has only eight tracks, all of them are catchy. My favorite song is "So Happy I Could Die".
  63. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    O melhor álbum da mulher que conseguiu dominar o mundo tão rapidamente. Incrível como ela conseguiu produzir algo tão grandioso. The Fame Monster marcará gerações.
  64. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Este album es sorprendente, es uno de los mejores álbumes del Pop, junto con el productor Redone logra crear sonidos realmente buenos e interesantes, canciones realmente oscuras como So Happy i Could Die o Teeth suenan como lo mejor del album.
  65. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    lady gaga is amazing, she knows how to write powerful songs with a good chorus, she´s so professional, she is so good, she sings so good too, she got the future, the future of music and the fame monster is the best album of the year you know what i´m trying to say, i´m trying to say that she has passion and her album is amazing since the beginning until the end
  66. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    overall this is a very pleasing experience. This record is inspired by electro-house and a modern take on drum and bass and it blends beautifully. even-though this record only counts 8 songs, it's one of the more solid works ever put out by a pop-singer. the only two downsides of this record is the pummeling and non-cohesive 'teeth' and the slightly generic 'telephone'. every other songoverall this is a very pleasing experience. This record is inspired by electro-house and a modern take on drum and bass and it blends beautifully. even-though this record only counts 8 songs, it's one of the more solid works ever put out by a pop-singer. the only two downsides of this record is the pummeling and non-cohesive 'teeth' and the slightly generic 'telephone'. every other song however is a fine work of pop and art. Expand
  67. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Definitivamente uno de los mejores EP de nuestros años. Con The Fame Monster Lady Gaga impulsa su búsqueda de la Fama, tocando el lado oscuro que ésta conlleva.
    Aunque podría parecer arriesgada, la experimentación en este disco es soberbia, lejos de ser pretenciosa. Definitivamente uno de los discos más oscuros y a la vez luminosos de nuestros días.
    Canciones como Bad Romance, Dance in
    Definitivamente uno de los mejores EP de nuestros años. Con The Fame Monster Lady Gaga impulsa su búsqueda de la Fama, tocando el lado oscuro que ésta conlleva.
    Aunque podría parecer arriesgada, la experimentación en este disco es soberbia, lejos de ser pretenciosa. Definitivamente uno de los discos más oscuros y a la vez luminosos de nuestros días.
    Canciones como Bad Romance, Dance in the Dark o So Happy I Could Die son sólo una muestra de la henealidad de Lady Gaga.
    Expand
  68. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    This is Lady Gaga at her top. Every single song on this EP is well produced and i really enjoyed everything. The only reason i don't gave it a 10 is because "teeth" could be better.
  69. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This is a Beautiful album, Lady Gaga wrotte amazing songs, such inspirational! es hermoso, tiene canciones perfectas como Bad Romance y Dance in the Dark, canciones que inspiran como Speechless, canciones que te van a hacer bailar como Telephone! es grandioso!
  70. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    The Fame Monster is basically one of the best albums out there. The dark theme of the album is very nice and every song is different. I still love listening to this album even though it's been years since it's came out. I LOVE every song. This is a must have album for anyone who loves Lady Gaga or Pop Music!
    My Personal favorites are: Bad Romance, Alejandro, Monster, Telephone, Dance in
    The Fame Monster is basically one of the best albums out there. The dark theme of the album is very nice and every song is different. I still love listening to this album even though it's been years since it's came out. I LOVE every song. This is a must have album for anyone who loves Lady Gaga or Pop Music!
    My Personal favorites are: Bad Romance, Alejandro, Monster, Telephone, Dance in the Dark, and So Happy I Can Die
    Expand
  71. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Esse CD ouro puro, cada musica que está nele poderia ser um single de sucesso. Tem muita musica que eu escuto até hoje e fico "como eu queria um videoclipe dessa musica". aquele álbum que você leva pra vida.
  72. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    Her best album yet, full of catchy songs that make you get up and start dancing. It is fun, and full of great songs for clubs, this is a unique album that deserves our applause.
  73. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    An excellent extension to her Fame album, The Fame Monster keeps up with the quality of its predecessor, with even more depth and an overall tone that's darker and more defined. The songs from this album would go on to win her more fans, with the likes of Bad Romance & Telephone, becoming huge smashes worldwide. Its edgier feel puts this album forth as one that will be thoroughlyAn excellent extension to her Fame album, The Fame Monster keeps up with the quality of its predecessor, with even more depth and an overall tone that's darker and more defined. The songs from this album would go on to win her more fans, with the likes of Bad Romance & Telephone, becoming huge smashes worldwide. Its edgier feel puts this album forth as one that will be thoroughly memorable. More significantly, this album spawned music videos that drove her popularity to stardom, with the highly-acclaimed first two singles taking charge at the 2011 Video Music Awards.

    On a personal note, this is my favourite album off my CD collection (one that has more than a hundred copies), with it taking the most spins on my stereo. The reason why I adore Gaga so much, and where I'd say I derive my audio pleasure and satisfaction.

    Standout Tracks: Bad Romance, Speechless, Dance In The Dark, Telephone (ft. Beyoncé)
    Expand
  74. May 22, 2014
    10
    With the follow up to "The Fame", anticipation was high and the pressure was on the newcomer Lady Gaga to prove herself to the world - in this 8 song epic concept album, she does just that. Each song represents a different monster/fear. Bad Romance, for example is the fear of love monster, and Telephone is the fear of suffocation. The songs go much harder here than on "The Fame" althoughWith the follow up to "The Fame", anticipation was high and the pressure was on the newcomer Lady Gaga to prove herself to the world - in this 8 song epic concept album, she does just that. Each song represents a different monster/fear. Bad Romance, for example is the fear of love monster, and Telephone is the fear of suffocation. The songs go much harder here than on "The Fame" although they don't lose their disco edge. Along with the fear of the album, we have an underlying sadness, which is really evident in songs such as "So Happy I Could Die" and "Monster". Considered by many to be the pop icon's finest release, Fame Monster proved that Gaga was not going away anytime soon. Expand
  75. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    My favorite album of the all time produced by Lady Gaga, I don't think she will be ever able to top this, because it has everything, from amazing performances to flawless songs, I really enjoyed Bad Romance!
    I give it a fat 10!
  76. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    This album is no doubt her best, its so dark and catchy, I loved every track my only complaint would be that alejandro was a single, when tracks such as dance in the dark, speechless and monster are far superior.
  77. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    A monument in pop music. It revolutionizes pop and will forever mark its print. The reason why Gaga is so good is that she is the chameleon of music: switching from Abba to Christina from song to another. She is simply deserving for the nomination of Album of the Year, just Arcade Fire is better.
  78. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    Album maravilhoso que traz canções maravilhosas como Dance In The Dark,Alejandro e até Teeth.
    Bad Romance é o grande naipe-pop do album.E Telephone é só o recheio.
  79. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    A rare album, with eight tracks that has the power to win Grammys and make the artist live in another level of the fame. That's what Gaga created! The Fame Monster has impressive, catchy and original songs and the lyrics are unreal. This is an album that just LADY GAGA can sing, others are not capable.

    One word to define it: EPIC!
  80. Sep 15, 2014
    10
    It is an awesome album. There are so many good tracks on this 2 CDs. My favourite tracks are Bad Romance, Monster, Brown Eyes, Love Games and of cause Poker Face. The value is really high and I fell not the slightest regret for buying this album.
  81. Sep 23, 2014
    9
    Another bible of pop! Art and Gaga's criativity, you'll find here. My favorites:
    1 - Bad Romance
    2 - Dance in the Dark
    3 - Alejandro
    4 - Monster
    5 - Telephone
    6 - Teeth
    7 - So Happy I Could Die
    8 - Speechless (I prefer this one live, is so much better!)
  82. Sep 30, 2014
    9
    Where every Gothic pop started, Gaga created an explosion of thoughts, erotically or romantically, for a blast of sick tunes and heavy beats big enough to turn the pop music history upside down.
  83. Jan 5, 2015
    10
    One of her best works, truly the album/EP of the decade. No one not even her (although we hope) will top this EP. The song choices and lyrics are very dark and beautifully written. This is easily worth ANY amount you may pay for it. a masterpiece
  84. Feb 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. you can not explain how this album was amazing, deserved to be universally acclaimed because gaga worked very well in it , is one of the true influential albums of the current POP , finally , he was very good for all Expand
  85. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    Just a perfect pop album, there's no waste on any of its 8 songs. Just the fist song ''Bad Romance'' is a prelude of how great is the rest of the album.
  86. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Much better than Lady Gaga's first album, 'The Fame Monster' manages where the first one fails: focus. It is much more focused on what Gaga is really about: good beats, interesting lyrics and just good music to dance to and enjoy oneself. After seeing the videos, too, it just all fits in perfectly. Basically, all of the songs are very good and they are all feel related somehow, even theMuch better than Lady Gaga's first album, 'The Fame Monster' manages where the first one fails: focus. It is much more focused on what Gaga is really about: good beats, interesting lyrics and just good music to dance to and enjoy oneself. After seeing the videos, too, it just all fits in perfectly. Basically, all of the songs are very good and they are all feel related somehow, even the stand-out ballad "Speechless" which is Gaga's first really good ballad.
    Also, her cooperation with Beyonce is noteworthy in 'Telephone,' which is one of my favourite dance tracks ever. Definitely, a much better album than 'The Fame' and an excellent 2nd album for Gaga. If she keeps this up, we're in for a treat when the next album comes out! Good work!!! Rah rah ah ah ah Roma, roma ma, Gaga ooh la la. :)
    Expand
  87. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    Another blockbuster album by Lady Gaga. Bad Romance is the best song off the record. Bad Romance is just spectacular in every way. The song "Monster" is a close second. Each song is well written and produced.
  88. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    Lady GaGa continues her transition into the position of reigning Pop Queen with The Fame Monster - Her deliciously different and sparklingly brilliant sophomore album. The album has it's highs and lows, but what's so amazing is the fact that the lows aren't really lows, but are only slightly lower than the others in the set. Bravo GaGa, bravo.
  89. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Lady Gaga has just slayed the pop history with a 8-track EP.This EP is life !
    The theme ''monster'' has became a trend + the singles are still gaining spins on the radio.Totally a pop classic and this will be remembered after 20 years.
    The lead single Bad Romance is just a masterpiece on its own , in fact the song crashed the charts and award ceremonies last year.Alejandro is
    Lady Gaga has just slayed the pop history with a 8-track EP.This EP is life !
    The theme ''monster'' has became a trend + the singles are still gaining spins on the radio.Totally a pop classic and this will be remembered after 20 years.
    The lead single Bad Romance is just a masterpiece on its own , in fact the song crashed the charts and award ceremonies last year.Alejandro is ''latin-insprided pop song'' but the instrumental is just amazing!
    The 3rd song on the album ''Monster'' explains all those bloody-monster theme + the beats and the lines are amazing.Speechless is the only ballad in the album.To be honest that is the greatest ballad-pop song i've ever listened in 5 years.Fernando produced Dance in the Dark is the best song on the EP.The lines , the beats - da da da dance vocals ~ Everything on that song is just perfect.Telephone (feat. Beyoncé) has already shown as the best collabration in 5 years by critics and award shows.So Happy I Could Die is more down-tempo chill pop song but still great.Teeth is like the wackiest thing on that album but it completes the whole era , the theme.
    Lady Gaga did a great job with this album - Totally worth buying.
    Expand
  90. JoshS
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    Amazing. Fans will love it and people that hate her will hate it. But if you listen without bias and you like pop music then you will fall in love.
  91. ShaneT
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    On;y criticism is that its too short. This album explores deeper themes than The ame and boasts catchy numbers like Bad Romance and Telephone. The lone ballad Speechless shows a side to Gaga that most people wouldn't have expected.
  92. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    Pop phenomenon Lady Gaga does it again. Not only does she provide love-filled songs, but opposite of "The Fame", she talks about the dark side of fame. "The Fame Monster" is an addition to The Fame era. With 8 brand-new tracks, each one is about Lady Gaga's "fear monsters". She also proves that she can run over any artist in the industry with the singles including "Telephone feat.Pop phenomenon Lady Gaga does it again. Not only does she provide love-filled songs, but opposite of "The Fame", she talks about the dark side of fame. "The Fame Monster" is an addition to The Fame era. With 8 brand-new tracks, each one is about Lady Gaga's "fear monsters". She also proves that she can run over any artist in the industry with the singles including "Telephone feat. Beyonce", "Bad Romance" and "Alejandro". Some songs will make you want to cry, including "Speechless" and "So Happy I Could Die". Many are club-friendly. Expand
  93. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    OMG!!!!! My favorite album ever!!!!! "Dance in the Dark" is the best song on the album. The album shows a different side of gaga. "Speechless" is a song that usually makes me cry because of the ontent and how heartfelt it is...GAGA WILL NEVER BE TOPPED
  94. FaytH.
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    The darker side of Gaga is definetly compelling but lacked in depth, but she sure knows how to crank up tunes that most pop stars can only dream of. With standouts like 'Telephone', 'Bad Romance' and 'Teeth', this album will please both new and old fans. Now ... let's redefine the length of a 'studio album' shall we?!
  95. RodH
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    She out-did herself!!
  96. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    I love her work, it's so marvelous. She continues her work wonderfully and this is even better that The Fame. She's getting better day by day. I can't even pick a favorite song on this album, I love them all!
  97. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    This is my favorite album. The best dance/electronic album ever made. It has catchy dance club songs (Bad Romance, Alejandro, Telephone), so as deep lyrics (Speechless, Dance In The Dark).
  98. Sam
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    The Fame Monster by Lady GaGa is an example of how Pop music should be. Each song is different from the last and shows that she does all sorts of music well. 8 great new songs as well as a CD with all songs from her debut album "The Fame" as well. A definite buy for near anyone.
  99. BrennanL
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    Perfection. lady gaga inspires new things on the fame. her music is much richer. you can tell shes grown as an artist over the past year that she rose to fame. this is an amazing album!
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 88
    Not only does this new song cycle retain the Euro-tastic sheen of its predecessor, it outdoes it in sheer dance-floor whump.
  2. Only after being overwhelmed by the sheer visibility of her warp-speed relaunch did I realize how enjoyable and inescapable her hooks and snatches had turned out to be.
  3. In her music videos and live shows over the past year, Gaga has worked hard to demonstrate her creative ambition and stylistic range, and that project continues on The Fame Monster.