User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 1486 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FabioL
    Jan 22, 2010
    9
    I used to LOATHE Lady Gaga and was BAFFLED at why everyone enjoyed her so much. I even made a playlist of my favorite music which included: C,S,N and Young, James Brown, The Police, Jefferson Airplane, The Doors, Aretha... just to name a few, and I called this playlist "Lady Gaga is Going to Die"... I did this because I felt like society was really F***ed up to think that this girl had I used to LOATHE Lady Gaga and was BAFFLED at why everyone enjoyed her so much. I even made a playlist of my favorite music which included: C,S,N and Young, James Brown, The Police, Jefferson Airplane, The Doors, Aretha... just to name a few, and I called this playlist "Lady Gaga is Going to Die"... I did this because I felt like society was really F***ed up to think that this girl had talent. With this album, however, she completely changed my mind. I may not be a "Gagamaniac", but I certainly respect her at least. Just enjoy it for it's musicality. Not what she says, but how she says it, and how the music enhances these feelings she is trying to make into this... music. It's certainly beautiful and breathtaking at times. With this being leaps and bounds better than her first album, I wait for what she will come up with in the future. Expand
  2. TarekM.
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    A beautiful album by Lady Gaga, it's even better than the first one.
  3. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Amazing melodies, amazing lyrics, amazing vocals... Simply, one of the greatest pop albums of the 21st century.
  4. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Magic. Pure perfection. This album is flawless. Every single song is a whole different world. Each record has been developed precisely. The music and the lyrics couldn't be more flawless. RedOne + Gaga mix shines more than ever with the songs they have created together. AMAZING. I have no words to describe.
  5. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    I always want hear a record like that. All the songs are catchy and strongers, with could reach the #1 for seasons . Powerful voice and though Gaga thought that BTW would be her best album I think it's the best ( not too far )
  6. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    One of the most beautiful and wonderful album i've ever heard... I love lady gaga. This album is absolutely perfect, and poethic. Dance in the dark, Bad romance, Alejandro, So happy i could die, Teeth, Monster every song of this album is a powerful mix of great things!
  7. May 13, 2011
    10
    This album is amazing, each track flows into each other and they are crafted with perfection. All the songs on the album are flat out amazing. Best tracks are "Bad Romance" "Telephone" "Alejandro" "Dance in the Dark" and "Monster and "So Happy I Could Die"
    100% A+
  8. May 23, 2011
    10
    The Fame Monster is the bridge to Lady Gagaâ
  9. May 27, 2011
    10
    Let me just say I love Lady Gaga,and I think anyone who reads this should know that.I think this is an incredible album.The darker tone is immediately apparent,especially in "Alejandro".All the songs are fantastic,so if you're a Lady Gaga fan,I highly recommend it,but you've probably already bought it.My only nitpick with the album is that it is censored,which is irritating.DespiteLet me just say I love Lady Gaga,and I think anyone who reads this should know that.I think this is an incredible album.The darker tone is immediately apparent,especially in "Alejandro".All the songs are fantastic,so if you're a Lady Gaga fan,I highly recommend it,but you've probably already bought it.My only nitpick with the album is that it is censored,which is irritating.Despite that,The Fame Monster is incredible,and can be bought in the standard 1 disc version,or the 2 Disc Deluxe Edition,which has The Fame Monster,plus The Fame CD with 3 new songs.The song "Again Again" was removed however,but not a huge loss.In the end,I highly recommend Lady Gaga's The Fame Monster. Expand
  10. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Um dos melhores álbuns de 'dance music' que já foi feito. Com apenas 8 músicas, Lady Gaga consegue uma sonoridade incrível. Os hits são viciantes demais, cada um com suas peculiaridades. Foi com este álbum que ela mostrou que veio para ficar.
    Melhores Faixas: Bad Romance / Telephone / Dance in the Dark
  11. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    The Fame Monster was a perfect pop era and can most likely never be re-done. What better way to start off a new EP/CD than to bleed to death on the MTV VMA's? GaGas. ideas and presentation of fame has been quite remarkable. While presenting us with loads of artistic visions and clothes from fashion designers with ideas no ones ever seen she manages to give us radio friendly modernThe Fame Monster was a perfect pop era and can most likely never be re-done. What better way to start off a new EP/CD than to bleed to death on the MTV VMA's? GaGas. ideas and presentation of fame has been quite remarkable. While presenting us with loads of artistic visions and clothes from fashion designers with ideas no ones ever seen she manages to give us radio friendly modern dance-pop masterpieces. Songs like Telephone and Bad Romance have cemented their way onto pop culture history and while her songs are portrayed to have more meaning than they probably do, it just adds more spark and life to her act. After all Lady GaGa goes beyond an album and singles. She's managed to make it on the top grossing tours EVER. Her act is remarkable and this 8 song classic will be a staple for any pop fan for decades to come. Standouts: Alejandro and Dance in the Dark Expand
  12. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    This, in my most honest opinion is 'Pop-Gold'. Lady Gaga has done a fantastic job in translating the monster that is fame (in her eyes) into pure genuine Pop music. From the lyrical content, her amazing vocals and the great production, 'The Fame Monster' is a Pop masterpiece.

    Must Downloads: All of them!
  13. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    All these songs in this album have the strong for been singles, i can say wih more confidence than ever that this album is a bible of pop music my darling's
  14. Dec 16, 2014
    9
    An EP that deserved to be an album in full, with great songs to sing, dance, only listen or do what you want, that's what that year was in need and Gaga did a great job on it.
    Highlights: Telephone and Bad Romance
    Lows: So Happy I Could Die and Alejandro
  15. Jan 21, 2015
    10
    Catchy hooks, dance tunes, that wake up the party animal inside. The successful EP follow up to the massive, gigantic hit "The Fame" certainly did not leave fans disappointed. One of the most, if not the most excellent pop releases in the 2000s.
  16. May 27, 2011
    10
    Though there is no denying that The Fame is a much better album, The Fame Monster stays more consistant than The Fame with its dark, mysterious tone, something that The Fame didn't pull off.
  17. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    I think that the sounds present in the songs of 'The Fame Monster' is quite original and I really appreciate the work of Lady Gaga, and I really like all the songs in the album and I think that the best tracks are Bad Romance and Speechless. Although the lyrics can often be no deep meanings or worthy of note I really love the simplicity of the melodies and choruses, which in any case doesI think that the sounds present in the songs of 'The Fame Monster' is quite original and I really appreciate the work of Lady Gaga, and I really like all the songs in the album and I think that the best tracks are Bad Romance and Speechless. Although the lyrics can often be no deep meanings or worthy of note I really love the simplicity of the melodies and choruses, which in any case does not diminish the skill and talent of the artist Expand
  18. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    One of - if not the - best album of the decade. Lady Gaga continues the revolution in pop that made â
  19. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Lady Gaga's second album, The Fame Monster, is not fun. Neither is it sexy, nor is it jubilant. And it definitely isn't pretty. It's masterful. It's elusive, dark, catchy, rhythmical, inharmonic, satirical (at some points even humorous), and musically brilliant. It's Gaga's tour de force, her assertion into the pop-musical realm, her footprint in the cemented road of musical development inLady Gaga's second album, The Fame Monster, is not fun. Neither is it sexy, nor is it jubilant. And it definitely isn't pretty. It's masterful. It's elusive, dark, catchy, rhythmical, inharmonic, satirical (at some points even humorous), and musically brilliant. It's Gaga's tour de force, her assertion into the pop-musical realm, her footprint in the cemented road of musical development in the 2k decade. Gaga, in collaboration with writers RedOne, Fernando Garibay, and Space Cowboy, proves that she, in fact, can escape the squid-like suction cups of radio music, while holding on to the classic pop templates that seem to be necessary to create a decently successful album. It's as if you gave Lady Gaga the Mona Lisa, and she transformed it into an austere Origami swan. The use of dissonance in this album is coherent and will not go unrecognized. She is effectively able to make music with making harmony, a difficult task for those artists that want to remain popular. The production value in this album is immense, much greater than her previous album, and for once, it doesn't detract from the true sound she tries to make. She doesn't hide her music deeply. In this album, she levels it above everything. It is important to note, though, that ugly does not make a song. Some moments in this album, we have to bear with the non-musical ugly, which may not be fun (and at some points, isn't even necessary to get the full effect of the album).

    Overall, Gaga's The Fame Monster gives us the impression that Gaga isn't just some hooker off the street. She cares about her music, like her album is her baby, and transfers as much personality and life into it as she can, making sure to include both the good and bad of her. Her album leaves us satisfied, but because of it's length, also leaves us hungry for more.
    Expand
  20. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    Every track is absolutely amazing!! And every track has its own poweful meaning. The album is very well put together, and the production keeps you waving and dancing all day long. Highlights : every song x3 but Bad Romance for the best!
  21. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    In some critics say that in The Fame Monster, Gaga It really brought us something unique, bringing surprising lyrics, melodies and different rhythms. INNOVATIVE
  22. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    This Album is fill with dancing songs and great hook. Like Bad Romance and Telephone. Other songs like Dance in the Dark and Alejandro are great songs! This album was also a big break for Lady GaGa, Bad Romance and Telephone help her make money. She is a great Artist and this Album kicked her off w/ a great year. Overall it's a 10 and it's a great Album.
  23. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Her masterpiece ,creative and original album, much better than Born This Way and The Fame, I like every song but the best song is Bad Romance in my opinion.
  24. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Realy great album.Great songs,great music videos!
  25. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    If only Gaga stopped here, she would have spared herself a tonne of hate. The Fame Monster is exceptionally good - 8 perfect tracks. I can't not give this a solid 10 rating, since there is not much to not love on this one (except maybe the not-so-original Alejandro video, but the song is great anyway). If you're new to Gaga, this is the one I'd go for (the only one in fact). Avoid anythingIf only Gaga stopped here, she would have spared herself a tonne of hate. The Fame Monster is exceptionally good - 8 perfect tracks. I can't not give this a solid 10 rating, since there is not much to not love on this one (except maybe the not-so-original Alejandro video, but the song is great anyway). If you're new to Gaga, this is the one I'd go for (the only one in fact). Avoid anything that came after this. Personal favourites: Bad Romance, Dance in the Dark, So Happy I Could Die, Teeth (which is also the best Gaga song to date in my opinion) Expand
  26. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    Brilliant. The best release of 2009, which certainly gave the best singles and videos of 2010. Album highlights: Bad Romance, Teeth. Simply Pop-perfection.
  27. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Absolutely perfect message, the fame isn't that paradise we think, every music treat about different mistakes and causes, well produced and a great sequence for the previous album.
  28. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    One Of The Greatest Pop Albums Of All Time! The Lyrics Her Voice.. Magic
  29. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    A monument in pop music. It revolutionizes pop and will forever mark its print. The reason why Gaga is so good is that she is the chameleon of music: switching from Abba to Christina from song to another. She is simply deserving for the nomination of Album of the Year, just Arcade Fire is better.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 88
    Not only does this new song cycle retain the Euro-tastic sheen of its predecessor, it outdoes it in sheer dance-floor whump.
  2. Only after being overwhelmed by the sheer visibility of her warp-speed relaunch did I realize how enjoyable and inescapable her hooks and snatches had turned out to be.
  3. In her music videos and live shows over the past year, Gaga has worked hard to demonstrate her creative ambition and stylistic range, and that project continues on The Fame Monster.