The Fame Monster - Lady Gaga
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 714 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 714

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    9
    An EP that deserved to be an album in full, with great songs to sing, dance, only listen or do what you want, that's what that year was in need and Gaga did a great job on it.
    Highlights: Telephone and Bad Romance
    Lows: So Happy I Could Die and Alejandro
  2. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    This is the best pop album of the 21st century. With the icy electropop instrumentals and the catchy hooks of songs that are all single-worthy, Gaga makes it hard to top herself. "Dance in the Dark", "Monster", and "Bad Romance" are essential must-listens on the album. I promise that you won't regret giving this album a listen.
  3. Oct 4, 2014
    10
    philosophorse
    Aug 5, 2014
    10
    A monument in pop music. It revolutionizes pop and will forever mark its print. The reason why Gaga is so good is that she is the chameleon of music: switching from Abba to Christina from song to another. She is simply deserving for the nomination of Album of the Year, just Arcade Fire is bette
  4. Sep 30, 2014
    9
    Where every Gothic pop started, Gaga created an explosion of thoughts, erotically or romantically, for a blast of sick tunes and heavy beats big enough to turn the pop music history upside down.
  5. Sep 26, 2014
    9
    This is a grand album and has produced some of the most widely known hit pop songs... ever. Almost every song here is worthy of some sort of recognition. Highlights include: Teeth, Monster, Speechless, Again Again, So Happy I Could Die and of course, Bad Romance. The only song on the deluxe edition I believe I dislike would be Starstruck, which is pretty impressive for a 24-track album.This is a grand album and has produced some of the most widely known hit pop songs... ever. Almost every song here is worthy of some sort of recognition. Highlights include: Teeth, Monster, Speechless, Again Again, So Happy I Could Die and of course, Bad Romance. The only song on the deluxe edition I believe I dislike would be Starstruck, which is pretty impressive for a 24-track album.

    Truly a revolutionary pop album.
    Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    Bad Romance to Teeth - all of them are just pure masterpieces, no flaws detected in any of the 8 golden tracks on this fantastic album. Loving this album very much.
  7. GlM
    Sep 24, 2014
    10
    Lady Gaga comes back with an ever better album than her debut, 'The Fame'. She powers through the charts with standout tracks 'Bad Romance' and 'Telephone', and yet, still shines on less recognised tracks such as 'Monster' and the moving ballad 'Speechless'. The album that solidified who she was as an artist, Lady Gaga is far from over.
  8. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    All these songs in this album have the strong for been singles, i can say wih more confidence than ever that this album is a bible of pop music my darling's
  9. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    Anyone who likes pop and isn't deaf would like it. It contains one of the best pop songs of the decade ("Bad Romance") and that, alone, says an awful lot about it.
  10. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    This EP is considered her best piece of music by many, and there are a lot of reasons to this. 8 fabulous tracks, not only on their productions but also on Gaga's fantastic vocals on all of them. Congratulations to the queen!
  11. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    This, in my most honest opinion is 'Pop-Gold'. Lady Gaga has done a fantastic job in translating the monster that is fame (in her eyes) into pure genuine Pop music. From the lyrical content, her amazing vocals and the great production, 'The Fame Monster' is a Pop masterpiece.
  12. Sep 23, 2014
    9
    Another bible of pop! Art and Gaga's criativity, you'll find here. My favorites:
    1 - Bad Romance
    2 - Dance in the Dark
    3 - Alejandro
    4 - Monster
    5 - Telephone
    6 - Teeth
    7 - So Happy I Could Die
    8 - Speechless (I prefer this one live, is so much better!)
  13. Sep 15, 2014
    10
    It is an awesome album. There are so many good tracks on this 2 CDs. My favourite tracks are Bad Romance, Monster, Brown Eyes, Love Games and of cause Poker Face. The value is really high and I fell not the slightest regret for buying this album.
  14. Sep 6, 2014
    8
    The Fame Monster é um dos melhores EPs que já existiram. As melodias e as letras são excelentes, tanto que um EP fez um sucesso enorme. É muito criativo e divertido, com músicas que vão ser lembradas para toda a história da música Pop.
  15. Aug 10, 2014
    8
    Beginning with the Gothic industrial dance-pop camp known worldwide as "Bad Romance" ("You and me could write a Bad Romance") and ending with the blasphemous combination of gospel music and S&M-styled double entendre of "Teeth", The Fame Monster has Gaga at her most comfortable: glam pop + lyricism so fool of itself, it's genius ("And in the silence of the night/Through all the tears/AndBeginning with the Gothic industrial dance-pop camp known worldwide as "Bad Romance" ("You and me could write a Bad Romance") and ending with the blasphemous combination of gospel music and S&M-styled double entendre of "Teeth", The Fame Monster has Gaga at her most comfortable: glam pop + lyricism so fool of itself, it's genius ("And in the silence of the night/Through all the tears/And all the lies/I touch myself and it's alright"). Though it's no Like a Prayer by any means or measure, Lady Gaga settles her bare feet in the sands of a moody mixture of electropop and '80s vintage darkwave decorated with half-smart lyricism -- Mother Monster herself describes each song as having its own 'Monster' metaphor for the dark side of fame.

    Besides highlights such as its lead single, the Queen B-featured earworm of a second single "Telephone", and the underrated dance-pop masterpiece "Dance in the Dark", which has a word spoken verse that pays respect to everyone from Judy Garland to Jesus Christ, The Fame Monster overall had the opportunity of having a hit on 7 out of the 8 songs on the EP/mini-album (something tells me "Teeth" wouldn't stand a chance at making it to any radio friendly charts. In my opinion, Born This Way is sonically her greatest album to date, however, The Fame Monster could stand as her safest and most iconic.
    Expand
  16. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    A monument in pop music. It revolutionizes pop and will forever mark its print. The reason why Gaga is so good is that she is the chameleon of music: switching from Abba to Christina from song to another. She is simply deserving for the nomination of Album of the Year, just Arcade Fire is better.
  17. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    A rare album, with eight tracks that has the power to win Grammys and make the artist live in another level of the fame. That's what Gaga created! The Fame Monster has impressive, catchy and original songs and the lyrics are unreal. This is an album that just LADY GAGA can sing, others are not capable.

    One word to define it: EPIC!
  18. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    Album maravilhoso que traz canções maravilhosas como Dance In The Dark,Alejandro e até Teeth.
    Bad Romance é o grande naipe-pop do album.E Telephone é só o recheio.
  19. May 22, 2014
    10
    With the follow up to "The Fame", anticipation was high and the pressure was on the newcomer Lady Gaga to prove herself to the world - in this 8 song epic concept album, she does just that. Each song represents a different monster/fear. Bad Romance, for example is the fear of love monster, and Telephone is the fear of suffocation. The songs go much harder here than on "The Fame" althoughWith the follow up to "The Fame", anticipation was high and the pressure was on the newcomer Lady Gaga to prove herself to the world - in this 8 song epic concept album, she does just that. Each song represents a different monster/fear. Bad Romance, for example is the fear of love monster, and Telephone is the fear of suffocation. The songs go much harder here than on "The Fame" although they don't lose their disco edge. Along with the fear of the album, we have an underlying sadness, which is really evident in songs such as "So Happy I Could Die" and "Monster". Considered by many to be the pop icon's finest release, Fame Monster proved that Gaga was not going away anytime soon. Expand
  20. Apr 21, 2014
    8
    A great follow-up to The Fame, Gaga has improved everything that was wrong with the first album. The popcorn songs were exchanged for still catchy tunes but with more meaningful lyrics and somber tones, instead of wasting time riding disco sticks and repeating over and over again "Paparazzi".
    The 8 additional songs to The Fame do not exactly engage perfectly with the previous album, but
    A great follow-up to The Fame, Gaga has improved everything that was wrong with the first album. The popcorn songs were exchanged for still catchy tunes but with more meaningful lyrics and somber tones, instead of wasting time riding disco sticks and repeating over and over again "Paparazzi".
    The 8 additional songs to The Fame do not exactly engage perfectly with the previous album, but it is amaziing to see how much the artist developed. The songs aren't exactly lyrical or musical gems (Just dancing tunes with lots of 80s remixes, notable in the song "Dance In The Dark", the best of the bunch) but are definite improvements. "Bad Romance" is an instant classic, "Alejandro" a fun twisted version of Abba's "Fernando", "Monster" an eclectic love song, "Speechless" a Nancy Sinatra homage that works perfectly, "Telephone" an amazing collaboration with Beyoncé (Less exotic but more rythmic than "Video Phone"), and the last two songs, "So Happy I Could Die" and "Teeth" fit perfectly as creepy, disgusting and fantastic songs.
    An improvement, for sure. An album so dark with so many layers of techno-infused pop nostalgia that you are forced to listen again and again, besides its short duration.
    Expand
  21. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    This album is no doubt her best, its so dark and catchy, I loved every track my only complaint would be that alejandro was a single, when tracks such as dance in the dark, speechless and monster are far superior.
  22. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    My favorite album of the all time produced by Lady Gaga, I don't think she will be ever able to top this, because it has everything, from amazing performances to flawless songs, I really enjoyed Bad Romance!
    I give it a fat 10!
  23. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    Gaga improved with this album since her debut moment. "The Fame Monster" certainly reflects the dark side of fame without making it be nasty. Most recommended songs are "Bad Romance", "Alejandro" and "Dance In The Dark".
  24. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    This, in my most honest opinion is 'Pop-Gold'. Lady Gaga has done a fantastic job in translating the monster that is fame (in her eyes) into pure genuine Pop music. From the lyrical content, her amazing vocals and the great production, 'The Fame Monster' is a Pop masterpiece.

    Must Downloads: All of them!
  25. Dec 15, 2013
    8
    Changing the game with each album. Definitely a darker side to The Fame as what she have described. The Album perfectly comply the title THE FAME MONSTER. It would be difficult to understand in first listen but if we venture into lyrics and the order of the song, the album is near perfection. Just a small step
  26. Dec 5, 2013
    8
    Loved this EP so much. All songs bar one 'Teeth' are amazing which brought the rating down from a 8.75 to 8.25. The standout tracks have to be 'Alejandro' ,'Monster' and 'So Happy I Could Die'. For this review I talked about the 8 track EP which is clearly her best album/EP yet. Hard to top.
  27. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    An excellent extension to her Fame album, The Fame Monster keeps up with the quality of its predecessor, with even more depth and an overall tone that's darker and more defined. The songs from this album would go on to win her more fans, with the likes of Bad Romance & Telephone, becoming huge smashes worldwide. Its edgier feel puts this album forth as one that will be thoroughlyAn excellent extension to her Fame album, The Fame Monster keeps up with the quality of its predecessor, with even more depth and an overall tone that's darker and more defined. The songs from this album would go on to win her more fans, with the likes of Bad Romance & Telephone, becoming huge smashes worldwide. Its edgier feel puts this album forth as one that will be thoroughly memorable. More significantly, this album spawned music videos that drove her popularity to stardom, with the highly-acclaimed first two singles taking charge at the 2011 Video Music Awards.

    On a personal note, this is my favourite album off my CD collection (one that has more than a hundred copies), with it taking the most spins on my stereo. The reason why I adore Gaga so much, and where I'd say I derive my audio pleasure and satisfaction.

    Standout Tracks: Bad Romance, Speechless, Dance In The Dark, Telephone (ft. Beyoncé)
    Expand
  28. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    Her best album yet, full of catchy songs that make you get up and start dancing. It is fun, and full of great songs for clubs, this is a unique album that deserves our applause.
  29. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Gaga brings out her dark side in "The Fame Monster". The album feature lush and well produced tracks and collaborations. Despite this only being an EP, the quality of each song makes it a fully realized album.
  30. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    The album is so amazing...

    My favorite single: Bad Romance and Alejandro
    My favorites tracks: So Happy I Could Die, Dance In The Dark and Monster.
  31. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Esse CD ouro puro, cada musica que está nele poderia ser um single de sucesso. Tem muita musica que eu escuto até hoje e fico "como eu queria um videoclipe dessa musica". aquele álbum que você leva pra vida.
  32. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    The Fame Monster is basically one of the best albums out there. The dark theme of the album is very nice and every song is different. I still love listening to this album even though it's been years since it's came out. I LOVE every song. This is a must have album for anyone who loves Lady Gaga or Pop Music!
    My Personal favorites are: Bad Romance, Alejandro, Monster, Telephone, Dance in
    The Fame Monster is basically one of the best albums out there. The dark theme of the album is very nice and every song is different. I still love listening to this album even though it's been years since it's came out. I LOVE every song. This is a must have album for anyone who loves Lady Gaga or Pop Music!
    My Personal favorites are: Bad Romance, Alejandro, Monster, Telephone, Dance in the Dark, and So Happy I Can Die
    Expand
  33. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This album was Gaga's peak for a reason. It is a simply sublime work of pop art. I shake my head over the pop music being made today and this album is one of the few beacons of hope for the genre. Now, I have a very unpopular opinion that Telephone was not all that. I believe it's one of her most basic recordings and too generic, and is the only "meh" moment on this otherwise perfectThis album was Gaga's peak for a reason. It is a simply sublime work of pop art. I shake my head over the pop music being made today and this album is one of the few beacons of hope for the genre. Now, I have a very unpopular opinion that Telephone was not all that. I believe it's one of her most basic recordings and too generic, and is the only "meh" moment on this otherwise perfect album. The Fame Monster's diversity is really astonishing. From the industrial sound of Bad Romance, the Latin pop elements of Alejandro, the 80's pop of Monster, the Elton John-esque Speechless, the ravetastic Dance In The Dark, the heavenly So Happy I Could Die and the sexy, kooky, Teeth, this album is a stunner from start to finish. There have been many debates even among fans as to whether this constitutes an album or an EP. Well, outwith it having 8 tracks that altogether last over 34 minutes, longer than some 10 track albums, I have never seen an EP gain this much sales, fame, get nominated for album of the year at the Grammys and generate a second world tour grossing $227 million. So I believe it is an album. And speaking of the Grammys, it was an absolute travesty that this masterpiece did not win Album of the Year. But its sales and legenadary status mean the public has spoken. A classic is born. Expand
  34. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This is a Beautiful album, Lady Gaga wrotte amazing songs, such inspirational! es hermoso, tiene canciones perfectas como Bad Romance y Dance in the Dark, canciones que inspiran como Speechless, canciones que te van a hacer bailar como Telephone! es grandioso!
  35. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    This is Lady Gaga at her top. Every single song on this EP is well produced and i really enjoyed everything. The only reason i don't gave it a 10 is because "teeth" could be better.
  36. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Definitivamente uno de los mejores EP de nuestros años. Con The Fame Monster Lady Gaga impulsa su búsqueda de la Fama, tocando el lado oscuro que ésta conlleva.
    Aunque podría parecer arriesgada, la experimentación en este disco es soberbia, lejos de ser pretenciosa. Definitivamente uno de los discos más oscuros y a la vez luminosos de nuestros días.
    Canciones como Bad Romance, Dance in
    Definitivamente uno de los mejores EP de nuestros años. Con The Fame Monster Lady Gaga impulsa su búsqueda de la Fama, tocando el lado oscuro que ésta conlleva.
    Aunque podría parecer arriesgada, la experimentación en este disco es soberbia, lejos de ser pretenciosa. Definitivamente uno de los discos más oscuros y a la vez luminosos de nuestros días.
    Canciones como Bad Romance, Dance in the Dark o So Happy I Could Die son sólo una muestra de la henealidad de Lady Gaga.
    Expand
  37. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    overall this is a very pleasing experience. This record is inspired by electro-house and a modern take on drum and bass and it blends beautifully. even-though this record only counts 8 songs, it's one of the more solid works ever put out by a pop-singer. the only two downsides of this record is the pummeling and non-cohesive 'teeth' and the slightly generic 'telephone'. every other songoverall this is a very pleasing experience. This record is inspired by electro-house and a modern take on drum and bass and it blends beautifully. even-though this record only counts 8 songs, it's one of the more solid works ever put out by a pop-singer. the only two downsides of this record is the pummeling and non-cohesive 'teeth' and the slightly generic 'telephone'. every other song however is a fine work of pop and art. Expand
  38. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    lady gaga is amazing, she knows how to write powerful songs with a good chorus, she´s so professional, she is so good, she sings so good too, she got the future, the future of music and the fame monster is the best album of the year you know what i´m trying to say, i´m trying to say that she has passion and her album is amazing since the beginning until the end
  39. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Este album es sorprendente, es uno de los mejores álbumes del Pop, junto con el productor Redone logra crear sonidos realmente buenos e interesantes, canciones realmente oscuras como So Happy i Could Die o Teeth suenan como lo mejor del album.
  40. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    O melhor álbum da mulher que conseguiu dominar o mundo tão rapidamente. Incrível como ela conseguiu produzir algo tão grandioso. The Fame Monster marcará gerações.
  41. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    Not as good as "Born This Way", but better than "The Fame". Even though it is has only eight tracks, all of them are catchy. My favorite song is "So Happy I Could Die".
  42. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    One of the best if not at times the most highly overrated EP released in recent years. It is an incredible piece of pop music, that will certainly leave many, dare I say it, speechless.
  43. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    One Of The Greatest Pop Albums Of All Time! The Lyrics Her Voice.. Magic
  44. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    Lady Gaga returned with her first and Grammy-winning extended play containing hit songs such as "Bad Romance," "Telephone" and "Alejandro." Clearly one of the best EP's I've ever listened to.
  45. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Pretty much every song on this album is stuffed with symbolism, and it's quite beautiful. A lot of the songs are really dark and show a lot of her struggles. It's one of the best albums I've heard in a while.
  46. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Absolutely perfect message, the fame isn't that paradise we think, every music treat about different mistakes and causes, well produced and a great sequence for the previous album.
  47. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    "The Fame Monster" made me a Monster actually, and more particularly with "So Happy I Could Die" and "Dance In The Dark". Gaga proved that she wasamazing with "The Fame", which more aimed at dancing and enjoying ourselves. Each of 8 songs of "The Fame Monster" stands for a fear and Gaga made awesome songs out of them. We already knew that it would be a great album because of "Bad Romance"."The Fame Monster" made me a Monster actually, and more particularly with "So Happy I Could Die" and "Dance In The Dark". Gaga proved that she wasamazing with "The Fame", which more aimed at dancing and enjoying ourselves. Each of 8 songs of "The Fame Monster" stands for a fear and Gaga made awesome songs out of them. We already knew that it would be a great album because of "Bad Romance". I personally think that "Alejandro" and "Telephone" are the greatest songs and hits. This is so POP and the world must listen to this breathtaking album. Expand
  48. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Amazing melodies, amazing lyrics, amazing vocals... Simply, one of the greatest pop albums of the 21st century.
  49. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    Yo compre este album y bueno es menor que su antecesor , pero combina muy bien los sonidos electro, rock y pop. Ademas su contenido lirico de te ha entender los miedos de Gaga y el amor por su musica.
  50. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    I always want hear a record like that. All the songs are catchy and strongers, with could reach the #1 for seasons . Powerful voice and though Gaga thought that BTW would be her best album I think it's the best ( not too far )
  51. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    The second album of Gaga prove her fascinating talent, she is unique, there aren't anyone like her, she is a "brand", her lyrics are amazing and she has re-created pop music, nothing is the same since she is there.
  52. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Es un gran album. Lady Gaga inicia una nueva de musica pop con Bad romance, beats de los beats, después toca más palos como en Teeth, en teeth o baladas como speechless. Uno de los mejor discos POP de la historia.
  53. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    In some critics say that in The Fame Monster, Gaga It really brought us something unique, bringing surprising lyrics, melodies and different rhythms. INNOVATIVE
  54. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    *UPDATED REVIEW* Lady's Gaga's The Fame Monster is filled with dark and catchy mainstream pop tunes filled with originality and always a joy to listen to.
  55. Sep 7, 2012
    8
    Lady Gaga's finest moment as a recording artist thus far. The eclecticism Gaga shows on this superb EP really does give her a sense of credibility as a pop artist, enabling herself to go from powerful, heart-broken rock ballads like 'Speechless', back to her more "traditional" dance tracks like 'Dance in the Dark', all the way out to tracks like 'Alejandro' that give Gaga a sense ofLady Gaga's finest moment as a recording artist thus far. The eclecticism Gaga shows on this superb EP really does give her a sense of credibility as a pop artist, enabling herself to go from powerful, heart-broken rock ballads like 'Speechless', back to her more "traditional" dance tracks like 'Dance in the Dark', all the way out to tracks like 'Alejandro' that give Gaga a sense of relatable vulnerability. Lovely. Expand
  56. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Magic. Pure perfection. This album is flawless. Every single song is a whole different world. Each record has been developed precisely. The music and the lyrics couldn't be more flawless. RedOne + Gaga mix shines more than ever with the songs they have created together. AMAZING. I have no words to describe.
  57. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    A jaw-dropping album. I honestly think every song on here could've been a single except for Speechless, and that one's only because the subject matter is too personal and emotional for top 40 radio. At a trim 34 minutes long, it's clear Gaga went out of her way to only use the best she had to offer. Alejandro and Teeth are the weakest songs on here, but both are still worth listening to.A jaw-dropping album. I honestly think every song on here could've been a single except for Speechless, and that one's only because the subject matter is too personal and emotional for top 40 radio. At a trim 34 minutes long, it's clear Gaga went out of her way to only use the best she had to offer. Alejandro and Teeth are the weakest songs on here, but both are still worth listening to. Telephone sounds out of place from the rest of the album, but it works just fine on its own. But Monster, Dance in the Dark, and Bad Romance are the tracks that'll keep you coming back again and again. Expand
  58. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    This masterpice is Lady Gaga's best album. I really love it. I can listen this album 24/7. 'Bad Romance' - 10/10, 'Alejandro' - 10/10, 'Monster' - 10/10, 'Speechless' - 10/10, 'Dance in The Dark' - 10/10, 'Telephone' - 10/10, 'So Happy I Could Die' - 10/10, 'Teeth' - 10/10. Perfect album.
  59. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This album is going to be seen as a milestone in Gaga's career. I'm pretty sure. This album not only gives you 8 hit tracks to listen to, it also follows a concept and has a deeper meaning which is getting expressed on every single track. It's simply flawless and a stands head and shoulders above its competitors.
    Highlights are Bad Romance, Alejandro and Dance in The Dark.
  60. Jul 10, 2012
    9
    This album is better than The Fame & Born This Way. The best songs are So Happy I Could Die and Monster. The concept of the album is interesting. I want to have her new record!
  61. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    Every track is absolutely amazing!! And every track has its own poweful meaning. The album is very well put together, and the production keeps you waving and dancing all day long. Highlights : every song x3 but Bad Romance for the best!
  62. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    A great product of the Lady herself, Gaga has managed to create an album that is near faultless. From the opening Euro-sleazy Bad Romance to the showful, almost narcissistic sounding Teeth, the album doesn't fall flat or dry. Highlights include the lead single, the bustling sounds of Telephone, the 80's touch of Dance In the Dark and the crusty rock-esque vocals on the ballad Speechless.A great product of the Lady herself, Gaga has managed to create an album that is near faultless. From the opening Euro-sleazy Bad Romance to the showful, almost narcissistic sounding Teeth, the album doesn't fall flat or dry. Highlights include the lead single, the bustling sounds of Telephone, the 80's touch of Dance In the Dark and the crusty rock-esque vocals on the ballad Speechless. Without doubt one of Lady Gaga's finest and most cohesive piece of music to date and a treat for the fans or pop culture everywhere. Expand
  63. May 28, 2012
    10
    This Is One Of The Only Albums I Loved Every Single Song On It!
    Amazing Perfect Gaga
  64. May 25, 2012
    7
    This is better than her first album. The songs in this album has impact, which I want to have in her songs. The songs are very catchy just like her first album. A great album, overall.
  65. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    I liked this album a lot more than her first one, the only big complaint I have is I wish she would've have put more songs on this album. I felt it was way too short. Again, she made great dance/pop songs. No other complaints.
  66. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    I loved this album she has such an amazing talent no other singer has and has such an odd choice in wardrobe!!!! As gaga forever said "GAGA WILL NEVER BE TOPPED"
  67. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Her masterpiece ,creative and original album, much better than Born This Way and The Fame, I like every song but the best song is Bad Romance in my opinion.
  68. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    PERFECT Album, Dance in The Dark, Alejandro, Bad Romance, Telephone, Teeth..... Perfect musics, dark album pop is perfect, Lady GaGa is the new queen of pop, no more questions, **** please.
  69. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Este álbum é realmente bom. Mostra uma verdadeira evolução em relação ao álbum The Fame, uma GaGa mais evoluída, má, esse álbum é formado por grandes músicas, Bad Romance, que mostra o verdadeiro pop, uma música onde não existe ninguém que pelo menos sabe uma parte dela. Telephone, uma música bem agitada, uma música nem boa, nem ruim. Alejandro, outra música que caiu na boca do povo na parte Alealejandro Alealejandro, Speechless, que foge do rítimo do álbum com uma música bela e romântica, pena não virar single. Dance In The Dark, a melhor do álbum, Lady Gaga decidiu-la jogar fora. Teeth, uma música que realmente lembra um exército, missões, boa música e ambém a animada So Happy I Cold Die, viciante também. Esse álbum merece um 9.5, mas como não existe 9.5, fica para 10 :) Expand
  70. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    This was her best album yet! Bad Romance made her world famous and now she is reaping the rewards. This album is also mentioned as the best of 2000's decade by The Rolling Stones and TIME 100 :)
  71. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    Brilliant. The best release of 2009, which certainly gave the best singles and videos of 2010. Album highlights: Bad Romance, Teeth. Simply Pop-perfection.
  72. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    If only Gaga stopped here, she would have spared herself a tonne of hate. The Fame Monster is exceptionally good - 8 perfect tracks. I can't not give this a solid 10 rating, since there is not much to not love on this one (except maybe the not-so-original Alejandro video, but the song is great anyway). If you're new to Gaga, this is the one I'd go for (the only one in fact). Avoid anythingIf only Gaga stopped here, she would have spared herself a tonne of hate. The Fame Monster is exceptionally good - 8 perfect tracks. I can't not give this a solid 10 rating, since there is not much to not love on this one (except maybe the not-so-original Alejandro video, but the song is great anyway). If you're new to Gaga, this is the one I'd go for (the only one in fact). Avoid anything that came after this. Personal favourites: Bad Romance, Dance in the Dark, So Happy I Could Die, Teeth (which is also the best Gaga song to date in my opinion) Expand
  73. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Realy great album.Great songs,great music videos!
  74. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Lady Gaga's second album, The Fame Monster, is not fun. Neither is it sexy, nor is it jubilant. And it definitely isn't pretty. It's masterful. It's elusive, dark, catchy, rhythmical, inharmonic, satirical (at some points even humorous), and musically brilliant. It's Gaga's tour de force, her assertion into the pop-musical realm, her footprint in the cemented road of musical development inLady Gaga's second album, The Fame Monster, is not fun. Neither is it sexy, nor is it jubilant. And it definitely isn't pretty. It's masterful. It's elusive, dark, catchy, rhythmical, inharmonic, satirical (at some points even humorous), and musically brilliant. It's Gaga's tour de force, her assertion into the pop-musical realm, her footprint in the cemented road of musical development in the 2k decade. Gaga, in collaboration with writers RedOne, Fernando Garibay, and Space Cowboy, proves that she, in fact, can escape the squid-like suction cups of radio music, while holding on to the classic pop templates that seem to be necessary to create a decently successful album. It's as if you gave Lady Gaga the Mona Lisa, and she transformed it into an austere Origami swan. The use of dissonance in this album is coherent and will not go unrecognized. She is effectively able to make music with making harmony, a difficult task for those artists that want to remain popular. The production value in this album is immense, much greater than her previous album, and for once, it doesn't detract from the true sound she tries to make. She doesn't hide her music deeply. In this album, she levels it above everything. It is important to note, though, that ugly does not make a song. Some moments in this album, we have to bear with the non-musical ugly, which may not be fun (and at some points, isn't even necessary to get the full effect of the album).

    Overall, Gaga's The Fame Monster gives us the impression that Gaga isn't just some hooker off the street. She cares about her music, like her album is her baby, and transfers as much personality and life into it as she can, making sure to include both the good and bad of her. Her album leaves us satisfied, but because of it's length, also leaves us hungry for more.
    Expand
  75. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    "The Fame Monster" is GaGa's best work yet. "The Fame" really helped her to become a worldwide superstar, but it was "The Fame Monster" that established her as a pop artist. From "Bad Romance" to "Teeth" this is one of the greatest pop music creations I had heard in a long time. The dark, electronic beats , the self-written lyrics, the meaning of each song ("the eight fears")... everything"The Fame Monster" is GaGa's best work yet. "The Fame" really helped her to become a worldwide superstar, but it was "The Fame Monster" that established her as a pop artist. From "Bad Romance" to "Teeth" this is one of the greatest pop music creations I had heard in a long time. The dark, electronic beats , the self-written lyrics, the meaning of each song ("the eight fears")... everything fits perfectly into her concept and it will probably be the standout of her career, the moment were she is the most successful singer of the world, and the moment were her music is liked the most. The album features some of the best RedOne productions yet (and judging by his later works, I think they will keep that title), and one of the most special GaGa songs: Dance in the Dark. I don't think this song would've been very successful, but it is very unique, and has a very beautiful message. "Bad Romance" is probably the most iconic and successful GaGa song, and Speechless shows that she can also make ballads, even if they are on a GaGa way. I think she is capable of topping this album, but we will have to wait and see, as she doesn't seem to be willing to repeat herself. Maybe with a different sound, but I just hope she delivers this level of quality again.

    Highlights: Bad Romance, Dance in the Dark, Speechless
    Expand
  76. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Good things comes in small packages and this is it. This eight tracks EP is one of Lady Gaga's best work. It's not too long or too short. You must definitely check it out. My favourite tracks from the album would be Bad Romance, Dance In The Dark and Alejandro.
  77. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    This album sounds great and is good! It's not innovative or revolutionary, but is good and fresh.
    Speechless and So Happy I Could Die are great! The best of Lady gaga
  78. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    The Fame Monster is perfect from start to finish (although the ending track 'Teeth' is a bit of a bad spot, but still listen-able), the album is a perfect juxtaposition of the glamorization of 'The Fame' that the first album highlighted, taking on a darker view on the fame. I can't choose a top track, because they are all personal favourites for different reasons, although 'Dance In TheThe Fame Monster is perfect from start to finish (although the ending track 'Teeth' is a bit of a bad spot, but still listen-able), the album is a perfect juxtaposition of the glamorization of 'The Fame' that the first album highlighted, taking on a darker view on the fame. I can't choose a top track, because they are all personal favourites for different reasons, although 'Dance In The Dark' probably has the edge; but only just. 'Speechless', a piano-ballad which Gaga wrote after her father told her about a heart condition he was not planning on getting sorted, is solely written by Gaga herself, and really shows off her lyrical capabilities. To round up, the album can be easy listening AND yet provide room for thought if you listen close enough, it's a basis of what pop records should be. Expand
  79. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Lady Gaga has just slayed the pop history with a 8-track EP.This EP is life !
    The theme ''monster'' has became a trend + the singles are still gaining spins on the radio.Totally a pop classic and this will be remembered after 20 years.
    The lead single Bad Romance is just a masterpiece on its own , in fact the song crashed the charts and award ceremonies last year.Alejandro is
    Lady Gaga has just slayed the pop history with a 8-track EP.This EP is life !
    The theme ''monster'' has became a trend + the singles are still gaining spins on the radio.Totally a pop classic and this will be remembered after 20 years.
    The lead single Bad Romance is just a masterpiece on its own , in fact the song crashed the charts and award ceremonies last year.Alejandro is ''latin-insprided pop song'' but the instrumental is just amazing!
    The 3rd song on the album ''Monster'' explains all those bloody-monster theme + the beats and the lines are amazing.Speechless is the only ballad in the album.To be honest that is the greatest ballad-pop song i've ever listened in 5 years.Fernando produced Dance in the Dark is the best song on the EP.The lines , the beats - da da da dance vocals ~ Everything on that song is just perfect.Telephone (feat. Beyoncé) has already shown as the best collabration in 5 years by critics and award shows.So Happy I Could Die is more down-tempo chill pop song but still great.Teeth is like the wackiest thing on that album but it completes the whole era , the theme.
    Lady Gaga did a great job with this album - Totally worth buying.
    Expand
  80. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    This Album is fill with dancing songs and great hook. Like Bad Romance and Telephone. Other songs like Dance in the Dark and Alejandro are great songs! This album was also a big break for Lady GaGa, Bad Romance and Telephone help her make money. She is a great Artist and this Album kicked her off w/ a great year. Overall it's a 10 and it's a great Album.
  81. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    The best thing about this is that it sounds like the fame. 5 out of the 8 tracks follow in bad romance's footsteps in being danceable and addictive. Dance in the dark is ok but the other two, speech and teeth are rubbish in my opinion but I suppose they are right up the 'little monsters' street. If you loved the fame then you will love this. Another great record from Gaga.
  82. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    So Happy I Could, Speechless, Alejandro, Dance In The Dark and Monster are amazing tracks. The only reason it's not 100 is because there is Telephone.
  83. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    One of the most beautiful and wonderful album i've ever heard... I love lady gaga. This album is absolutely perfect, and poethic. Dance in the dark, Bad romance, Alejandro, So happy i could die, Teeth, Monster every song of this album is a powerful mix of great things!
  84. Oct 8, 2011
    8
    Lady Gaga's surprisingly quick ascent to the top of the pop charts was followed shortly thereafter with the release of "The Fame Monster" an EP that is sold as a standalone 8-track CD or in the Deluxe version which packs in the original "The Fame" album.

    The whole point of this album, as Gaga explained it, was to address her fears. With that in mind, it's a wonder that the album is
    Lady Gaga's surprisingly quick ascent to the top of the pop charts was followed shortly thereafter with the release of "The Fame Monster" an EP that is sold as a standalone 8-track CD or in the Deluxe version which packs in the original "The Fame" album.

    The whole point of this album, as Gaga explained it, was to address her fears. With that in mind, it's a wonder that the album is overall very upbeat and dance-oriented. A fear of being in love fashions itself into the killer lead single, "Bad Romance", while fears of sex and abuse manifested into "Alejandro" and the Eurodisco sounds of "Dance in the Dark", respectively. Produced and co-written almost exclusively with RedOne, the tracks focus more on synths and programmed instruments than the last album did. However, fans of the older sound are in for a treat when it comes to "Speechless". Gaga wrote this track for her father to convince him to get an open-heart surgery, and she wrote it as a fear of losing the one she loves to the cruel fate of death.

    "The Fame Monster" does a decent job of eliminating what might be considered filler material, but that doesn't stop "Teeth" from awkwardly Southern-foot-stomping the album to a hault with its repetitive strums and melody-lacking lyrics.

    Overall, it's a welcome addition to "The Fame" although having a few more tracks (and axing "Teeth") would have made it all the more welcome.
    Expand
  85. Sep 10, 2011
    5
    Better than "Born This Way", but still a nonsense album. "Speechless" is a great track, but "Alejandro", "Telephone" and "Teeth" seem to be jokes, not songs.
  86. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Um dos melhores álbuns de 'dance music' que já foi feito. Com apenas 8 músicas, Lady Gaga consegue uma sonoridade incrível. Os hits são viciantes demais, cada um com suas peculiaridades. Foi com este álbum que ela mostrou que veio para ficar.
    Melhores Faixas: Bad Romance / Telephone / Dance in the Dark
  87. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    The Fame Monster was a perfect pop era and can most likely never be re-done. What better way to start off a new EP/CD than to bleed to death on the MTV VMA's? GaGas. ideas and presentation of fame has been quite remarkable. While presenting us with loads of artistic visions and clothes from fashion designers with ideas no ones ever seen she manages to give us radio friendly modernThe Fame Monster was a perfect pop era and can most likely never be re-done. What better way to start off a new EP/CD than to bleed to death on the MTV VMA's? GaGas. ideas and presentation of fame has been quite remarkable. While presenting us with loads of artistic visions and clothes from fashion designers with ideas no ones ever seen she manages to give us radio friendly modern dance-pop masterpieces. Songs like Telephone and Bad Romance have cemented their way onto pop culture history and while her songs are portrayed to have more meaning than they probably do, it just adds more spark and life to her act. After all Lady GaGa goes beyond an album and singles. She's managed to make it on the top grossing tours EVER. Her act is remarkable and this 8 song classic will be a staple for any pop fan for decades to come. Standouts: Alejandro and Dance in the Dark Expand
  88. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    I remember the first time I heard 'Bad Romance,' having barely recovered from Lady Gaga's explosion onto the music scene with her debut album, The Fame; I couldn't believe the song I was hearing was Gaga. It sounded nothing like 'Poker Face,' and at first, my heart skipped a beat.

    But therein lies the strength of The Fame Monster; as a whole, the CD is nothing like its predecessor. While
    I remember the first time I heard 'Bad Romance,' having barely recovered from Lady Gaga's explosion onto the music scene with her debut album, The Fame; I couldn't believe the song I was hearing was Gaga. It sounded nothing like 'Poker Face,' and at first, my heart skipped a beat.

    But therein lies the strength of The Fame Monster; as a whole, the CD is nothing like its predecessor. While The Fame succeeds in being an in-your-face, shameless pop/dance tour de force about the rise to and struggle for fame, The Fame Monster takes a step back and analyzes the consequences of said actions. The result is a staggeringly good piece of pop, showing Gaga's darker (and stronger) musical side. Songs like 'Dance in the Dark' and 'Bad Romance' push the boundaries of pop music and challenge other artists to follow Gaga in creating pop that isn't (gasp) mindless, while others like 'Telephone' play to the strengths that allowed her to become this famous in the first place. The Fame Monster blows The Fame out of the water and nearly makes the original 14 track album seem of such low quality (which it definitely is not) that you'd wish she'd debuted with this one instead.
    Expand
  89. Aug 11, 2011
    8
    You could look at THE FAME MONSTER as an extended re-do of Gaga's debut THE FAME or an entirely stand-alone extended play. Either way, it's Lady Gaga's best work yet.
  90. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    Here we see Lady Gaga in new light as opposed to "The Fame". Where "The Fame" highlighted on a fun, pop sound. "The Fame Monster" EP gives a new perspective on the reality of "The Fame". Drawing inspirations from different styles and melodies, she reminds us that not all catchy music has to be cliche. Lyrically, the EP has a grotesque atmosphere that combines well with the darker toneHere we see Lady Gaga in new light as opposed to "The Fame". Where "The Fame" highlighted on a fun, pop sound. "The Fame Monster" EP gives a new perspective on the reality of "The Fame". Drawing inspirations from different styles and melodies, she reminds us that not all catchy music has to be cliche. Lyrically, the EP has a grotesque atmosphere that combines well with the darker tone while keeping an attractive sound. Where at a few points it may lack depth, it still triumphs over many other modern pop sensations. Expand
  91. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    I am a Lady Gaga fan and I enjoyed this album. But, there could of been more songs on there. It only takes about a little less than twenty minutes to listen to all the songs. And sometimes I feel disapointed because a lot of her lyrics are just dark profanity.
  92. Jun 15, 2011
    5
    This "supplementary" album only offers a few magical enhancements from her debut album but it has far to many misses to be a good album. "Alejandro" sounds like a bad Ace of Base track, "Telephone" is annoying, and "monster" attempts to be sexually assertive but kind of fizzles to unimpressiveness. Surely "Bad Romance" is a solid cut but I believe that song is upstaged by the gritty fun ofThis "supplementary" album only offers a few magical enhancements from her debut album but it has far to many misses to be a good album. "Alejandro" sounds like a bad Ace of Base track, "Telephone" is annoying, and "monster" attempts to be sexually assertive but kind of fizzles to unimpressiveness. Surely "Bad Romance" is a solid cut but I believe that song is upstaged by the gritty fun of "Teeth". Sure, she seems to have fun with this album but it is easy to see the early signs of her spiral from singer to attention seeker. Expand
  93. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    One of - if not the - best album of the decade. Lady Gaga continues the revolution in pop that made â
  94. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    This is Gaga's best album to date. Other than "Monster", which is poorly written, and "Speechless", which is just simply boring, every song is a winner. "Alejandro" became my favorite song of hers the first time I heard it, before it was even announced as a single.
  95. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    I think that the sounds present in the songs of 'The Fame Monster' is quite original and I really appreciate the work of Lady Gaga, and I really like all the songs in the album and I think that the best tracks are Bad Romance and Speechless. Although the lyrics can often be no deep meanings or worthy of note I really love the simplicity of the melodies and choruses, which in any case doesI think that the sounds present in the songs of 'The Fame Monster' is quite original and I really appreciate the work of Lady Gaga, and I really like all the songs in the album and I think that the best tracks are Bad Romance and Speechless. Although the lyrics can often be no deep meanings or worthy of note I really love the simplicity of the melodies and choruses, which in any case does not diminish the skill and talent of the artist Expand
  96. May 31, 2011
    8
    The Fame Monster isn't perfect, but it's arguably one of the finest pop albums in recent years. It's certainly more handsomely produced, varied, and even darker than The Fame; influences ranging between '80s dance pop to Gothic industrial. Every track has its own unique twists and are undeniably catchy at that. Its standout tracks are "Bad Romance" and "Dance In The Dark", which bothThe Fame Monster isn't perfect, but it's arguably one of the finest pop albums in recent years. It's certainly more handsomely produced, varied, and even darker than The Fame; influences ranging between '80s dance pop to Gothic industrial. Every track has its own unique twists and are undeniably catchy at that. Its standout tracks are "Bad Romance" and "Dance In The Dark", which both heavily rely on industrial. However, its weakest track is its outro, "Teeth", which is just dull and uninspiring altogether, unlike the rest of the tracks. Expand
  97. May 27, 2011
    10
    Let me just say I love Lady Gaga,and I think anyone who reads this should know that.I think this is an incredible album.The darker tone is immediately apparent,especially in "Alejandro".All the songs are fantastic,so if you're a Lady Gaga fan,I highly recommend it,but you've probably already bought it.My only nitpick with the album is that it is censored,which is irritating.DespiteLet me just say I love Lady Gaga,and I think anyone who reads this should know that.I think this is an incredible album.The darker tone is immediately apparent,especially in "Alejandro".All the songs are fantastic,so if you're a Lady Gaga fan,I highly recommend it,but you've probably already bought it.My only nitpick with the album is that it is censored,which is irritating.Despite that,The Fame Monster is incredible,and can be bought in the standard 1 disc version,or the 2 Disc Deluxe Edition,which has The Fame Monster,plus The Fame CD with 3 new songs.The song "Again Again" was removed however,but not a huge loss.In the end,I highly recommend Lady Gaga's The Fame Monster. Expand
  98. May 27, 2011
    10
    Though there is no denying that The Fame is a much better album, The Fame Monster stays more consistant than The Fame with its dark, mysterious tone, something that The Fame didn't pull off.
  99. May 26, 2011
    9
    By far the best pop album of 2009. Way better than The Fame, 8 amazing tracks, no fillers. The vocals are great as well. Standouts - Bad Romance, Dance In The Dark.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 88
    Not only does this new song cycle retain the Euro-tastic sheen of its predecessor, it outdoes it in sheer dance-floor whump.
  2. Only after being overwhelmed by the sheer visibility of her warp-speed relaunch did I realize how enjoyable and inescapable her hooks and snatches had turned out to be.
  3. In her music videos and live shows over the past year, Gaga has worked hard to demonstrate her creative ambition and stylistic range, and that project continues on The Fame Monster.