The Fame

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1006 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2016
    9
    What an incredible album. Lady Gaga brought pop music back to life. It has pretty much everything a pop album needs. It's upbeat, sexy, well sang, well produced and most of all - memorable. It'll rightfully remain one of music's most important debuts.
  2. Oct 25, 2016
    10
    To have a great pop album you need the basics... fun/cheesy lyrics, big chourses, and over dramatic vocal arrangements. This is exactly what Gaga has mastered in... not only are these songs cacthy as hell, you can't help but want to listen to them over and over again.
  3. Oct 25, 2016
    10
    one of the best debut album ever every song has potential for single when rb ruled charts and music industry Gaga made edm mainstreem with that album in 2008
  4. Oct 25, 2016
    10
    Amazing.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................Amazing...............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................ness Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2016
    10
    A wonderful album! A wonderful artist! Every album released, his talent and his legacy growing and most respected. This only tends to grow. Each person chooses his own Queen, Lady Gaga for me is the true queen of pop.
  6. Oct 24, 2016
    10
    As we all know Lady Gaga is the bomb. This album is the beginning of her career. It includes Poker Face and Paparazzi (among all her great songs on here). If you appreciate fine pop music, even if you are not a Lady Gaga fan, you will become one once you hear this album. It is amazing!
  7. Oct 23, 2016
    7
    Um bom álbum, mostra claramente uma grande estrela pop em ascenção. The Fame é um bom álbum de estreia para Gaga, bem radiofônico, bem pop clean, com vocais de 'menininha', com várias músicas hits como Poker Face, Paparazzi, Just Dance, Summerboy e Starstruck. Porém, enjoa fácil.
  8. Oct 21, 2016
    10
    Still one of the most epic, most successful pop albums ever. It brought some of the biggest pop hits of the decade such as Poker Face, Paparazzi and Just Dance... It's a legend.
  9. Oct 20, 2016
    10
    Arguably the greatest debut pop album of this millennium, The Fame launched Lady Gaga into the pop landscape and established her as a pop act different the others. The Fame is the musical embodiment of gold and was a game-changer for the pop scene, with standout tracks such as Just Dance, LoveGame, Paparazzi, Poker Face, I Like It Rough, Starstruck, Beautiful Dirty Rich, The Fame, MoneyArguably the greatest debut pop album of this millennium, The Fame launched Lady Gaga into the pop landscape and established her as a pop act different the others. The Fame is the musical embodiment of gold and was a game-changer for the pop scene, with standout tracks such as Just Dance, LoveGame, Paparazzi, Poker Face, I Like It Rough, Starstruck, Beautiful Dirty Rich, The Fame, Money Honey, Boys Boys Boys, and Paper Gangsta. Expand
  10. Oct 19, 2016
    10
    The album changed pop music FOREVER! Lady Gaga has had an undeniable effect on pop culture, and this album was just the beginning for Lady Gaga. Featuring the HUGE hits Just Dance, Poker Face, Paparazzi, and LoveGame, this album is absolutely incredible. I wouldn't be lying if I said this album changed my life.
  11. Oct 3, 2016
    9
    Lady Gaga y electro-pop mas fieles a la escena Pop, es un álbum muy bailable y muy fiel al genero disco gay. Es la combinación perfecta para finales del 2008 donde se pedía a gritos música como esta.

    Como su nombre lo indica "The Fame", el salto a la fama de una de las artista mas importante de la ultima generación, siempre ocupara un lugar especial en aquellas personas que anhelaron lo
    Lady Gaga y electro-pop mas fieles a la escena Pop, es un álbum muy bailable y muy fiel al genero disco gay. Es la combinación perfecta para finales del 2008 donde se pedía a gritos música como esta.

    Como su nombre lo indica "The Fame", el salto a la fama de una de las artista mas importante de la ultima generación, siempre ocupara un lugar especial en aquellas personas que anhelaron lo "Freak" en este neo mundo.
    Expand
  12. Sep 22, 2016
    8
    Very strong debut. As a pop album it shimmers with hooks and decently good lyrics which is a rarity in the pop field and always has been. Gaga breaks through as not only a songwriter but a full blown entertainer. 2008 was a great year out of many for Gaga career wise.
    SONGS LIKED: 11 (favorites: The Fame, Paparazzi, Poker Face, Summerboy, Brown Eyes, Beautiful, Dirty Rich)
    SONGS
    Very strong debut. As a pop album it shimmers with hooks and decently good lyrics which is a rarity in the pop field and always has been. Gaga breaks through as not only a songwriter but a full blown entertainer. 2008 was a great year out of many for Gaga career wise.
    SONGS LIKED: 11 (favorites: The Fame, Paparazzi, Poker Face, Summerboy, Brown Eyes, Beautiful, Dirty Rich)
    SONGS DISLIKED: 1 (Boys, Boys, Boys)
    SONGS IDK ABOUT: 2 (Paper Gangsta, Eh Eh)
    Expand
  13. Sep 15, 2016
    10
    Um Pop revolucionário! Simplesmente o melhor álbum Pop até a data. Eletrizante, dançante. Com elementos que lembram os anos 80. Remetendo a Madonna, Michael e inusitado David Bowie. Uma obra prima para um álbum de estréia .
  14. Sep 11, 2016
    9
    this is the best and the biggest album debut of all timeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee im a big fan of gaga and that shows a new face of the pop music,it bring to us poker face,just dance,love game and other amazing hits and that is her 2 best album i really love that,very strong and big quality album
  15. Aug 31, 2016
    9
    Through this album, Gaga made us believe that Pop music was not dead, track by track she makes us come back to the 80 's without lost her futuristic sense of fashion. These funny and catchy songs about how fame is lame sometimes, shows us her intelligence and sense of humour and, of course, her passion for fashion. Gaga is not about fame "money honey", she is about talented.
  16. May 6, 2016
    8
    A great album, with great writing, great production, the duo Gaga/RedOne proved to be hit-makers, but in the end, you want a bit more... which you can find on The Fame Monster. But this is still a great debut album.
  17. IGa
    Jan 30, 2016
    9
    Vibrant and unique. Besides being a great alternative to pop music fans, "The Fame" induced a whole mass of artists to focus on dance music. Full of hits and simple and agile beats, "The Fame" can win you the visual and music - even the most retro, which can be less good. Enjoy!
  18. Dec 30, 2015
    7
    Gaga estreia no mundo da música nos dando um álbum bom, mas que não impressiona. Com músicas boas (algumas ótimas), os singles foram bem escolhidos e fizeram muito sucesso.

    Pontos altos: Paparazzi, Poker Face, Eh, Eh (Nothing Else I Can Say)
    Pontos baixos: Money Honey, Disco Heaven, Boys Boys Boys
  19. Nov 21, 2015
    9
    The Fame presents a raw GaGa who is in the verge of exploring the world of fame and its sub-dimensions. The songs are fresh and are reminiscent of 80's pop world.
  20. Nov 4, 2015
    10
    Futuristic, but at the same time retrograde . He and a mixing disk with a new type of pop music of birth, while one takes you to other clubs slopes lead you to magnificent nightclubs. The album was instrumental in the revolution of pop music . We can say that he who brought pop right back in evidence but this time for music and not for beauty. The album itself is intelligent. One of theFuturistic, but at the same time retrograde . He and a mixing disk with a new type of pop music of birth, while one takes you to other clubs slopes lead you to magnificent nightclubs. The album was instrumental in the revolution of pop music . We can say that he who brought pop right back in evidence but this time for music and not for beauty. The album itself is intelligent. One of the highest points and she managed to unite excellent music and agrdavéis to listen and dance . I say to say that this album and a masterpiece and that few have done and will do as good as albums . Expand
  21. Oct 6, 2015
    7
    When I was in high school and just come out of the closet, this album was my holy grail! I had a Gaga obsession like most gays in 2008 - 2012 but while listening to Gaga, I felt a sense of security with my sexuality. Weird, since the depth of these songs are very shallow. I felt like a proud and out gay kid while listening to the Fame and my memories of this album are nothing but happyWhen I was in high school and just come out of the closet, this album was my holy grail! I had a Gaga obsession like most gays in 2008 - 2012 but while listening to Gaga, I felt a sense of security with my sexuality. Weird, since the depth of these songs are very shallow. I felt like a proud and out gay kid while listening to the Fame and my memories of this album are nothing but happy moments. You don't get much of Gaga's vocal talent on here since they're mostly drowned in reverb but you do get how great Gaga is for creating infectious hooks and verse lines that I've quoted more than lines from Mean Girls (which was A LOT when in high school).
    Here, you have an overload of really catchy pop tunes and I don't think anyone should judge it more than that.
    Best Songs: Paparazzi, PokerFace, Paper Gangsta
    7/10
    Expand
  22. Sep 1, 2015
    10
    Definitely one of the best and strongest debut albums of all times. If you haven't heard it yet, then you're not breathing as it's hit singles have become some of the biggest hits of all time like Just Dance, Poker Face and Paparazzi. An awesome concept album about fame, and all the fun things that you do when you have it. Gaga made her mark on the industry with this album, and it was soDefinitely one of the best and strongest debut albums of all times. If you haven't heard it yet, then you're not breathing as it's hit singles have become some of the biggest hits of all time like Just Dance, Poker Face and Paparazzi. An awesome concept album about fame, and all the fun things that you do when you have it. Gaga made her mark on the industry with this album, and it was so good that she became the biggest popstar out there! Queen! Expand
  23. Jul 25, 2015
    9
    Good, nice and quality is as I was to The Fame. Multi danceable songs with one another ballad, Gaga shows us her debut as a reminder never to forget and be an appreciation of the good pop that is should continue and not a commercial waste as today
  24. May 10, 2015
    10
    Best debut of the 2000s decade! She just popped out of nowhere with Just Dance and Poker Face. This record tells me that Gaga was set to be the next Queen of Pop. On this album, I never seen anyone like Gaga pull this kind of thing off! Highlights of the album are "Just Dance", "Poker Face", "LoveGame", "Paparazzi", "Beautiful, Dirty, Rich", "The Fame", and "Papa Gansta". Overall, it isBest debut of the 2000s decade! She just popped out of nowhere with Just Dance and Poker Face. This record tells me that Gaga was set to be the next Queen of Pop. On this album, I never seen anyone like Gaga pull this kind of thing off! Highlights of the album are "Just Dance", "Poker Face", "LoveGame", "Paparazzi", "Beautiful, Dirty, Rich", "The Fame", and "Papa Gansta". Overall, it is one of the greatest albums of all time agreed. Expand
  25. May 4, 2015
    10
    JT's best album so far hands down and better than part 1 without any doubts .
    Give me what i dont know Murder True Blood Amnesia are the kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
  26. Feb 2, 2015
    10
    This album is the ultimate pop masterpiece, it was the first album that I bought from my money in 2009 because it was too good for its time when it was released, she basically saved pop music. I still cannot stop playing it so much I'm still in love after years this album is amazing and timeless.
  27. Jan 21, 2015
    10
    A massive breakout, a massive debut. One of the biggest releases in pop to ever exist, proves that Lady Gaga has only just begun. The music is purely perfect.
  28. Jan 6, 2015
    10
    Álbum dos Hits Just Dance, Love Game, Paparazzi e Poker Face. Mas amo The Fame e Retro, Dance, Freak são perfeitas, a Sonoridade de I Like It Rough, é muito boa. esse é um ótimo Álbum de estreia.
  29. Dec 16, 2014
    7
    The worst album it sincerely a fully commercial album, the songs have quality but it seems that focused only on making an album to the slopes and forget the rest, and the ballads are bad, but evaluating the tracks individually is umbom album, good to listen and have fun.
    Highlights: LoveGame and Just Dance
    Lows: Brown Eyes and Again Again
  30. Oct 4, 2014
    10
    Lady Gaga turned pretentious pretty damn fast. Even music videos like "Paparazzi" smacked of try-hard quite early on in her career. But the music on The Fame has no delusions of grandeur, a quality I don't expect to see from Lady Gaga in any of her work in the immediate future. Here she is fixed on bringing straightforward, catchy hits to the table, and for the most part she delivers. Fo
  31. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    Definitely the game changer album of POP. Pop will never be low brow. Lady Gaga have changed the game of POP entirely, the singles are really fantastic and bops. From Just Dance to Paparazzi, I enjoyed all of them. The album will never get old. It deserved #1.
  32. GlM
    Sep 24, 2014
    10
    One of the greatest debut albums by an artist. The album delves into the idea of 'The Fame' to give us a narrative, filled with standout Dance-Pop anthems, touches of Disco, and R&B infused beats. The Dance fueled tracks of the album give an insight as to who Lady Gaga is, and who she is to become with a very long career ahead of her. She isn't stopping any time soon.
  33. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    This album show the world a girl who came to music to change the pop music, and the get the change in this album, this album is a complete revolution of pop music
  34. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    The Fame is an amazing album to say the least. She, at first, lacks credibility as an artist, but she convinced me with Just Dance, Poker Face and Paparazzi.
  35. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    Lady Gaga's debut album The Fame is just as easy to hear as any up-and-coming pop album, but is enriched with a catchy sound that carries Gaga's voice all the way through. Not the best album out there, but an excellent breakthrough debut that easily paves her road for future success. Gaga is clearly able to combine mainstream pop sound with phonetic brilliance that is usually absent fromLady Gaga's debut album The Fame is just as easy to hear as any up-and-coming pop album, but is enriched with a catchy sound that carries Gaga's voice all the way through. Not the best album out there, but an excellent breakthrough debut that easily paves her road for future success. Gaga is clearly able to combine mainstream pop sound with phonetic brilliance that is usually absent from most albums. Expand
  36. Sep 23, 2014
    8
    The best dance pop I ever heard. The synths and the bass sounds so amazing and live is so good. My Favorites:
    1 - Poker Face
    2 - Just Dance
    3 - Paparazzi
    4 - Brown Eyes
    5 - Eh, Eh (Nothing Else I Can Say)
  37. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. a truly perfect album starts with a catchy song Just Dance is for sure these songs are a masterpiece, and one of the best CDs of the decade, Lady Gaga and her team are to be congratulated. Expand
  38. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    Some songs of this album were written years ago, at the time Lady Gaga still dreamed to be a popstar, for example "Beautiful, Dirty, Rich". This prove that she's been working on music since the beginning. With 8 years old Gaga has already knew how to play piano and dance. Her first album 'The Fame" crossed many taboo and became one of the most important album in pop music!
  39. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    E ela veio pra salvar a música pop com esse album,trazer de volta a graça que se tinha perdido.
    Não é a toa que já vendeu mais de 20 milhões de cópias.
  40. May 22, 2014
    9
    The Fame is undoubtedly one of the most impactful and iconic debut albums in modern pop music. It catapulted Lady Gaga into stardom and our hearts. Here she shows off her songwriting abilities and vocal versatility, effortlessly singing through smash hits "Poker Face, "Just Dance" and "Paparazzi". The Fame also helped bring electronic music back into the mainstream through the help of itsThe Fame is undoubtedly one of the most impactful and iconic debut albums in modern pop music. It catapulted Lady Gaga into stardom and our hearts. Here she shows off her songwriting abilities and vocal versatility, effortlessly singing through smash hits "Poker Face, "Just Dance" and "Paparazzi". The Fame also helped bring electronic music back into the mainstream through the help of its singles, and also ventures into experimental territories on "Paper Gangster" and more retro sounds on "Summerboy" and "Disco Heaven". Filler tracks are virtually nonexistent, and we start to see some of the musical threads continued on its sequel, The Fame Monster. Although it may not be Gaga's best work, it still stands alone as a monolith of pop culture, one of the defining albums of 2008. Expand
  41. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    Overall great debut album, she was my 2009, highlights are just dance, poker face, paparazzi, lovegame, I like it rough, money honey, boys boys boys and brown eyes
  42. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    Ahh,good old Lady Gaga, it all started here,good old The Fame days, the days then Lady Gaga was new,fresh "it girl", The Fame is not bad, I would say even a good album with a many hits and few slower songs in the back, Poker Face shows this album potential it has, amazing work Lady Gaga! My first physical CD and digital album I bought and I'm very happy with that,I was satisfied!
  43. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    She has everything to be a star in pop music. "The Fame" is one of the best debut albums of the decade. "Just Dance", "Poker Face", "Paparazzi" and "Brown Eyes" are my most recommended songs. Lady Gaga gave a new breath to pop culture with this fresh music but certainly she needs to polish herself a little bit more as an artist and explore all the talent she has to be on top.
  44. Dec 15, 2013
    7
    Great album debut for a new artist. She has grown a lot since then and for the better. But this was a nice change at the time it was released and felt fresh. It´s the debut of one of the real artists we still have in mainstream music nowadays. So that alone deserved praise. Best song is Paparazzi by far, which is the one that leads to that better sound of hers we´ll get to see in herGreat album debut for a new artist. She has grown a lot since then and for the better. But this was a nice change at the time it was released and felt fresh. It´s the debut of one of the real artists we still have in mainstream music nowadays. So that alone deserved praise. Best song is Paparazzi by far, which is the one that leads to that better sound of hers we´ll get to see in her following albums. Expand
  45. Nov 29, 2013
    7
    A mildly favourable album, with pop songs that will appeal to the masses due to the infectious tunes and beats. Songs like Eh, Eh, Starstruck & Boys Boys Boys are easy on the ears while Just Dance & Poker Face are obvious club bangers, with the latter two later becoming the breakthroughs for her career. There's nothing much to dislike on the album, but most of the later songs played areA mildly favourable album, with pop songs that will appeal to the masses due to the infectious tunes and beats. Songs like Eh, Eh, Starstruck & Boys Boys Boys are easy on the ears while Just Dance & Poker Face are obvious club bangers, with the latter two later becoming the breakthroughs for her career. There's nothing much to dislike on the album, but most of the later songs played are obvious fillers. With the exception of Eh, Eh, Lady Gaga and her record label definitely chose the right hits to represent her album as singles.

    Standout Tracks: Just Dance (ft. Colby O'Donis), LoveGame, Poker Face
    Expand
  46. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    I was not a Gaga fan until I saw her "Fame Ball" tour and then it all changed. She channels a fresh pop sensibility into each track. Her knowing of how to energize a crowd will surely give her longevity.
  47. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Years later after release I'm still loving The Fame. It still gets me dancing! It's such a great album and it a definitely a classic. I would recommend buying this on iTunes.Every song is amazing. I guarantee this is a great album to have, that can compare to any album of today.
    My Personal favorites are: Love Game, Poker Face, Just Dance, and Starstruck.
  48. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Amazing.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................Amazing...............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................ness Expand
  49. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Un gran album debut, tiene canciones muy bailables que mezclan la fama con el amor, ademas tiene canciones que te recordaran tiempos memorables como los 80's!
  50. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    Between Poker Face, Just Dance and Nothing Else I Can Say, you'll feel that this album has been in your head forever. That's not necessarily a bad thing :P
  51. Oct 25, 2013
    8
    When Lady Gaga first came on the scene back in 2008, few truly realised how talented she was. Having studied pop culture well, she knew that as a popstar, talent has to be fairly hidden initially if you wanted success and you couldn't be overly artistic either. She realised that if she wanted to make the music that she truly wanted, she had to sell out a bit at first. As such, she launchedWhen Lady Gaga first came on the scene back in 2008, few truly realised how talented she was. Having studied pop culture well, she knew that as a popstar, talent has to be fairly hidden initially if you wanted success and you couldn't be overly artistic either. She realised that if she wanted to make the music that she truly wanted, she had to sell out a bit at first. As such, she launched herself as an attractive, sexy popstar with top quality pop tunes that the public ate up. But a lot of people thought she was all style, no substance, couldn't sing, play an instrument or had anything interesting to say. But towards the end of The Fame's album campaign, she started changing a bit. She started pushing her vocal performances to prove she had a voice, she started playing piano live (a talent in which she was classically trained and had led to offers from Juliard) and she began to say rather intelligent things in interviews. And if you truly listened to her album, you would find that The Fame is highly satirical. The songs sound as if she is advocating a superficial lifestyle but on closer inspection, you realise she is actually critiquing it. Especially evident on songs like Paparazzi, The Fame, Just Dance, Lovegame and Money Honey, Lady Gaga is clearly "in on the joke." She cleverly released an album that sounded mainstream enough to sell yet its songs were actually picking fun at the mainstream if you listened closely. But the album wasn't just a swipe at fame. It also has genuinely touching ballads Brown Eyes and Again Again (available on some worldwide editions). Lady Gaga would go on to create better albums, but The Fame is still good for what it was. This album was the stepping stone that she needed to become famous and she could show her true talent later on, when the public had accepted her. All she needed was to open that door to be accepted in the first place and she could go her own way afterwards. The Fame was the perfect vehicle for this ambition. Not quite as outstanding when looking back on it 5 years later, but still very good as a pop album. Expand
  52. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    perfect material, perfect production, it´s an amazing pop album with a good vibe and influences, it´s fresh, funny, catchy, i could dance all night longe, lady gaga is an amazing singer and she´s so experimental, so smart with her songs, that´s why i like her music so so much good luck girl, you´re gonna so so far
  53. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    amazing album, she managed to create an album electopop iconic, one of the best albums of recent years, the electronic sound mixed with pop and fashion made ​​a success of THE FAME
  54. Aug 15, 2013
    8
    I love Lady Gaga. This album is truly amazing. You can listen to it at any time, and the upbeat tracks will cheer you up immediately. Definitely a must buy.
  55. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    An astounding album, especially for a debut. It really comes as no surprise that it took the world completely by storm. It certainly paved the road for a woman we can now proudly call the Queen of Pop.
  56. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Just A Amazing Debut! The Best Album Of 2008 Along With Katy Perry's One Of The Boys!
  57. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the most enjoyable albums I ever heard, sounds different and variable, "Brown Eyes" surprised me, a simple and touching song, I never expected that from Gaga, but she did it, "Poker Face", "Just Dance" and "LoveGame" are the most dancing musics ever, and tracks like "Paper Gangsta", "Eh Eh (Nothing Else I Can Say)" keep the album balanced and highlighting. Expand
  58. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    She is one of the artists who is redefining pop music. This album is all about "the fame", which can be taken literally or sarcastically, depending on how you look at it. Her voice is phenomenal and she blends many decades into one record pretty perfectly.
  59. Dec 5, 2012
    8
    I like this record but I think this is not the best record from her ( i think it's the """"""worst""""" she only got great records ). Gummy songs and Gaga has growed up and i think ARTPOP will smash others
  60. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    The first album of Lady Gaga shows how good musician she is, even being a young woman. It shows her great voice and performances, i like each song because all are so great and lively and the lyrics are so funny and intertesting.
  61. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    Is there any thing that's not on this disc from heaven. Surpassing other artists suck as Britney Spears and Beyonce, GaGa has outdone The Beatles and Queen with uptempo grooves like Just Dance and Poker Face alongside the most touching song ever: Brown Eyes. Is there something she can't do?
  62. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    Inspired by dancing rhythms of the disco, the album became a hit of 2008. The star became a star. Poker Face is most popular song EVER. Album of 2000's.
  63. May 28, 2012
    9
    One Of The Greatest Debut Albums Of All Time!
    Amazing Style Of Music!
  64. Apr 26, 2012
    9
    Gaga made a great first album. All of her singles were solid hits. I had the Fame Monster which was really good. Her songs are poppy, yet creative. She has a great voice to back it all up with.
  65. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Love this album, Lady GaGa was amazing, the singles was amazing, Poker Face was epic, LOVE this album. So, Born This Way is my favorite. The Fame Monster so amazing too.
  66. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    She is The Queen of POP Music. a Title she deserves. She has the most followers on Twitter, was the first on Facebook, Was the first to reach 1 billion, then 2 billion views on YouTube, with World records under her belt (or high heels) she is what pop music lacked. .
  67. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    Gaga fans usually prefer "Born this Way" to this, but i disagree. Yes, "Born this Way" is a good album but the real Lady Gaga is this. With an engaging and particular electronic sound and with an interesting concept, Gaga made a really good album. She also completed the concept with her incredible fashion style that shocked the world in the past years. So please Gaga, "Born this Way" isGaga fans usually prefer "Born this Way" to this, but i disagree. Yes, "Born this Way" is a good album but the real Lady Gaga is this. With an engaging and particular electronic sound and with an interesting concept, Gaga made a really good album. She also completed the concept with her incredible fashion style that shocked the world in the past years. So please Gaga, "Born this Way" is good, but return to this style. Expand
  68. Mar 26, 2012
    7
    The Fame, despite having quite a lot of filler, is a good debut album from Lady Gaga. It's full of happy tracks which make you want to dance your butt to all night long. It's not perfect, far from it. Gaga does it better when she extended it, but it's quite a good start nonetheless
  69. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    Lady Gaga's debut album The Fame is just as easy to hear as any up-and-coming pop album, but is enriched with a catchy sound that carries Gaga's voice all the way through. Not the best album out there, but an excellent breakthrough debut that easily paves her road for future success. Gaga is clearly able to combine mainstream pop sound with phonetic brilliance that is usually absent fromLady Gaga's debut album The Fame is just as easy to hear as any up-and-coming pop album, but is enriched with a catchy sound that carries Gaga's voice all the way through. Not the best album out there, but an excellent breakthrough debut that easily paves her road for future success. Gaga is clearly able to combine mainstream pop sound with phonetic brilliance that is usually absent from most albums. Expand
  70. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    A brilliant pop album. It's been over three years since I got this album and I still love it.
  71. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Overrtaed a shell, though this album have some good songs!
  72. Mar 20, 2012
    7
    This is a good debut album with catchy and fun songs. Gaga has a great voice and knows how to use it.

    By far this album is better than "Born This Way", but no better than "The Fame Monster"
  73. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    A fun dance-pop album, very overplayed but still enjoyable. It will certainly have you singing along, whilst it may lack some depth, it certainly doesn't diminish the albums amazing songs.
  74. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    A very well put together pop album. Whit this album she showed that she can writes great catchy pop songs. It's sexy, it's fun, it's smart it's everything a pop fan could ask for.
  75. Dec 10, 2011
    8
    An album that will go down in history, but for the right reasons? The singes are perfect but the rest of the tracks feel like filler apart from eh, eh(nothing else I can say), which is a pure pop song that most pop artists fail to create in their whole career, while gaga manages to do that with an album track. The other track which is great is paper gangster, it's a down-tempo pop ballardAn album that will go down in history, but for the right reasons? The singes are perfect but the rest of the tracks feel like filler apart from eh, eh(nothing else I can say), which is a pure pop song that most pop artists fail to create in their whole career, while gaga manages to do that with an album track. The other track which is great is paper gangster, it's a down-tempo pop ballard that has perfection written all over it. However the rest of the tracks sound the same and will become boring quite quickly. Nevertheless, this album contains some of the best dance-pop songs of the last ten years and all the songs are flawlessly written and produced. She puts her stamp on every song, I just think that the stamp doesn't differ that much on some of the songs. To finish, this album also contains the best song ever in my opinion, and it is worth buying just for this, the incredible poker face. Expand
  76. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    Just Dance 10/10 Great Opener!
    Lovegame 9/10 I Fell This Song Is Magic... But Its Just Lacking A Little Peter Pan...
    Paparazzi 10/10 Great Great! Poker Face 10/10 Magical! Eh Eh (Nothng Else I Can Say) 10/10 Honestly I Love This Track Critic's Said "What Happed?" And Slammed The Song... Beautiful, Dirty, Rich 10/10 It Sounds Like A Song From The 90's! The Fame 8/10 Its Good.. Its
    Just Dance 10/10 Great Opener!
    Lovegame 9/10 I Fell This Song Is Magic... But Its Just Lacking A Little Peter Pan...
    Paparazzi 10/10 Great Great!
    Poker Face 10/10 Magical!
    Eh Eh (Nothng Else I Can Say) 10/10 Honestly I Love This Track Critic's Said "What Happed?" And Slammed The Song...
    Beautiful, Dirty, Rich 10/10 It Sounds Like A Song From The 90's! The Fame 8/10 Its Good.. Its Just Not Eh Eh Good...
    Money Honey 10/10
    Starstruck 8/10 Its Still A Good Song...It Just Never Stuck Out To Me.. Although It Did To Others..
    Boys Boys Boys 10/10 Sounds Like A Song From The 90's!
    Paper Gangsta 10/10 One Of My Favorite Tracks Off The Album... Because This Song Is Not Her Type Of Music! Its Different...
    Brown Eyes 8/10 The Most "Slow Dance" Song On The Album
    I Like It Rough 8/10 I Think Its A Filler Summer Boy 7/10 Its Not Bad.. But Its NOT GAGA At All.... To Pop....... I Smell A Filler!
    Disco Heaven 10/10 The Magic Starts Again!
    Again Again 10/10 Great!
    Retro Dance Freak 10/10 Its Great, But It Sounds Like Gwen Stefani.. But Thats Not Bad!

    OK The Worst Songs On The Album ARE:
    I Like It Rough & Summer Boys
    Expand
  77. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    This album is MASTERPIECE!!! I Really love GaGa!!! "Just Dance" , "Poker Face" & "Paparazzi" are amaizing songs!!! 8) 8) 8)
  78. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    the people that say lady gaga sucks are wrong...i mean how many hits does she have? like 20! that's a ton! So people need to stop saying that her music sucks and calling people names because they like lady gaga. i get made fun of everyday for liking her...but i don't care one bit because she inspires me and over 30 million more people out there.
  79. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    This is the Gaga we all liked. Not this freak, horn-implanted "woman" releasing songs that make her sound like the Anti-Christ. "Poker Face", "Eh Eh" and "Brown Eyes" are the best tracks of her career.
  80. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    Muito bem produzido, Lady Gaga conseguiu trazer a dance music de vez para o topo das paradas e influenciou outros artistas à seguirem pelo mesmo caminho. Ou seja: um álbum que decidiu os rumos da indústria musical.
    Melhores faixas: Paparazzi / Poker Face / Summerboy
  81. Aug 23, 2011
    7
    It's hard to write a review on this album when I know we've already gotten better albums from her. In retrospective this album was far from perfect. The singles are really the only songs that shine. Her goal was to create a plastic pop album to shoot her to fame and the album is as superficial as the album title suggests. This is more like 15 minutes of fame. This album is only gave us aIt's hard to write a review on this album when I know we've already gotten better albums from her. In retrospective this album was far from perfect. The singles are really the only songs that shine. Her goal was to create a plastic pop album to shoot her to fame and the album is as superficial as the album title suggests. This is more like 15 minutes of fame. This album is only gave us a glimpse of what GaGa was capable of and although it's a great debut it fails to match up to her greater more fleshed out albums that were released in the future. Songs like Paparazzi and Pokerface are pop classics already and started a pop cultural shift. Te Fame is the first digital album to cause a huge hurricane and GaGa is the new social media Queen. Expand
  82. Jul 31, 2011
    7
    Track By Track: Just Dance- good dancey song, very fun & loveable. LoveGame- dirty but nice...it is super fun and the chorus is short and memorable. Paparazzi- love, love, love! kind of a ballad but it's not, it's sweet and fresh. Poker Face- best track in the album such an amazing song, it is one of the best tracks of the decade. Eh, Eh (Nothing Else I Can Say)- not the best track but itsTrack By Track: Just Dance- good dancey song, very fun & loveable. LoveGame- dirty but nice...it is super fun and the chorus is short and memorable. Paparazzi- love, love, love! kind of a ballad but it's not, it's sweet and fresh. Poker Face- best track in the album such an amazing song, it is one of the best tracks of the decade. Eh, Eh (Nothing Else I Can Say)- not the best track but its a good listen, it feels out of place in this album. Beautiful, Dirty, Rich- ugh,,. bad bad bad it just sucks so bad. The Fame- pretty bad too i dnt like it. Money Honey- haha it's so cute! i love it. Starstruck- my 11 yr. old sister loves this song. It's her favorite GaGa song ever. I like it too. Boys Boys Boys- a highlight. it is cute and so electro-rock n roll. Paper Gangsta- bad song. she doesn't rap very well. Brown Eyes- sweet pungent rock and roll highlight. I Like It Rough- OK. NOt good. Not Bad. Summerboy- i like it. She sounds cool and the lyrics are fun and sexy.
    Best Tracks- Poker Face, Paparazzi, Boys Boys Boys, Brown Eyes
    Expand
  83. Jul 27, 2011
    7
    Fame, fashion, glam, pop, and performance art in one compact disc. "The Fame" allows pop music and performance art to come together (again) with clever sounds and lyrics. There is a type of "innocent fame" aura to the album that shows vulnerability. But in the end the album is about your everyday women in the society of fame and pop music. While some tracks feel like filler for albumFame, fashion, glam, pop, and performance art in one compact disc. "The Fame" allows pop music and performance art to come together (again) with clever sounds and lyrics. There is a type of "innocent fame" aura to the album that shows vulnerability. But in the end the album is about your everyday women in the society of fame and pop music. While some tracks feel like filler for album length, the stronger songs will keep you coming back. Expand
  84. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    "Eh, Eh (Nothing Else I Can Say)" is catchy but poorly written. "Disco Heaven" is boring and lifeless. The rest of the album is pretty solid. Her second best song ever after "Alejandro" is the unforgettable "Paparazzi".
  85. May 27, 2011
    10
    Lady GaGa desverves the success this album has give her. 4 Number one hits, 12,000,000 copies sold and 5 Grammy nominations speak for themselves in this, unusual, amazing, stunning abum.
  86. May 26, 2011
    7
    The album is great with several standout tracks, but does not come close to the amazing "The Fame Monster" and "Born This Way". It is, however, exactly what she needed to get noticed.
  87. May 24, 2011
    8
    POSITIVE - This album is one of the best debuts albums of all time. It offers one track after another with a new sound. You can imagine playing this album over and over again in a club and getting excited each time 'Poker Face', 'Just Dance' and 'Starstruck' repeat. She has taken over the world of music with this album, not just in sound but in image. Her image speaks to so many people,POSITIVE - This album is one of the best debuts albums of all time. It offers one track after another with a new sound. You can imagine playing this album over and over again in a club and getting excited each time 'Poker Face', 'Just Dance' and 'Starstruck' repeat. She has taken over the world of music with this album, not just in sound but in image. Her image speaks to so many people, being different but stunning all at the same time. Each track is produced to perfection, each track offering difference, but at the same time one sound making it the ultimate package. NEGATIVE. Not many to choose from, but one i must mention....Lady GaGa prides herself on her meaningful songwriting which can be heard in 'Paparazzi', 'Brown Eyes' and others, but certain tracks such as, although good, are very basic lyrically. There is a reoccuring sound about 'Boys', taking her to an anmost typical level of pop song writting. Another negative is although this is an Electronica album at times it almost crosses the Urban genre, 'Starstuck'(although brilliant) and 'Paper Gangster'(again, brilliant) feel slightly out of place. OVERALL. An album that has sold over 13 million copies. Say's it all really. This album will go down in history for all the right reasons. The number one reason being this is pop music, pop culture and pop image at it's absolute greatest. A masterpiece of pop production and an instant icon has been created. Expand
  88. May 23, 2011
    8
    It's like getting in an artsy club that plays something that's a sort of high class dance pop experiment going from silly (LoveGame) to epic (Poker Face) to hypnotic (Starstruck) to actually fun (Summerboy). You "Just Dance" as expected but as you leave the ecstatic club, you can't help but return.
  89. Apr 3, 2011
    9
    I think this is one of the great pop albums of all time. It eschewed its day's pop standards and made it to the top of the charts off its own merits. Every song on here is gold. Don't miss "Paper Gangster" or "Brown Eyes."
  90. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    The Fame heavily borrows material from 70s' disco and 80s' electropop, highly notable in "Eh Eh (Nothing Else I Can Say)". "Just Dance", "Poker Face", and "Paparazzi" are no doubt, life-changing pop tracks, while I'll go as far as calling "Starstruck" and "Paper Gangsta" underrated. The album's overall creativity is a bit overrated, due to its repeated use of the same synths and baseThe Fame heavily borrows material from 70s' disco and 80s' electropop, highly notable in "Eh Eh (Nothing Else I Can Say)". "Just Dance", "Poker Face", and "Paparazzi" are no doubt, life-changing pop tracks, while I'll go as far as calling "Starstruck" and "Paper Gangsta" underrated. The album's overall creativity is a bit overrated, due to its repeated use of the same synths and base tracks. But The Fame introduces us to GaGa, a glamorously stylish, yet powerful woman who wants to change the world of pop music forever. Expand
  91. Mar 2, 2011
    7
    Lady Gaga turned pretentious pretty damn fast. Even music videos like "Paparazzi" smacked of try-hard quite early on in her career. But the music on The Fame has no delusions of grandeur, a quality I don't expect to see from Lady Gaga in any of her work in the immediate future. Here she is fixed on bringing straightforward, catchy hits to the table, and for the most part she delivers. ForLady Gaga turned pretentious pretty damn fast. Even music videos like "Paparazzi" smacked of try-hard quite early on in her career. But the music on The Fame has no delusions of grandeur, a quality I don't expect to see from Lady Gaga in any of her work in the immediate future. Here she is fixed on bringing straightforward, catchy hits to the table, and for the most part she delivers. For me, "Money Honey" is the most original and appealing track on the album. Expand
  92. Feb 20, 2011
    9
    Her music is electronic gold. She has serious talent & knows how to make the nightclub come alive. Of course, that doesn't mean she isn't completely bonkers. Seriously, a meat dress?
  93. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    The 70s and 80s inspired artist Lady Gaga started her career fantastically with her debut album "The Fame". With catchy dance beats, wonderfully written lyrics and amazing vocals, the album is not to disappoint, that is if you are an 80s fan, of course. The Fame is generally about the bright side of the fame. Money, love, paparazzi, dance, beauty, wealth and relationships is what'sThe 70s and 80s inspired artist Lady Gaga started her career fantastically with her debut album "The Fame". With catchy dance beats, wonderfully written lyrics and amazing vocals, the album is not to disappoint, that is if you are an 80s fan, of course. The Fame is generally about the bright side of the fame. Money, love, paparazzi, dance, beauty, wealth and relationships is what's mentioned in the album. Every track has a story behind it, unlike many other pop artists these days. Lady Gaga is not just pop, she is also Pop Rock and Rock n' Roll. The Fame is worth buying. Expand
  94. Jan 31, 2011
    8
    When I heard her single 'Just Dance', I did not liked her at all. But, when I took the time to listen to each and every song of the album, I realized that each of them has his little something that makes it special. Songs like "The Fame" or "Summerboy" took me back in summer, while "Paper Gangsta" or "Brown Eyes" are simply beautiful songs with catchy lyrics. The album, overall, is wellWhen I heard her single 'Just Dance', I did not liked her at all. But, when I took the time to listen to each and every song of the album, I realized that each of them has his little something that makes it special. Songs like "The Fame" or "Summerboy" took me back in summer, while "Paper Gangsta" or "Brown Eyes" are simply beautiful songs with catchy lyrics. The album, overall, is well made, with delightful beats, varied songs, and the faultless voice of an incredible artist. Expand
  95. Dec 8, 2010
    9
    I like this album better than "The Fame Monster". I was disappointed in that album. This one was great. Here's a track-by-track review on the album (Note: This review is based on y opinion is based on my tastes so don't hate!)

    Just Dance - i remember listening to this song when she first came out. It was kinda overplayed. 8.5/10 LoveGame - Inappropriate, but when I first listened to this
    I like this album better than "The Fame Monster". I was disappointed in that album. This one was great. Here's a track-by-track review on the album (Note: This review is based on y opinion is based on my tastes so don't hate!)

    Just Dance - i remember listening to this song when she first came out. It was kinda overplayed. 8.5/10

    LoveGame - Inappropriate, but when I first listened to this song, i became obsessed with her. I've chilled out a little, since there are other good artists out there, mostly previous generation ones, but oh well. 8/10

    Paparazzi - I love this song, one of my favorites, but it's not my absolute favorite. She either was Auto-Tuned, or she has a high vocal range, since she hit the E5 note. which hardly ANYONE can hit. Christina Aguilera can! she can hit an E6 or even higher! 9/10

    Poker Face - Overrated and over played but it's her most popular song by far! Nothing much to say about it. 8.5/10

    Eh Eh (Nothing Else I Can Say) - This song is very girly and makes me happy inside! I love the lyrics. she needs to sing this song live again! 9/10

    Beautiful, Dirty, Rich - Good, not great, but should make it to her greatest hits. 7/10

    The Fame - Not the best, good title track, but it's just..... Not single worthy. i like it though. 6/10

    Money Honey - about the same as The Fame, in a way, they're pretty much the same song, one one talks about being famous, and the other one talks about being rich. It would sound better if the song were pitch higher about one key. 6/10

    Starstruck - Oh yeah! I love this song! She needs to sing it live again! It's a great dance song, and has a good rap verse. she even uses Auto-Tune! OMG! 9/10

    Boys, Boys, Boys - About as good as Beautiful, Dirty, Rich. Not the best, but it was single worthy. 7/10

    Paper Gangsta - This is pretty much THE piano song! I hear she wrote it when she was a coke user! She puts piano, electronic beats, a heavy bass, and rapping in the verses and She has a song! She needs to perform this song live again. she uses Auto-Tune also! 9/10

    Brown Eyes - A kinda boring song, i mean I like it better than Speechless, but ballads are her low/weak point on the her albums. i can't believe she removed this song from The Monster Ball and replaced it with You and I which is even worse than this song! better than Speechless and you and I. 5/10

    I Like It Rough - she shoulda released this song as a single! it's awesome! and I've never heard her perform the song live ONCE! I want it to be on her Tour! 9/10

    Summerboy - Hands down best song on the album in my opinion! I love this song i listen to it several times every day! It's a great closing song. It's a hidden treasure! she only performed it at Lollapalooza 2007! If she performs this song on her Born This Way Tour, she should close the concert with this song! Great album and concert ender! 10/10

    I loved this album so much. The Fame Monster let me down, I still have hope for Born This Way! I will get it the day it comes out! But if it lets me down, then I will not be afraid to say The Fame is her best work!
    Expand
  96. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    Lady Gaga's debut has to be one of the greatest! The woman's vocals are what sets this album apart from the rest of the trash. If anyone could do pop it is Gaga, she is changing it as we speak, everyone feels like they have to compete with her. "Poker Face" and "Just Dance" were number one hits, while "LoveGame" and "Paparazzi" were amazing songs. Gaga is not trying to be a generic popLady Gaga's debut has to be one of the greatest! The woman's vocals are what sets this album apart from the rest of the trash. If anyone could do pop it is Gaga, she is changing it as we speak, everyone feels like they have to compete with her. "Poker Face" and "Just Dance" were number one hits, while "LoveGame" and "Paparazzi" were amazing songs. Gaga is not trying to be a generic pop star and she is showing that with the range she showcases on this album. The talent is unmeasureable. Great debut album! Expand
  97. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    The Fame is like, you don't know what it's music but, then you hear it and you realize of what is music. The Fame is just amazing, should be the album of the year.
  98. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    The Fame is my 2009's favorite album. No songs are boring. It makes u feel u are famous. It is catchy and danceable pop album. It also touches a glimpse of Rock 'n' Roll. It made me shift from Rock to Pop. So far, the best pop album since 2003 releases.
  99. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    She's pretty good. There are several misses on the album but overall, a solid debut. I think she released the best songs as singles, but I also think Starstruck and I Like it Rough are standouts.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Fueled by heavy dance tracks and popping electronic beats, The Fame, the first album by the glamorous Lady Gaga, is a well-crafted sampling of feisty anti-pop in high quality.
  2. The full-length The Fame proves she's more than one hit and a bag of stage tricks.
  3. Listen a little closer to the sly, snarky lyrics and glam grooves on this feisty debut and you'll hear that this former downtown New York spice girl has at least a few things on her dirty mind.