The Family Sign

Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
Buy On
  1. Aug 3, 2011
    60
    The Family Sign commits a few of hip hop's cardinal sins and doesn't provide nearly enough justification for doing so.
  2. May 20, 2011
    60
    The Family Sign could break your heart, but you'll be happy it did.
  3. Apr 12, 2011
    60
    The Family Sign is mature in its way, soured by age and wisdom, but it's no fun.
  4. Apr 11, 2011
    60
    It's still a decent addition to Atmosphere's discography, but if you're expecting something on the level of GodLovesUgly or When Life Gives You Lemons..., you may want to look elsewhere first.
  5. Apr 13, 2011
    58
    While the instrumentation of When Life Gives You Lemons signaled a wealth of potential new directions for Atmosphere's production, The Family Sign runs almost entirely on gloomy ballads heavy on maudlin piano chords and keening guitar riffs.
  6. Apr 12, 2011
    50
    Eschewing the dynamic pop and soul flourishes that made Lemons something of a crossover vehicle, The Family Sign is simply flat.
  7. Apr 7, 2011
    50
    No longer the self-obsessed antihero, Slug continues his shift to serious storyteller, but the narratives here lack coherence and detail, while the music - ominous piano, lonely guitar - feels sketchy, like partial demos.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jan 8, 2016
    6
    I'm a big fan of Atmosphere and have been listening to them for a long time. I did not really care for this album. There were soem good songsI'm a big fan of Atmosphere and have been listening to them for a long time. I did not really care for this album. There were soem good songs but most of the tracks felt forced or meaningless. Just not the best showing from Atmosphere, and okay rap album. Full Review »
  2. Dec 23, 2012
    8
    It's a good album, yeah, but he's reached his climax. Slug knows that, so he's settling down with this album. It's a good storytellingIt's a good album, yeah, but he's reached his climax. Slug knows that, so he's settling down with this album. It's a good storytelling perspective and I believe it's still a good album, but not on the levels of Overcast! or God Loves Ugly. It is of course an album to add to the collection though. Full Review »
  3. May 2, 2011
    8
    Pretty good record. I expect nothing less from Atmosphere at this point. It's not as awesome as some of his other records, but it's betterPretty good record. I expect nothing less from Atmosphere at this point. It's not as awesome as some of his other records, but it's better than a few, too. Kinda depressing on the whole; nothing like "You Can't Imagine..." I'd recommend it, though--especially if you like his other stuff. Full Review »