The Fool

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
Buy On
  1. Uncut
    Oct 29, 2010
    60
    Their The Fool traces out similar shapes as east coast cousins Effi Briest: dreamy, faintly pagan psychedelia, their tumbling vocal harmonies, undercut by inexorable, tidal bass. Their softly-softly approach does breed some earworms, though. [Dec 2010, p.104]
  2. Nov 3, 2010
    54
    Willowy Los Angeles art-rock group Warpaint summons a remarkably heady atmosphere on its debut album, The Fool, which follows a buzzed-about EP released last year on Los Angeles-based indie Manimal Vinyl.
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    40
    While The Fool has clear focus and crafts a particular sound, the music fails to resonate emotionally.
  4. Oct 26, 2010
    50
    The Fool brims with potential for something more substantial, but never confronts those depths.
  5. Oct 25, 2010
    60
    The Fool has flashes of brilliance, but Warpaint need to play to their strengths consistently.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 20, 2015
    9
    This album is amazing! Each track is its own distinctive character with a lot of personality. Tracks will get stuck in your head, and youThis album is amazing! Each track is its own distinctive character with a lot of personality. Tracks will get stuck in your head, and you won't know why, but you just have to keep listening. This to me is very much the sound of controlled chaos, which is something I always look for in music. Full Review »
  2. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    Very beautiful and dreamlike; borderline psychedelic. Some very skilled drums and almost haunting vocals. I look very much forward to theVery beautiful and dreamlike; borderline psychedelic. Some very skilled drums and almost haunting vocals. I look very much forward to the next release. Full Review »
  3. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    Thankfully, we didnâ