The Fray - The Fray
The Fray Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The follow-up to the Colorado quartet's twice-platinum debut album was produced by Aaron Johnson and Mike Flynn.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 80
    Not only a radio-friendly unit-shifter, but also a bona fide guilty pleasure. [Mar 2009, p.85]
  2. The Fray is a more angst-filled and melancholy set than you'd expect from a group following up a double-platinum debut, populated with songs about lost love and tortured souls. But hand-wringing music sells.
  3. The Fray's sophomore release picks up where How to Save a Life left off, reprising the same blend of piano-led ballads and midtempo pop/rock that helped establish the band in 2005.
  4. The group doesn't stray far from the template, turning in another batch of hooky mid-tempo songs that are pretty without necessarily sounding distinctive.
  5. Slick yet soulless second effort from Denver’s Answer to Coldplay.
  6. Life had a handful of standouts, but follow-up The Fray is all blah, all the time: more minor-key melodies, more dreary tempos, more of singer-pianist Isaac Slade's spiceless sore-throat croon.
  7. A thoroughly professional, exquisitely produced, and utterly soulless album.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. KennethM.
    Feb 4, 2009
    10
    The lyrics are profound and relatable, the music is beautiful... I've noticed that the critics who gave this album a poor view are the critics who were never going to give it a fair shot in the first place. Expand
  2. HaydenS.
    Feb 7, 2009
    10
    Dont listen to these reviewers they dont know crap about music This CD is just so amazing The Best soft rock music ive ever heard well really just the best music ie ever heard 10/10. Expand
  3. JamieM
    Apr 17, 2009
    10
    The albums first track mixes The Frays 'How to Save a Life' sound, with a more upbeat, and pop based rhythm heard on tracks such as 'She Is', the end result? Syndicate. Followed by another great song, Absolute, the album appears to be more upbeat than its predecessor, however, the third track, 'You Found Me', returns to The Fray's roots, with a slow introduction, that gradually increases into an intense ending. Then, 5 tracks in, we are hit with the highlight of the album, 'Never Say Never', with memorable lyrics, an amazing chorus, and an ending which truly represents The Fray. Their second album shows new opportunities for the band. Despite people claiming 'The Fray' is identical to 'How to Save a Life', this doesn't make the album any less better, why fix something that's not broken, and in my opinion, The Fray is definitely not broken. Expand
  4. NathanO
    Feb 12, 2009
    9
    This album is incredible. The only reason I gave a 9 instead of 10 is because their last CD is a little better than this one. Don't listen to the critics. This Is a great effort. Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2011
    8
    This album is not as epic as there first in my opinion but it comes very very close. I recommend a listen to anyone that hasn't heard it yet and if you get a chance to see them live definitely do! Expand
  6. Charlene
    Mar 11, 2009
    8
    At first listen it was quite mediocre til i actually listened to the lyrics and it's beats have caught on and now i can't stop listening to it. Expand
  7. WesM.
    Feb 6, 2009
    0
    Na chill out. Besides Nickelback, the ultimate proof to brandish at annoying rockists that mainstream rock is just as shiity as mainstream rap, dance, etc. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews