The Garden - Zero 7
The Garden Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The electro-pop duo's third album once again features vocals by Sia Furler.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. With Garden, Zero 7 have created what could be the ultimate summer evening record: warm pop hooks, lush instrumentation, unobtrusive electronica elements, and '60s-style harmonies that all come together into superb, wonderfully descriptive songs.
  2. 80
    Packed with fine folk-tinged numbers. [Jun 2006, p.102]
  3. A quirky lo-fi wonder or the best album the '70s never had, "The Garden" feels like a lost gem, discovered in a box in the attic; a forgotten masterpiece full of tantalising sounds, odd voices and tingling ideas.
  4. What they lack in pop fireworks they more than make up for in sumptuous beats and keyboard textures. [9 Jun 2006, p.139]
  5. 70
    Happily, their third set rejects the sterility of 2004's When It Falls in favour of the kind of nuance-rich arrangements that give contemporary jazz-funk a good name. [Jun 2006, p.126]
  6. The folk and electronic elements are ever-present, but the chilled-out downtempo rhythms are now intertwined with chilled-out uptempo fare as if the duo has remixed itself.
  7. Like a scented Lush bath-bomb of mediocrity. [27 May 2006, p.31]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. wilkesb
    Jun 7, 2006
    "Throw It All Away" was my favorite song initially, but now I'm not so sure. I already like this one better than "When It Falls," better than "Simple Things" though?? No Tina Dico, but her solo album is awesome. Cop the new Sia album too. Expand
  2. DanD
    Jul 5, 2006
    Zero 7 took a turn towards peppier with The Garden, their third release, but it's still as tasty as Simple Things and When It Falls.
  3. justined
    Feb 3, 2007
    Absolutely wonderful and inspiring!
  4. MattD.
    Jun 9, 2006
    Just a good CD for chilling out - not much more. It's a little better than the solo album from Sia.
  5. AnthonyB
    Jan 4, 2007
    Unlike the previous releases, this one has not made a connection with me yet and I believe it due to the missing collaborators of Simple Things and When It Falls. When I buy a Zero 7 album I also expect to be able to relax, not be annoyed by synth pop, and most of all enjoy what is coming out of my speakers immediately. Lofty expectations I know but they set the bar that high. This did not meet these expectations and while I do not regret buying this album I do not certainly have it in my rotation. Please bring back Mozes and Sofia, and give me my Jazz/Chill/Groove back. Expand
  6. MartinL
    Jul 19, 2006
    Mildly disappointing...what went wrong?
  7. EdM
    Jun 7, 2006
    Beware - if the warmth and emotion of "Simple Things" was what attracted you to Zero 7 in the first place, then this record will be worthless to you. The production and vocals are mechanical and often just cheesy. A real disappointment. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews