The General Strike

Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    While the album is laced with enough venom to keep existing fans happy, we defy anyone not to stamp their feet and fist pump come track nine 'I Don't Wanna'.
  2. Alternative Press
    Mar 19, 2012
    80
    The result is an album that's equally pissed and poised. [Apr 2012, p.92]
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    70
    For all the people camping out in the cold, The General Strike definitely has enough fire to keep you warm.
  4. Mar 21, 2012
    70
    All in all, The General Strike is all we can really ask for from Anti-Flag these days: a solid set of tunes for the pinko bastard in all of us.
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    70
    When this 12-song set does hit its groove it is a punishing and relentless pleasure.
  6. Q Magazine
    Apr 13, 2012
    60
    The [same] sort of Clash-meets-Green Day agit-protest skate-punk Anti-Flag have been making since 1996. [May 2012, p.90]
  7. Metal Hammer (UK)
    Mar 19, 2012
    60
    Anti-Flag's eighth album is a reinvention of the Pennsylvanian punks' standard template. [Apr 2012, p.101]
  8. Mar 19, 2012
    50
    The General Strike sticks to the same supposedly state-smashing standards that drove the previous six or so albums from these Pittsburgh-bred punks into redundancy.
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    7
    I loved the general strike. However it just seemed to be lacking direction, while there are some great tracks on the album, ultimatelyI loved the general strike. However it just seemed to be lacking direction, while there are some great tracks on the album, ultimately Anti-flag are producing the same kind of sound they have been for 6 albums, i was hoping there would definitely be some kind of noticeable difference in their style especially as one of their songs is titled, perhaps ironically "this is the new sound". With that said though i thoroughly enjoyed this album. Full Review »