The Ghost of the Mountain

  • Record Label: Caroline
  • Release Date: Sep 30, 2013
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    60
    If you’re looking for good, occasionally great, mature music about facing the end, The Ghost of the Mountain is a damn fine choice.
  2. Q Magazine
    Aug 20, 2013
    60
    The Ghost Of The Mountain is the sound of a band trying to settle on a style. [Sep 2013, p.105]
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    60
    Something of a gentler, more Americana-style Snow Patrol, Tired Pony's songs provide space for Lightbody's lyrics and imagery to breathe.
  4. Magnet
    Nov 27, 2013
    60
    The bulk of the album feels much more controlled, and though it's technically accomplished record--as well it might be given the lineup--there's more brain than heart in the final mix. [No. 104, p.60]
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    60
    A collection of earnest, country-tinged rock, comes loaded with the hallmarks of Lightbody's band--plaintive vocals and choruses that lumber in the direction of anthemic uplift--but scant evidence of the more nuanced talents surrounding him.
  6. 60
    It manages to grip the imagination for a while but ultimately, not knowing the root cause of the action, leaves one adrift in amorphous emotional distress. But there's much to admire here.
  7. Apart from a bit of pedal steel and some gospel backing vocals, it sounds a lot like a Snow Patrol record, rendering the whole exercise somewhat redundant.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    6
    For a supergroup involving this many individuals from this many bands, Lightbody's presence is the most felt. Not such a bad thing, but youFor a supergroup involving this many individuals from this many bands, Lightbody's presence is the most felt. Not such a bad thing, but you have to use your imagination to differentiate this from a Snow Patrol effort. The bits of "country" and "Americana" are so timid and restrained you wonder why they bothered, but overall this is a very fresh, pretty album. Probably has a lot of replay value. Full Review »
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    This album is EPIC for me. Since "The place we ran from" I knew that next one will be amazing. Gary Lightbody is an amazing singer andThis album is EPIC for me. Since "The place we ran from" I knew that next one will be amazing. Gary Lightbody is an amazing singer and songwriter and his voice is better than ever. I hope the next Snow Patrol's album will be like "The ghost of the mountain". Full Review »
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    I think it's an album so beautiful and striking as "The Joshua Tree". Beautiful vocals. Sounding flawless. Sounds like Snow Patrol due to theI think it's an album so beautiful and striking as "The Joshua Tree". Beautiful vocals. Sounding flawless. Sounds like Snow Patrol due to the remarkable personality of Gary Lightbody. Full Review »