User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    This album is and will be underrated for many reasons. If you like hip-hop though you won't be disappointed. This is a quality album and lyrically Wale is on point. I can do without some of the tracks like Clappers, but I don't think it ruins the quality of the entire album. I've been a fan of Wale for a while, definitely shows some growth on this album. Well put together on the productionThis album is and will be underrated for many reasons. If you like hip-hop though you won't be disappointed. This is a quality album and lyrically Wale is on point. I can do without some of the tracks like Clappers, but I don't think it ruins the quality of the entire album. I've been a fan of Wale for a while, definitely shows some growth on this album. Well put together on the production side too. He's come along way from Attention Deficit that's for sure. Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    Definitely better than a lot of the other rap releases as of late. I have always like Wale and with each album he seems to get better and better. Nothing really stands out, but the album is pretty solid (aside from a pretty crappy song like Clappers lol). If you like Wale, Meek Mill or the MMG sound, this album won't disappoint.
  3. Jun 25, 2013
    5
    This is honestly quite disappointing. My favorite Wale is the Wale who's serious and talks about stuff that matters and he does do that here, but not enough. The production is solid, but bad songs such as "Clappers" just drag the album down big time. It also doesn't help that this album doesn't a song that makes you say "wow, that's really good", like all good albums should have. Instead,This is honestly quite disappointing. My favorite Wale is the Wale who's serious and talks about stuff that matters and he does do that here, but not enough. The production is solid, but bad songs such as "Clappers" just drag the album down big time. It also doesn't help that this album doesn't a song that makes you say "wow, that's really good", like all good albums should have. Instead, it has a bunch of tracks that make you say, "ok, that's not bad", which is a bad sign. Hopefully Wale's next effort is stronger than this one was. Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Wale The Gifted Review
    Out of all the a albums that came out as of late this one is surprisingly my favorite. After J.Cole's extremely average sophomore album, which was a huge let down as I am a fan. Kanye's and Mac's albums left him in the dust, as far as a project that made me want to listen more than once. Wale dropped The Gifted a couple days after everyone else, probably not to
    Wale The Gifted Review
    Out of all the a albums that came out as of late this one is surprisingly my favorite. After J.Cole's extremely average sophomore album, which was a huge let down as I am a fan. Kanye's and Mac's albums left him in the dust, as far as a project that made me want to listen more than once. Wale dropped The Gifted a couple days after everyone else, probably not to get his work overshadowed by 3 other releases (which was smart). Besides the boring cover art and the s**t stain of a song Clappers, The Gifted is really great. What Wale classifies as "New Black Soul" is extremely well done on the tracks like "LoveHate Thing" and "Gullible".On "Gullible"he talks about how society has affected people's views on politics and the way people think. The subject matter is relevant and stays fresh throughout. When I first saw the features on the album I began to worry (Meek Mill, Rick Ross, Nicki Minaj, 2 Chains), Thankfully only Minaj bothered me. It makes me sad to see such a terrible song on such a great album. By all means It does not ruin The Gifted, and I strongly advise to give it a Listen. What astonishes me is the hate that J.Coles fans have towards this album. I think it might have to do with the XXL review of Born Sinner, which may I remind you is an opinion. In some aspects Born Sinner and The Gifted are similar, mostly in the production. But Wale just did it better this time. Also the remix for "Bad" was unnecessary but was better than the original. I highly recommend this to anyone even J.Cole fans, as this is a huge step up in Wale's carrier. I look forward to future projects as he progresses as an artist. If you have no other reason to listen, do it for the Jerry Seinfeld cameo.

    Favorite Songs LoveHate Thing, Golden Salvation (Jesus Piece), Gullible.
    Least Favorite Clappers

    8.9
    Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    This has to be his best work so far. He laced the album together perfectly, and he told a great story (even with the club songs.) It also has a great content compared to most rap songs these days. He said the album will sound very soulful and it did. Congratulations on a great body of work, Wale.
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    5
    Album was average for me. Wale could have done way better then this, way too many features, and songs like "Clappers" should have just been left off. I was disappointed by this project maybe next time Wale.
  7. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Here's the deal... "The Gifted" is a classic. Not only is it inspiring, but it tells a wonderful story. You can feel the pain, the ambition, the triumph, the glory, the downfalls, the roads taken, the heart, and the soul. Everything that Wale created on this masterpiece succeeds, and you can't help but appreciate every detail of the painting.
  8. Jul 7, 2013
    7
    This is a solid peace of work..wale is still wale, he delivers lyrically throughout the entire album. But this album does not display cohesiveness and the creativity it needs to become a memorable album.With that said the Gifted is the stronger albums to be release this year but any further than that most likely not.
  9. Jul 23, 2013
    5
    I don't know what to say about The Gifted. It's an album by a rapper who I expected to sound as ignorant as Chief Keef, but instead I got a semi-decent, semi-lyrical rapper who has a production choice. I mean Clappers is just awful, but then The Curse of the Gifted is pretty good. In the end I kind of liked it i guess. Still mixed feelings.
  10. Feb 22, 2014
    7
    Wale demonstrates his considerable talent on this album, and the samples and overall message and soulful sound is interesting. The problem is that it's just pretty boring. Nothing on the album really stands out as elite. There's a few good songs, and everybody knows the catchy "Bad." Everything's pretty good, but pretty good doesn't make a memorable rap album. I thoroughly enjoyedWale demonstrates his considerable talent on this album, and the samples and overall message and soulful sound is interesting. The problem is that it's just pretty boring. Nothing on the album really stands out as elite. There's a few good songs, and everybody knows the catchy "Bad." Everything's pretty good, but pretty good doesn't make a memorable rap album. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to The Gifted, but it's irrelevant when it comes to the conversation of the best albums of 2013. That being said, I look forward to Wale's future work. ~ 6.8/10

    Best track: "Rotation": The features (Wiz & 2 Chainz) work well for this stoner anthem, and Wale goes in on the 3rd verse.

    Other notable tracks: "Bad" (both versions), "LoveHate Thing", "Heaven's Afternoon", "Tired Of Dreaming" & "Simple Man"
    Expand
  11. Jan 10, 2014
    5
    The Gifted definitely showed it's worth to be one of the most underrated hiphop albums of 2013. Bangers like One Eyed Kitten (Remix), MFS, Clappers and Rotation made the album enjoyable. Wale had some variety in his album as well to suit varied audiences. Soulful songs like his mixtape hit Bad made an appearance however, I thought the remix strayed too far from the original making itThe Gifted definitely showed it's worth to be one of the most underrated hiphop albums of 2013. Bangers like One Eyed Kitten (Remix), MFS, Clappers and Rotation made the album enjoyable. Wale had some variety in his album as well to suit varied audiences. Soulful songs like his mixtape hit Bad made an appearance however, I thought the remix strayed too far from the original making it difficult to listen to. The Gifted is definitely the album of 2013 that everyone should cop because I know many chose to sleep on it instead. Expand
  12. May 7, 2014
    7
    Above average production, above average MCing. It's a contemporary sound, and that the lyrics and production fit that mold, which I can enjoy. I disagree with some who say there are no "great" songs on here. "Bad" is great. "Lovehatething" is great. Both got stuck in my head. I will agree, however, that it isn't an albums that truly stands out. Nevertheless, good album
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    50
    Those expecting Wale to finally take his game to the next level will have to wait as his third record is inconsistent and mostly forgettable.
  2. 60
    The problem is, Wale isn’t at the top, he’s simply borrowing that swagger from the A-list guests that decorate The Gifted.
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    50
    Whatever survived of the brain behind Mixtape About Nothing has been permanently atrophied by luxury and laziness. At least the crisp, live-band production, a carryover from Ambition, remains a treat.