The  Gifted Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release from the Washington D.C. rapper features guest appearances from such artists as 2 Chainz, Cee Lo Green, Lyfe Jennings, Meek Mill, Nicki Minaj, Ne-Yo, Rihanna, Rick Ross, Jerry Seinfeld, Wiz Khalifa, and Yo Gotti.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    80
    The Gifted is a collection of tracks from an unarguably talented emcee, but the point at which a collection of music becomes an album, a singular work with a focus and unity strong enough to truly make an impact, Wale still hasn’t reached that point.... In the meantime, we’re left with a quality album.
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    80
    Names like Just Blaze, Lee Majors, Cardiak, and No Credit supply the beats for this more mature/still flashy release, all of it adding up to Wale's win number three.
  3. Jun 25, 2013
    80
    Matching his lyrical abilities with polished production and radio-ready hooks, The Gifted sees Wale inching towards hip-hop’s upper echelon, while still exhibiting the hunger of a young MC on the rise.
  4. Jun 25, 2013
    60
    With The Gifted, his second album for Maybach Music Group, Wale continues to struggle to define himself, which proves even more difficult on a label dominated by broad caricatures.
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    60
    The beats are good. The hooks are memorable, if often corny.... [But] Gone is the sense of humor, fearlessness, and willingness to subvert clichés that he flexed on his generally impressive mixtapes.
  6. Jun 26, 2013
    60
    While Wale remains fairly proficient throughout, that clever, memorable wordplay of old is what's most notably absent from this session, and that's a shame.
  7. Jun 27, 2013
    40
    He’s a competent emcee, especially when speaking about the struggles of young African Americans, but he’s in need of a good producer to rein him in.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    This album is and will be underrated for many reasons. If you like hip-hop though you won't be disappointed. This is a quality album and lyrically Wale is on point. I can do without some of the tracks like Clappers, but I don't think it ruins the quality of the entire album. I've been a fan of Wale for a while, definitely shows some growth on this album. Well put together on the production side too. He's come along way from Attention Deficit that's for sure. Collapse
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Here's the deal... "The Gifted" is a classic. Not only is it inspiring, but it tells a wonderful story. You can feel the pain, the ambition, the triumph, the glory, the downfalls, the roads taken, the heart, and the soul. Everything that Wale created on this masterpiece succeeds, and you can't help but appreciate every detail of the painting. Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    This has to be his best work so far. He laced the album together perfectly, and he told a great story (even with the club songs.) It also has a great content compared to most rap songs these days. He said the album will sound very soulful and it did. Congratulations on a great body of work, Wale. Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2014
    7
    Wale demonstrates his considerable talent on this album, and the samples and overall message and soulful sound is interesting. The problem is that it's just pretty boring. Nothing on the album really stands out as elite. There's a few good songs, and everybody knows the catchy "Bad." Everything's pretty good, but pretty good doesn't make a memorable rap album. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to The Gifted, but it's irrelevant when it comes to the conversation of the best albums of 2013. That being said, I look forward to Wale's future work. ~ 6.8/10

    Best track: "Rotation": The features (Wiz & 2 Chainz) work well for this stoner anthem, and Wale goes in on the 3rd verse.

    Other notable tracks: "Bad" (both versions), "LoveHate Thing", "Heaven's Afternoon", "Tired Of Dreaming" & "Simple Man"
    Expand
  5. May 7, 2014
    7
    Above average production, above average MCing. It's a contemporary sound, and that the lyrics and production fit that mold, which I can enjoy. I disagree with some who say there are no "great" songs on here. "Bad" is great. "Lovehatething" is great. Both got stuck in my head. I will agree, however, that it isn't an albums that truly stands out. Nevertheless, good album Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2013
    5
    I don't know what to say about The Gifted. It's an album by a rapper who I expected to sound as ignorant as Chief Keef, but instead I got a semi-decent, semi-lyrical rapper who has a production choice. I mean Clappers is just awful, but then The Curse of the Gifted is pretty good. In the end I kind of liked it i guess. Still mixed feelings. Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2013
    5
    This is honestly quite disappointing. My favorite Wale is the Wale who's serious and talks about stuff that matters and he does do that here, but not enough. The production is solid, but bad songs such as "Clappers" just drag the album down big time. It also doesn't help that this album doesn't a song that makes you say "wow, that's really good", like all good albums should have. Instead, it has a bunch of tracks that make you say, "ok, that's not bad", which is a bad sign. Hopefully Wale's next effort is stronger than this one was. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews