The Golden Age

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The  Golden Age Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length release for Yoann Lemoine, best known as the director of videos for Katy Perry and Lana Del Rey, is a concept album about the life of a young boy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 85
    The Golden Age is undoubtably the work of a mature consciousness.
  2. Mar 28, 2013
    80
    A beautiful, if at times exhausting album, The Golden Age shows Lemoine is skilled at making music as well as music videos.
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    Woodkid has a sound that is unique in the music landscape, and most of the songs on this album are exciting, evocative tracks that play to the most basic of emotions: love, loss and redemption.
  4. 60
    A lot of it is quite earnest, dealing with subjects like rejecting the mainstream (‘Run Boy Run’) and, on ‘I Love You’, unrequited love.
  5. Q Magazine
    May 13, 2013
    60
    True, he sometimes overdoes the theatrical flourishes, but high drama is what this record is all about, so he can be forgiven for that. [Jun 2013, p.108]
  6. Mojo
    Apr 10, 2013
    60
    While impressive in their cinematic scope they can feel a touch superfluous. .[May 2013, p.96]
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    40
    Taken strictly as an aural experience, it’s a brave and sometimes moving work that nonetheless falls well short of success.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    I must say that this was an excellent album. Woodkid connotes that his album is allegorical. Aside from that, his lyrics and songwriting isI must say that this was an excellent album. Woodkid connotes that his album is allegorical. Aside from that, his lyrics and songwriting is rather complex and his use of metaphors is highly intelligent. It's a highly cerebral album for its content, but also practices well in achieving music that people would react positively to (viscerally). The artist has an accent that I find makes his music more dynamic. A lot of people have attempted to pan Woodkid for his "Lack of range and power", and his accent muddling things. It tires me to say, but music is noise, not English.

    Back onto topic, this was a great album.
    Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    The Golden age is certainly not over, infant it is quite a conquest of spaces, the music was like the great escape of the other side ofThe Golden age is certainly not over, infant it is quite a conquest of spaces, the music was like the great escape of the other side of everything made out of iron. Run Boy Run. Ghost Lights. They were all amazing and I cant wait for the next album. Expand
  3. May 28, 2016
    9
    I'm not a fan of pop music, but this album incorporates orchestral elements very well, and uses the theme 'the golden age' to create anI'm not a fan of pop music, but this album incorporates orchestral elements very well, and uses the theme 'the golden age' to create an atmosphere, using styles of music often referred with victory in an ancient context, collated with modern pop culture themes to create a magnificent concept album. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    For a debut album, this is pretty spectacular, talk about imposing your own music mark from the start. I first heard Woodkid in a CGI trailerFor a debut album, this is pretty spectacular, talk about imposing your own music mark from the start. I first heard Woodkid in a CGI trailer for Assassins Creed Revelations, and I loved it. The song used was Iron, and this was back in around June or July 2011 that this trailer aired, roughly 21 or 22 months before this album was released. I wonder how many of the songs on the album he had finished at that point. Each song is very well produced, and they all have the feel of a veteran musician, not for a debut album. In my opinion, the standout song is Iron, it's the most epic piece on the album, but The Great Escape, I Love You, Conquest of Spaces, and The Other Side are all exceptional too. Basically every song is excellent, the ones that I didn't mention I like just as much but those songs above are the most epic I believe. I hope he releases many more albums, because I love this guys music. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    After listening to and loving the song "Iron" but this awesome guy Woodkid, I knew I needed to get this album. I sampled it out by buying "IAfter listening to and loving the song "Iron" but this awesome guy Woodkid, I knew I needed to get this album. I sampled it out by buying "I Love You", "Run Boy Run", and such, and loved them. I bought the whole album after listening to those two, and couldn't get enough of it. I can't help but see this album as the soundtrack for a movie...maybe I'll do that. The whole orchestral idea of this album, and the heavy drums, and the pretty piano pieces wedged in there as well, (along with the fact that this album is a story anyway) make for a perfect soundtrack.

    By the way, "Boat Song" have some damn good lyrics and a damn good piano part. It's one of the prettiest modern piano songs I've heard in a while, and I see it easily in a movie like "The Old Man and the Sea". Well hey, I want to be a music producer, so maybe I'll use it sometime like that.

    Kudos, Woodkid.

    The reason for 9 instead of 10 was the fact that some of the drum beats (when there were drum beats) were very similar, and maybe he'll vary them a bit in his next (hopefully very soon release of his next!) album. But that took off barely anything.
    Collapse
  6. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    http://bit.ly/1f4ogZW The Golden Age is a great debut for Woodkid, though it could have been a lot more. There is filler on here and thathttp://bit.ly/1f4ogZW The Golden Age is a great debut for Woodkid, though it could have been a lot more. There is filler on here and that removes a lot from the final product. But most of the songs on the record are spectacularly arranged and performed. They really take you to another place and this makes it one of the grandest and most unique records of the year. Expand
  7. May 14, 2013
    2
    Watched woodkid last night, supported by a truly superb Benjamin clementine, look him up!..
    Disappointed with woodkid, hugely self indulgent,
    Watched woodkid last night, supported by a truly superb Benjamin clementine, look him up!..
    Disappointed with woodkid, hugely self indulgent, over produced headache inducing show. Only thing missing was a spot light shinning out of his rear end. As with painters, chefs and all creative endeavours the artist can over work what initially is interesting work. Maybe his success has affected his judgement.
    Merely my reaction to the live show. Thought I'd give a review from a different point of view.
    Jim
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews