• Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Jan 25, 2005
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 3 out of 37

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ikoi
    Jan 30, 2005
    8
    They've changed, but I like this change. It's like they have moved from village to city.
  2. Gray
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    My favorite Low album yet, and definitely the best album of the year thus far. I'm fairly certain it won't be topped.
  3. HeatherC
    Mar 7, 2005
    9
    This album is simply wonderful! I definitely agree with everyone that this is the best to come out of 2005 so far. With its rich harmonies and almost haunting sound, I fell in love with The Great Destroyer immediately. And yeah, I even like it better than Things We Lost in the Fire. Sometimes change is good.
  4. du
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    Buzzing, ferocious, and Low's most beautiful record. "Broadway (So Many People)" is the best track this year, and the rest is only slightly behind.
  5. DisMantler
    Jul 13, 2005
    8
    A painless transition to a new sound with many great and one phenomenal ("Pissing") song.
  6. CarloL
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    The best Low cd yet. More power more guitars more perfect pop songs!
  7. SorenJ
    Feb 11, 2005
    9
    Wow! Finally, a Low album that rocks. Low fans will hate this album, but everyone else take note: this is one of the best CDs of the year. If you like the Velvet Underground, Neil Young, or feedback-era Yo La Tengo, give this a listen.
  8. IAm
    Feb 11, 2005
    10
    The best album of 2005 so far...
  9. MichaelH
    Feb 10, 2005
    7
    Not anywhere as bad as the Low purists would make you think. It's not as good as Things We Lost in the Fire, but still enjoyable. I give them credit for trying something new. This one is good, the next one will be better. Don't believe everything you read at Pitchfork. Sometimes those guys are flat out wrong, as they were on their review of this record. They were wrong on the Not anywhere as bad as the Low purists would make you think. It's not as good as Things We Lost in the Fire, but still enjoyable. I give them credit for trying something new. This one is good, the next one will be better. Don't believe everything you read at Pitchfork. Sometimes those guys are flat out wrong, as they were on their review of this record. They were wrong on the new Mercury Rev too. Dreadfully, horribly wrong... Expand
  10. weltact
    Feb 24, 2005
    9
    the best low album! and yes, i am aware of 1994
  11. clamavi
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    estupendo
  12. DarrelF
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    This album continues to surprise and amaze me. It get's better with each listen.
  13. [Anonymous]
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    it's wonderful, the 1 biggest indie album of 2005
  14. ChrisC
    Feb 17, 2005
    8
    This album has a subtlety not often reached by this type of music. Makes me want to buy 'Things We Lost In The Fire'. But still doesn't stand out quite enough for me to give it a 9 or 10. Still possibly my favorite album of 2005 so far.
  15. PaulL
    Mar 12, 2005
    9
    Not as heavy as most would have you believe. (no screaming or even loud singing for that matter) It's still got Low's signature melodic sound. Most Low albums have one rocker in them; this one just happens to be full of them. My favorite album of the year so far.
  16. WayneB
    May 21, 2005
    8
    There have been indications on the past couple of releases (i.e., Dinosaur Act and Canada) that Low might be headed towards an up-tempo rock n' roll record like Destroyer and it is pleasing to hear they have accomplished their vision with integrity and attention to detail. It is understandable if longtime Low lovers scratch their heads in disbelief with this one, however, I'm There have been indications on the past couple of releases (i.e., Dinosaur Act and Canada) that Low might be headed towards an up-tempo rock n' roll record like Destroyer and it is pleasing to hear they have accomplished their vision with integrity and attention to detail. It is understandable if longtime Low lovers scratch their heads in disbelief with this one, however, I'm certain Destroyer will at least take the honor of "2005 finest Sub Pop release" if that's any consolation to bewildered fans. Get well soon Alan! Expand
  17. mattz
    Aug 25, 2005
    10
    A criminally overlooked album.
  18. MoL
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    One of my favorite albums, and by far the best album of the year.
  19. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Recently got my hands on this album and can safely say it is one of the best things I've heard in years, it's saddening but uplifting in a way The Arcade Fire could only do, but with two guitars and an upright drum kit. I know I'm five years too late to try look hip by enjoying Low, but hell, when it's this good punctuality doesn't matter.
  20. Jul 23, 2012
    8
    Here Low make more noise than usual, delivering a gloomy but classy rock record. Opener "Monkey" has a bass line that reminds me of Smashing Pumpkins "Bullet With Butterfly Wings". The upbeat "California" follows and we're wondering is this really a Low record. The rock continues as the album progresses but we do get some more of the traditional Low sound. The final 3 tracks do a great jobHere Low make more noise than usual, delivering a gloomy but classy rock record. Opener "Monkey" has a bass line that reminds me of Smashing Pumpkins "Bullet With Butterfly Wings". The upbeat "California" follows and we're wondering is this really a Low record. The rock continues as the album progresses but we do get some more of the traditional Low sound. The final 3 tracks do a great job in closing off the album - "Pissing" being one of the records highlight. At times the tempo dies a bit and it could have been trimmed by 2 songs, but overall it's really good stuff here. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. A whole that's less than the sum of its parts, a bittersweet pill that's best taken in small doses. [Feb 2005, p.88]
  2. Indie rock's maturing avatars of tense lethargy paint life as an epic fade. [21 Jan 2005, p.88]
  3. Whether this is an album that actually suits them is another matter, but it actually makes them feel entirely relevant and, for as prolific a decade-old band, that’s high praise indeed.