The Great Western

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Jul 24, 2006
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesJ
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    Really rather good and better than the last Manic's album. Seems like a taste of things to come. The lyrics are great as well. He should write a few more Manic's tunes.
  2. jamesl
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    Brilliant!!!!!!!!!
  3. DanS
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    This is a wonderful pop album. Bradfeild shows on this effort that he doesn't really need Nicky Wire to write lyrics for him. This is better than the last Manics album. I can't stop listening to it! Bradfeild has a great solo career ahead of him (which I can't say for Nicky after listening to his solo release).
  4. ThomB
    Aug 21, 2006
    9
    Why are the Manics not huge in the US? Bradfield's first feature length solo-effort delivers the goods. Not too Manics yet not too far removed from more recent Manics albums.
  5. JuliaA
    Sep 12, 2006
    9
    an excellent work is all I can say...because I will brag about him for soooo looong if I let myself writing loosely on him :) .congrats for the album!.and what makes me jealous of his works (both as solo and in the band) is the way he could control his screamings and low tones at the very precise energy and power.
  6. adils
    May 11, 2007
    9
    It's a great album, I love it. It's better than Lifeblood.
  7. HarrietHa.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    Not one song I would skip on this, they're all class! JDB's voice is just a thing of beauty. It won't change the world of rock 'n' roll, but sometimes all you want from an album is quality tunes, an amazing voice, and epic guitar riffs. It's just a greay great album.
  8. HarryH
    Nov 18, 2006
    6
    Not terrible but not too great either. Much better than the last few Manics albums though.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. It is modest, lucid and tender.
  2. Mojo
    80
    A typically heartfelt and demonstrative record given to wistful glances backward. [Aug 2006, p.90]
  3. New Musical Express (NME)
    80
    Sounds like a man freed from the shackles of history. [22 Jul 2006, p.31]