• Record Label: Hunter
  • Release Date: May 25, 2004
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. evilkenny
    Mar 27, 2005
    4
    For any long time fan of the Puppy, they know this is them at their worst. They sound like they want to sound like OhGr, and that is not what Skinny Puppy is about.
  2. etphonehome
    Jun 16, 2004
    2
    i consider skinny puppy one of the most unique and talented creations of contemporary music within the last 25 years. i am myself a devoted fan and listen to their music at least weekly. this new album is equal parts departure and pathetic. it is easily the worst album they've ever made i can't believe it's the same band. it is utterly a joke.
  3. HubertK
    May 26, 2004
    9
    Skinny Puppy is back. Not with 'more of the same' music, but with new, breath-taking sound. Little masterpieces: 'Ghostman', 'Daddyu Warbash', 'Past Present', 'Emp Te'. TGWOTR continues what began with 'The Process' - less noise, more pure, even acoustical sounds.
  4. TimC
    Jun 4, 2004
    9
    A mix of old and new puppy, it's different but definitely cool. Songs like Pro-test and DaddyuWarbash are instant classics. The unique sound along with the scathing politics that run throughout make this a must have.
  5. blownaway
    Jul 7, 2004
    10
    absolutely amazing! my first listen right now and I can't believe my ears. Has it been 8 years? go buy this record right now, steal it, burn it, whatever it takes.... wow!
  6. Vorbedacht
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    Crazy kids
  7. Mike
    May 30, 2004
    8
    So far I heard three songs and they are great,the sound is way different from the earlier records. I am a long time SP fan and have seen them live. Many complain about The Process,IMO that was a fine album. I am glad they evolve and don't rehash/recycle their old stuff. This is SP for the new millenium. In memoriam Dwaye...
  8. CV
    Jun 16, 2004
    10
    Brilliance. Stretches from the bottom to the top to across the divide of what brapology is about. The lizard kiss rhetoric!
  9. MikeM
    Jun 17, 2004
    8
    As a die-hard Skinny Puppy fan, it's hard to hate anything they put out. I've waited way too long for this album, and I'm pleasantly surprised. I can't seen any new album living up to the likes of Too Dark Park or Last Rights, and this certainly doesn't, but it's quite excellent just the same. Yummy! I'm looking forward to the future of Skinny Puppy.
  10. patrikpatsko
    Jun 26, 2004
    9
    songs 6-10 would have made a classic side of an album cant stop listening to it
  11. in[X]istant
    Jun 28, 2004
    9
    An excellent album all in all... Worth waiting 8 years (The Process was out in '96). It gets some time to get used to drum'n base influances and to hear Nivek Ogre rapping on some tracks, but this clivage brings new dynamic to the band.
  12. MichaelC
    Jun 2, 2004
    9
    Industrial pioneers Nivek Ogre and Cevin Key reunite, with newcomer Mark Walk, to bring us this stunning collection of tracks. Along the way they prove several things: 1. They are the forefathers of industrial, and few can do it better 2. They are still badasses 3. They are still the weirdest musicians alive. The albums starts out great, with 'I'mmortal' and Industrial pioneers Nivek Ogre and Cevin Key reunite, with newcomer Mark Walk, to bring us this stunning collection of tracks. Along the way they prove several things: 1. They are the forefathers of industrial, and few can do it better 2. They are still badasses 3. They are still the weirdest musicians alive. The albums starts out great, with 'I'mmortal' and 'Pro-Test' being two of the most aggressive tracks. The album then goes into some of the more deconstructed (and more odd) work that SP is famous for. 'Neuwerld' will rattle the nerves of the most devoted SP fan. The album comes full-circle, stepping back into some more eloquently written material, like 'Past Present' and 'Useless'. If you're a fan of Skinny Puppy, 'The Greater Wrong of The Right' will not disappoint you. And if you're into industrial music, but never got into SP's work, this new one is a great album to get you acquainted with the group. Expand
  13. orrisesindust
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    way better than there last album. i freaked out when i saw this album in store i bought it right away AWSOME
  14. SATANSMITH
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    this is an excellent album. I don't care the motivation for the reunion if it was money or whatever. The music kicks ass. this is one of if not the best puppy album ever done. Key is a genius. Long live the dog!
  15. SimonW
    May 26, 2004
    9
    Outstanding - 21st century Puppy.
  16. sunk
    May 29, 2004
    10
    This is an amazing work of art.
  17. AlanJ
    Jun 3, 2004
    9
    Never thought it could happen. Cracking album. Not as dark as before but with a real sense of atmosphere.
  18. Bruno
    May 28, 2005
    0
    Skinny puppy is dead
  19. jack
    Oct 26, 2004
    7
    These songs, well, they're "fun". And that's great and everything, and I enjoy them, but the experimentation and daring that made Skinny Puppy great just isn't here. While the production is lush and danceable, the textures are fairly familiar and superficial--none of the infinite layers of a masterpiece like VIVIsect VI. Some of the melodies are just inane, but mostly this These songs, well, they're "fun". And that's great and everything, and I enjoy them, but the experimentation and daring that made Skinny Puppy great just isn't here. While the production is lush and danceable, the textures are fairly familiar and superficial--none of the infinite layers of a masterpiece like VIVIsect VI. Some of the melodies are just inane, but mostly this is a successful record. While I like this, make no mistake--anyone who says that this album is a "return to form" or an "evolution" of SP's sound is dead wrong. Expand
  20. AramisG
    May 28, 2004
    2
    I remembering SP talking about a NIN demo they got in the late 80s, they called it ?Crotch Rock?. I wonder what they would have thought about TGWOTR back then? I see people saying to be open-minded and not to compare this to old SP. Well, if I wasn't comparing this to old SP I would hate it even more and when I am in an open-minded mood I will go listen to Too Dark Park or Last I remembering SP talking about a NIN demo they got in the late 80s, they called it ?Crotch Rock?. I wonder what they would have thought about TGWOTR back then? I see people saying to be open-minded and not to compare this to old SP. Well, if I wasn't comparing this to old SP I would hate it even more and when I am in an open-minded mood I will go listen to Too Dark Park or Last Rights (which challenged conventions not stooped to them). This is like SP for Dummies. All the interesting abstracted sounds have been replaced by nu-guitars and clean cut dance beats. Simply compare any track on TGWOTR with something like Mirror Saw and you would think the new stuff is KMFDM. If there is so little in common why call it SP? The only person I can imagine being pleased with this nu-puppy is Rick Ruben. Someone call him and tell him they finally made The Process he wanted. Collapse
  21. PeterR
    Jun 25, 2004
    7
    The album has 2 styles to it. The one being the metal style, the other the IDM style. The metal stuff like Immortal, Pro-test etc is crap but the IDM stuff is brilliant, especially Past Present & Ghostman, but also the last tracks on the album.
  22. dominica
    Aug 11, 2004
    10
    I love this album, I believe it has an important messege about the new world order, its already here soon it will all take over ! I don't give a care what the critics say its one hot album Buy It !
  23. BrookeP
    Sep 15, 2004
    10
    I'm just so grateful they're back. And they have evolved, keep up with the times. Thankfully.
  24. bmounce
    Sep 26, 2004
    9
    im glad they didnt rehash the old albums. its great to hear an older band still has what it takes to make a great album. i think what they have done with this album opens many doors for them direction wise... good stuff.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Their noisy attack has downright melodic elements, and the album exudes an energy that was mostly sporadic in their previous material. [Sep 2004, p.140]
  2. 80
    The names Pitchshifter, Nine Inch Nails and Rammstein are often bandied about in this company, but here’s a tip: Skinny Puppy have rendered them once again irrelevant.
  3. Shows Skinny Puppy at the top of their game once again.