User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 2 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 10, 2011
    8
    This is a really solid full length album from start to finish. It provides plenty of guest appearances such as Jay Z., Q-Tip, Faith Evans, and more, a huge track list, and great production. I don't think it stands out enough though...it's hard to explain but the album is just a good solid album, like a good home cooked meal. It's not mandatory but nice to have on occasion.
  2. Mar 12, 2011
    9
    great beats and a sick sick flow from saigon. really high quality work allthroughout, highlight of the album is the Enemies -> Friends progression. Definitely worth my 12 bucks.
  3. NJR
    Feb 25, 2011
    9
    Very nice LP. Not groundbreaking or classic, just good rhymes over dope beats, this is what Hip Hop needs more of. Although a great effort, some tracks feel a bit dated, this is really my only criticism of the album. You can't help but feel that if it had indeed been released all those years ago then it would have been that little bit more special....
  4. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    The basis to a good Saigon record is solid hip-hop beats. You know that Saigon is not Kanye West, you know that Saigon is not Mos Def however you do know that he is a speaker with great presence. Not only is he is intellectual, he is street and gangster which is a stereotype but one which eschews wisdom. Simultaneously he manages to blend popular culture with the less glamorous issues ofThe basis to a good Saigon record is solid hip-hop beats. You know that Saigon is not Kanye West, you know that Saigon is not Mos Def however you do know that he is a speaker with great presence. Not only is he is intellectual, he is street and gangster which is a stereotype but one which eschews wisdom. Simultaneously he manages to blend popular culture with the less glamorous issues of violence and machismo. For this he must be considered a true heavyweight, somebody whose talents shouldn't go unnoticed or unembraced. The important aspect of this album is its ability to unite fans of music behind a sound that despite never pushing any boundaries, is right at home in its own rather imposing world. 92/100 Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    I'm very impressed. Saigon is very talent and this album is great. This album is produced greatly and the guest stars did a great job. As of right now, I think this LP will be the album of the year.
  6. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Nice album, title track is great. Rap an Hip Hip needs more music like this. There are some catchy tunes but the lyrics make them mean something unlike most music you hear nowadays. One of the better rap albums you will hear this year and its only March.
  7. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Saigon displays some amazing writing abilities on this album. He manages to makes the lyrics catchy, clever, and meaningful e.g. "all you got to do is be slippin' when the P.I.G.S come through, the party invite givers"

    The beats are solid if not remarkable, but I find their relative simplicity allows one to really enjoy the stories being told.
  8. May 13, 2011
    10
    Phenomenal album. All the tracks flow seamlessly and Saigon and Just Blaze have built a classic album together. Lyrics, production, content are all top-notch. I bought this album twice (a first for me) just so my brother can have a copy. A must buy for any hip-hop fan that has an I.Q. above that of a packet of ketchup and an early contender for Album of the Year.
  9. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    Just blaze killed the production of this album and saigon emotional lyrics matched every beat. Thumbs up to blaze and saigon !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  10. Apr 21, 2012
    9
    How is this guy not famous yet? A bunch of tracks, not a single bad song on this album and Saigon kills every song over every epic beat. This is one of the better rap albums that I've ever heard and it's definitely better than anything Taylor Gang and YMCMB are shoveling out. Saigon is an intelligent gangster with words of wisdom and you need at least a song from this album on your iTunes.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    80
    Instead being flooded with a viral marketing campaign and absurdly hyperbolic praise or scorn, listening to this album feels like a discovery, like finding a dope album in your friend's collection you'd never heard before.
  2. Saigon don't play. He's a social realist and a realist moralist who makes his seriousness work for him.
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    We're not left with the emotional impact I feel Saigon desired, but we are left with supreme evidence Atlantic should have put this album out years ago.